Troy, MI
Firefighters Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Great 18 holes

5+    10/7/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: PallMall
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent course all around for beginners to pros alike.
Cons: sometimes the crowds are massive, but only on rare occasions.
Other Thoughts: lost an old avenger tie die with 3 aces on it, if found contact me (mike) and i will pay 20 for it back

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Layout woes. Try not to hit anyone.

1    9/30/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Adequate tees/tee markers
+ Baskets in good condition
+ Lots of land, with a decent walk (some bridges, the stream, etc.)
+ A somewhat mixed layout
+ Minimal tree coverage for your choice of easy lines to hit
+ Great multi-use park with facilities and whatnot
Cons: - Erosion in front of tees seems to be a problem
- Half of the holes are too close, with many chances of getting hit or hitting someone
- Lots of holes seemed to be filler holes (short, straight, boring)
- Confusing layout with no directional signs
- What the heck is up with the spike sticking out of the ground next to #10's tee pad?!
Other Thoughts: I liked my round mainly because of a friendly stranger who joined me, but overall, the pitfalls of the course were obvious. I fit a quick round in here on a beautiful Saturday in September. As an intermediate thrower, I was pretty happy shooting a par for the course. Plenty of short, filler holes to birdie and more than make up for missed putts. Not a very challenging course.

Disc golf course layout and design is huge for me. It is the most important part of a course in my opinion. Forget the baskets/tees, I can throw from grass to rusty pins all day and have fun. But if I have to throw a neutral midrange on almost every hole, I get bored. Anyway, Firefighters' layout is pretty bad. Half the holes are annoying and unimaginative, and even awful sometimes. The rest were average or good. Based on the way the course is set up, I'm assuming that the city didn't want to devote the necessary land to DG, which is fine, but there was so much more space that could have been utilized to spread the fairways out a bit and make it flow better. Directional signage would really, really help.

I don't like hole-by-hole breakdowns or rundowns, but before I go into detail of why I disliked the layout so much, suffice it to say the course flows from OK, to gross, back to OK, and finishes with one really good hole. Here are some more details: The first five holes were pretty good/average. None of them were bad. Holes #6-10 are designed poorly with the fairways/pins cramped together, and that's also when the layout got confusing. There's also a big risk of hitting someone or getting hit if it's as busy as it was when I went. Although #10 was fun to throw, you walk over the bridge, throw 50% blindly through an easy gap, and walk back over that same bridge. Try not to hit anyone. #11 was a good hole with a smaller chance of hitting someone. #12-17 were better holes with a still-confusing layout. #18 is the best hole on the course with a bridge, stream to throw over and then avoid landing in/near, and a basket with a little bit of tree coverage. Great way to end a pretty tame round.

Overall, it is a decent course. Unfortunately, I think Raintree is a better 9-hole course than Firefighters is an 18-hole course. I'd still rather play Firefighters just because it's a full-sized course, but hopefully you get what I mean.

Thanks for reading!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Home Base

1    9/21/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: Moff
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is always clean and well maintained. It also has a nice mix of distances and technical levels. Also the creek is normally clean and shallow so if you happen to pitch a disc into the drink you will more often than not get it back.
Cons: This park can get busy, however almost everyone I've met have been extraordinarily nice.
Other Thoughts: Go Throw

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Firefighters

1    7/30/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: zombie brain
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Decent holes long and short not to busy fun times
Cons: They changed a few holes and there were no markers for distance or par
Other Thoughts: Overall not a bad course would play again and recommend for others to play. Not really any elevation but still fun

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Course Overall

1    7/20/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: MoeDiscGolf06
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Holes weren't too long, but they were long enough to need a good drive
-Nice concrete tees-lots of room for a run-up
-Easy to find most of the tees without a map
-Wasn't too busy during the late afternoon
-Not too many places to lose a disc, except in the creek
-Park kept very clean
Cons: -Hole 10's tee is hard to find if you've never been here before
-A couple of the tee signs were missing, and most had graffiti/black paint all over them
-2 or 3 of the baskets seemed abnormally higher than the others
Other Thoughts: Intermediate level course. I wouldn't recommend this course for a first-timer, but players with at least a few months of experience would do well here.
The baskets weren't too close to the next tee, so there wasn't really any chance of hitting someone with a bad throw.
Overall, this was a really nice course, and I would definitely recommend checking it out!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great beginner course

5+    4/21/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: GettinGreasy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~Great place to bring first timers and friends newer to disc golf
~For seasoned players most of the holes can be played with a mid-range/great to work on approach and putting
~When it rains, the course typically drys quicker than most in the area with the exception of a couple pins that will have a moat around them
~Free Free Free
Cons: ~Typical various high school groups enjoy loitering the first few holes
~Not very technical, pretty much aim straight and throw on most holes
~The sewage drain on hole 18 had reports of various viruses/bacteria years back.. still don't feel great about retrieving discs
Other Thoughts: ~For the first couple rounds of the season, or a quick hour-ninety minute round its a decent course, if your looking for a challenge or want to kill an afternoon with some buddies, try Addison Oaks or Stoney Creek
~Leagues can be pretty annoying here, most rude players I've encountered in the area...they will sit at hole 18 (12-20 people deep) and not allow players finishing the course to play through

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 beginners course

5+    8/12/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: LEFTY360
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
Pros: very nice clean course, well maintained. a great beginner course but fun for all players. nice short holes for ace runs are present, as well as a few longer holes with more trees. nice cement tees with picnic tables and trash cans placed at most of them.
Cons: baskets are in rough shape(not terrible, seen worse, seen alot better too. . ). not a whole lot of variety. I can play this whole course with 2 discs, however this is the course i learned on.
Other Thoughts: family friendly park, mostly flat, lightly wooded, easy to play but still fun. monday night leagues brings a ton of people so if you want to throw a round choose another day.

 Nice course

1    5/29/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: somerbuch
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice location for the course, nicely wooded but not a crazy amount of trees. Loved the layout of the course, they packed a nice 18 hole course into a not very large area.
Cons: Can be very busy at times, especially on nice weekend days and holidays. Also the course seems to hold a lot of water after it rains which causes a lot of flooding around baskets and a lot of mud while playing, seemed like i was wiping mud off my disc after every shot.
Other Thoughts: Great course for all levels of players, free to play which is nice.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 lunch break

2-4    8/20/2010   4/19/2011
Review By: intimadator
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: liked this course a lot, got to play it on my lunch break a few times. it is a long course, very open and not a whole lot of trees, just a few right in the line of the hole, not very busy eather, at times.
Cons: its not hard to find its off the hwy. it is hard to find ur way to the next holes not a whole lot of direction! signs suck people beat them all up- but i guess it gives it charater!
Other Thoughts: had fun there, deff. recommand it to first time players!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Average Old School Disc Golf Course

5+    9/20/2010   4/11/2011
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Firefighters park is well maintained and safe. The course is easy to navigate and great for new players. The fun factor is on the higher side and the frustration factor is on the lower side.

There's virtually no schule and discs are rarely lost.

Most of the fairways offer a decent technical challenge for shots in the short to medium distance range. Players are required to throw several differently shaped shots on the course in order to go low. The ground is conducive to rollers, so it's nice to have that option on many of the holes.
Cons: As other reviewers have stated, the course gets crowded at times and decorum goes out the window. Discs tend to get stolen on occasion.

The signage is functional, but not very pretty.

The course does hold water at times on a few holes.

The challenge level tops out at the high intermediate level. This is the type of course where a player can struggle for a while to break par and then suddenly be shooting -9 on a regular basis.

Several of the holes are a bit pinball-ish in their fairways with small, "randomizer" trees.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area. Great for beginners and fun for all players.

Don't be a dirty discer! Leave the course cleaner than you found it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.