Troy, MI
Firefighters Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 239ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 It's a good course

5+    8/26/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: zookept
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most of the holes are wide open and easy to see the baskets, you can practice your drives and try for an ACE !!!!
Cons: I go with a regular player there but the signs are not well marked and new people might get confused
Other Thoughts: its a very nice park, good parking and wide open spaces

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/18/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: kw83028
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course for a beginner. I am a beginner! Plays very short and fairly wide open.
Cons: Not a lot of challenge if you're experienced. WAY too crowded with d-bag teenagers not playing and walking around randomly. The course gets VERY cramped and there are discs flying everywhere. They fit 3 fairways in a 50 foot wide area.
Other Thoughts: Decent for a beginner, probably won't lose any discs. Way too busy for me though.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/25/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: mcphatty
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good beginners course. Open layout, easy to find baskets.
Cons: - Very congested with non-disc golfers
- Terrible signage
Other Thoughts: Overall, I would say this park is average at best. The disc golf course is right in the middle of the rest of a park, so there a lot of people on the course that aren't even playing. Naturally, these people have no etiquitte towards players. This would be a decent course to introduce a new player to the game, as the baskets are easy to find and not too challenging. Wide fairways make it a good place to practice.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 All around good course

5+    7/26/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: nofxorbust
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Easy to find and easy to navigate
-Great course for beginners
-Food stand open by hole #3
-Course map and practice basket by hole #1
-Trash cans and picnic tables through out course
Cons: -Signs missing on 1-2 holes
-Hard to play a casual round on monday nights due to leagues
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for beginners and experienced players a like. The holes are easy to find and navigation through the course is easy. The designer made the best of the flat tree covered land. Each hole offers a different challenge. I learned to play on this course and i continue to play it almost weekly.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Friendly

5+    7/12/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: Ymeister19
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to Follow Layout, Well maintained, picnic tables/trash baskets frequently. Moderate traffic but the games play quick so not a big deal.
Cons: Teenage d-bags who don't care about anyone but themselves frequent this place. Most holes are short and an experienced player wont find much of a challenge here.
Other Thoughts: Really good 18 hole course to learn on for beginners. There are trees in play on most holes however the fairways are open enough where a moderately experienced player will never hit them and when beginners hit them the holes are short enough so as to not devastate the rest of the hole for you. Last time i played I'm pretty sure my Champion boss was stolen by a group playing a hole opposite mine. May not be an exciting course for the experienced disc golfer however if your looking to maintain daily play just to keep form and rhythm then this is not a bad course at all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Notorious

1    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: jamal_jumpstart
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Mix of shorty throws, long drives and over the river
-Lots of places to take a break (picnic tables)
-Two bridges to cross the river
-Dogs are welcome if you dont like going after your stray discs
Cons: -Crowded with certain demographics and lots of kids
-The river is near a sewage drain and the news said EColi was in it this morning
-Lots of graffiti
-Ignore the signs where to start, park in the back corner that is hole #1 now
Other Thoughts: I found two discs in the river that both said "Chris" on them.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty good, busy at times

2-4    5/30/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: Feli
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
Pros: This is a good beginner/intermediate course, but get up early.

Firefighters Park has all concrete tees and a nice variety of distances... most 200-300ft with a few ~350ft. Streams nearby make for a nice touch, but water hazard only really comes into play on the final hole.
Cons: This seems to be the course where lots of high school kids play. Some are not very respectful and will slow down the course with a group of 6+ instead of breaking into smaller groups and/or letting singles and pairs play through. This gets especially problematic if you are stuck behind a group that thinks it's fun to repeatedly try power drivers out of bounds or off trees... yet won't let anyone play through.

About half the tee signs show heavy marker grafitti and need to be replaced, but the course is in fairly decent shape overall.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course overall, but go there earlier in the day when the younger kids are sleeping in. It gets very busy from about 3pm until sunset. Some of the casual players aren't very respectful and play at a slow pace since they are there more to hang out than to play the game, so you will quickly find that it's usually best to just avoid them altogether.

There are a couple confusing tees the first time you go (esp since many tee signs with the hole map are covered with grafitti), so it helps to play with a friend or two who know the course layout. On a pretty busy course, you don't want to be wasting time.

 

1    12/8/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: rscd20
Played: 50  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well packed course, easy to get around
Fair amount of trees to require skill, but not so many as to get annoying
Can be played quickly and over again without wearing you out, but still had a couple of longer holes
Well maintained and kept clean
Cons: Poor signs. Course map hard to read. Tee signs are from an old layout of the course and don't match new new orientations. Also vandalized
With no signs, no indication of water on holes
Lots of people walking and walking dogs
Other Thoughts: While being right next to the highway, you can't hear it at all, and really only 2 holes place close to it.
A couple of great bridges to cross over the small creek that runs through it

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 mom calls it a fireman

1    9/19/2009   9/20/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 78  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice big sign to greet you by the first hole. Concrete tees on every hole, and signs as well (although highly vandalized). A creek splits the course in half, with the first five or six holes on the eastern side, and the rest on the west. A few signature shots over water, and some baskets are dangerously close to the creek's banks, making you think about your approach/putt shots.
Cons: Unfortunately, too many. While the holes on the eastern side of the creek are well laid out, the ones on the west are jammed together so tight that discs are flying all around you as you play. Very difficult to concentrate. The clientele is less than desirable. Mostly high school kids following the latest trend in their own little world. This park was way too crowded. Granted, it was a weekend, but I played as the sun was going down and it was packed until the sun set. 85% percent of the holes were too short for my liking. I enjoy variety, but most of the holes were in the 250ft. range. Only one hole over 400ft. (which was probably the best hole - #3? 4? can't remember.) I just don't see myself driving all the way out to Troy to put up these downsides.
Other Thoughts: I like the park. Layout and clientele get the course marked down. I would play it again if I lived closer, but it's just not worth it since I live on the west side of the metro area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fight fire with fire

1    9/20/2009   9/20/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was just good fun. Nice header board at the tees for 1 nd 10. Looks like an active group in the area. Good to see. Courseflows well and signs make it easily navagable for a first time player here. Good use of trees on nearly all holes. I was seriously treejected on amny occasions when my shots were not well placed. Nice use of playing along both sides of the canal. water is not a real issue 'cept on 18. if you dunk it in the water on 10... you have a very wimpy arm... or just got psyched out bu teeing over water. You need to decide on 18 are you to lay up just short of the water or go for it. If you park well you will finish right back at the car. I did not. Course was getting quite busy as I was finishing up... looked like a league, maybe was gathering to play.
Cons: hard to find any real issues here other than the fact that the tee signs are all a bit trashed from grafitti and ace signatures. Also some of the pars seem a bit high or low. Played Raintree just prior so this one feels much nicer... cuz it is. Very little elevation change here... not much real opportunity for any due to overll terrain. Might be a few more opps to play across the water for the fun of it.
Other Thoughts: I would love to have a nice 18 holer like this closer to my house.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.