Troy, MI 
Firefighters Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 mom calls it a fireman

1    9/19/2009   9/20/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice big sign to greet you by the first hole. Concrete tees on every hole, and signs as well (although highly vandalized). A creek splits the course in half, with the first five or six holes on the eastern side, and the rest on the west. A few signature shots over water, and some baskets are dangerously close to the creek's banks, making you think about your approach/putt shots.
Cons: Unfortunately, too many. While the holes on the eastern side of the creek are well laid out, the ones on the west are jammed together so tight that discs are flying all around you as you play. Very difficult to concentrate. The clientele is less than desirable. Mostly high school kids following the latest trend in their own little world. This park was way too crowded. Granted, it was a weekend, but I played as the sun was going down and it was packed until the sun set. 85% percent of the holes were too short for my liking. I enjoy variety, but most of the holes were in the 250ft. range. Only one hole over 400ft. (which was probably the best hole - #3? 4? can't remember.) I just don't see myself driving all the way out to Troy to put up these downsides.
Other Thoughts: I like the park. Layout and clientele get the course marked down. I would play it again if I lived closer, but it's just not worth it since I live on the west side of the metro area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fight fire with fire

1    9/20/2009   9/20/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was just good fun. Nice header board at the tees for 1 nd 10. Looks like an active group in the area. Good to see. Courseflows well and signs make it easily navagable for a first time player here. Good use of trees on nearly all holes. I was seriously treejected on amny occasions when my shots were not well placed. Nice use of playing along both sides of the canal. water is not a real issue 'cept on 18. if you dunk it in the water on 10... you have a very wimpy arm... or just got psyched out bu teeing over water. You need to decide on 18 are you to lay up just short of the water or go for it. If you park well you will finish right back at the car. I did not. Course was getting quite busy as I was finishing up... looked like a league, maybe was gathering to play.
Cons: hard to find any real issues here other than the fact that the tee signs are all a bit trashed from grafitti and ace signatures. Also some of the pars seem a bit high or low. Played Raintree just prior so this one feels much nicer... cuz it is. Very little elevation change here... not much real opportunity for any due to overll terrain. Might be a few more opps to play across the water for the fun of it.
Other Thoughts: I would love to have a nice 18 holer like this closer to my house.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta love it

5+    8/25/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: mohmandm
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is always in great shape. There are a few minor hiccups but the guys who play here are loyal and watch over it well. The local scene is great. Great for beginners. There aren't a bunch of mosquitoes at every hole.
Cons: Occassional large high school group. It could have a couple more difficult holes.
It could use a larger variety of holes and elevation changes. The water could come into play a little bit more.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and i couldn't be happier besides the fact that I am still aceless.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 'Ol Faithful

5+    8/3/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 171  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very "player friendly" course with great layout, and concrete tee pads - plays quite well. Great for beginners with enough to challenge experienced players. Several Ace opportunities and a few fairly long holes - none are intimidating. Course features a couple of holes over the water, with a couple more where it can come into play. Perhaps best example I've seen where the water is used to enhance the course and add some difficulty without high chance of losing a disc in it. Even with the river, its tough (but possible) to lose a disc. No blind holes or thick brush. Although many holes are loaded with trees, most of them provide two or more tight, but quite workable lines. Holes are quite close together, so you can skip a hole to play around slower groups, and simply come back to that hole later.

Considering the number of rounds played here, this course is in amazing shape. Park itself is well maintained by the city, and the local league helps keep things up through league fees, donations, clean-up days, etc.
Cons: Multi use park, with occaisional pedestrian and dog walking trafffic that is simply unaware they may be walking down a fairway.

No real elevation changes.

Course takes at least a day to dry out after heavy rains, and longer for spring thaw - some holes can be quite swampy.

Teens and time have taken their toll on tee signs. Several are missing and those that remain are badly scarred, not to mention outdated as many pin locations/distances have changed.
Other Thoughts: Favors accuracy over distance to be sure. I wouldn't say this is a densely wooded course, but you definitely need control unless you want to be a lumberjack . This course is all about seeing a line you think you can throw and executing that line from the tee pad. Even if you whack a tree, there's a halfway decent chance you can still save par with a good upshot.

Rounds can go by quickly if there's not much traffic (I've completed a round in less than an hour), however, course gets busy during peak hours, with occaisional groups of 6 or more teens playing a casual round. Monday evening league is HUGE (well over 100 people on 18 holes...rounds take 3+ hours).

All in all, a nice, pleasant round of disc golf. Well worth the time to check out this course if you don't live that close to it and plan to be in the area. But if you're planninig a major excursion from somwehere else just to play a round here, you really ought to hit Riverbends and Stony Creek first, and check out Fire Fighters if you still have time. A nice fun round, but not significantly out of the ordinary.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid 18

1    7/18/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: DiscGolfinTheD
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great layout. It incorporates a little elevation, concrete pads, 2 over water shots (not big water, but water nontheless), a few long drives and a few short, and a couple of accuracy shots around or thru trees. I had a great time playing this with my buddies. Easy access to front or back if you decide to mix it up. And it has good facilities. ALWAYS A PLUS!!
Cons: The first 2holes play by a pavilion and if there is a group there they tend to not pay attention to flying discs. As well as some people like to just walk the park and tend to get in the way around hole 1. Just be cautious and these shouldn;t be a problem. Things due tend to get backed up on the front nine but once you get to the back there was very little waiting.
Other Thoughts: One of the more fun 18's in the area. It definately blows the pants off of starr, wagner, or raintree. If you live in the area this would be my recomendation to play everytime you go out. Sometimes you do have to wait but that tends to be more of the larger groups of teens who really have no interest in playing a fun but serious round. A must play in the troy area!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    7/19/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: m_jank
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great beginner/intermediate course, but there are a few holes that will test advanced players.
-very hard to lose disc unless you chuck it in the river when it is high or murky
-Nice layout where #1 and #10 are right by the parking lot so you can jump on the back if the front looks crowded.
Cons: -everyday it seems like it gets more and more crowded. Lots of high school kids and businessmen on their lunchbreaks can really slow down your round. On mondays there is a league from 530 on that shuts down the course
-not the most challenging course. you very rarely have to pull off a tomahawk or any really technical shots
-not all the baskets are the same height, but now im getting picky
Other Thoughts: I live around the corner from this course so I have played it probably 200 times. All three of my aces are here so I might be a little biased.

Do not go left on #4 or #18. Do not go long on #15.

The course is much more challenging since they moved back the baskets for 3,4, and 18

Troy police often roll through the parking lot, but I have never seen any walking the course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fine beginner to intermediate course

1    7/19/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: maynes32
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good use of water - several streams run through the course. Water is generally only 3"-4" deep, so disc retrieval is easy.
- No real way to lose discs - very little brush.
Cons: - Vandalizing/removal of hole signs very disappointing.
- With the exception of distance, the holes were all virtually identical - several trees in the fairway, none with branches. No bushes, no real doglegs
Other Thoughts: On the whole, this is exactly what the 2 disc rating says - a reasonable course. Not a super easy course, but not much of a challenge, either. The lack of meaningful doglegs meant that shot selection was limited to simply how YOU chose to thread the disc through the trees. Most shot lines were there, it is just the one you prefer. A good course for a casual Sunday round with beginner friends.

Not recommended for pros or skilled amateurs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 new home course

2-4    7/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: jmacphee9
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great park setting. excellent place to go with your friends all day and play some volleyball, discin, and there was a large group playing ultimate when we went. good tee signs really help the first time you go, even though its a simple course, with no elevation changes.
overall its a beautiful place that is very fun to play imo. cops seem to be not around at all, nor nescesary as everyone there seems to respect the park well. water adds to the difficulty but its very easy to retrieve discs in the 2-3 foot deep river.
Cons: maybe a bit on the easy side. wind is very strong typically on the front 9. trees protect the back 9 though.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Well Maintained Course

5+    3/17/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: phishbrained
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good Variety of short and long holes, wooded and fairly open.
One hole with decent elevation change.
Bathrooms near the course.
Course wraps around nicely, Hole 1 starts where the back nine begins and 18 comes out right near the parking lot. Nice to be able to play back 9 first when theres a ton of people on the front.
Cons: River goes through some holes, so be careful
Graffiti and trash sometimes a problem
Too busy somedays
7-9 are very muddy in the early spring
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses to play, in my home town. Never get bored playing here, although I wish it wasn't as crowded most of the times. Watch out for police as they drive by in the parking lot frequently. I have seen them walking the course once.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/21/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Hole Variety/Course Layout--
Good variety of shots from short to long, most baskets are straight on with the tees and have semi challenging trees in the fairways. Holes range from open to slightly wooded, good for all styles of play! Also Hole #1 and #10 are at the entrance, so you can chose to play the front or back 9 first and still end up at the same spot.

Course Maintenance--
Always clean, and there ar concrete tees on every hole.

Course Navigation--
Very easy to follow, the only iffy spot is the basket placement on hole #12 (the basket is straight on/right, NOT the basket on the left).
Cons:
Traffic--
Can get very backed up at rush hour.
Other Thoughts:
Course Atmosphere--
Good city park, surrounded by very nice houses.

Hazards--
River comes into play on holes 4,10,11,15,17,& 18 (also on a couple other holes, but only if you have a bad roller or shank it).

Tee Pads--
Good sized conrete tees.

--ALOT of the trees in the pictures are long gone and the layout has changed on a few holes.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.