Troy, MI
Firefighters Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 206ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Good ol' FireFighters

5+    9/16/2008   9/24/2008
Review By: VeeAreSix
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of the most fun courses to play. Leagues are always fun. Well maintained course and kept.
Cons: All of the troy kids who get in groups of 10 and will not let someone play through!
Other Thoughts: Once you play this course you'll love it and always come back!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice and local

5+    9/21/2008   9/21/2008
Review By: valking
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this course is very close to the highway and makes it pretty easily accessible. free to play and if you want a good course that plays fast this is the one.
Cons: a little on the short side but i cant complain. the basket is missing like the others have stated but all in all its decent for the space
Other Thoughts: this is a multi use park so playing on some holes requires throwing close to some soccer games....... deffinately have landed in some games before when theres strong wind.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Intermediate Course

5+    8/24/2008   9/18/2008
Review By: PhattD
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes. For the top players it's an ace run on most of the holes, but it is a good lay out for people who are still working on breaking the 300' barrier. There are a lot of trees but there are also some pretty well defined lanes through them so it isn't a plinko course. About he only chance of losing a disc is in the stream which is usually low enough that even that isn't a problem.
Cons: Lost a lot of trees in the last few years. Which has opened up the layout some. Still a nice course tho.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Well worn and a little beaten up, but still a good time

1    9/7/2008   9/11/2008
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 7.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole has a concrete tee, and a well-worn path leads you from tee to hole to the next tee. The front nine and back nine both loop from the parking lot, which is an often overlooked plus as it makes it easy to play half of the course if you're short on time. Most of the holes are wooded and on the short side, but there are a couple, longer more open ones where you can air it out, like #3 and #11.
Cons: One of the baskets was missing when I played. I can't be sure how often theft happens here, but I know many of the baskets were not the originals, and a few of the tee signs were missing as well... Some of the baskets, particularly the new ones weren't properly marked, and the proximity of some of them can lead to confusion. It is easy to throw to #10 instead of #8, or #17 instead of #12. With targets this close together in spots, different groups may throw into each other.
Other Thoughts: I was really enjoying playing here until I came upon the location of the stolen basket, which just ruins a round for me. Still, I generally liked the course, and would love to play it again once the repairs / replacements are made.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 good course

5+    8/15/2008   8/18/2008
Review By: iDisc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2008
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: concrete tees, when you finish front 9 or back 9 (or all 18..duh) its near the parking lot.

very fun tournaments

i have never gotten bored at this course, and it has a practice basket.
Cons: basket 11 is missing
-gets crowded
Other Thoughts: for some reason i cannot keep my putts in the basket on this course, when its rainy my disc seems to slip out.

my favorite course in the area
has a nice mix of difficult and fun shots

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

6/21/2008   6/21/2008
Review By: MacaveliMC
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun course, makes for a decent outing. Not short, but not exhaustively long. All holes are a good length. No very short holes. Perfect amount of trees.
Cons: Watch out for water hazard. Easy to lose your disc into stream. Slightly crowded course at prime times.
Other Thoughts: Hole signs could use a make over.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5/24/2008   6/11/2008
Review By: Pizatman
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course offers variety in game play and difficultly. Long enough to play 18 and feel satisfied, but not long enough to tire most players out after a round. Enjoyable all the way through.
Cons: Popular course, so can get very busy at times. Running stream and some low areas can make for a very wet game at certain times of the year.
Other Thoughts: A good mix of driving and approach shots keep this course fun for individual players and groups. With a fair amount of trees, the course plays cool, even on a hot and sunny day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

9/30/2007   5/31/2008
Review By: GFDGA
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement teepads, signs, easy to follow. Well laid out given the space. A nice variety of shots with many birdie opportunities.
Cons: Can get muddy. River in play on a few holes but it's not too deep. Some cages are inconsistent/old. Tournament players take over the whole course on occasion. Single tee pads make for quick round play.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice park to play. Holes seem to zigzag back and forth to fit within the park. There are no monster long distance holes to deal with, lots of shots around the tall trees. Expect a couple bogies but also some ace runs. Shooting even to -3 is a good score. We include it in our course lineup every now and then.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Firefighters

5/21/2005   11/14/2007
Review By: JoePublic
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Always in great condition, except after a huge wind storm. This course is a typical Michigan hardwood city park setting with plenty of trees to get around and kick off of. But on a great day with your roc or buzz you can walk away feeling like a champ. A few holes open up nice to give you a little stretch of the arm. So dont forget that XL too.
Cons: Gets busy, but everyone's great to play with.
Other Thoughts: Very well maintained and fun to play in the detroit area. three more courses within 10 miles of this park. Check pdga.com for their locations.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.