Troy, MI 
Firefighters Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 new home course

2-4    7/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: jmacphee9
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great park setting. excellent place to go with your friends all day and play some volleyball, discin, and there was a large group playing ultimate when we went. good tee signs really help the first time you go, even though its a simple course, with no elevation changes.
overall its a beautiful place that is very fun to play imo. cops seem to be not around at all, nor nescesary as everyone there seems to respect the park well. water adds to the difficulty but its very easy to retrieve discs in the 2-3 foot deep river.
Cons: maybe a bit on the easy side. wind is very strong typically on the front 9. trees protect the back 9 though.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Well Maintained Course

5+    3/17/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: phishbrained
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good Variety of short and long holes, wooded and fairly open.
One hole with decent elevation change.
Bathrooms near the course.
Course wraps around nicely, Hole 1 starts where the back nine begins and 18 comes out right near the parking lot. Nice to be able to play back 9 first when theres a ton of people on the front.
Cons: River goes through some holes, so be careful
Graffiti and trash sometimes a problem
Too busy somedays
7-9 are very muddy in the early spring
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses to play, in my home town. Never get bored playing here, although I wish it wasn't as crowded most of the times. Watch out for police as they drive by in the parking lot frequently. I have seen them walking the course once.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/21/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 111  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Hole Variety/Course Layout--
Good variety of shots from short to long, most baskets are straight on with the tees and have semi challenging trees in the fairways. Holes range from open to slightly wooded, good for all styles of play! Also Hole #1 and #10 are at the entrance, so you can chose to play the front or back 9 first and still end up at the same spot.

Course Maintenance--
Always clean, and there ar concrete tees on every hole.

Course Navigation--
Very easy to follow, the only iffy spot is the basket placement on hole #12 (the basket is straight on/right, NOT the basket on the left).
Cons:
Traffic--
Can get very backed up at rush hour.
Other Thoughts:
Course Atmosphere--
Good city park, surrounded by very nice houses.

Hazards--
River comes into play on holes 4,10,11,15,17,& 18 (also on a couple other holes, but only if you have a bad roller or shank it).

Tee Pads--
Good sized conrete tees.

--ALOT of the trees in the pictures are long gone and the layout has changed on a few holes.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/6/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 91  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fairly easy intermediate course with nice fairways and not too many obstacles,cement tee pads,signs on most holes,nice park with bathroom not too far away,easy to navigate,lots of ACE runs for average players,
Cons: Lots of casual players in large groups can back course up,pretty flat course with no elevation changes,

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/9/2008   10/13/2008
Review By: Trickydrd
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy course to follow. As a beginner/intermediate course (my level) this offers a well rounded 18 holes. Great, friendly league night on Mondays.
Cons: Some random graffitti and at least 3 of the tee box signs are missing. Basket #11 is missing so I usually just drive the trees and call it par. Large groups won't always let a single or double play through but this is usually the exception. The way the course Zig/Zags most shots are very straight or simply around a tree or 2.
Other Thoughts: This is my favourite local course, I can play a round in 45-60min on my way home and miss the rush hour traffic. Much better than sitting sucking fumes on M-59!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good ol' FireFighters

5+    9/16/2008   9/24/2008
Review By: VeeAreSix
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of the most fun courses to play. Leagues are always fun. Well maintained course and kept.
Cons: All of the troy kids who get in groups of 10 and will not let someone play through!
Other Thoughts: Once you play this course you'll love it and always come back!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 nice and local

5+    9/21/2008   9/21/2008
Review By: valking
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this course is very close to the highway and makes it pretty easily accessible. free to play and if you want a good course that plays fast this is the one.
Cons: a little on the short side but i cant complain. the basket is missing like the others have stated but all in all its decent for the space
Other Thoughts: this is a multi use park so playing on some holes requires throwing close to some soccer games....... deffinately have landed in some games before when theres strong wind.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Intermediate Course

5+    8/24/2008   9/18/2008
Review By: PhattD
Played: 44  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 25.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes. For the top players it's an ace run on most of the holes, but it is a good lay out for people who are still working on breaking the 300' barrier. There are a lot of trees but there are also some pretty well defined lanes through them so it isn't a plinko course. About he only chance of losing a disc is in the stream which is usually low enough that even that isn't a problem.
Cons: Lost a lot of trees in the last few years. Which has opened up the layout some. Still a nice course tho.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well worn and a little beaten up, but still a good time

1    9/7/2008   9/11/2008
Review By: MattK
Played: 52  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole has a concrete tee, and a well-worn path leads you from tee to hole to the next tee. The front nine and back nine both loop from the parking lot, which is an often overlooked plus as it makes it easy to play half of the course if you're short on time. Most of the holes are wooded and on the short side, but there are a couple, longer more open ones where you can air it out, like #3 and #11.
Cons: One of the baskets was missing when I played. I can't be sure how often theft happens here, but I know many of the baskets were not the originals, and a few of the tee signs were missing as well... Some of the baskets, particularly the new ones weren't properly marked, and the proximity of some of them can lead to confusion. It is easy to throw to #10 instead of #8, or #17 instead of #12. With targets this close together in spots, different groups may throw into each other.
Other Thoughts: I was really enjoying playing here until I came upon the location of the stolen basket, which just ruins a round for me. Still, I generally liked the course, and would love to play it again once the repairs / replacements are made.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 good course

5+    8/15/2008   8/18/2008
Review By: iDisc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2008
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: concrete tees, when you finish front 9 or back 9 (or all 18..duh) its near the parking lot.

very fun tournaments

i have never gotten bored at this course, and it has a practice basket.
Cons: basket 11 is missing
-gets crowded
Other Thoughts: for some reason i cannot keep my putts in the basket on this course, when its rainy my disc seems to slip out.

my favorite course in the area
has a nice mix of difficult and fun shots

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.