Vernonia, OR 
L.L. Stub Stewart State Park Share
Uploaded By: joshkns   (Taken 10/2010)
Course Sign



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Bring supplies

1    9/19/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: Rugball
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of the hillside terrain in a beautiful Oregon forest. Nice pavers for the teepads even though they were all fairly short. There was a carved log bench (or two) at every hole. I appreciated the orange rim at the top of every basket and the drop-boxes for found discs at #1 and #10.
Cons: Unlike the previous reviewer's experience, there were only hole diagrams, no marker writing with distances that I could see. And there were only hole diagrams for the first nine holes. That meant I had to hike half the trail on the back nine to attempt to get an idea of where the baskets might be. But several holes had baskets tucked away and not visible to one side or the other, like #17. I threw a nice anny following the pathway, only to get to my disc and realize that the basket was well to the left.

Not a true con, but there are no trash bins one the course or at the Hilltop park where you leave your car. Pack it in and pack it out. There's a central trash area near the park entrance for the campers to use.
Other Thoughts: Don't forget to bring $5 for the park fee unless you have the OR forest pass. I don't mind paying a few bucks if it means you'll have a well-maintained course to enjoy. This is a tough technical course, but there's a few shorter holes and I picked up a few birdies here and there. Don't expect any real opportunities to air out shots. Be sure to have control over your midrange discs because you'll be throwing those for sure. I played solo, so I didn't dare throw a driver on the few longer holes. I didn't lose a single disc and didn't have to waste a lot of time bushwacking either. Keep in mind that the undergrowth is pretty lush before you try to bomb a hole.

Finding the course is super easy, but it is *MILES* from anything. Bring any supplies you need for the day and enjoy the serene beauty of the park. Even better, bring your bike for a post-round ride because there are miles of trails here, some paved and rougher ones.

PS - There's a ton of RV/camper sites at the park, so it would be a great roadtrip course if you like to RV. I didn't see any tent sites so I'm almost sure it's RV/camper only. Check their website for more info.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Stub Stewart is in my top 3

2-4    7/14/2012   7/15/2012
Review By: AceAtHornings
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Stub Stewart has almost all the things I look for in a DG course...quiet/scenic setting, course is maintained and easy to navigate, provides some challenging holes and it's very likely you'll leave with the same number of discs you started with! This course is not perfect, but it has the overall package that works for me.
Cons: Everytime I play at Stub Stewart, I usually have to comb through the foliage a few times to find my disc. The "fairways" are very narrow...they're basically trails.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of my top 3 favorites.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The new kid in town

1    7/4/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 114  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You'll arrive in a parking lot with a beautiful vista of the countryside below. Say goodbye because this course is entirely wooded and has a different kind of scenery that is no less impressive.

The course forces some throws through some narrow alleys of tall pines. The shorter holes are not difficult to par, but it can be difficult to get aggressive on the longer ones without punishment.

The bright orange baskets show up very well against the green background, although they are not always visible from the basket. Tee pads are good, too. They were some sort of brick, and traction didn't seem to be an issue (it wasn't wet when I was there, though).

I don't think navigation was a big problem here once you got started. The hiking paths are obvious. This looks like the kind of place you'd have a field trip in grade school. This is a much better use of the land. But maybe you'd better bring a brown bag lunch just in case.

There is some great elevation changes here, but with the ferns there weren't a ton of rollaways, which was nice. If you like technical courses that require accuracy more than sheer distance (and I do), this is your place.
Cons: Losing a disc here is more likely than at any of the other Oregon courses I played. The undergrowth is mostly just ferns, but it's thick. Unfortunately a few holes make losing a disc more likely. I thought #3 in particular was a poor design, forcing a long drive where any ricochet off a tree ensures a long search on the steep slope below (the hole was at least 500 feet long with no landing zones). On that note, the fairways here are just hiking paths. There are no landing areas. Bring your bright colored discs.

The tee signs are not great, just painted strips along wooden posts that have very little information.

Lastly, this course doesn't have much variety. Look at the pictures online and you'll see what I mean. That said, if you're going to have a lack of variety, this is a heck of place to have it!
Other Thoughts: At one point I threw a shot that stayed on the fairway but collided with a dead branch on a tree and knocked it to the ground. A guy in the group we were playing through commented that that is going to need to happen a lot, and I realized that was part of the issue: the course just isn't worn in yet. Eventually those ticky tack deflecting branches won't be a part of the fairway, the piles of deadwood will have been removed, and the course will have found the balance between heavy undergrowth and heavy foot traffic.

If you want a good perspective on the course, check out this piece done by a local news crew while I was out there. Shameless self-promotion: that's me sinking the putt around 4:19. They were gracious enough to edit out some of my awful shots!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?...ayer_embedded#at=200

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 L.L. Stub Stewart State Park

1    12/5/2010   12/9/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Stub Stewart Park located in Buxton, Oregon is yet another wonderful example of a championship caliber disc golf course. The potential is endless here, and Stumptown Disc Golf Club has done a great job getting the course approved, designed, and installed. The design incorporates elevation on every hole. With elevated tee pads and baskets, along with tight fairways, drives and approaches require a lot of accuracy. Although there are some holes that dogleg left, the majority of holes were straight on shots or dogleg right, especially on the back nine. Each hole has a fairly smooth transition, having players wind down the hillsides and eventually back up close to the parking by the end of the round. There are few walkouts, and those that do require a little are clearly marked by little orange flags.

The baskets are all orange DISCatchers that allow the baskets to stand out on the course. I wish more courses were like this, especially in the northwest since baskets tend to blend in with the heavily wooded background. The baskets all have two pin positions (red/blue), are new, and in great shape (with the exception of hole 17 that is currently missing and is a red painted post). Tee pads are pavers, and seem to grip extremely well. However, a few I feel could have been extended to allow for more of a follow through. For the most part though, they were perfect! Par for the course is 59, with five Par 4's, and 13 Par 3's.

Although there were many holes that stood out to me when I played, hole #16 was my absolute favorite. Lined on both sides with trees, this tight shot was about 20-25 feet wide and about 400 feet long with the pin dead on. It reminded me a lot of hole #15 at Pier Park as well as hole #4 at Blue Ribbon Pines. It required perfect execution and power in order to make par, and was absolutely stunning to look at.
Cons:
As the last reviewer stated, this course is still in its infancy, and because of this, the fairways on the back nine are still a bit rough. With piles of wood and brush all over the place, footing can be quite difficult. Players having a tough time staying on the fairway will find themselves trekking all over the course and will become exhausted. With all the elevation and rough off the fairway, hurrying your shot will prove costly.

Navigation was fairly easy getting from hole to hole, but eventually more accurate tee signs will improve the overall feel to the course. Often, there were blind holes and we had to walk down the fairway to figure out where we were to throw. Again, this is something I know will be taken care of by Stumptown as they ALWAYS seem to get everything right when they install a course, it is just a matter of time and money. For now, just use spotters.
Other Thoughts:
Because Stub Stewart Park is so vast, finding the course might be an issue at first. I am sure that eventually there will be a sign from the road as to where to park. Until then, make sure to stop in at the Ranger station when you first enter for directions to the top of the hill day use park. Once you arrive you will find plenty of places to park, as well as benches and tables to sit, eat, and enjoy the amazing views of the snow-capped mountains. There is also a nice restroom there and a kiosk where people pay $5 to park.

As this course continues to grow and fairways continue to develop, I could see me rating this course higher. I look forward to the next time I have a chance to play this course and appreciate all the hard work that has gone in to putting this course in the ground. If you have time, I recommend also making your way to Horning's Hideout. Between the three courses on their property and this one, it makes for an amazing getaway!

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.