Vernonia, OR 
L.L. Stub Stewart State Park Share
Uploaded By: joshkns   (Taken 10/2010)



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Top notch wooded course

2-4    1/23/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: 360DiscGolfer
Played: 70  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- This mountain-style disc golf course is a challenging trail-based course.
- Tons of shot variety that include lots of elevation changes and many doglegs, however multiple holes focus on right turning shots.
- A good amount length combined with lots of trees provides a challenge, yet there are no unrealistic fairways.
- The paver tee pads have great grip and are very eye appealing.
- Brand new orange DISCatchers are very visible and are as good as they get.
- Multiple pin positions.
- Front nine has custom made benches to take a break on near tee pads.
- Signs on holes 1-9 are up and give you an good idea of the hole layout.
- Great flow with only a couple small walkout. Course ends very close to hole 1.
- Gorgeous area with amazing views of the surrounding hills upon arrival.
Cons:
- Tee pad length is adequate however a foot or two longer would be ideal.
- The back 9 still need more work, including addition of signs as well as plenty of brush piles and trimming to deal with.
- Signs on the front 9 are pretty simplistic and could include more details including length or elevation changes
- No signs or benches on the back nine yet.
Other Thoughts: This course is relatively new but already looks great. While this course can be tiring with all the elevation changes that is also what makes it so much fun. The area is very secluded and beautiful making this one of my new favorite courses around. The long term goal is to install 2 more 18 hole courses in the park and when you team that up with the 54 holes at Horning's the area will be a major disc golf destination.

Favorite hole: Hole 4 always comes to mind when I think about LL Stub. This 350' hole (240' in the short position) is a pretty tight hole that drops in elevation quite a bit the whole way down. The fairway just barely fades to the right and due to the major drop in elevation I could see this hole being ace-able, especially in the short position.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 L.L. Stub Stewart State Park

1    12/5/2010   12/9/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 181  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Stub Stewart Park located in Buxton, Oregon is yet another wonderful example of a championship caliber disc golf course. The potential is endless here, and Stumptown Disc Golf Club has done a great job getting the course approved, designed, and installed. The design incorporates elevation on every hole. With elevated tee pads and baskets, along with tight fairways, drives and approaches require a lot of accuracy. Although there are some holes that dogleg left, the majority of holes were straight on shots or dogleg right, especially on the back nine. Each hole has a fairly smooth transition, having players wind down the hillsides and eventually back up close to the parking by the end of the round. There are few walkouts, and those that do require a little are clearly marked by little orange flags.

The baskets are all orange DISCatchers that allow the baskets to stand out on the course. I wish more courses were like this, especially in the northwest since baskets tend to blend in with the heavily wooded background. The baskets all have two pin positions (red/blue), are new, and in great shape (with the exception of hole 17 that is currently missing and is a red painted post). Tee pads are pavers, and seem to grip extremely well. However, a few I feel could have been extended to allow for more of a follow through. For the most part though, they were perfect! Par for the course is 59, with five Par 4's, and 13 Par 3's.

Although there were many holes that stood out to me when I played, hole #16 was my absolute favorite. Lined on both sides with trees, this tight shot was about 20-25 feet wide and about 400 feet long with the pin dead on. It reminded me a lot of hole #15 at Pier Park as well as hole #4 at Blue Ribbon Pines. It required perfect execution and power in order to make par, and was absolutely stunning to look at.
Cons:
As the last reviewer stated, this course is still in its infancy, and because of this, the fairways on the back nine are still a bit rough. With piles of wood and brush all over the place, footing can be quite difficult. Players having a tough time staying on the fairway will find themselves trekking all over the course and will become exhausted. With all the elevation and rough off the fairway, hurrying your shot will prove costly.

Navigation was fairly easy getting from hole to hole, but eventually more accurate tee signs will improve the overall feel to the course. Often, there were blind holes and we had to walk down the fairway to figure out where we were to throw. Again, this is something I know will be taken care of by Stumptown as they ALWAYS seem to get everything right when they install a course, it is just a matter of time and money. For now, just use spotters.
Other Thoughts:
Because Stub Stewart Park is so vast, finding the course might be an issue at first. I am sure that eventually there will be a sign from the road as to where to park. Until then, make sure to stop in at the Ranger station when you first enter for directions to the top of the hill day use park. Once you arrive you will find plenty of places to park, as well as benches and tables to sit, eat, and enjoy the amazing views of the snow-capped mountains. There is also a nice restroom there and a kiosk where people pay $5 to park.

As this course continues to grow and fairways continue to develop, I could see me rating this course higher. I look forward to the next time I have a chance to play this course and appreciate all the hard work that has gone in to putting this course in the ground. If you have time, I recommend also making your way to Horning's Hideout. Between the three courses on their property and this one, it makes for an amazing getaway!

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Stumptown's Newest Endevour

1    12/5/2010   12/8/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2013
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the newest disc golf project from our friends at the Stumptown Disc Golf Club. As usual they know exactly what to do to obtain permission, design, install and maintain a new disc golf course. This place is in its infancy as we currently speak with every basket in position other than hole 17 that still has a tone pole. Some of the trails aren't extremely clear as of now but there are little orange flags stuck into the ground that guide you to the next tee pad. There is a short and long position for every hole on the course as well as tee signs and tee pads. The tee pads are "pavers" and work pretty well although it would have been nice if they were a little longer. Fairways have been cut out of the dense forest and you can tell a ton of work was put in with heavy machinery and manual labor to get the fairways worked out correctly. The course is very tight right now being that it is so new and combined with length and a couple of par four holes this course can be quite brutal on anyone lacking accuracy or someone having an off day. There are lots of little elevation throws put in with the trees that add extra challenge and fun to the overall fabric of the course. It's kind of funny because the course starts out easy enough (although tight woods still) and kind of pounds you into submission as it gets harder and harder and you get more and more frustrated towards the end.
Cons: The biggest issues right now are piles of brush and things sticking up in the fairway and rough that make searching for discs a regular thing. Most of the holes on the course are blind basket locations and also need spotters so it's a good idea to send a playing partner (if you have one) down the fairway to tell you where the basket is and also spot for you while you throw. Some of the Fairways or
"un-fairways" are more about being lucky rather than skill shots (I RARELY whine about this) or make you have to throw a forehand roller over and over but this is because the course is so new and doesn't have much people playing it yet; over time I think this will become less of an issue with more play.
Other Thoughts: When you make it in the park make sure and stop by the Welcome Center to ask the rangers about the course as they have some really good knowledge. We were driving around trying to find the entrance when we decided to go back there and the ranger was friendly and knew where to go which was at the top of the hill at the day use center where you park and pay. From there you should go across the road to the dirt trail and you will find hole number one. Before you go and play the course first take a second to soak in the beautiful scenery in the background of the nearby snow topped mountains, there is a great view from the parking lot and I recommend a camera if you are into that sort of thing. I think with some brush clearing and some work in no time I will be moving my rating to a 4.0. I can't wait to come back, it is so great that it is so close to Horning's Hideout!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Stub Stewart

1    11/8/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: MindDump
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Awesome Terrain, tight fairways, pretty challenging basket placements! This 2nd growth forest course is beautiful!
Cons: Easy to lose discs in underbrush, recommend using a spotter for most drives!
Other Thoughts: Only had 14 baskets in-place when played, but walked the remaining holes just to get a feel for the layout. Very sweet layout! Awesome during the"off-season" (fall, winter, spring). Could get crowded during the summer months though...

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.