Vernonia, OR 
L.L. Stub Stewart State Park Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #6 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee: Straight up hill, VERY steep.



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
In the woods

2-4    5/25/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 35  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Im going to preface this review with- I am a sub 900 rated player who throws 300-320 in a flat open field. This place really challenges my accuracy and disc selection, while forcing me to constantly choose between maybe going for glory/disaster and simply playing it smart.

-Scenic, set along a ridge in a state park every hole plays along tree/fern lined fairways, not one whole is visually boring. And LL Stub offers great views and spots to picnic before/after rounds.

-Variety/Difficulty- while some of the short positions are not that challenging, when placed in the longs the shots that the holes ask me to shape really stretch my skill set, a solid forehand and backhand both come into play.

-Facilities, day use parking area offers nice restrooms/water fountain, cut-tree benches on every pad, paver pads are all fairly flat large enough for short run-ups.

-General Navigation, while the individual holes have some nav issues (see cons) their are extremely clear trails in between each hole, with usefull "next hole" sign posts at some trail intersections.

-Placement shots, due to lacking a spectacular RHFH I find myself really relying on accurate BH placement shots with this course, challenging my ability to really judge distance and slopes. I love courses that force me to try something new.

-Location, you feel extremely isolated but you are only 45min outside of central portland, a must visit if you are in PDX with a car and half a day to kill.

-Exercise, Most of the holes play down from elevation or back up the hills, while not a hugely long course its a work out for sure.
Cons: -Hole navigation on the back 9. Like I said before it is very easy to find your way in between holes, but due to the back 9 lacking signs on the tee posts and with a number of blind holes I find myself wandering 3/4 of the way down fairways to check on where the pin is.

-While part of the charm the ferns and underbrush are serious disc eaters here, multiple cardmates/ a spotter are a must as a shot catching a nasty tree kick can quickly become lost.
Other Thoughts: With full signs at each tee I would probably give this a 4.5/5.

The lack of any truly wide open holes doesn't bother me but if they are your thing, this isnt the place for you.

For a number of holes, 13/14 in particular, if you haven't played the hole scout it out before running upshots at the baskets, that hill is STEEP and any shot going over the edge is lost unless you are a sherpa.

One last thought, I would love to play here with someone that can really crush an accurate RHFH flex shot, for a number of the holes in longs I can see that that is probably the way to go but dont have the skill yet to make it happen!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bring supplies

1    9/19/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: Rugball
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of the hillside terrain in a beautiful Oregon forest. Nice pavers for the teepads even though they were all fairly short. There was a carved log bench (or two) at every hole. I appreciated the orange rim at the top of every basket and the drop-boxes for found discs at #1 and #10.
Cons: Unlike the previous reviewer's experience, there were only hole diagrams, no marker writing with distances that I could see. And there were only hole diagrams for the first nine holes. That meant I had to hike half the trail on the back nine to attempt to get an idea of where the baskets might be. But several holes had baskets tucked away and not visible to one side or the other, like #17. I threw a nice anny following the pathway, only to get to my disc and realize that the basket was well to the left.

Not a true con, but there are no trash bins one the course or at the Hilltop park where you leave your car. Pack it in and pack it out. There's a central trash area near the park entrance for the campers to use.
Other Thoughts: Don't forget to bring $5 for the park fee unless you have the OR forest pass. I don't mind paying a few bucks if it means you'll have a well-maintained course to enjoy. This is a tough technical course, but there's a few shorter holes and I picked up a few birdies here and there. Don't expect any real opportunities to air out shots. Be sure to have control over your midrange discs because you'll be throwing those for sure. I played solo, so I didn't dare throw a driver on the few longer holes. I didn't lose a single disc and didn't have to waste a lot of time bushwacking either. Keep in mind that the undergrowth is pretty lush before you try to bomb a hole.

Finding the course is super easy, but it is *MILES* from anything. Bring any supplies you need for the day and enjoy the serene beauty of the park. Even better, bring your bike for a post-round ride because there are miles of trails here, some paved and rougher ones.

PS - There's a ton of RV/camper sites at the park, so it would be a great roadtrip course if you like to RV. I didn't see any tent sites so I'm almost sure it's RV/camper only. Check their website for more info.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Super Intermediate Course In A Beautiful Oregon State Park!

1    6/19/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm not sure which is better at L.L. Stub Stewart State Park's Disc Golf Course, the amenities, which are among the top 5% of the courses I've played or the lovely, sloping piece of Oregon forest land on which this course is built.

Start with the terrain. It's the quintessential piece of beautiful Oregon forest. Once you get 100 feet from parking lot, you feel like you're alone in the wilderness. The course was built along this sloping property with it's many horse and hiking trails. I doubt if you'll encounter any hikers or horses. The underbrush is naturally thick in places. The sword ferns are especially good hiding places for discs. Although I played this course SOLO, I highly recommend playing it with someone or in a group to maximize the enjoyment factor. There are a couple of holes , # 3 in particular, where an errant hyser can sail quite a ways downhill. I chose to skip that particular hole playing by myself, having no-one up ahead to help spot.

Everything here has been so well planned out and designed. You're impressed when you step up to the # 1 tee box with pavers and the basic tee signs. Someone used a Sharpie and neatly wrote the distance and Par on all of the tee sign posts. I really appreciated this information. There is a kiosk at the start as well as a disc return box. Almost every hole has a nice bench to rest your weary legs on. These too are much appreciated as this course is a hike indeed.

Each hole has two basket positions Red/Blue and the baskets have a bright Orange rims making them easy to spot in these seas of green.

The course is a technical wooded course. There are no "Open" holes to let loose on. Having said that, I found the distance just long enough on most holes to add to the difficulty, especially coupled with tight fairways, ever-changing elevation and sometimes treacherous rough.

The greens around the baskets were bordered with smaller logs and then filled with wood chips to keep them from getting so muddy during the wet weather.

# 10 was a 330' Par 4 uphill shot but the basket was in such a cool little landing area that I had to love the hole.

# 13 was another lovely, interesting hole. It was an anhyser throw where the fairway just kept turning to the right.
Cons: I could find almost no cons with this course. It's so lovely and so well designed and maintained. I found one bottle and one can and carried them out.

I did not like the long or Blue basket placement for # 10, I think ?. It's a great downhill throw to the shorter basket placement which would be visible from the tee. But the long position seemed like an afterthought. It was stuck back in the woods another 60 feet or so with no line or fairway leading to it. Just didn't care for it.

It's not quite going to challenge the advanced to pro player but I gotta believe they'd enjoy the hell out of it.
Other Thoughts: I would love to see simple bag holders attached to tee poles here. It would be nice to keep your bag off the ground on those wet Oregon days.

My other words of wisdom for golfers here. There are quite a few stinging nettles here. Remember that the Indians along time ago discovered that the Brachen ferns are a natural remedy to take the sting out of nettles. Brachen Ferns are the slightly smaller, green, more delicate looking ferns than the heavier, dark green sword ferns. Brachen ferns look more like the houseplant variety. Just break a leaf off the Brachen fern and rub it on the infected area and it will help ease the stinging effects.

If you haven't made the trek out to L.L. Stub Stewart State Park, I would encourage you to do so. It's a wonderful, enjoyable way to spend some time in this beautiful forest environment flinging discs! And it's just kinda fun saying the name.....L.L. Stub Stewart State Park.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

first impressions

1    3/7/2013   3/8/2013
Review By: Spectralmonkey
Played: 103  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: amazing hike through the woods
easy navigation... obvious paths
quality baskets
challenging and a nice variety
well cleared out (compared to the past or so im told)
benches at almost every hole if not all...
Cons: tricky as hell
short teepads that sometimes back up against hills or trees making a full run up harder.
some tees in the back nine missing signs (but the writings on the poles helped....
spotters required for some holes, also some blind holes that require a walk out view...
no trash pack it in pack it out means that lazy people leave trash behind
Other Thoughts: one of the most challenging courses in the area
worth the trip from portland
comparable to not much else around due to elevation and technical shot shaping requirements

a wicked course not to miss... i wish i played it sooner! gorgeous forest setting and nobody else out there on a beautiful day !

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate/Expert

1    9/13/2012   11/30/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 419  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a very large state park, which has a ton of land dedicated to the disc golf. There are some horse trails by some of the holes, but there shouldn't be too much interference. As every sign here points out - it is a trail based course! Follow the path to where your disc landed, and walk perpendicular through the rough!
- Entire layout is set in the woods, which means there is a whole lot of line shaping going on. Very few opportunities to relax. #1 and #2 are probably as easy as it gets, with fairly straight lines that aren't too tight. A ton of other holes are pretty narrow with hyzers/anhyzers to get around some corners and through some tight gaps. Holes like #8, #15, and #16 are especially narrow; accuracy is a MUST.
- Good balance and variety of lines here, they are not all simple hyzers or annys. #12 and #13 are sweeping doglegs right, with #12 almost a u-turn from start to finish. A bunch of holes work well with a RHFH anny shot; the hyzer lines are there but the curvature is well suited to the s-curve. Also a good amount of straight-up RHFH flicks or RHBH annys. Also some tricky straight shots that don't give much room for error.
- There are a lot of trees here, all over, from start to finish. Errant shots can be kicked deep into the woods, usually into dense tree jail. Getting par is tricky enough, saving par after a tough shot can be nearly impossible.
- Elevation changes are ever present here, starting with #3. It really makes the course; on flat land it'd be interesting, instead it is very tricky. #4 is a steep downhill shot through the woods, and #7 and #11 have a decent downslope. Fun stuff. #6 and #10 are not so fun, playing tight uphill shots. The long pins are especially tough to reach.
- Long pins make a big difference where present, adding significant length and challenge. Many were still in the works when I played there, but it was obvious what the shot would be.
- Good baskets and teepads; the amenities will be awesome when complete. Great benches and other man-made structures to make the course top-notch when complete. Tee signs also a work in progress, but navigation is still pretty easy.
Cons: - While I will never complain about all the holes being located in the woods, there are indeed very few open shots to let 'em rip. Not a con in my book, but some might not like it.
Other Thoughts: - Kind of tough to come up with cons for this course; it is what it is. Lots of tight, tricky lines in the woods, good variety of holes lengths, with good and decent elevation changes here and there. If you like that, then awesome! If not, then too bad! There aren't many epic holes but it is solid from start to finish.
- Best suited for intermediate or better players; way too many trees for a beginner to have a good time.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Stub Stewart is in my top 3

2-4    7/14/2012   7/15/2012
Review By: AceAtHornings
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Stub Stewart has almost all the things I look for in a DG course...quiet/scenic setting, course is maintained and easy to navigate, provides some challenging holes and it's very likely you'll leave with the same number of discs you started with! This course is not perfect, but it has the overall package that works for me.
Cons: Everytime I play at Stub Stewart, I usually have to comb through the foliage a few times to find my disc. The "fairways" are very narrow...they're basically trails.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of my top 3 favorites.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Rough Draft of a Course

2-4    9/15/2011   9/16/2011
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Oregon country west of Portland is a pretty place, with rolling hills covered by a patchwork matrix of young trees of different ages/heights painted on different portions of the landscape. It is almost always cloudy, and rains a lot, but very green and lush as a result.

The creators of this course appear to have had a mostly blank slate to work with in a fairly young (60-ish years?) forest of almost 100% fir trees (a few juvenile hardwood stands can be found here and there). They carved out a network of trails through the fir trees in the usual way, and left the stumps in the walking paths (presumably to mitigate erosion), and called it "trail-based disc golf."

I love this concept, and I think it has a lot of potential. Some of the holes on this course (particularly the back 9) will eventually become very fun and challenging, and you can get a preview of this while playing out there in the next few years.

This is generally a fun place to spend a day, there are nice park amenities near the 1st tee, a bathroom, bbq pits, etc.. Walking the course is not a problem, just a short hike around a hillside area.
Cons: The edges of the tee pads dangerous and slippery when wet! Watch out! They are bordered by some sort of treated wood or synthetic plastic wood that is very smooth. I highly recommend that you don't put your plant foot too close to the front of the pad...you could seriously break your head open.

The front 9 were all set up extremely short. It was really unpleasant to play this way, because the short positions are like 100' off the tee! And it was relentless, we kept coming to the next tee hoping to find it set up longer, just to be disappointed again and again and again. It made these holes into essentially narrow and short upshots down the trail. But I'm not sure that if they were all set in the longer positions that I'd be any more satisfied, since the posts marking the long positions were only typically 50 or so feet further back than the short. There is absolutely no question that the front 9 are way too short. The designers might be able to add longer positions over time, but until they do this is the very definition of "putt putt" disc golf.

The back 9 have enormous potential for great holes, but the way the fairways are cut (elbows, semi-circles, doglegs, etc.) requires shots to be thrown higher with some air under them to work the necessary lines. However, the shaded (leafless) branches of the fir trees are left poking out into the fairways above 15' off the ground, making it a total crap shoot to throw a disc on higher routes through the fairways. This must be mitigated before this part of the course can be considered ready to play.

While this might just be a consequence of trail-based disc golf, there are rarely options to throw different routes to the basket, or to decide to take more risky shots but for more potential reward. Typically, there is only one path, and the course designers already decided it for you. What is lost is the calculus of risk-vs-reward that is so essential to the idea of golf in general (particularly at the competitive level).

The signage on the course is in progress, but it would be really helpful if there were some sort of distance scale or something on the tee signs. Maybe the pin locations could be listed, along with their distances off the tee.
Other Thoughts: During the second round I decided to try and score well on the back 9 just to see how I could do (the 1st round was experimentation). Considering every hole to be par 3, I ended up with 5 pars, 3 bogeys, and 1 birdie (hole 18). It was pretty tough, considering my putting game was pretty strong during that round. I decided that quite a few of the back 9 holes have no chance for getting your drive to the pin for an inside-the-circle birdie. Mostly any birdies will be hitting longer approach shots (around 60'). On the other hand, I can pick up 7-8 birdies on the front 9, so scoring under par over all 18 is relatively easy (but only for this reason).

If I lived out in this area, I would gladly pitch in to the effort of further developing this course. There is still a ton of debris to be cleared (can it be mulched and spread on the trails?). On some of the holes and paths I can already foresee that erosion might eventually become a serious problem on portions of the course, and perhaps retaining walls and more stairs will need to be built.

Over all, if you've played all the other great courses in the region, and you're looking for something fresh, then come play this course. Otherwise, don't waste your time just yet.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The new kid in town

1    7/4/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 114  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You'll arrive in a parking lot with a beautiful vista of the countryside below. Say goodbye because this course is entirely wooded and has a different kind of scenery that is no less impressive.

The course forces some throws through some narrow alleys of tall pines. The shorter holes are not difficult to par, but it can be difficult to get aggressive on the longer ones without punishment.

The bright orange baskets show up very well against the green background, although they are not always visible from the basket. Tee pads are good, too. They were some sort of brick, and traction didn't seem to be an issue (it wasn't wet when I was there, though).

I don't think navigation was a big problem here once you got started. The hiking paths are obvious. This looks like the kind of place you'd have a field trip in grade school. This is a much better use of the land. But maybe you'd better bring a brown bag lunch just in case.

There is some great elevation changes here, but with the ferns there weren't a ton of rollaways, which was nice. If you like technical courses that require accuracy more than sheer distance (and I do), this is your place.
Cons: Losing a disc here is more likely than at any of the other Oregon courses I played. The undergrowth is mostly just ferns, but it's thick. Unfortunately a few holes make losing a disc more likely. I thought #3 in particular was a poor design, forcing a long drive where any ricochet off a tree ensures a long search on the steep slope below (the hole was at least 500 feet long with no landing zones). On that note, the fairways here are just hiking paths. There are no landing areas. Bring your bright colored discs.

The tee signs are not great, just painted strips along wooden posts that have very little information.

Lastly, this course doesn't have much variety. Look at the pictures online and you'll see what I mean. That said, if you're going to have a lack of variety, this is a heck of place to have it!
Other Thoughts: At one point I threw a shot that stayed on the fairway but collided with a dead branch on a tree and knocked it to the ground. A guy in the group we were playing through commented that that is going to need to happen a lot, and I realized that was part of the issue: the course just isn't worn in yet. Eventually those ticky tack deflecting branches won't be a part of the fairway, the piles of deadwood will have been removed, and the course will have found the balance between heavy undergrowth and heavy foot traffic.

If you want a good perspective on the course, check out this piece done by a local news crew while I was out there. Shameless self-promotion: that's me sinking the putt around 4:19. They were gracious enough to edit out some of my awful shots!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?...ayer_embedded#at=200

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Northwest Terrain

1    7/14/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 181  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 22.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Imagine a hiking trail through lush wooded Northwest forests. Then place tee pads and baskets right on top of this trail, and you have Stub Stewart. Talk about a fun, unique and challenging course that sometimes has fairways just a bit wider than these walking trails and you can see that you will need a very accurate game here. The terrain is quite elevated on many (if not most) of the holes, and errant throws may go flying down a steep gully or into some lush undergrowth, and for that reason it should be reserved for intermediate level and above players. The variety of holes will urge you to throw a wide range of discs due to the changing up and down, left and right, or straight and narrow fairways. You won't need a lot of power here - accuracy and moderate power will serve you well.

Amenities I liked: Bright Orange DiscCatcher baskets stand out boldly from the forest. The signs were nice, but did not indicate the distance or pin placement (yes, there are 2 per hole). The teepads were grippy, nice looking, though short. The main trail through the fairways was smooth and well maintained.

This place is so quiet and peaceful and beautiful you will want to get another round in.

Cons: There's a string of holes late in the course (I believe holes 11-14) that are all dogleg right. I am a RHFH thrower, and these play to my strengths, but it became a little redundant having such similar turning holes all jammed together. I had no complaints about the individual holes in this string, however.

Finding the actual course - we had to ask a parks guy - they have a big bright sign that talks about the disc course, but it's tucked in the woods across the street from the parking (Day Use).
Other Thoughts: Stumptown Disc Club did another great job here. If they were to add more holes it could become a destination site with camping is available (the sites, however, were a bit bland compared to Horning's Hideout's.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic but Pretty Rough

1    6/12/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My reviews mostly will be focusing on the overall experience of the courses rather than hole-by-hole analysis.

First of all, the course was most definitely abundant with trees, plant life, and a winding trail to walk on. This makes for a scenic walk through the forest.

The course will reward you for technical skills when it comes to picking what discs to use, what throwing styles to use, and how to weave through the trees.

There are a lot of varieties with how the hole designs are planned out. Some are uphill, downhill, or with rather extreme doglegs, and there aren't a lot of repetitive layout designs for the holes. It makes for an interesting experience not quite knowing what to expect the next hole will bring you.



Cons: The bad aspects with this course has more to do with the fact that it's too tough for most of the recreational players, and it's too "rough" to casually enjoy the course with a reasonable time frame.

I think it will be required to have all eyes fixed on every throw made in your group to ensure that everyone doesn't lose their discs in the "rough." The rough is everywhere, and for many of the holes, the fairway is very narrow. While I understand that the state park wants to make the course as natural as possible, but it makes it very difficult to find the discs in the forest.

Couple of hole designs baffle me a bit. I can't remember which hole it was, but there was one C-shaped hole that I absolutely did not like. It had an extreme dogleg to the right that it makes the hole seem to be shaped like the letter C.
Other Thoughts: I'm not so sure if I will come back to this course again, but it sure is a nice place to go if you'd like to combine two activities: mountain biking and disc golfing in the same day.

This course had enough character and challenges that it certainly can be enjoyable for many of you, but I don't think I can warrant giving this course a score of higher than 3, because there are a lot of other courses I have played that are more enjoyable and provides enough challenges for the more advanced players.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.