West Lafayette, IN 
Purdue University DGC Share
Uploaded By: Rockwell Hole #4 (Taken 9/2010)
-- / --   3 / 200ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
It's 18 Now

2-4    6/29/2014   7/20/2014
Review By: optimalben
Played: 22  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I added a half point to my rating, based purely on the quality of the course's art. The statues that are in play on the holes 10/11 are better than any other disc golf course art I've seen!

I love the layout of the front 9, involving the hill climbs and descents and the hardwood trees that discipline you into keeping your throws low and precise. The back 9 is a lot less demanding, except with respect to power. If you can/want to let it rip the back 9 here is the place for you to take out some aggression.
Cons: Despite pretty ample signage, this course is still hard to navigate. I had a heck of a time finding #4 (you have to go through this hedge and throw from the backyard of the neighboring frat house). There's also a part on the back 9 where you have to walk on the shoulder of McCormick road (far west side of campus) to get to hole 14 (as I recall). And there are 3 holes that have baskets clustered together and it takes some hard knocks to learn which is which (I think it's 12, 15, 18, right by the land bridge over the creek.

These aren't major setbacks, of course, but they're the kind of thing that annoys you until you learn the course by memory.
Other Thoughts: Park right by hole #1 at the bottom or the hill near the intersection of Stadium and Jischke (there's a band shell right there to use as a landmark). Don't go up to the top of Slater hill and start trying to find the beginning; you'll end up starting with #s 7, 9 or wandering around. Learned this the hard way my first time.

This may sound lazy but I recommend driving and re-parking for the back 9. You can walk down Stadium Ave. to get there after #9, but if you parked right by hole #1 (see above) your car will be right there. So unless you're feeling mildly ambitious, just drive over to the back 9.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic 9 Hole Course

5+    4/27/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beginner/Intermediate 9 hole course on the north part of campus. More challenging and hilly than typical 9 hole courses in Indy.

Tees - One large brick tees that are mostly even per hole.

Signs - Great signs that show map of hole, hole number, distance, and par (and they are in school colors which is a nice touch. Sign with info on disc golf at start of course near hole 1. Signs hanging below baskets pointing towards next hole. Sign after 3 pointing you towards 4.

Baskets - 9 extremely grippy Chainstar baskets.

Variety - Extreme elevation! Several uphill shots. A few downhill bombs. A few blind shots. No hole is flat. Many mature trees on every hole that force you to navigate wisely. One bad throw and you can roll waaaaay away from the fairway. Great mix of distance ranging from 200-425.

Course has great views of campus and looks great in the fall.

Lots of much needed shade in the summer.

Easy to get to and easy to navigate.

Benches and trash cans on site. Course is well maintained.

Downhill drives are feel good drives. Long bombs where you throw further than you normally do. Be careful not to overthrow. Hole 2 is also a very solid hole.

Discs available in nearby building.
Cons: Only one tee per hole. Adding a second tee per hole either of a varying difficulty or if it was an alternate tee would drastically improve this course and add much more variety. There is room to do so and change the line for each hole.

No alternate basket locations.

A few fairways border each other (6 and 7) and can cause safety issues. A mandolin on hole 6 helps to eliminate this issue.

Course is frequently closed during home football games and concerts on the hill (beware). Baskets will get pulled.

Course could use a few signs pointing you to the next tee (after hole 3 comes to mind).

A few tees and baskets near the street. Could add danger.

Course is on a popular hill and can become very busy.

Thorn tree next to basket on hole 3. Could damage you or your disc.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. Even though it is only 9 holes, it's a must play if in the area. It's great to introduce students to the game. I want to give this course a 3.5 but with only 9 baskets and 9 holes I just can't. This is one hell of a course. Alternate basket locations and dual tees could boost this course to a 3.5.

There is another 9 hole course, Pickett Park, that is shorter than a half mile away (short walk). If this course is too hard, play Pickett park. If it is too easy, I would suggest Murdock Park. This course plus Pickett make a full 18.

The views and elevation make this course great. Additional tees would greatly improve this course. I would recommend it if traveling through Northern Indiana off Interstate 65. Check the home football schedule before playing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/16/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very fun course! Of all the 9-hole or less courses I've ever played, this is absolutely in my top 3.

There's a great variety of shots including open and tight shots, short and long, hyzer and anhyzer. The signature hole in my mind is #9, a massive 400 feet downhill bomb, which is a hole I definitely didn't see coming but it pleasantly surprised me.

The location of it is awesome as well, on one side it overlooks Purdue's campus and on the other side is the delta delta delta house which has a really great looking exterior and the things living inside are pretty attractive too. :)

There's fantastic signage, good tees, good quality baskets, and very good flow.
Cons: The biggest con in my eyes is that it's only 9 holes. The design and everything is great and the land is greatly utilized. I wish there would have been more available.

On a few of the holes, #2 and #9 especially stand out, if you shank a drive (or massively overshoot), you have the potential to hit a car which is one of the worst possible things outside of hitting a person...but it's tough to avoid on this course without giving up significant fun points.
Other Thoughts: At the end of the day, I feel bad only giving Purdue's campus course a 3.0, but at the end of the day, it's only 9 holes, but it's absolutely worth checking out if you're in the area. I'd love to go back!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good for a college course

5+    7/17/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: ski3
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The signs are awesome, especially for hole 4. The course is well maintained and the use of the space is well done. Quick course for a lunch time throw.
Cons: The majority of holes are 200 ft and the placement of holes almost always will force you into tree line. Especially on 6 where the mando forces you to either throw into the tree line above or risk going out of bounce on the left by throwing a straight shot. Hole 3 is frustrating due to absolutely no fairway, I mean I understand obstacles but come on.
Other Thoughts: At times the course plays like a challenging disc control course, but then the wind on the hill makes its extremely frustrating for all the short shots. Hole 9 will make up for hole 7 for beginners as you get major flight.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cool

5+    3/16/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: jcjohns
Played: 74  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads and baskets
Good signage
Elevation, elevation, elevation
Cons: 9 holes
Hole 9 finishes too close to rock wall that will tear up a disc if it crashes into it
Can be a very busy part of campus
Course pulled during home football games and concerts on the hill
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course for what it was designed for. The concept was from a freshman just starting to play to a senior that started 4 years previous this course would be fun, challenging, but not frustrating. For the more serious golfer, this course is fun to play here and there, but the other local courses overshadow it. I think having the course right on campus is a great way to introduce new players to the sport, but keep that in mind if/when you get out there to throw.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Slater Hill

1    5/6/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: Discalier
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes are designed pretty well. Good signage to let you know where the basket's are.
Cons: Only 9 holes, that you can play twice to make 18. A crosswind coming over the hill can really act on your discs.
Other Thoughts: You'll get a workout on your legs climbing up and down the hill.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/23/2011   4/25/2011
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Purdue's course is one of the better 9-holers I've played, and blends a unique mix of amenities that make for a very good course.

The strongest aspect of this course is the land used. Most college courses I've played use throw away land in some desolate area of the campus, but Purdue's course is on and along a huge hill in the middle of campus, so you get awesome views of the surrounding area.

Every basket has a next tee arrow on the bottom of the pole that makes naviation easy. All the signs include recommended flight paths and designated OB.

The course is designed to use the hill as the main challenge on most shots, requiring players to adjust to big uphill shots on one hole then big downhill looks on the next. Large trees add obstacles on most holes.
Cons: My biggest qualm about this course was the lack of distance. After the brutal uphill bomb on #2, 5 out of the next 6 holes play at 255 or less. Other than that, my other cons are just nit picking...

The brick tees look cool, and they're functional, but they're on the small side and allow for no more than a two step run up.

When I played this course, construction on the band shell was blocking the tee on #1, The pin for #9 was only about 250ft from the tee, so I'm assuming that had been moved due to construction as well. This didn't effect my rating. but it sucked none the less.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the best college course I've played, and one of the best 9ers I've played. It's definitely worth a stop if you're anywhere near Purdue.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Little Course

1    3/18/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: aarikc17
Played: 75  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Signage:

This course probably has the best signage I have ever seen. I love the next tee pad signs that are hanging on the bottom of the baskets, they seem very high quality and durable. Tee signs give enough information for you to know where the basket is, and are also in tip top shape and very easy to read

Teepads:

I love the large square brick teepads! At first I didn't know whether or not I would like them, but they provided excellent footing for all shots, and where plenty long/wide enough for my run up.

Holes:

Hole by hole this course provides excellent shot variety, and elevation change.

Land usage:

I don't think they could have done any better with the land they were given. I mean really is almost perfect.
Cons: Close to streets:

A couple holes play along some roads, but will only come into play with bad shots, or an unlucky kick.

Fairways:

Two fairways kind of blend together going in the opposite direction. A mando takes care of this but I can see people not playing the mando and causing a safety concern.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this couse with a friend that I drug out and forced to play with me (not interested in the sport). We got done quick and I think he ended up not hating DG so much in the end.

#9 is a really fun down hill shot.

#2 is a great long uphill hole.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Roller heaven or hell

1    11/8/2010   11/12/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 170  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 20.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: •Chainstar targets •Paver brick tees •High Quality tee signs with directional signs hanging from the baskets •Highest point in the County?...nice views of the campus. #1 215' Par 3 uphill drive,guarded by trees with parking on the right. Approach/putt has a low canopy shot on the left,a good chance of a roller. #2 425' Par 4 more open fairway,up slope drive with the fairway sloping on both sides. Roll-a-way on the right will go in the street. #3 255' Par 3 The flatest fairway with it having a treeline in the middle you thrown thru or around with the target between two short,wide trees waiting to knock your disc down. Look for a directional Sign for #4 tee. #4 200' Par 3 Open hyzer blind shot...Ace run! #5 200' Par 3 Open Straight shot with the target over the ridge in front of the large tree. #6 410' Par 4 With a mando uphill drive with scattered mature trees and roller possibilities. Mando drive left due to #7 basket placement. #7 250' Par 3 Downhill shot with a more open shot on the left....roller possibility. #8 205' Par 3 Uphill with mature trees about half way with long out reaching branches forcing low canopy throws all the way up. #9 400' Par 3 Bomber hole! Open Downhill drive with the target to the right of the stage....don't over throw or your in the street!....another roller?
Cons: •As stated on the #1 tee sign "course closed during home football games and activities at the performing arts stage".... O.K. MAYBE you could play #3?4,5,6. •no water holes •It's not 18 •no beer cart, but you are on a college campus so someone may offer you one!?
Other Thoughts: If you use the parking lot on the hill use #9 as #1. Port-a-let in the parking lot with trash cans. Course is new so watch for runners using the hill.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Start Up Course

1    10/23/2010   10/23/2010
Review By: bwilson217
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -On a college campus.
-Mature Trees
-Great Signs
-Great Baskets
-Course Navigates Very Well
Cons: -Its new, so people are still adjusting to it. (Should be fine in the future)
-Some of the holes play downhill close to a busy road.
Other Thoughts: This course was brilliant for a beginner course. There will most likely never be a PDGA tournament on this course but it is an awesome way to spread the game of disc golf. College kids love frisbees. There is a 400ft down hill shot, it is a great hole.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.