West Lafayette, IN
Purdue University DGC Share
Uploaded By: Rockwell Hole #5 (Taken 9/2010)
-- / --   3 / 200ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    8/16/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very fun course! Of all the 9-hole or less courses I've ever played, this is absolutely in my top 3.

There's a great variety of shots including open and tight shots, short and long, hyzer and anhyzer. The signature hole in my mind is #9, a massive 400 feet downhill bomb, which is a hole I definitely didn't see coming but it pleasantly surprised me.

The location of it is awesome as well, on one side it overlooks Purdue's campus and on the other side is the delta delta delta house which has a really great looking exterior and the things living inside are pretty attractive too. :)

There's fantastic signage, good tees, good quality baskets, and very good flow.
Cons: The biggest con in my eyes is that it's only 9 holes. The design and everything is great and the land is greatly utilized. I wish there would have been more available.

On a few of the holes, #2 and #9 especially stand out, if you shank a drive (or massively overshoot), you have the potential to hit a car which is one of the worst possible things outside of hitting a person...but it's tough to avoid on this course without giving up significant fun points.
Other Thoughts: At the end of the day, I feel bad only giving Purdue's campus course a 3.0, but at the end of the day, it's only 9 holes, but it's absolutely worth checking out if you're in the area. I'd love to go back!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good for a college course

5+    7/17/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: ski3
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The signs are awesome, especially for hole 4. The course is well maintained and the use of the space is well done. Quick course for a lunch time throw.
Cons: The majority of holes are 200 ft and the placement of holes almost always will force you into tree line. Especially on 6 where the mando forces you to either throw into the tree line above or risk going out of bounce on the left by throwing a straight shot. Hole 3 is frustrating due to absolutely no fairway, I mean I understand obstacles but come on.
Other Thoughts: At times the course plays like a challenging disc control course, but then the wind on the hill makes its extremely frustrating for all the short shots. Hole 9 will make up for hole 7 for beginners as you get major flight.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cool

5+    3/16/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: jcjohns
Played: 63  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads and baskets
Good signage
Elevation, elevation, elevation
Cons: 9 holes
Hole 9 finishes too close to rock wall that will tear up a disc if it crashes into it
Can be a very busy part of campus
Course pulled during home football games and concerts on the hill
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course for what it was designed for. The concept was from a freshman just starting to play to a senior that started 4 years previous this course would be fun, challenging, but not frustrating. For the more serious golfer, this course is fun to play here and there, but the other local courses overshadow it. I think having the course right on campus is a great way to introduce new players to the sport, but keep that in mind if/when you get out there to throw.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Slater Hill

1    5/6/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: Discalier
Played: 36  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes are designed pretty well. Good signage to let you know where the basket's are.
Cons: Only 9 holes, that you can play twice to make 18. A crosswind coming over the hill can really act on your discs.
Other Thoughts: You'll get a workout on your legs climbing up and down the hill.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/23/2011   4/25/2011
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 62  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Purdue's course is one of the better 9-holers I've played, and blends a unique mix of amenities that make for a very good course.

The strongest aspect of this course is the land used. Most college courses I've played use throw away land in some desolate area of the campus, but Purdue's course is on and along a huge hill in the middle of campus, so you get awesome views of the surrounding area.

Every basket has a next tee arrow on the bottom of the pole that makes naviation easy. All the signs include recommended flight paths and designated OB.

The course is designed to use the hill as the main challenge on most shots, requiring players to adjust to big uphill shots on one hole then big downhill looks on the next. Large trees add obstacles on most holes.
Cons: My biggest qualm about this course was the lack of distance. After the brutal uphill bomb on #2, 5 out of the next 6 holes play at 255 or less. Other than that, my other cons are just nit picking...

The brick tees look cool, and they're functional, but they're on the small side and allow for no more than a two step run up.

When I played this course, construction on the band shell was blocking the tee on #1, The pin for #9 was only about 250ft from the tee, so I'm assuming that had been moved due to construction as well. This didn't effect my rating. but it sucked none the less.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the best college course I've played, and one of the best 9ers I've played. It's definitely worth a stop if you're anywhere near Purdue.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Little Course

1    3/18/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: aarikc17
Played: 75  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Signage:

This course probably has the best signage I have ever seen. I love the next tee pad signs that are hanging on the bottom of the baskets, they seem very high quality and durable. Tee signs give enough information for you to know where the basket is, and are also in tip top shape and very easy to read

Teepads:

I love the large square brick teepads! At first I didn't know whether or not I would like them, but they provided excellent footing for all shots, and where plenty long/wide enough for my run up.

Holes:

Hole by hole this course provides excellent shot variety, and elevation change.

Land usage:

I don't think they could have done any better with the land they were given. I mean really is almost perfect.
Cons: Close to streets:

A couple holes play along some roads, but will only come into play with bad shots, or an unlucky kick.

Fairways:

Two fairways kind of blend together going in the opposite direction. A mando takes care of this but I can see people not playing the mando and causing a safety concern.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this couse with a friend that I drug out and forced to play with me (not interested in the sport). We got done quick and I think he ended up not hating DG so much in the end.

#9 is a really fun down hill shot.

#2 is a great long uphill hole.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Roller heaven or hell

1    11/8/2010   11/12/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 168  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 20 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: •Chainstar targets •Paver brick tees •High Quality tee signs with directional signs hanging from the baskets •Highest point in the County?...nice views of the campus. #1 215' Par 3 uphill drive,guarded by trees with parking on the right. Approach/putt has a low canopy shot on the left,a good chance of a roller. #2 425' Par 4 more open fairway,up slope drive with the fairway sloping on both sides. Roll-a-way on the right will go in the street. #3 255' Par 3 The flatest fairway with it having a treeline in the middle you thrown thru or around with the target between two short,wide trees waiting to knock your disc down. Look for a directional Sign for #4 tee. #4 200' Par 3 Open hyzer blind shot...Ace run! #5 200' Par 3 Open Straight shot with the target over the ridge in front of the large tree. #6 410' Par 4 With a mando uphill drive with scattered mature trees and roller possibilities. Mando drive left due to #7 basket placement. #7 250' Par 3 Downhill shot with a more open shot on the left....roller possibility. #8 205' Par 3 Uphill with mature trees about half way with long out reaching branches forcing low canopy throws all the way up. #9 400' Par 3 Bomber hole! Open Downhill drive with the target to the right of the stage....don't over throw or your in the street!....another roller?
Cons: •As stated on the #1 tee sign "course closed during home football games and activities at the performing arts stage".... O.K. MAYBE you could play #3?4,5,6. •no water holes •It's not 18 •no beer cart, but you are on a college campus so someone may offer you one!?
Other Thoughts: If you use the parking lot on the hill use #9 as #1. Port-a-let in the parking lot with trash cans. Course is new so watch for runners using the hill.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Start Up Course

1    10/23/2010   10/23/2010
Review By: bwilson217
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -On a college campus.
-Mature Trees
-Great Signs
-Great Baskets
-Course Navigates Very Well
Cons: -Its new, so people are still adjusting to it. (Should be fine in the future)
-Some of the holes play downhill close to a busy road.
Other Thoughts: This course was brilliant for a beginner course. There will most likely never be a PDGA tournament on this course but it is an awesome way to spread the game of disc golf. College kids love frisbees. There is a 400ft down hill shot, it is a great hole.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.