Pioneer, CA 
Mollie Joyce DGC Share
Uploaded By: mnestor Hole #5 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pleasently Surprised

1    1/26/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: markleedisc
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a quite, safe, clean, community park in a rural town at about 3000' in the Sierra foothills.

Designers made excellent use of elevation and natural topography. The multiple basket settings allowed for a constant mix of right/left, up/down, tight/open, long/short options.

Cedars and giant Oaks tower over a huge variety of smaller trees and bushes creating a beautiful setting for disc golf. The forest has been selectively thinned to create a variety of fairways. The rubber tee pads are adequate, have benches, and are well marked with new heavy duty signs. Easy to follow trails and easy to locate baskets make for a no hassle experience.

None of us ever lost our way, or lost a disc.
All of us had a unique, happy, disc golf experience.
Cons: There is supposedly poison oak on the course but it has either been removed or was dormant because we did not see any.
Brooms would be helpful.
There was not any water on course but there are markets in either direction within a few miles.

Other Thoughts: I stopped by here last year and only had time to play the first 3 holes. My first impression was that it would be difficult to find my way around and easy to loose discs. I couldn't have been more wrong.

The course is great for all skill levels so bring the kids and dogs (on leash).

Some strenuous climbing is required.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great wooded course

1    3/29/2013   5/2/2013
Review By: dlmehl
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging course, lots of uphill & down hill shots, Lots of tree shots & nice markers on every hole, these guys are really doing a nice job of keeping the course up. One of the club members was accually there doing some work & was very helpful for us as we were on a mini vacation.
Cons: Poison oak, the guy that was there said they had got rid of alot of the poison oak that was in the fairways, nice job! If you are not in good shape like me, you will get very winded from the uphill climbing, pace your self & carry some water as there is no water on the course.
Other Thoughts: If you are traveling in this area, PLAY THIS COURSE it will be well worth your while

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Someone Is Doing Molly Joyce DGC The Right Way!

1    8/26/2012   9/26/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My compliments to the designers and current folks who are providing the maintenance and upkeep on Molly Joyce. They are certainly doing the little things correctly. By little things, I'm referring to amentities like the nice big "Next Tee Signs" and paths lined with rocks and tree branches aiding navigation. And the bench at # 7 with the shock absorbers. That's very cool with the bench being mounted on two fat rubber tires!

My initiall impression of the course was kinda lukewarm and then I came to # 4. It's 442' downhill and fairly tight through the trees with a little hyser at the end. I actually never spotted the basket until I had walked halfway down the hill.
# 13-14 and 15 are three sweet little ACE RUNS in a row. All three are extremely well done, fun with # 15 taking a little more skill off the tee. I was impressed with the three of them.

And # 18 is a double mando where you have to throw through a gap between two trees. The gap is between 4' and 20' wide and is right in your flight path but ........it will definitely mess with the minds of us (ME) weak minded players. Good players will have no problems with it. I can forsee many rec rounds or tournaments being decided on this mando as well as a few quarters/dollars being won or lost here on 18. Great finishing hole!
Cons: I'm worried about vandalism. The signs are not vandal proof and I think they will fall prey to the teen maurauders. The basket numbers are OK for now but they will not handle the teen hordes.
This course is so isolated. Actually, Pioneer is pretty isolated itself.
Other Thoughts: This was my favorite course on my recent 31 course trip through the Sacremento/Reno area. I may have rated a couple of other courses higher but Molly Joyce is new and being improved all the time. And the designers are doing everything the right way.

Holes 4, 13, 14, 15 and 18 are outstanding, in my opinion. I'd make the long drive up here just to throw them again and the rest of the course is not bad.
With some improvements, I could see moving my rating up to a 4. Try this course on for size. You'll like it!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Why do you have to be so far away?

5+    9/6/2012   9/13/2012
Review By: jasonandsharon
Played: 142  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 30.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Out of the over 100 course I've played this one is actually one of my favorites. This is what a mountain course should be. Its fun, its challenging, but its fair. Its heavily wooded but there are still fairways to throw on, not just throw blindly at trees and hope it goes through. Its got plenty of elevation changes, but the holes are thought out and not just 12 holes throwing up and down a mountain. Its got wide open field shots for the first 5 holes, all use elevation though as they all play on the side of the mountain, before going into some tight tunneled fairways. The brush will punish errant shots so keep your throws on target, to me this is a pro not a con.
Cons: It really is in the middle of nowhere CA. Sorry Pioneer. Its an hour and a half drive from my house, but I still make excuses to come up this way. Navigation can be a little tough the first time, would recommend printing the course map i uploaded here. But the course is fairly well marked if you pay attention.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and if you're in the area a must stop and play. It can be tough to justify the gas money out this far though, I know, my wife keeps telling me.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Mollie joyce

5+    2/3/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: reilly norcal
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging yet fair, mountain course with lots of elevation and lots of trees. Takes between 1.5 and 2 hrs to play. Can go 5 under than 5 over course never plays the same
Cons: Poison oak
Other Thoughts: Awesome course getting better all the time, thanx to all of the local help. Bag tags are available at play it again sports in Jackson, there is usually a bag tag match Sunday's around 8:30 am

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mini Mountain Course

1    4/19/2011   4/23/2011
Review By: kinfolkfan
Played: 96  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I visit Jackson occasionally and was happy to hear about this course. We went expecting a small 9 hole course at a park. Upon seeing hole one our minds were changed. This course really offers a great deal of challenge and variety. It is very well marked, if you get lost look for giant white arrows pointing your way, also someone has started lining the path to the next tee with rocks. It looks really cool, but may be a problem for mowing. When I said the course had variety I meant it, holes on the side of hills, down hills, up hills, open, moderately wooded, short shots, and some longer shots as well. This course will give a pretty hard work out walking up and down the hill. It really looks like the local DG folks are putting in a lot of work to make it a really cool park.
Cons: This course is very young and is coming along nicely. If I had to get nit picky I would say the signage is nice for now, but it is being vandalized it seemed. The signs were not made to be messed with and could possibly not last long. As well the markers on top of the baskets, indicating hole number, are not attached and could easily be stolen or misplaced. The brush could be a con to some as it makes disc retrieval harder. This course will give you a work out(like it or not). Not sure how this course plays in the wet season but I could see some situations arising.
Other Thoughts: I hope my thoughts help some people looking to play the course as well as the folks taking care of it. Thanks for all the hard work that went in to this course and I hope to play it more in the future. Cheers.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.