Lynchburg, VA 
Randolph College DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #3 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I'll keep it short, like the course...

1    10/26/2014   10/26/2014
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you play this course more than 1-2 times, you're highly likely to hit an ace.

If your up-shot game needs work this course would be an excellent place to practice those, but you'll be doing it from the tee pads ;)

Honestly, some of the shots, despite barely being over 100', are pretty unique because they're straight up a hill and play a lot longer. You'll still only use a putter, but they play closer to 200'.

You'll have exactly 1 hole where it's conceivable to pull out something more than a putter to drive with.

The campus is beautiful and I'm glad to have experienced it in the prime of leaf season.
Cons: This course is WAY too short. In fact, probably the shortest course I've ever played. (The now-extinct Buncombe County sports park might be shorter)

The "tee pads" are simply toe boards with writing on them. Granted, you don't really need a pad as you'll inevitably be standing still while driving...

Navigation and parking may be tricky. It's not very intuitive where to start but if you walk around the circular building enough you'll see the well made course sign and you'll be on your way. I've been told it's ok to park on campus when you're there, but it is a campus and it's possible you'll get a ticket...

Hole 4(the one you might pull out a mid for) is actually really thick and steep on the left hand side. Be careful when you tee off as it would be easy to lose a disc down in there.
Other Thoughts: I may have spent more time writing this review than it took to play the course. In fact, we casually played our round in ~25 minutes.

If you're on a break between class, or work nearby on lunch break, this would be something to help with your day. Other than that, I doubt I'd ever play it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice little 9 hole.

2-4    7/20/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: JMcCon
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Easy to navigate course.
-Nice campus setting.
-Good for beginners / a quick round if you are near by.
-Nice DISCatcher baskets.
-Neat use of land and property for course.
-Good for practice and leisure play.
Cons: -Short holes and tees for most of the holes.
-Not worth the drive to that area across town when I have two better courses closer.
Other Thoughts: Over all it is fun and worth a try atleast once.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Get Creative

5+    1/8/2012   1/11/2012
Review By: frabs
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate
Short enough to squeeze in a quick round
Lots of room for safari/improvised holes
Good baskets
Good use of the land
Almost no traffic
Cons: Very short
Very easy
Other Thoughts: I gave this course the rating I did because of the opportunities for improvised holes. Its a putt putt course when played from the given tees, but there is enough open space that I rarely play from the actual tees. I play here just about every day (I go to school here), and it is probably my favorite place to play because of the improvised holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short & sweet... & hilly!

2-4    6/24/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: Old Swampy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Compact course with hills. Good course map beside first tee. Ample parking (at least when school's out). Toe boards with readable hole information. Ace opportunities. Well maintained grounds.
Cons: Short holes. Tees can be a bit hard to find the first time through the course; no arrows or other indicators to direct you to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: I played this course twice today. Aside from having to hunt for the tees a couple of times it was fun. A few of the holes seem somewhat contrived, but the course is squeezed into a somewhat small space on a college campus, so I guess that's understandable.

The hazards here are varied; off-target first shots can end up in a parking lot (hole 3) or the woods (several holes). If you want to practice short holes with elevation changes, this is a good course. The longest holes are 250' and 280' and are par 4; all others are 160' or less and par 3. Most holes are fairly open, but 5 involves a corridor through the trees; it's short and direct, though, and an easy birdie if you can throw straight.

The tee areas are grass and well-mowed. In fact, the grass was being cut when we were there. The guy on the mower kindly paused and allowed us to play #3 before resuming his passes across the area. The most confusing spot was following hole 4; to reach the tee for 5, cross the paved path (don't follow it) and head downhill towards the amphitheater. Part of the way downhill you should find the tee area for 5. Some other tees can be difficult to spot since the only thing marking them is a toe board that's flush with the ground in the middle of an open grassy area. But keep looking -- they're all there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Upshot Ace Opps

1    4/23/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
If you want to work on your up-shots and simultaneously have ace opportunities, 1/3rd of these holes (2,8,9) are fairly-open, steep-uphill, and short (100-130')
Cons:
Short and shoehorned - extremely so.
Other Thoughts:
On a small, steep hillside located between a parking lot and a sports fields, you'll find an amphitheatre, a volleyball court, a couple buildings, a couple walking paths, a couple copses of trees - and, oh yeah, nine new baskets and their corresponding toeboards.

Most holes are short (average ~150', 2/3rds 130' or less), straight, and have minimal obstacles, so elevation change will be your foremost challenge when playing this course.

If you park at the far end of the parking lot, you can start at tee-4, next to the small brick building with a small metal top. Map makes course easy to navigate (basic clockwise motion), except don't follow the paved path after finish #4 - head towards the in-hill amphitheatre seating instead.

With beginner-intermediate friendly Peaks View 3.5 miles away, and challenging Liberty U 6.5 miles away, this course will most likely appeal to locals w/o transportation, and course-baggers.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Just what you need between classes

1    11/7/2010   11/9/2010
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 453  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course koisk with map and distances
- Toe boards have hole#, par, and distance on them
- Good use of a small peice of land
- Uses the elevation available
- Area course is in is well groomed
Cons: - No take with map, or navigation aids on the course
- Toe boards get covered by leaves
- Only one player level
- uses some common areas of the campus that could have conflicts at times.
Other Thoughts: The course is located of the student lot on N Princeton Cir. The first tee is behind the round chapel. Once I was able to locate the course(the directions and gps locations were a little off, don't worry I fixed them) it welcomes you with a nice course map, however nothing to take with you. Luckly this is a small course so you can see most of the baskets from hole one. The course is short but it makes great use of the little amount of land its in using the hills to go up and down and even gets to stretch it out a little on a couple holes. The toe boards make for very simple tees but with all the info on them they get the job done. The baskets were even numbered which aided me in finding the first tee. The course could use some painted rungs to point to the next hole as some spots get a little tricky and with the leaves covering some of the toe boards spotting some of them was hard. The course shares some common areas with an outdoor stage and a volleyball court which if in use could close down a few holes. No other frills about the course ie benchs ect but its so short you shouldn't need it.

This is a short and sweet birdy fest for anyone with any experience otherwise its a great course to get someone started on. I'd play it often if I went there.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.