Princeton Jct., NJ 
Mercer County Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: spawnaside Hole #5 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 304ft.   3 / 127ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Mercer County Park = Awesome

2-4    11/9/2013   12/22/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Nice baskets, they were in perfect shape
- Signs to guide you to the course
- A practice basket was there
- A fast nine holes
- One hole was 127 feet and it was over a tree, awesome!
Cons: - Crazy Pars, they were not very right.
- Tee boxes were too small
- Hole one was a weird shot
- Gopher holes are everywhere!
Other Thoughts: This is your middle course out of 3, most likely.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Close to home; A place to play

5+    9/21/2013   11/17/2013
Review By: DiscFlicker77
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It is close for many players and good course for beginners.
-Good course if you like to roll your discs.
Cons: -HOLES ARE SHORT AND PARS AREN'T RIGHT. Every hole should be a par 3. Some could even be a 2.
-The rough is thick, nasty and unforgiving. I, along with friends, have lost a lot of discs here. I have also found multiple discs from others while looking for my own.
Other Thoughts: My dad and I were looking for shed deer antlers when we stumbled upon the course. Never heard of disc golf before that but I tried it out and became addicted, like most. There is plenty of room in this park for them to add another 9 holes or put in a nice 18 hole course if they had the funding.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner course

1    6/5/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 29  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I stopped by this course while on a business trip. It was easy to find, there was nice signage to help locate the course once inside the park. It is a well kept course in a virtual disc golf dead zone. The course is set in an area of the park that is disc golf exclusive, so encounters with other park goers seems rare. The fairways are well kept and relatively well defined. Finding the next tee from the previous basket is easy, just follow the well defined mowed areas. The baskets are in terrific shape.
Cons: The course is slightly awkward with sharp turns off the tee, hole 3 in particular. It is very RHBH dominant and the pars are very very generous. I would take a shot off each listed par 4 and 5 to make the scoring more realistic. You can probably play them all as par 3's. A 245 ft par 4? I don't think so.

There were many gopher holes dotting the fairways as well, I stepped in one and could see someone really getting hurt and twisting an ankle if they aren't careful. The tee signs, though nice looking, aren't as straightforward as they seem. I tried to get my bearings by locating the two tee boxes at each hole and then extrapolating from that information where the basket was. Some signs are way off and I had to run ahead to locate the basket, then run back to the tee to ensure I didn't throw an aimless shot into the woods. Holes 7 and 9 come to mind as being laid out completely differently than their respective signs show. As others have stated, the tee boxes are extremely short, though at least it is nice to have defined tee boxes.

I like the idea of having two tees for each basket to attempt to make this an 18 hole course, but this can lead to overlapping with other players and getting in each other's way.
Other Thoughts: Finding the first tee was a bit tricky, even with the signs. As others have said, it would make more sense for hole 2 to be hole 1 due to proximity to the parking lot.

I only played 9 holes off the 'A' tees due to rain and lack of time. This is a decent starter course that will hopefully have some improvements made. I am from the Lehigh Valley, so I may be spoiled with all the good courses in my area. But with nothing else around for miles, this course is a decent play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Good Start

2-4    8/18/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: bubba0077
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Finally a course in Mercer Co. This is a good start to a course, and great for players just starting the game. The alternate tee pads provide a full 18 if you alternate through the course or play through once using A's and once using B's. Fairways are well maintained. Course is still pretty young, so pins are in great shape.
Cons: Course design needs some work. Many more doglegs left than right; caters to RHBH/LHFH. Also a few of the B tees are pretty short, even rec players have good chance at ace. Several of the posted pars are probably a stroke high: total par is probably closer to 65 than the posted 71.

As others have said, tee boxes are raised and short. They are also crushed stone and already beginning to wear down, causing pits where people usually step. These could become problematic in the future.

Lots of long undergrowth off of the fairways. More often than not the penalty for missing the fairway is difficulty finding your disc rather than a difficult recovery shot.
Other Thoughts: Course is new and there is lots of unused park it can grow into. With local support this course could be developed and expanded into a tournament-caliber course. Encourage people to make this course popular. Experienced local players should consider teaming up with BCDGA to promote the course and for guidance in working with Parks & Rec. to support/expand course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Good Practice Spot

5+    3/8/2011   3/9/2011
Review By: Aroxx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of open space with some good pin positions. This course is pretty quiet its nice to have the place to yourself sometimes. Beautiful spot, park service keeps the entire place mowed and in great condition.
Cons: Large open space isn't utilized well, most of the long tees are still very short. The new tee-signs are really nice but I wish more effort had gone into course design (mainly tee location) before finalizing tee-signs. Some holes are easy par 3's marked as par 4s or 5s, etc. The tee-pads are in now too but are very short and raised up off the ground so you cant run up to it or on it. I don't play any of the tees on the course I just make up my own tee spots. Hole #2 used to be #3, they shifted the entire course but still didn't get it right. Current hole #2 should be hole #1 so you start and finish closest to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of potential but needs some re-design on a bunch of holes. Overall it is a fun 9 hole course to play, I love coming here because its really close to where I live and its a good quiet place to get away and practice driving/putting.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice 9-hole

2-4    2/20/2011   2/20/2011
Review By: itsthedaubs
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets are all brand new and are in excellent shape, multiple tees on every hole. Tee signs have now been installed and are pretty nice. I would say that this course would be an excellent beginners course, especially utilizing the B tees.
Cons: The B tees are extremely short, some are less than 130ft (which is why these may be good for beginners). The tee boxes are gravel and are extremely short. The course should start at hole #2 (this was originally numbered as hole #3 before the tee signs were installed). The teepad for hole # 2 is the closest to the parking lot, and Hole # 1's basket plays right next to this (this should become hole #9 if it were my call). no elevation.
Other Thoughts: There is definitely a lot of room to expand this course. Whether this be with additional holes, teepads, or pin placements. Due to how open most of the course plays I think a few man-made obstacles would really help with the appeal.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Work in Progress

1    11/1/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 61  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/8/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Recently built 9 hole course, and thus has new baskets and tee pads. A "short" and "long" tee are present at each hole depending on the level of challenge you want. Despite the lack of signage, navigation is very easy- always a plus when playing. Course enters the woods at a couple of junctures but is primarily open with various trees/shrubbery providing obstacles to challenge you. Some interesting holes- the "horseshoe" on hole #1 in particular is a very good hole from the long tee, and a couple of others require you to throw through narrow openings leading to the basket. Fairways and landing areas have been carved out nicely and have been mowed sufficiently. Located on a nice piece of property in a very big county park.
Cons: At 8 feet in length, the tee boxes are a bit short, and cinder rock surface must be packed down better for good run ups- much of this will correct itself as the course gets used. Currently, there are no signs or 'next tee" markers whatsoever. Short tees are a bit TOO SHORT at four of the holes and provide ace opportunities and sure birdies for even an average player. Beware- more gopher holes than the course in "Caddyshack", so pay attention where you walk.
Other Thoughts: This course has TREMENDOUS potential, and as usual, it will depend on where the Parks Department chooses to go from here and whether or not it is willing to maintain it. A loyal DG following in the Mercer County area needs to make themselves known and available!! The space exists to add another 9 holes and make this a wonderful addition to an otherwise sub par disc golf scene in New Jersey, My rating reflects the course in its current state- and I will gladly add another half or whole "disc" to its rating when tee signs are installed and/or another 9 holes are added. I enjoyed playing here and definitely will return.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.