West Windsor Township, NJ 
Mercer County Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: K. Butter Hole #1 (Taken 10/2013)
4 / 405ft.   3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Short Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Home Course.

5+    10/7/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: FlyingHyzer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good for area residents who want to play a quick 9 or 18, or if you're passing through.
-Practice basket in usable area now.
-It's a place to play.
-Water fountains in adjacent soccer fields.
-Great course for beginners.
-Well maintained, grass cut regularly.
--- MCDGC is making a lot of changes to the course.
--- new tee areas on most holes.
--- a lot of the Russian olives have been trimmed up and removed.
--- hole 3's basket is moved to a new location.
Cons: -As others have stated, tee boxes are far too short. I start behind them, which poses a tripping hazard.
-A few holes are just poorly designed.
-Signs aren't very helpful, and distances aren't all correct.
-Pars are kind of unrealistic, but thats great for a beginners ego. EDIT: pars have been changed.
-ROUGH IS NASTY!!! Will swallow discs up whole.
-Full of poison ivy, ticks, and sticker bushes.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and we recently formed a club out here, Mercer County Disc Golf Club. We've been busting our humps trying to improve to course so people can come and enjoy it. Check for the new tee areas which are all natural tee pads for now. Here are the new holes to check out 2b (in the woods to the right of 2a), 3a 3b, 4a (look for a path at the end of hole 3) 4b (walk out to original 4a look for the "4b" sign on the left and follow path to teepad). 5b (in the woods to the left of 5a). 9a. Course is coming along nicely I encourage you to come check it out if you didn't like it before, give it another chance!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice little short course with mean ruff!

5+    9/20/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Fishfood
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good for a quick round of 9 or 18 using the optional tee placements. Grassy fairways with woods and or high ruff makes for a fun round of DG. Ruff can be deep and with nasties (poison ivy sticker bushes), stay on course or risk potentially loosing your favorite disc. The biggest challenge here, otherwise it's pretty straight forward. Tee pads are gravel and there are signs at every hole with a good description of the hole layout.
Cons: Tee boxes are 24" too short and are badly in need of raking. The whole course plays like a big left hand turn. It would be a step forward to re-work the course and possibly create 9 more additional holes using the adjacent forest to create a very sweet course. Word is the Park Service doesn't want to engage in the venture.
Other Thoughts: This is a small, albeit fun, 9 hole course that is well maintained by the park service...just wish they would use any of the available land to expand the course.
9/20 additional note: Played a round of night golf here. Due to the park being open late with all the ball games under the lights..you can get some night golf in here without issues.
10/27- I've been trimming the course for the past 2 months and raking most of the tee boxes....this course needs a club to adopt this DGC and hopefully make a true 18 hole course using the existing woods....will see what develops...I'm thinking of getting some interest together and organizing the regular players.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great beginners course

1    4/19/2013   4/20/2013
Review By: Dupree721
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a very condensed course. Near every pin is a teepad for the next hole. 9 holes with 2 different teepads per hole makes for 18 holes that can be challenging.

I played this course and literally no one else was there. I had the entire course to myself which was nice.
Cons: Every hole goes either straight or hyzer. It isn't THAT easy though, as there are many trees and obstacles to wrap around.

The signage wasn't nice looking, but I did need to take a peek to see what general direction I was throwing to.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad beginners course and I will probably shoot a quick 9 when I'm in the area again!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Good, The Bad, and Mercer.

5+    12/14/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: K. Butter
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I play this course all the time since it's only a few minutes from home. Very good beginner course (I've taught a few friends the disc golf basics here many times. Fun to play even for advanced players. Signage is excellent and makes for easy course navigation. Tee pads are in decent condition. Dual tees (long/short) make it a quick and decent 18 hole course.
Cons: The racetrack layout clearly shows it was designed for righties. Dogleg left, dogleg left…Definitely needs some variety to make it more challenging and not just cater to RHBH throwers (this coming from me, a RHBH player).

Tee pads are on the short side. They need to be at least another 4 feet in length. They're elevated above the ground but the gravel is showing signs of settlement and rutting. This makes you worry more about face planting from uneven footing. Concrete slabs would alleviate any tee pad woes.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for gopher holes! (They're everywhere)

Playing this course numerous times, we've come up with a few new holes to mix it up a bit. Pay in mind this should only be done when there is no one else playing in front of or behind you. Play the course normally until #6. From #6 short tee, shoot back to #5 basket. From #5 basket, shoot across the high grass to #8 basket. Continue towards #9, however, cut back into where the power lines run (dirt road) and shoot to the practice basket. From the practice basket, shoot to the #9 basket.

This could easily be a nice 18 hole course if an additional back 9 were put in. The forested area near #7 and #8 would make for a great "in to the woods" section.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby....

1    4/23/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: Kavie_Large
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice quick 9. Some nice long open fairways. Quick in and out. Not too challenging and a good place to cut your teeth.
Flat as a board.
Cons: Not the best tee signage. A little confusing on 9 and whatever hole i threw it totally perpendicular to the fairway past the other tee box into the thorns. My directions were not so good as the street name its on has two different sections in the area.
Flat as a board.
Other Thoughts: I played this course in a nor'easter and still was only 4 over. I'm not sure whether that's an indictment on this course's level of difficulty or my poor decision making abilities.
Danger Danger High Voltage!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    3/15/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: Disc Fiend
Played: 61  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are nice open holes so you can air it out. Two sets of tees at each hole make it so you can play 18 holes if you play around twice. It is not busy most of the time so more often then not you will have the course to yourself. Nice new baskets, I use this course a lot for practice because I live only a couple minutes away from it
Cons: The Teepads are gravel and have huge ruts in them which make it hard to get good footing most of the time. The teepads are also a little on the short side. The pars for each hole are really high, but I fix that by just playing everything par 3
Other Thoughts: A great start! This course has a lot of potential and I hope it gets the TLC it needs to become a really good course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/18/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: Mr. Elixir
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy navigation. New tee boxes and signs finally all in place. 9 holes + 2 tees each(long/short) = 18 total holes. Most long and short tees are spread nicely so they really do feel like a completely different hole at times. Multiple ace opportunities from several of the short tees. Flat terrain provides easy walking and most holes have open fairways, but some well placed trees/shrubs add a nice challenge for several shots. Nearly impossible to lose a disc during Fall/Winter when the brush is minimal but this will surely change with the growing season.
Cons: Course design could be better. Tee pads are raised a few inches off the ground and on the short side so watch out if you take long strides like me. Several of the "B" holes are a little too short and could be made to be more challenging. Beware the gopher holes and all the thorns in the brush/undergrowth. The holes should be re-numbered (Hole 2 should really be Hole 1... it just makes more sense for the layout and parking.)
Other Thoughts: All in all, I've greatly enjoyed playing this new local course (I'm just happy to have one in Mercer) but it could certainly benefit from some improvements, re-design, and/or additional holes. It's a decent beginner-friendly course and although most fairways are out in the open, some difficult shots are still required and just a little wind can greatly impact your game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 open course

5+    10/23/2010   10/23/2010
Review By: Dino
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very open course.Practice basket on left side of the power lines. 1st hole across the access road, you'll see the tees.Only holes 3,4,5 in the woods. nice open holes on 7 and 8, a little of everything. Long and short tee on each hole,
Cons: They just set this course up earlier this year and only recently laid down the tee boxes. Only 9 holes, they are still working on it.
Other Thoughts: This course is minutes from my house. I've rarely played and seen other players there, usually have the course all to your self

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.