Princeton Jct., NJ
Mercer County Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: K. Butter Hole #1 (Taken 10/2013)
4 / 405ft.   3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
bad tee off angles

1    4/27/2012   4/27/2012
Review By: discNDav
Played: 289  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 27.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Located in clean well maintained county park.
The DGA baskets themselves are brand new and very nice. Two sets of tees, A and B with tee signs at both locations. Holes 5 - 8 were good. Plenty of room for expansion and 9 more holes. The course is not near other park activities.
Cons: The design on holes 1 - 4 and 9 is simply TERRIBLE. Figuring out hole one was difficult even with the tee signs.

I hated the angles for tee shots required. I'm guessing a park employee designed this course and didn't get advise from an experienced disc golfer.

The tee boxes are too short and have ruts in them already. The baskets are installed a few inches too high as the sleeves were not lowered enough. Very flat = no elevation change at all.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 should be #9 and hole #2 should be #1 considering where parking is.

re: parking, drive down the dirt road to the first tee area and park on the grass, you do not have to park in the paved parking lot and have the long walk to #1.

I probably will not return to this course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    3/15/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: Disc Fiend
Played: 56  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are nice open holes so you can air it out. Two sets of tees at each hole make it so you can play 18 holes if you play around twice. It is not busy most of the time so more often then not you will have the course to yourself. Nice new baskets, I use this course a lot for practice because I live only a couple minutes away from it
Cons: The Teepads are gravel and have huge ruts in them which make it hard to get good footing most of the time. The teepads are also a little on the short side. The pars for each hole are really high, but I fix that by just playing everything par 3
Other Thoughts: A great start! This course has a lot of potential and I hope it gets the TLC it needs to become a really good course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Very beginner-friendly

1    3/2/2012   3/2/2012
Review By: ectuohy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well-signposted, good mix of long and short, meadow and woods, course in great shape
Cons: Relatively flat and unvaried topography; nearby (busy-ish) park road
Other Thoughts: As someone just starting out in the sport, I'd highly recommend coming here the "B" tees make it possible for those who haven't yet mastered drivers to focus on their mid-range and putting games. Par figures might be a bit flattering to beginners but it's a good psychological boost for us! :)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good 9 hole

5+    1/7/2012   1/31/2012
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very well maintained 9 hole course. Each hole has two different tee locations so it can be made into 18 holes easily.

It has a good use of open fields and dense woods
Cons: Gopher holes.

The listed Pars seem high to me.
Other Thoughts: Being the closest course to my house I have played this many many times and it is better than any other town park 9 hole course I have seen.

The raised gravel tee pads add an interesting change.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good Start

2-4    8/18/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: bubba0077
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Finally a course in Mercer Co. This is a good start to a course, and great for players just starting the game. The alternate tee pads provide a full 18 if you alternate through the course or play through once using A's and once using B's. Fairways are well maintained. Course is still pretty young, so pins are in great shape.
Cons: Course design needs some work. Many more doglegs left than right; caters to RHBH/LHFH. Also a few of the B tees are pretty short, even rec players have good chance at ace. Several of the posted pars are probably a stroke high: total par is probably closer to 65 than the posted 71.

As others have said, tee boxes are raised and short. They are also crushed stone and already beginning to wear down, causing pits where people usually step. These could become problematic in the future.

Lots of long undergrowth off of the fairways. More often than not the penalty for missing the fairway is difficulty finding your disc rather than a difficult recovery shot.
Other Thoughts: Course is new and there is lots of unused park it can grow into. With local support this course could be developed and expanded into a tournament-caliber course. Encourage people to make this course popular. Experienced local players should consider teaming up with BCDGA to promote the course and for guidance in working with Parks & Rec. to support/expand course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Course

2-4    8/1/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: kgbadger
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great signage, well maintained, beginner friendly.
Cons: Not closer to my home... no elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Some may consider this course too simple (9-holes, double tees, 71 par) but I found it quite enjoyable with enough challenges to be intriguing. Several narrow fairways, hard dog-legs, low hanging branches, short trees force any player to think about their shot selection. Experienced players should be able to achieve scores well below par.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/18/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: Mr. Elixir
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy navigation. New tee boxes and signs finally all in place. 9 holes + 2 tees each(long/short) = 18 total holes. Most long and short tees are spread nicely so they really do feel like a completely different hole at times. Multiple ace opportunities from several of the short tees. Flat terrain provides easy walking and most holes have open fairways, but some well placed trees/shrubs add a nice challenge for several shots. Nearly impossible to lose a disc during Fall/Winter when the brush is minimal but this will surely change with the growing season.
Cons: Course design could be better. Tee pads are raised a few inches off the ground and on the short side so watch out if you take long strides like me. Several of the "B" holes are a little too short and could be made to be more challenging. Beware the gopher holes and all the thorns in the brush/undergrowth. The holes should be re-numbered (Hole 2 should really be Hole 1... it just makes more sense for the layout and parking.)
Other Thoughts: All in all, I've greatly enjoyed playing this new local course (I'm just happy to have one in Mercer) but it could certainly benefit from some improvements, re-design, and/or additional holes. It's a decent beginner-friendly course and although most fairways are out in the open, some difficult shots are still required and just a little wind can greatly impact your game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Good Practice Spot

5+    3/8/2011   3/9/2011
Review By: Aroxx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of open space with some good pin positions. This course is pretty quiet its nice to have the place to yourself sometimes. Beautiful spot, park service keeps the entire place mowed and in great condition.
Cons: Large open space isn't utilized well, most of the long tees are still very short. The new tee-signs are really nice but I wish more effort had gone into course design (mainly tee location) before finalizing tee-signs. Some holes are easy par 3's marked as par 4s or 5s, etc. The tee-pads are in now too but are very short and raised up off the ground so you cant run up to it or on it. I don't play any of the tees on the course I just make up my own tee spots. Hole #2 used to be #3, they shifted the entire course but still didn't get it right. Current hole #2 should be hole #1 so you start and finish closest to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of potential but needs some re-design on a bunch of holes. Overall it is a fun 9 hole course to play, I love coming here because its really close to where I live and its a good quiet place to get away and practice driving/putting.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice 9-hole

2-4    2/20/2011   2/20/2011
Review By: itsthedaubs
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets are all brand new and are in excellent shape, multiple tees on every hole. Tee signs have now been installed and are pretty nice. I would say that this course would be an excellent beginners course, especially utilizing the B tees.
Cons: The B tees are extremely short, some are less than 130ft (which is why these may be good for beginners). The tee boxes are gravel and are extremely short. The course should start at hole #2 (this was originally numbered as hole #3 before the tee signs were installed). The teepad for hole # 2 is the closest to the parking lot, and Hole # 1's basket plays right next to this (this should become hole #9 if it were my call). no elevation.
Other Thoughts: There is definitely a lot of room to expand this course. Whether this be with additional holes, teepads, or pin placements. Due to how open most of the course plays I think a few man-made obstacles would really help with the appeal.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Work in Progress

1    11/1/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 0.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/8/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Recently built 9 hole course, and thus has new baskets and tee pads. A "short" and "long" tee are present at each hole depending on the level of challenge you want. Despite the lack of signage, navigation is very easy- always a plus when playing. Course enters the woods at a couple of junctures but is primarily open with various trees/shrubbery providing obstacles to challenge you. Some interesting holes- the "horseshoe" on hole #1 in particular is a very good hole from the long tee, and a couple of others require you to throw through narrow openings leading to the basket. Fairways and landing areas have been carved out nicely and have been mowed sufficiently. Located on a nice piece of property in a very big county park.
Cons: At 8 feet in length, the tee boxes are a bit short, and cinder rock surface must be packed down better for good run ups- much of this will correct itself as the course gets used. Currently, there are no signs or 'next tee" markers whatsoever. Short tees are a bit TOO SHORT at four of the holes and provide ace opportunities and sure birdies for even an average player. Beware- more gopher holes than the course in "Caddyshack", so pay attention where you walk.
Other Thoughts: This course has TREMENDOUS potential, and as usual, it will depend on where the Parks Department chooses to go from here and whether or not it is willing to maintain it. A loyal DG following in the Mercer County area needs to make themselves known and available!! The space exists to add another 9 holes and make this a wonderful addition to an otherwise sub par disc golf scene in New Jersey, My rating reflects the course in its current state- and I will gladly add another half or whole "disc" to its rating when tee signs are installed and/or another 9 holes are added. I enjoyed playing here and definitely will return.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.