West Windsor Township, NJ 
Mercer County Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: K. Butter Hole #2 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 325ft.   3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Short Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Good beginner course

1    6/5/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 38  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I stopped by this course while on a business trip. It was easy to find, there was nice signage to help locate the course once inside the park. It is a well kept course in a virtual disc golf dead zone. The course is set in an area of the park that is disc golf exclusive, so encounters with other park goers seems rare. The fairways are well kept and relatively well defined. Finding the next tee from the previous basket is easy, just follow the well defined mowed areas. The baskets are in terrific shape.
Cons: The course is slightly awkward with sharp turns off the tee, hole 3 in particular. It is very RHBH dominant and the pars are very very generous. I would take a shot off each listed par 4 and 5 to make the scoring more realistic. You can probably play them all as par 3's. A 245 ft par 4? I don't think so.

There were many gopher holes dotting the fairways as well, I stepped in one and could see someone really getting hurt and twisting an ankle if they aren't careful. The tee signs, though nice looking, aren't as straightforward as they seem. I tried to get my bearings by locating the two tee boxes at each hole and then extrapolating from that information where the basket was. Some signs are way off and I had to run ahead to locate the basket, then run back to the tee to ensure I didn't throw an aimless shot into the woods. Holes 7 and 9 come to mind as being laid out completely differently than their respective signs show. As others have stated, the tee boxes are extremely short, though at least it is nice to have defined tee boxes.

I like the idea of having two tees for each basket to attempt to make this an 18 hole course, but this can lead to overlapping with other players and getting in each other's way.
Other Thoughts: Finding the first tee was a bit tricky, even with the signs. As others have said, it would make more sense for hole 2 to be hole 1 due to proximity to the parking lot.

I only played 9 holes off the 'A' tees due to rain and lack of time. This is a decent starter course that will hopefully have some improvements made. I am from the Lehigh Valley, so I may be spoiled with all the good courses in my area. But with nothing else around for miles, this course is a decent play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby....

1    4/23/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: Kavie_Large
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 21.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice quick 9. Some nice long open fairways. Quick in and out. Not too challenging and a good place to cut your teeth.
Flat as a board.
Cons: Not the best tee signage. A little confusing on 9 and whatever hole i threw it totally perpendicular to the fairway past the other tee box into the thorns. My directions were not so good as the street name its on has two different sections in the area.
Flat as a board.
Other Thoughts: I played this course in a nor'easter and still was only 4 over. I'm not sure whether that's an indictment on this course's level of difficulty or my poor decision making abilities.
Danger Danger High Voltage!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 bad tee off angles

1    4/27/2012   4/27/2012
Review By: discNDav
Played: 339  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 30.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Located in clean well maintained county park.
The DGA baskets themselves are brand new and very nice. Two sets of tees, A and B with tee signs at both locations. Holes 5 - 8 were good. Plenty of room for expansion and 9 more holes. The course is not near other park activities.
Cons: The design on holes 1 - 4 and 9 is simply TERRIBLE. Figuring out hole one was difficult even with the tee signs.

I hated the angles for tee shots required. I'm guessing a park employee designed this course and didn't get advise from an experienced disc golfer.

The tee boxes are too short and have ruts in them already. The baskets are installed a few inches too high as the sleeves were not lowered enough. Very flat = no elevation change at all.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 should be #9 and hole #2 should be #1 considering where parking is.

re: parking, drive down the dirt road to the first tee area and park on the grass, you do not have to park in the paved parking lot and have the long walk to #1.

I probably will not return to this course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    3/15/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: Disc Fiend
Played: 67  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are nice open holes so you can air it out. Two sets of tees at each hole make it so you can play 18 holes if you play around twice. It is not busy most of the time so more often then not you will have the course to yourself. Nice new baskets, I use this course a lot for practice because I live only a couple minutes away from it
Cons: The Teepads are gravel and have huge ruts in them which make it hard to get good footing most of the time. The teepads are also a little on the short side. The pars for each hole are really high, but I fix that by just playing everything par 3
Other Thoughts: A great start! This course has a lot of potential and I hope it gets the TLC it needs to become a really good course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Very beginner-friendly

1    3/2/2012   3/2/2012
Review By: ectuohy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well-signposted, good mix of long and short, meadow and woods, course in great shape
Cons: Relatively flat and unvaried topography; nearby (busy-ish) park road
Other Thoughts: As someone just starting out in the sport, I'd highly recommend coming here the "B" tees make it possible for those who haven't yet mastered drivers to focus on their mid-range and putting games. Par figures might be a bit flattering to beginners but it's a good psychological boost for us! :)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good 9 hole

5+    1/7/2012   1/31/2012
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 46  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very well maintained 9 hole course. Each hole has two different tee locations so it can be made into 18 holes easily.

It has a good use of open fields and dense woods
Cons: Gopher holes.

The listed Pars seem high to me.
Other Thoughts: Being the closest course to my house I have played this many many times and it is better than any other town park 9 hole course I have seen.

The raised gravel tee pads add an interesting change.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good Start

2-4    8/18/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: bubba0077
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Finally a course in Mercer Co. This is a good start to a course, and great for players just starting the game. The alternate tee pads provide a full 18 if you alternate through the course or play through once using A's and once using B's. Fairways are well maintained. Course is still pretty young, so pins are in great shape.
Cons: Course design needs some work. Many more doglegs left than right; caters to RHBH/LHFH. Also a few of the B tees are pretty short, even rec players have good chance at ace. Several of the posted pars are probably a stroke high: total par is probably closer to 65 than the posted 71.

As others have said, tee boxes are raised and short. They are also crushed stone and already beginning to wear down, causing pits where people usually step. These could become problematic in the future.

Lots of long undergrowth off of the fairways. More often than not the penalty for missing the fairway is difficulty finding your disc rather than a difficult recovery shot.
Other Thoughts: Course is new and there is lots of unused park it can grow into. With local support this course could be developed and expanded into a tournament-caliber course. Encourage people to make this course popular. Experienced local players should consider teaming up with BCDGA to promote the course and for guidance in working with Parks & Rec. to support/expand course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Course

2-4    8/1/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: kgbadger
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great signage, well maintained, beginner friendly.
Cons: Not closer to my home... no elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Some may consider this course too simple (9-holes, double tees, 71 par) but I found it quite enjoyable with enough challenges to be intriguing. Several narrow fairways, hard dog-legs, low hanging branches, short trees force any player to think about their shot selection. Experienced players should be able to achieve scores well below par.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/18/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: Mr. Elixir
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy navigation. New tee boxes and signs finally all in place. 9 holes + 2 tees each(long/short) = 18 total holes. Most long and short tees are spread nicely so they really do feel like a completely different hole at times. Multiple ace opportunities from several of the short tees. Flat terrain provides easy walking and most holes have open fairways, but some well placed trees/shrubs add a nice challenge for several shots. Nearly impossible to lose a disc during Fall/Winter when the brush is minimal but this will surely change with the growing season.
Cons: Course design could be better. Tee pads are raised a few inches off the ground and on the short side so watch out if you take long strides like me. Several of the "B" holes are a little too short and could be made to be more challenging. Beware the gopher holes and all the thorns in the brush/undergrowth. The holes should be re-numbered (Hole 2 should really be Hole 1... it just makes more sense for the layout and parking.)
Other Thoughts: All in all, I've greatly enjoyed playing this new local course (I'm just happy to have one in Mercer) but it could certainly benefit from some improvements, re-design, and/or additional holes. It's a decent beginner-friendly course and although most fairways are out in the open, some difficult shots are still required and just a little wind can greatly impact your game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Good Practice Spot

5+    3/8/2011   3/9/2011
Review By: Aroxx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of open space with some good pin positions. This course is pretty quiet its nice to have the place to yourself sometimes. Beautiful spot, park service keeps the entire place mowed and in great condition.
Cons: Large open space isn't utilized well, most of the long tees are still very short. The new tee-signs are really nice but I wish more effort had gone into course design (mainly tee location) before finalizing tee-signs. Some holes are easy par 3's marked as par 4s or 5s, etc. The tee-pads are in now too but are very short and raised up off the ground so you cant run up to it or on it. I don't play any of the tees on the course I just make up my own tee spots. Hole #2 used to be #3, they shifted the entire course but still didn't get it right. Current hole #2 should be hole #1 so you start and finish closest to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of potential but needs some re-design on a bunch of holes. Overall it is a fun 9 hole course to play, I love coming here because its really close to where I live and its a good quiet place to get away and practice driving/putting.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.