Altamont, IL 
Gilbert Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gregwil2 Hole #7 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A quaint course

1    8/16/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: radiotalent
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sign showing the entire course layout by hole one. Good baskets. Tee boxes are (with the exception of hole 4) marked with reasonable diagrams. Park is well mowed and there is ample parking. Layout is basic but utilizes the limited topography well. Several ace potentials for moderately skilled players.
Cons: Tee boxes could use some more gravel/limestone and definition as the grass is starting to take them over. The tee box signs are often facing what I felt was a counter intuitive direction. As of this review, hole four was missing it's tee box sign and was a bit tricky to find.
Other Thoughts: While probably not worth driving expressly for, you're only a short drive to Effingham or St Elmo (when it's playable) and is a good warm up. New and rec players should enjoy the fairly short course and be able to succeed quickly on it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent...Just missing some signs

2-4    6/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: gregwil2
Played: 55  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: Decent layout flow especially with the limited are provided. Used as creek tree line on hole 5 with a mando from one side of the trees to the hole on the right. Then Hole 9 strait back through those same woods but further down to end up where hole 1 starts. There are heavy duty concrete bridges through the woods and over what would be a small stream if there wasn't a drought. All tees have crushed limestone that are in a V shape. All tees also have sign poles ready to be utilized.
Cons: There is no signs anywhere. When I first pulled up it took me a while to figure out where to start. The poles are in place and just begging for some signs. With signs I would give it a 2.5-3.0. There is a playground that could come into play, but it looked pretty old so I'm not sure if its used much. Hole 8 has a fenced in power station that the hole plays semi-close where discs could be lost.
Other Thoughts: This little park is pretty decent. For new players it is a great mix to learn with having mostly short holes, one long hole, a mando and some trees, but not too many. For experience players you can work on your mid-range/short game and then air it out once for the long hole. Like I said before, would be a pretty decent course with some signs so I hope they get put up.

 It's small and fun!!!

2-4    2/20/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: stach23
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.7 Years
Pros: Mach 2 baskets, short enough to play several times in a row.
Cons: Not marked at all; confusing first time playing.
Other Thoughts: I played this course because I was playing St. Elmo's and decided to see what Gilbert Park was all about. People can say all they want, I love this course. To me, it's like miniature golf. This course redefines short, but I like it that way. My home course is Centralia, so I'm used to the 4-5 star courses, but a course like this is needed for a little break every once in a while. And it's addicting! The first 9 I played, I wanted to shoot better, so I played again, and shot better, and again, and shot better...ended up playing 4 times consecutively and had a blast. I live 40 miles from the course, so I probably won't make a special trip to just play that course, but if I'm going up north that way, or play Effingham or St. Elmo, I am definitely stopping by here agin!

 Beginner Friendly

2-4    11/24/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: bwilson217
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
Pros: One of the best features about this course is the Mach 2 baskets. All 9 baskets are in excellent condition and catch very well. Also, this course has a majority of beginner friendly holes that will allow for advanced and pro players alike to work on their short game. One of the holes (hole 4) allows you to really let er rip. It provides a good contrast to the shorter holes. The course plays fairly quickly so you can run through it a couple of times and be on your way.
Cons: The course does not have a course map or tee signs. So it is difficult to find your way around. The tee pads are crushed gravel and were difficult to find because the grass has grown up around the pads.
Other Thoughts: This nine hole course is located in the back of a youth baseball complex. I imagine this course being played mostly by beginners and this is the perfect place to introduce people to the game. The course has respectable baskets and the holes are challenging enough to make it interesting. It was a fun quick play and recommend it to you if you are trying to get a FAST round in.

 Decent city park course

1    12/20/2010   1/4/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly flat city park with a small creek that comes into play on a couple holes. Most of the holes are fairly open with some scattered trees, and a couple holes bring the small wooded area along the creek into play for some more defined lines to hit. There is a mix of hole lengths, from shorter ace runs to a couple holes that are reachable but longer, and one 400'+ hole where you can stretch out a little. The baskets are in great shape and catch well. The tees are level and roomy.
Cons: The course has a couple interesting holes where you have to hit a line, otherwise it's a fairly bland and open city park course. It's an ok course for people to try the sport, but it's got enough length that some new players will be frustrated by it. The tees are crushed limestone, which is mostly ok in dry weather but they get really rutted, muddy and unstable in worse weather. There are no tee signs, so when there is snow on the ground you can't find the tees, and even when it's clear you don't know where to throw or how long the holes are.
Other Thoughts: This course has a couple fun holes, and isn't a bad place to play a quick round or to take a beginner who won't be intimidated by a couple longer holes where they might have to throw a few times. Otherwise, it's a decent beginner course with enough obstacles to keep newer players interested. More experienced players probably won't find enough challenge or variety to keep them coming back repeatedly.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 another addition to the IL I70 family

1    10/3/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 365  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gilbert is a brand new recreational 9 holer with some shot variety ranging from short holes to a couple longish holes and wide open holes to a couple holes that play through a strip of timber.
-A decent amount of park style golf here with mature trees to weave around and through on the front 4 and a couple shots through a wooded strip.
-Concrete pads look likely here as the pads have already been cut out of the grass.
-1 dogleg right shot through the woods (hole 5)
-OB barbed wire fence on hole 6...beware.
-Looks like this has the possiblity to be a good gym course as there are a couple of schools within walking distance.
Cons: -Short overall...the majority of the holes are less than 300' except for hole 4 which is probably about 450' and is a decent hole.
-no tee signs yet, but they don't really need it yet as the course is fairly straight forward and all the baskets are brand new and numbered.
Other Thoughts: So pretty much the course plays park style (mature trees in the fairways with lines around and between them but fairly open) for the first 5 holes and hole 9. 6,7, and 8 are wide open( read few obstacles) and short. Don't lose your disc on hole 8 as there is a fenced and locked power sub station.
The design team did a nice job with the land they had and made this very enjoyable for rec and beginner players

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.