Copper Harbor, MI 
Keweenaw Mountain Lodge Share
Uploaded By: apdrvya Hole #5 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 164ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    9/26/2015   9/26/2015
Review By: torihanus
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 0.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1.) Course is located in Michigan's northernmost town, Copper Harbor. Scenery is absolutely gorgeous. Course is located at the Keweenaw Mountain Lodge. There are cabins to stay in, along with motel rooms. Mountain biking and ball golf are within walking distance.

2.) A challenging course. Course requires accuracy. Most holes are heavily wooded and narrow.

3.) There are "next hole" signs at almost every hole with paths to follow. It is relatively easy to navigate, even if it is your first time at this course.

4.) Baskets are in good shape.

5.) Course seems to be maintained. Looks like someone mowed the grass only a week or so ago.
Cons: 1.) Signage could be better. There isn't any par information on any of the signs. Signs only give you two small yellow dots (where you're currently at and where the basket will be), along with the measurement and hole number. Signage could be more detailed. There are a lot of obstacles (for instance, trees) that stand in the way, so it would be nice to have a little warning on the signs.

2.) There aren't any tee pads on the entire course. All natural. The Copper Country is known for their dirt tee pads; however, 75% of the other courses have tee boxes. Where you decide to tee off is ultimately up to your discretion.

3.) Baskets are very hard to see, especially being in such a wooded area. Baskets could be more visible for players.

4.) No buckets for trash; however, I don't see many players coming up here to play often.

5.) Despite the gorgeous area, it is quite a drive to come up here and play. If you're driving from Houghton, it is 45 minutes one way.

6.) A couple of safety hazards. Holes 2 and 3, along with holes 5 and 6 are very close together. In addition, when walking from hole 4 to 5, you are walking across one of the mountain bike trails. Be on the look-out for riders.
Other Thoughts: I didn't know what to expect when I came here to play today. Copper Harbor is known for some of the best mountain biking trails in the world. I love coming up to the harbor when I have a day to kill. One of the most beautiful areas in Michigan! However, I read some of the reviews on this course beforehand, so I kind of knew it wasn't going to be the greatest course I have ever played, but I was still slightly disappointed by it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful setting

1    9/30/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 261  Reviewed: 256  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Aesthetic-- plays through the former driving range of a large golf course at the northern most tip of Michigan. the old yardage signs are still there, most prevalently on Hole 1. Mountain bike "track" is part of hole 9 and is visible from the course. throw carefully.

Baskets-- all present but could certainly be more visible on this course. heavy woods on a few holes make is very difficult to see your target.

Signage-- reasable. have hole number, distance and a little map of the hole. Distances seem mostly accurate.

Routing and nav-- easy, next tee signs make this course enjoyable and easy to follow.

Teepads-- rough rough rough. rocks, roots, ruts and a bunch of other negatives... some of the worst tee areas I've ever seen.

Misleading fairways-- some places (2 and 3 specifically) it is VERY difficult to know where you are throwing to. the fairways are quite difficult to distinguish from other clearing like areas... I deducted a full disc for this. I found it quite annoying... In the same vane, there are very few holes with ACTUAL fairways... 7, 8, 9 had actual fairways, the others were quite shaky.

Design-- the design of several holes doesn't flow with the topography of the land the course is on... the natural flow fairway is NOT the fairway. the short holes are a whole lot short but they are quick plays for sure.
Other Thoughts: overall, it's kind of what I expected. not great, not horrible. very meh... but hey, it's the northern most course in Michigan!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful area

1    8/15/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: jon33jon2003
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Scenery is beautiful, holes are layed out well, totally secluded and underplayed. Elevation changes and diverse hole shapes and lengths. Very natural course with minimal landscape changes.
Cons: Only 9 holes in such a beautiful setting. Dirt tees which do not bother me personally but will bother a lot of more experienced players.
Other Thoughts: This course is in an absolutely stunning area. With a little work this could be the nicest course I have played. The natural setting and landscaping looks nice but hinders play a little. It really left me wanting another 9 holes through the rolling hills. Great course overall.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 everything but water

2-4    10/9/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: leadpaint
Played: 64  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: good mix of open and wooded fairways

holes going left and right

course loops in a circle so easy to play18 or seemingly endless rounds

fair ways and clean easy to find discs

rough/woods are forgiving on finding discs

course appears to be built with minimal impact on environment

baskets are chainstars

2s are given for good throws 4-5s for bad throws

beginner and experienced friendly

hole vary form 305ft down to 165ft
Cons: dirt pads? some think its bad but others like dirt

only 9 holes

305ft is longest hole. this is a personal thing, i love long courses

i dont live near it

Other Thoughts: this is the best nine hole i have ever played

location is perfect right outside downtown copper harbor. this area is one of the most scenic places in the US. mountain biking kayaking and much more in the area. you can lodge at the course.

i hope this course stays. it makes my weekend trips to the Keweenaw peninsula perfect.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.