Pueblo, CO 
Pueblo City Park Share
Uploaded By: LeewayeDiscGolf Hole #5 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 305ft.   3 / --   3 / 375ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    7/21/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 37  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 23.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good challenge for all levels of players, thanks to the ever present trees
-Lots of shade, which is rare in Pueblo
-Well-maintaned tee pads that are set up at exactly the right angle
-Good variance in hole lengths
-Reminds me of a Montana course (my home state) in many ways
Cons: -Park is FILTHY! The lone bathrooms are a disaster and every sign is royalty graffiti'ed over. Beer cans and bottles litter the course. If it was cleaner, I might have rated this 4 or even 4.5 stars
-The local ADULTS will steal your discs, marked or not! I landed a DX Wraith (well marked and beat up bad) near the road and a truck pulled up...the driver hopped out and grabbed the disc! I got it back without a fight, but I saw a similar incident on the other side of the course where a young boy lost a brand new champion Eagle. Truly disgusting.
-Super crowded with no one calling fore. Lots of chuck and pray types. Watch your. Head.
-Clustered in some spots leads to confusion. Even with a map my brother and I drove off the 4 hole aiming for the 6 basket.
Other Thoughts: The course layout is great. But the behavior of the Pueblo locals, both golfers and not, made this a very unpleasant experience. I may come back, but I will NOT bring my daughter. I don't know the crime rate in Pueblo, but I had a bad feeling the whole round after that jerk tried to make off with my disc...he probably couldn't have evn got 3 bucks out of the thing it was so old. Sickening.

Fold is competition, yes, but its mostly about enjoying the experience and the attitude environment, not neccessarily the course itself, took all the fun out it for me.

Last note: all the local teenagers only play with one disc, so expect to wait around on some holes. Great course, horrible location.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 a little congested

2-4    1/13/2012   1/15/2012
Review By: conroy_01
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A fun course. Good obstacles and good distances on most holes. A good mix of easy and difficult holes. A fun course to definetly play if you are in the area.
Cons: The holes are a little too congested. Many holes are a little too close together with some partily overlapping. All tee signs are either missing or have graffiti on them so you can't read them. It also makes it hard to find the next hole if you didn't have a map.
Other Thoughts: Find a map. There are some online. Definetely needs new tee signs.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 So Close To Being So Much Better

2-4    6/19/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 93  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course sits in a nice city park that is well maintained. The course plays mostly through parts of the park that do not get much use otherwise. There are many other activities in the park for the non disc playing people including a nice playground and even a zoo amongst other sports fields and activity areas. Cement teepads were nice and consistent with both a pro and am tee pad on just about every hole. The design of the course is well thught out from the standpoint of interesting and challenging holes. There is a very good mix of length from super short to at least one hole (#9) that gets to be a par 4 in its long position. Each hole has a good selection of pin locations that creates a good mix of challenges that are unique. The course is set up as two sets of nine holes making it easy to get a quick nine in if you want. Each nine starts and finishes near the parking lot. The course takes advantages of some really nice features in the park including a couple of retaining walls. There are plenty of trees to create super tight shots for a traditional park course. The baskets all have hole numbers on the top of them. There seems to be a good local community that enjoys this course but at the same time they do not seem super organized at the present time to make some needed improvements.
Cons: The front nine has a couple of holes that may be difficult to find as the loop crosses over itself. Generally this would not be a problem but the tee signs are in such a bad condition that they may not always be helpful. Some of the baskets are starting to show their age. There are streets that run all along the course creating nice natural OBs but they also produce a lot of traffic with drivers that like to run over discs and honk their horns in the middle of throws (this is more a result of the specifics of the population that uses this park, namely youth that like to be annoying. There is an old footpath that also runs through a few holes on the back nine and will have the occasional walker to slow down your round. Holes 13 and 17 cross paths with very limited visibility so there is a strong potential of throwing into other groups in these holes, remember that the higher hole always has the right of way. Crowds could be a problem, especially when newer players come out to play this course which seems to be a majority of the crowd at this course.
Other Thoughts: There is still a part of me that would like to give this course a much higher rating than what I have given it simply because this course, although it proved super challenging, was just crazy amounts of fun for me. Because of its length and technical elements, it really isn't the greatest course to learn on. The course was super easy to find with the directions here on DGCR. It does get super hot in Pueblo so remember to bring water and lots of it. This course used to be home to the Colroado State Championships until they started to move that tournament around the state. They just recently as in this past weekend began an annual tournament at this course, whcih had a huge turnout and should grow bigger every year. This course is really worth playing, but it gets a lower rating because of poor tee signs, a few places where the layout crosses over itself, and some of the other park traffic in this particular park and the disturbance that it can be.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A lunch 9 or an Afternoon 18, it's your call

1    9/2/2008   9/11/2008
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 142  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Decent Tees
- Front nine makes for a good recreational round, especially since the ninth basket brings you back to your car.
- Great signature hole, #13. You throw down through a wooded creek area. Your second shot is back up over three retaining walls.
Cons: - Signs are marred by graffiti in many cases.
- Could be laid out better, for example it's hard to find (and get to) the 16th basket. It's back down on the first level over by the street.
- It's a crowded multi-use park. I played on a Tuesday around noon and the park was packed... really have to watch where you are throwing on the front nine.
Other Thoughts: - Front 6 is flat and open with quite a few trees, middle six has a little more elevation in a wooded area, and back six is mostly flat and wide open. Pretty good variety, especially on the wooded holes.
- If I worked nearby I'd be out here everyday playing nine holes for lunch.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.