Pueblo, CO 
Pueblo City Park Share
Uploaded By: LeewayeDiscGolf Hole #10 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 215ft.   3 / --   3 / 280ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee (Middle Position)



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A review from out of town

1    2/14/2014   2/15/2014
Review By: KDinIN
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First let me say, I thoroughly enjoyed playing this course in Pueblo. I played today, a nice day in February, and the course is what I would consider packed. I followed a group and had one following me the entire time.

The course makes great use of the available land. Not a ton of elevation change, but more than enough for the Indiana native to be rather impressed. The designers did a great job of avoiding a wide open feel while still maintaining the park feel. What they have done when there wasn't many trees, is they used the trees they had very effectively. I had to throw a number of shots, using both RHBH and RHFH along with some OH shots to really get through the course. There is a lot to like about this course.
Cons: However, there are some things that were a struggle. If it hadn't been for the packed course, I would have been utterly lost. The signs in the park itself were a touch confusing for me to navigate to even find which parking lot I should use. Once I finally figured that out, I felt like I was stumbling blind, because the tee signs have been vandalized pretty heavily. The ones that haven't been painted over, the plexiglass has darkened to the point that you can't read them anyways. I found myself on the third hole playing to the sixth basket for the first two shots. Only slightly irritating. I gained a bit of ground on a local group and stayed close to them to see where they went so that helped. There were a number of felt like blind shots that without tee signs, an out of towner will struggle with.
Other Thoughts: As the last few reviews have stated, the biggest con is the navigation of this park. Though it is a hassle, the park is nice, and the course has some really awesome features, and I would absolutely come back when in the area, and hopefully next time, I will come with a full bag too!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

solid city course

1    8/4/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: jlangr
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 31.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - good mix of shots through park terrain
- pro and amateur tees
- The number of trees is "reasonable"--i.e. not so dense that you're smacking a tree with every shot. The pro tees on some holes give you a narrow, challenging alley that you have to thread with your disc.
- Hole 12 was an entertaining toss through a gully of trees (a roller seemed useful here)
- Overall I thought the layout takes good advantage of the park
- Good uses of changes in elevation on the holes where it is available (maybe 5-6 of the holes)
- The amount of green is somewhat surprising based on my few trips to Pueblo.
- There didn't appear a lot of non-disc-golfers too-close proximity. (There was one happy old guy mulling around on his walker.)

- Well worth the visit if you're in the area
Cons: - at least one hole is too close to the highway (separated by a tall fence)
- most of the tee signs are unreadable or missing entirely
- it's a city park, so most of the holes are flat, not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: There didn't appear to be any holes where crossover was a *big* problem (13 is a toss across a later fairway).
The basket for 12 was a bit too close to the pad for 13.
I played on a Sunday morning. The park is clean and appears family-friendly, and in general the folks on the course seem cool. There was one ugly shouting incident between a couple of groups on the course.

Overall I enjoyed the park, and found nothing to hate about it. The first two-thirds of the park suggested it was much like any other city disc golf park. Most of the final 6-7 holes were more entertaining.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun in the Park

1    6/14/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very pleasant park setting
-Nice concrete tee-pads
-The course has both AM and PRO tee-pads
-The course features a good variety of distances with some longer holes, some medium length holes and some shorter holes.
-Lots of mature trees in the park that are used well to create some tight but fair fariways and add some challenge to the course. The trees will punish you for a bad shot by knocking your disc down.
-The course has a good mix of wider open holes and some tighter wooded holes, it is a nice variety and the course feels balanced.
-Holes 12 and 13 have nice elevation change on them. (Hole 13 is an awesome holes that shoots through some trees, across a bit of a ravine to the basket in the open on the other side.
-Multiple pin positions
-There is a restroom between hole 7 and 8
-It would be very hard to lose a disc on this course (except for the swampy area that hole 13 and 17 play near).
-The course has a fair amount of challenge
-Lots of other activities in the park for any non disc golfers that may be traveling with you.
-The baskets are getting old but they still catch well.
Cons: -There is graffiti everywhere in this park, I even saw some on several trees, it takes away a little bit from the pleasantness of the park.
-The tee-signs are almost unreadable due to graffiti and 3 or four of the holes are missing tee-signs. Since not all baskets are visible from the tee-pad it can be hard to get an idea where the basket is without walking up the fairway a little bit.
-The first time you play this course it can be a little hard to navigate, especially with some tee-signs missing. (Hole 8 was the hardest to find, The tee-pads for Hole 8 are the two unmarked tee-pads between the basket for Hole 2 and the tee-pad for Hole 3.
-Several holes and pin positions (especially holes 1, 5, and 14 (though on 14 there is a fence that blocks the hole from the road but it can still be thrown over) play close to a road.
-Quite a few fairways and holes play close to each other and holes 13 and 17 fairways cross over each other (so on those two holes watch for incoming discs).
-No practice basket or course map at the start.
Other Thoughts: This is an awesome course, with a lot of fun holes. If the tee-signs and navigation were a little bit better this course would definitely be a 4 or 4.5 disc course. If you are in Pueblo definitely give this course a try.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great City Park Course

2-4    7/4/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very well-manicured, quality city park with pro and amateur tees on every hole. The grass here is immaculate, and the large amount of trees gives you a much needed break from the hot Pueblo sun. The course is basically two loops around separate parts of the park, both of which lead back to the parking area. This is nice because you can leave some stuff in your car, and pick it up after hole 9. Note: To get to hole 10, do a 180 degree turn from the #9 basket, walk about 100 feet and cross the road on your left, tee 10 is there.

Surprisingly, you will find yourself throwing most of the discs in your bag on this course. While there are a fair amount of straight shots, the course does a good job of mixing in some technical lines. The pro and amateur tees certainly make the course much better. As I usually tee exclusively from pro tees, this is not the case at this course. I highly advise scouting both tees on most holes, as 5 or so amateur tees have shots that I consider better, harder, and more technical than the pro tees. They are never longer, but some are certainly harder and more fun. This is certainly one of the best standard-park courses I have played in Colorado.

The abundance of trees in this park, as well as the long and short distances of holes make for the technicality and toughness on most holes. There are a few very tight mandatory gaps, and a few drops that will find your disc lost in some thick brush/trees. There are an abundance of trees in 80% of the fairways, always creating some sort of obstacle. The course also does a good job of mixing up the technical and non-technical shots. Many courses have a technical front 9, and an open back 9, while PCP seems to mix it up fairly well for a park course. The roads are considered out of bounds here, which adds a little extra difficulty as many holes border the roads.
Cons: Bring a map!! (or a local, or course). This course is very confusing for a first-timer. No holes actually cross, but there are certain points you must walk across other holes to reach another tee box. Without a map, or locals, it would be very hard to understand where to go. To further the lack of help, EVERY SIGN in this park is completely covered in graffiti. They look as if they used to be very nice and helpful signs, but now it is impossible to read where the pin is, what distance it is at, and what par is supposed to be. To add, I have on played here twice, but both times there has been trash all over the park. It was often a problem when looking for a disc, because there would be so many other bright colors in the trash.

This course is right in the middle of a city park, and next to many picnic benches. You will find yourself playing through groups of oblivious people. Many people come to this park to sit and hang out, so be aware, and be prepared to wait for a bit. This is also the best course in the area, so it can get semi-crowded on a nice day. That being said, the course layout is done well enough to the point that it flows and reduces congestion.
Other Thoughts: A very fun and entertaining park course that will take up a good amount of time. Pro and amateur tees are different enough that a round of 36 is plausible and not boring (although some holes are repeatable, and 5 or so holes use the same tee for am/pro). Definitely worth checking out if you are nearby… a real pleasure for a park course, and real escape from the desert environment of Pueblo. Also next to the zoo and a small water park!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Stop

2-4    7/27/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a solid park course which is normally not my cup of tea. My personal philosophy is that I can play on park grass almost anywhere in the country. This course however is worth the trip. There are shots, layouts and looks here that are unique to Pueblo City Park and make it stand out in my mind from the cookie cutter park courses that are from this late 70's era of courses.

So I'll start with what makes this course better than many of those other park courses. The back nine is fabulous. Elevation changes, tight looks, garden walls, ace runs, drop offs and a basket on the face of a steep drop off make the back nine and adventure. All without being crazy hard make for a round of disc golf that has a pretty high fun factor. The design makes two loops around out and back from the parking lot so you can play just nine if you wanted.

The normal positives that go along with parks courses are here plus and then some, for example, my wife and daughter were able to check out a zoo while I played. There's enough parking, there are restrooms at the park, and the other park uses are given their own portions of the park far away from the course. I do not think I would have needed the map that I printed out other than to get from nine to ten. There are multiple paved teepdas on almost all of the holes.

For me the positives all boil down to the three tiered wall totaling more than fifteen feet in the back nine. Its fun and offers something you don't get at most courses. Holes ten eleven and twelve are also highlight for me because you need some finesse in that you cannot just relay on distance and the pin and tee pad placement are interesting. This is a very well manicured park course and a player here could almost go barefoot.
Cons: It's a park course and as a tourist I feel that you will not get a good feel for the land or the community playing the park courses. But there really isn't much bad to say about this particular park course that I wouldn't just say about all park courses. There is a main street in the middle of the course that runs near eight or nine of the fairways.

There are a number of mostly open holes that only have a few trees and bushes to contend with. Number 15 has a large fence and Pueblo Boulevard to deal with if you are not the most accurate player. The transitions of nine to ten and the parking area make you cross a street, so look out for your doggies and little ones. Pueblo is for whatever reason pretty hot in the summertime. Many of the holes are flat and boring.

I once ran a half marathon that ran through this park and then along the Arkansas River which is only about a quarter mile from the northern parts of the course. I always imagined that the course dipped its toe into that slice of Colorado oasis for a portion. Sadly for the course stays in the park. In spite of not venturing into the river areas, this course is still pretty fun.
Other Thoughts: Long story short, this old park stands the test of time with a very high fun factor.

I played this course on a gorgeous late summer day with threatening afternoon thunderstorms that cooled me off perfectly. I was also near the end of a trip and my game usually jobs up a couple of notches when I am on the back end of my trips so I'm sure I played this course under optimal conditions. It was just a perfect day.

I would recommend this course for any skill level and any type of play. I had a perfect day and I was playing right alongside a few guys who had just bought a couple DX discs to huck around, who also seemed to be enjoying themselves quite a bit. I've been daydreaming about playing this course again lately. I know I won't pass through the area without playing this course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Long Tees are Tough

2-4    6/2/2005   1/3/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 126  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging from the long tees, I never could break par here. Lots of long distance throws with protected baskets that put a premium on controlled power off the tee. Mostly flat, but some interesting elevation on the back 9. Toss in a few finesse shots and alternate tees and you have a well rounded course that can be played by beginners and veterans.
Cons: Brutally hot in the summer, and was a bit trashy the last time I played.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite rounds ever was watching my 12 year old daughter (now 20) hit 5 35-40 foot forehand putts and beat my 16 year old son straight up (as well as her dad...I played par 3 from longs, son and daughter played par 4 and 5 from shorts).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Passin through Pueblo....

2-4    3/22/2000   3/31/2008
Review By: weum107
Played: 108  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2012
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nicely manicured park...good mix of mature trees and great shot variety. Course has seen layout improvements over the years to become the wonderful monster that it is today. Full 18 without significant crossover problems. Great tee pads, solid baskets.
Cons: Graffiti. Everywhere. So much that most of the yellow "chastity belt" bands on the Innova Discatchers are actually tagged up. The tee signs are laughably vandalized and some shady characters inhabit parts of the park. That's city parks in general though. It's understandably tough to prevent that. Whatever is there gets destroyed regardless by unruly types. Also, it does get crowded here. More courses in the area would help alleviate that.
Other Thoughts: The course itself is challenging and fun. It flows well and entices you to use all of your shots. There are a few gorgeous holes here...most notably 16-18 which are also tough 3's to snag. Worth stopping in Pueblo for no doubt. Better signage and nicer baskets would boost the rating here. Good course!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.