Pueblo, CO
Pueblo City Park Share
Uploaded By: LeewayeDiscGolf Hole #18 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 325ft.   3 / --   3 / 390ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Am Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    5/26/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 105  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a city park course this course was quite challenging and a very fun play.

There are two tees (concrete tees, mind you) on each hole and the baskets are old but still hold their structural identity fairly well.

The course has a good mixture of trees and length that has to make every shot well thought out and fairly well executed. Depending on the pin placement birdies will be tough but well received when they do come.

The elevation was a huge plus coming from a guy who plays in flat-land Houston. The last six holes play off of this multi-level structure that is unique to the course and adds challenge especially playing parallel to it on hole #17 and playing across the ditch and up the ledge on hole #13 which in my opinion is the best hole on the course.
The locals call the little bit of water "Sh** Creek" if a disc goes into this creek it can be easily retrieved as Pueblo, Colorado is not known to be the most wet place.
Cons: Pueblo, Colorado is known for being a dry town and also a town that just does not have great people around. The course is vandalized pretty heavily which is a bummer because it is such a pretty park. The tee signs either do not exist or are completely covered up.

My cousin, who is a local, mentioned that the tee placements have four different locations and are moved fairly often. I am not a huge fan of this because it just adds confusion to an already confusing to navigate course.

Being the only decent course is Pueblo this course seems to be crowded no matter the time of day. Be prepared to wait.
Other Thoughts: This course really surprised me. Driving up to the park the scenery just seems like a barren wasteland. Then all of the sudden the green and trees pop up and good golf is ready to be had.
If I lived in Pueblo I would not be disappointed with playing this course as my only option. It is a fun course that has a lot to offer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Classic Park Course With Some Pizazz

1    7/23/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park courses tend to be hit or miss (more often miss) - but this one is definitely a hit. The course is well manicured with a lot of open play, thick grass, and great tree cover - but it's the back nine where this place really shines. Starting with a signature pin placement on #11 with awesome pucker putt potential, you run the gully back and forth through an interesting mix of difficult lines, good varied length, and a bit of elevation. Plus, you have an amazing wall - I know it's just a wall - however, the sheer size and length of this retaining wall as it plays into the landscape as well as the course design is fantastic. Plus, it makes playing #17 from the long tee even more brutal.

The park itself has the basic amenities, and being next door to the zoo - it gives me the perfect excuse for getting the family to make a pit stop here. The one way drive can be weird for newbies to the area, but there is plenty of parking and the course is easy to follow even without a map. The main tees are concrete, plenty big, and the DisCatcher baskets are easy to spot for first timers. Finally, the overall length is just long enough to keep the top players interested, but friendly enough that new players won't kill themselves over it.

BEST HOLE/S: #11; #13; & #17
Cons: Just like one of my favorite old DFW park courses B.B. Owen Park - there are some general wear issues, especially with the conditions of the baskets, and minor graffiti, but that can be expected with a course this age. Also, many of the alternate tee placements are difficult to locate even with a map, so it would be nice to see some additional signage. There is also some overlap on #13 going over #17 so be wary and alert for wayward drives.

Finally, and this is just a point of preference - you play the best course in a town with few courses and you're bound to have a long round. I was alone, but played through multiple groups of 5+ people, which can get old if you prefer boonie golf like I do. However - all the groups I played through were friendly and outgoing so props to Pueblo players.

WORST HOLE/S: #7; #8; #15
Other Thoughts: This was one of the best better courses I hit on my road trip, and although the Denver area far outweighs Pueblo in the sheer number of great courses, this still makes for an awesome stop on the I-25 corridor. Combine this with all of the cool regulars I spoke with, and you got yourself a winner.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Quality Course

5+    7/28/2012   9/21/2012
Review By: xXiiConXx
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Solid course for advanced players
-Lots of trees make a lot of technical shots
-Good variety in hole distance.
-Cement pads at every hole
-Pro and Am pads
-Close and easy parking
-Lots of locals who play consistently
-Move holes a lot
Cons: -Signs are beat up
-Lots of people if you go at the wrong time.
-Lots of noobs who don't know what they're doing
Other Thoughts: -Some of the holes are not par threes even though they are marked so. Hole nine has a location thats at the back tip of the park and it's probably 600 feet with trees towards the second half making a good approach difficult. Most of the holes are true par threes. Some are pretty difficult par threes. Then some are just flat out not par threes. Holes 5,7,8,9,16,17,18 all have hole locations that are just flat out near impossible to three. Especially 9 and 17. Hole 17 is a long dog leg right with a creek and thick trees running down the left side. Some times the hole is all the way down the dog leg and situated to the left right at the end of the creek behind the brush. It's probably about 600 ft maybe more making it very hard to hit a three.

Overall I love the course I have played there for 4 years and I can't even guess how many hundreds of rounds I've played there. I have never had a disc stolen or really any problems there (minus one or two fist fights). Typically there are lots of locals there who are pretty chill and relaxed. It's a great place to play but gets congested at times. Wish they would have actually set up a league there or more tournaments because it would be a cash cow.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great city park course.

2-4    5/22/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was introduced to me from my room mate who is from Pueblo. It's a great overall course that requires a lot of skill and accuracy. The tee pads are perfect sized concrete slabs and Am pads for inexperienced players as well. The course has nicely manicured grass through the layout with a few holes playing around a large gulley. Several holes require a good placement shot around trees to allow for a good second look at the target. There is an adequate amount of trees protecting the target on several holes to make par shots more rewarding. Multiple pin placements allow for many variations on each hole. Mandos on a few holes make things more interesting. The course played long when I was there, allowing for a lot of good blasts. Hole #5 stands out for me because of it's technicality and how many trees you have to miss to have a great shot. Some of the back nine holes take advantage of a large retaining wall that creates risks when going for the target. I see why this is a great course for tournaments!
Cons: Signage was there on many holes, but it was pointless when they are damaged with writing all over most of them. Many of the signs read, "if you read this, you suck." Watch out for the road on the first few holes or you might deal with some traffic. This isn't a con, it's just something to be aware of since young drivers like to run over discs. Playing the course for the first time, it's tricky to locate some targets from the tee pad. A few tee pads are close to the fairway of the previous hole so make sure to watch for other players. Since this is the only course in the area, it does see a fair amount of players daily, so be ready to wait to throw on a nice day.
Other Thoughts: I was expecting a typical park course with a few trees and a lot of flat open space. What I got was the best city park course I have played yet. I haven't played much outside of Colorado so it's not saying much, but it is an above average park course with a lot of fun and challenging shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/23/2010   10/24/2010
Review By: tyocky
Played: 51  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8 Years
Pros: Beautiful well maintained park with good mix of trees, distance, technical. Much of the course is a classic "by the book" city park disc course type feel. Other than differences in tree species it felt like many of the good Texas courses in major cities. But the final 6 or 7 holes are beautiful and really unique. Picturesque tee shots. Challenging yet a little room for error. Nice layout with not much walking from one hole to the next.
Cons: The tee signs are heavily vandalized and hard to make out where the basket is because most signs are unreadable now.

 Gem in Pueblo

2-4    5/29/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 10.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays through mature trees and green grass that is well maintained. The course features some long tight holes, short technical shots and a few long bomb shots. There is something for everyone at the course.

Some cool features: Multiple tees, mature trees, mix of shot types (left, right, straight), open holes, tight holes.

Basically this course makes you think about every shot and where you want to put it. Some holes you must fight for your 3 and others are an easier shot. Do not let the short holes fool you though, you can get hurt easy if you don't play smart. With a few holes over 400 feet if you are not an accurate distance player you need to think about where to land to safely take a 4 in some cases. I enjoyed to shady grass and the wind buffer that many trees created. Driving in to Pueblo seems kinda of dry, arid and treeless so you maybe be thinking, "How the heck is there a super mature treed course here?" Well the Arkansas River takes care of that.

Hole 13 over the ravine and the stone wall is a favorite hole as well as 6 (I think) the tight one with OB on the left.

The older Discatcher baskets are still in good shape.
Cons: The tee signs are useless. They either are full of graffiti, water/sun damage, or missing information altogether.

Some tee pads are a little small on the longer holes.

There is no easy way to get from hole 16 to 17 except for jumping down the wall which seems unsafe and is damaging to the wall. The creek thing on Holes 13, 17 & 18 is a olfactory nightmare and is a kin to the lake at Expo in Aurora. (If you play Expo you know what I am taking about.)

As much as this course beat me up I really have few negative things to say about this course.
Other Thoughts: Now in my top 10 of Colorado courses. This course feature technicality plus length to give every type of player a real test. I had a lot of fun playing here and wish it were a lot closer than 2 and half hours away from Denver. I guess if you came down here with some non-disc golfers they might enjoy the zoo that is at the same park complex, although I did not go to the zoo, but I could smell/hear the animals. This course does not have any sidewalks coursing though the park so if that is something that normally trips you up as OB well then don't worry here, although there are roads running alongside a few holes that can take off some strokes on poorly placed drives.

I enjoyed myself here and I think it is a gem of a course. I had heard good things about it and now I am glad I was able to experience it for myself.

BRING WATER, SUNSCREEN, AND MORE WATER.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun to play

2-4    9/7/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: shortstack
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Every hole is different. Multiple pin location options and concrete pads. There are plenty of trees to hinder your throws requiring more skills to master. Often long drives required and puts are often made harder by surrounding trees.
Cons: Surrounded by roads. Constant sounds of cars passing. If play with landing on road as penalty multiple holes are problematic on approach. Had nice signs before graffiti into obliteration.
Other Thoughts: Typically takes 2 hours to play with 3 people.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 City Park says Play Me

5+    10/22/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: LeewayeDiscGolf
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2010
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Seperate Pro and Am Tees. Tired of the Pro course? Switch to Am Tees for a change of pace. All holes have at least 3 hole placements, some have as many as 5. This means a totally different course every month or two. Almost all the holes have some tree cover, making City Park a great course for those of you who can't stop just cuz it's raining. Numerous pine trees fill the course as well, meaning it stays challenging even in the winter. There are restrooms on the end of hole(s) 2/7. First nine are excellent for a quick round if time is short. All grass means not too much mud to deal with. If it's windy, the crazy amount of trees keeps the course playable. Bring a fairly good variety of discs with you, this course has plenty of different shots for you. This is my home course. And I do play here almost everyday, year round. Which is why I gave it a 4. Because it is playable year round even though it needs a facelift.
Cons: The main con would be the fact that this is a public park. The course seems to fall apart little by little each year. Some baskets are missing inner chains. Graffiti is poppin' up on signs and baskets. Trees are being removed or broken. Football practice has taken over #15's Am tee. If you're playing Am Tees, just know #15 may be buried under coolers and gear and surrounded by spectators. And pedestrians are oblivious. Some holes are signless. Many people choose to park as close to the course as possible, which makes newer players very nervous about throwing near vehicles. Not many follow the groups of 4 rule, so some groups get huge. And someone always throws over me off of #13 when I'm on #17. However, these are the cons of someone who plays this course daily, year round. Still an amazing course.
Other Thoughts: Please remember on #13 that hole #17 has the right of way. Beginners watch vehicles and trees. If you are slower, please allow play-throughs. A good mix of open and tight holes and the signature #13 make this course fun for everyone.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Power in Pueblo

1    3/14/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: ChainMan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/19/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some long wide open holes that just beg for your 100% power shot and will punish you for lack of control. Most of the course features old growth trees that require distance while keeping your disc under the canopy. A couple of holes on the back nine are heavily wooded enough to require laser like accuracy and more than one type of throw in your arsenal. There weren't many people out on the bluebird sky day that I played. I just really enjoyed this course even though for an intermediate to advanced amateur there is scant chance of getting a 3 on a couple holes because of their monster distance. There are 3 holes on the back 9 that are along the terraces which is an unusal and challenging feature.
Cons: The park has a one-way road going through it that can make it difficult if you miss the parking lot which is directly on your right as you come in. Some OB areas are blacktop which can eat some perfectly good plastic.
Other Thoughts: Don't pass up a chance to play this course if you're in the area. It's really fun. Take plenty of water! <edit: now that I've had the chance to play a couple epic courses like Conifer, CO Beaver Ranch and KC, MO Waterworks Park I'm increasing it's score to a 4.0. Mainly because of it's great challenge. Do not pass this one by. end edit>

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worthy course

5+    3/5/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Solid course all around. Perfect mix of short/long holes. A few really tight fairways especially on 5 and 11, throw it straight or pay. Mix of left and right shots. No real elevation changes on the front half but get to the back half and some good elevation changes are to be had. Last three holes will challenge you. Get a par 3 on 18 and that's pretty darn good. Enough trees to create a few holes with tight shots. Some holes are wide open allowing you to throw long such as hole 3. Mainly grass so no weeds to worry about. Hole 13 is just plain fun. Baskets are moved to new pin locations on a regular basis. A course you can play again and again. Each hole definately has a unique feel to it and none of the holes feel repetitive. You just can't get bored here. Cement teepads are in great shape and the baskets too.
Cons: This is on a city park that is heavily used. Watch of for pedestrians, especially on holes 9, 11 and 12. Watch out for goose poop, mainly on 7. Don't let the small creek on 17 fool you it eats a lot of discs. ths water is smelly and deceptive. I put my foot on the edge and slipped and went into the water past my knees. Graffiti is a problem on this course. The baskets and teesigns are constantly tagged. Takes away from the overall good experience. Lots of new players come here and due so in large groups that hold others back.
Other Thoughts: I had to come back and update this review and increase my rating. This is truly and all around classic course and deserves an extra disc once I compare it to other courses I play. I definately miss all the rounds that I played on this course. I have easily played over 100 rounds on this course and just keep coming back here. I aleays have a good time. Well designed and thought out. Great for beginners and pros alike.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.