Pueblo, CO
Pueblo City Park Share
Uploaded By: LeewayeDiscGolf Hole #5 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 305ft.   3 / --   3 / 375ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Pro Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
A review from out of town

1    2/14/2014   2/15/2014
Review By: KDinIN
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First let me say, I thoroughly enjoyed playing this course in Pueblo. I played today, a nice day in February, and the course is what I would consider packed. I followed a group and had one following me the entire time.

The course makes great use of the available land. Not a ton of elevation change, but more than enough for the Indiana native to be rather impressed. The designers did a great job of avoiding a wide open feel while still maintaining the park feel. What they have done when there wasn't many trees, is they used the trees they had very effectively. I had to throw a number of shots, using both RHBH and RHFH along with some OH shots to really get through the course. There is a lot to like about this course.
Cons: However, there are some things that were a struggle. If it hadn't been for the packed course, I would have been utterly lost. The signs in the park itself were a touch confusing for me to navigate to even find which parking lot I should use. Once I finally figured that out, I felt like I was stumbling blind, because the tee signs have been vandalized pretty heavily. The ones that haven't been painted over, the plexiglass has darkened to the point that you can't read them anyways. I found myself on the third hole playing to the sixth basket for the first two shots. Only slightly irritating. I gained a bit of ground on a local group and stayed close to them to see where they went so that helped. There were a number of felt like blind shots that without tee signs, an out of towner will struggle with.
Other Thoughts: As the last few reviews have stated, the biggest con is the navigation of this park. Though it is a hassle, the park is nice, and the course has some really awesome features, and I would absolutely come back when in the area, and hopefully next time, I will come with a full bag too!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

solid city course

1    8/4/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: jlangr
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - good mix of shots through park terrain
- pro and amateur tees
- The number of trees is "reasonable"--i.e. not so dense that you're smacking a tree with every shot. The pro tees on some holes give you a narrow, challenging alley that you have to thread with your disc.
- Hole 12 was an entertaining toss through a gully of trees (a roller seemed useful here)
- Overall I thought the layout takes good advantage of the park
- Good uses of changes in elevation on the holes where it is available (maybe 5-6 of the holes)
- The amount of green is somewhat surprising based on my few trips to Pueblo.
- There didn't appear a lot of non-disc-golfers too-close proximity. (There was one happy old guy mulling around on his walker.)

- Well worth the visit if you're in the area
Cons: - at least one hole is too close to the highway (separated by a tall fence)
- most of the tee signs are unreadable or missing entirely
- it's a city park, so most of the holes are flat, not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: There didn't appear to be any holes where crossover was a *big* problem (13 is a toss across a later fairway).
The basket for 12 was a bit too close to the pad for 13.
I played on a Sunday morning. The park is clean and appears family-friendly, and in general the folks on the course seem cool. There was one ugly shouting incident between a couple of groups on the course.

Overall I enjoyed the park, and found nothing to hate about it. The first two-thirds of the park suggested it was much like any other city disc golf park. Most of the final 6-7 holes were more entertaining.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun in the Park

1    6/14/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 99  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very pleasant park setting
-Nice concrete tee-pads
-The course has both AM and PRO tee-pads
-The course features a good variety of distances with some longer holes, some medium length holes and some shorter holes.
-Lots of mature trees in the park that are used well to create some tight but fair fariways and add some challenge to the course. The trees will punish you for a bad shot by knocking your disc down.
-The course has a good mix of wider open holes and some tighter wooded holes, it is a nice variety and the course feels balanced.
-Holes 12 and 13 have nice elevation change on them. (Hole 13 is an awesome holes that shoots through some trees, across a bit of a ravine to the basket in the open on the other side.
-Multiple pin positions
-There is a restroom between hole 7 and 8
-It would be very hard to lose a disc on this course (except for the swampy area that hole 13 and 17 play near).
-The course has a fair amount of challenge
-Lots of other activities in the park for any non disc golfers that may be traveling with you.
-The baskets are getting old but they still catch well.
Cons: -There is graffiti everywhere in this park, I even saw some on several trees, it takes away a little bit from the pleasantness of the park.
-The tee-signs are almost unreadable due to graffiti and 3 or four of the holes are missing tee-signs. Since not all baskets are visible from the tee-pad it can be hard to get an idea where the basket is without walking up the fairway a little bit.
-The first time you play this course it can be a little hard to navigate, especially with some tee-signs missing. (Hole 8 was the hardest to find, The tee-pads for Hole 8 are the two unmarked tee-pads between the basket for Hole 2 and the tee-pad for Hole 3.
-Several holes and pin positions (especially holes 1, 5, and 14 (though on 14 there is a fence that blocks the hole from the road but it can still be thrown over) play close to a road.
-Quite a few fairways and holes play close to each other and holes 13 and 17 fairways cross over each other (so on those two holes watch for incoming discs).
-No practice basket or course map at the start.
Other Thoughts: This is an awesome course, with a lot of fun holes. If the tee-signs and navigation were a little bit better this course would definitely be a 4 or 4.5 disc course. If you are in Pueblo definitely give this course a try.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/26/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 105  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a city park course this course was quite challenging and a very fun play.

There are two tees (concrete tees, mind you) on each hole and the baskets are old but still hold their structural identity fairly well.

The course has a good mixture of trees and length that has to make every shot well thought out and fairly well executed. Depending on the pin placement birdies will be tough but well received when they do come.

The elevation was a huge plus coming from a guy who plays in flat-land Houston. The last six holes play off of this multi-level structure that is unique to the course and adds challenge especially playing parallel to it on hole #17 and playing across the ditch and up the ledge on hole #13 which in my opinion is the best hole on the course.
The locals call the little bit of water "Sh** Creek" if a disc goes into this creek it can be easily retrieved as Pueblo, Colorado is not known to be the most wet place.
Cons: Pueblo, Colorado is known for being a dry town and also a town that just does not have great people around. The course is vandalized pretty heavily which is a bummer because it is such a pretty park. The tee signs either do not exist or are completely covered up.

My cousin, who is a local, mentioned that the tee placements have four different locations and are moved fairly often. I am not a huge fan of this because it just adds confusion to an already confusing to navigate course.

Being the only decent course is Pueblo this course seems to be crowded no matter the time of day. Be prepared to wait.
Other Thoughts: This course really surprised me. Driving up to the park the scenery just seems like a barren wasteland. Then all of the sudden the green and trees pop up and good golf is ready to be had.
If I lived in Pueblo I would not be disappointed with playing this course as my only option. It is a fun course that has a lot to offer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Classic Park Course With Some Pizazz

1    7/23/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park courses tend to be hit or miss (more often miss) - but this one is definitely a hit. The course is well manicured with a lot of open play, thick grass, and great tree cover - but it's the back nine where this place really shines. Starting with a signature pin placement on #11 with awesome pucker putt potential, you run the gully back and forth through an interesting mix of difficult lines, good varied length, and a bit of elevation. Plus, you have an amazing wall - I know it's just a wall - however, the sheer size and length of this retaining wall as it plays into the landscape as well as the course design is fantastic. Plus, it makes playing #17 from the long tee even more brutal.

The park itself has the basic amenities, and being next door to the zoo - it gives me the perfect excuse for getting the family to make a pit stop here. The one way drive can be weird for newbies to the area, but there is plenty of parking and the course is easy to follow even without a map. The main tees are concrete, plenty big, and the DisCatcher baskets are easy to spot for first timers. Finally, the overall length is just long enough to keep the top players interested, but friendly enough that new players won't kill themselves over it.

BEST HOLE/S: #11; #13; & #17
Cons: Just like one of my favorite old DFW park courses B.B. Owen Park - there are some general wear issues, especially with the conditions of the baskets, and minor graffiti, but that can be expected with a course this age. Also, many of the alternate tee placements are difficult to locate even with a map, so it would be nice to see some additional signage. There is also some overlap on #13 going over #17 so be wary and alert for wayward drives.

Finally, and this is just a point of preference - you play the best course in a town with few courses and you're bound to have a long round. I was alone, but played through multiple groups of 5+ people, which can get old if you prefer boonie golf like I do. However - all the groups I played through were friendly and outgoing so props to Pueblo players.

WORST HOLE/S: #7; #8; #15
Other Thoughts: This was one of the best better courses I hit on my road trip, and although the Denver area far outweighs Pueblo in the sheer number of great courses, this still makes for an awesome stop on the I-25 corridor. Combine this with all of the cool regulars I spoke with, and you got yourself a winner.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Quality Course

5+    7/28/2012   9/21/2012
Review By: xXiiConXx
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Solid course for advanced players
-Lots of trees make a lot of technical shots
-Good variety in hole distance.
-Cement pads at every hole
-Pro and Am pads
-Close and easy parking
-Lots of locals who play consistently
-Move holes a lot
Cons: -Signs are beat up
-Lots of people if you go at the wrong time.
-Lots of noobs who don't know what they're doing
Other Thoughts: -Some of the holes are not par threes even though they are marked so. Hole nine has a location thats at the back tip of the park and it's probably 600 feet with trees towards the second half making a good approach difficult. Most of the holes are true par threes. Some are pretty difficult par threes. Then some are just flat out not par threes. Holes 5,7,8,9,16,17,18 all have hole locations that are just flat out near impossible to three. Especially 9 and 17. Hole 17 is a long dog leg right with a creek and thick trees running down the left side. Some times the hole is all the way down the dog leg and situated to the left right at the end of the creek behind the brush. It's probably about 600 ft maybe more making it very hard to hit a three.

Overall I love the course I have played there for 4 years and I can't even guess how many hundreds of rounds I've played there. I have never had a disc stolen or really any problems there (minus one or two fist fights). Typically there are lots of locals there who are pretty chill and relaxed. It's a great place to play but gets congested at times. Wish they would have actually set up a league there or more tournaments because it would be a cash cow.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best Course In Southern Colorado!!!

5+    9/16/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: nabernathy
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: -Best course in southern Colorado
-Good course for Advanced players
-Good Forehand and Backhand course
-Overall a SICK Course!!
-Good For skip shots in the winter, really dry
Cons: -Too many beginners crowding the course going slow
-Yelled at for things I haven't done
-Too Many Beaners stealing Discs!!!
-Pads are slipper in the morning
-Graffiti on baskets
Other Thoughts: -I have played this course maybe 300 times almost I know What I Am Talking About!!!

0 of 15 people found this review helpful.


1    7/21/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 35  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 22.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good challenge for all levels of players, thanks to the ever present trees
-Lots of shade, which is rare in Pueblo
-Well-maintaned tee pads that are set up at exactly the right angle
-Good variance in hole lengths
-Reminds me of a Montana course (my home state) in many ways
Cons: -Park is FILTHY! The lone bathrooms are a disaster and every sign is royalty graffiti'ed over. Beer cans and bottles litter the course. If it was cleaner, I might have rated this 4 or even 4.5 stars
-The local ADULTS will steal your discs, marked or not! I landed a DX Wraith (well marked and beat up bad) near the road and a truck pulled up...the driver hopped out and grabbed the disc! I got it back without a fight, but I saw a similar incident on the other side of the course where a young boy lost a brand new champion Eagle. Truly disgusting.
-Super crowded with no one calling fore. Lots of chuck and pray types. Watch your. Head.
-Clustered in some spots leads to confusion. Even with a map my brother and I drove off the 4 hole aiming for the 6 basket.
Other Thoughts: The course layout is great. But the behavior of the Pueblo locals, both golfers and not, made this a very unpleasant experience. I may come back, but I will NOT bring my daughter. I don't know the crime rate in Pueblo, but I had a bad feeling the whole round after that jerk tried to make off with my disc...he probably couldn't have evn got 3 bucks out of the thing it was so old. Sickening.

Fold is competition, yes, but its mostly about enjoying the experience and the attitude environment, not neccessarily the course itself, took all the fun out it for me.

Last note: all the local teenagers only play with one disc, so expect to wait around on some holes. Great course, horrible location.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 a little congested

2-4    1/13/2012   1/15/2012
Review By: conroy_01
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A fun course. Good obstacles and good distances on most holes. A good mix of easy and difficult holes. A fun course to definetly play if you are in the area.
Cons: The holes are a little too congested. Many holes are a little too close together with some partily overlapping. All tee signs are either missing or have graffiti on them so you can't read them. It also makes it hard to find the next hole if you didn't have a map.
Other Thoughts: Find a map. There are some online. Definetely needs new tee signs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great City Park Course

2-4    7/4/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very well-manicured, quality city park with pro and amateur tees on every hole. The grass here is immaculate, and the large amount of trees gives you a much needed break from the hot Pueblo sun. The course is basically two loops around separate parts of the park, both of which lead back to the parking area. This is nice because you can leave some stuff in your car, and pick it up after hole 9. Note: To get to hole 10, do a 180 degree turn from the #9 basket, walk about 100 feet and cross the road on your left, tee 10 is there.

Surprisingly, you will find yourself throwing most of the discs in your bag on this course. While there are a fair amount of straight shots, the course does a good job of mixing in some technical lines. The pro and amateur tees certainly make the course much better. As I usually tee exclusively from pro tees, this is not the case at this course. I highly advise scouting both tees on most holes, as 5 or so amateur tees have shots that I consider better, harder, and more technical than the pro tees. They are never longer, but some are certainly harder and more fun. This is certainly one of the best standard-park courses I have played in Colorado.

The abundance of trees in this park, as well as the long and short distances of holes make for the technicality and toughness on most holes. There are a few very tight mandatory gaps, and a few drops that will find your disc lost in some thick brush/trees. There are an abundance of trees in 80% of the fairways, always creating some sort of obstacle. The course also does a good job of mixing up the technical and non-technical shots. Many courses have a technical front 9, and an open back 9, while PCP seems to mix it up fairly well for a park course. The roads are considered out of bounds here, which adds a little extra difficulty as many holes border the roads.
Cons: Bring a map!! (or a local, or course). This course is very confusing for a first-timer. No holes actually cross, but there are certain points you must walk across other holes to reach another tee box. Without a map, or locals, it would be very hard to understand where to go. To further the lack of help, EVERY SIGN in this park is completely covered in graffiti. They look as if they used to be very nice and helpful signs, but now it is impossible to read where the pin is, what distance it is at, and what par is supposed to be. To add, I have on played here twice, but both times there has been trash all over the park. It was often a problem when looking for a disc, because there would be so many other bright colors in the trash.

This course is right in the middle of a city park, and next to many picnic benches. You will find yourself playing through groups of oblivious people. Many people come to this park to sit and hang out, so be aware, and be prepared to wait for a bit. This is also the best course in the area, so it can get semi-crowded on a nice day. That being said, the course layout is done well enough to the point that it flows and reduces congestion.
Other Thoughts: A very fun and entertaining park course that will take up a good amount of time. Pro and amateur tees are different enough that a round of 36 is plausible and not boring (although some holes are repeatable, and 5 or so holes use the same tee for am/pro). Definitely worth checking out if you are nearby… a real pleasure for a park course, and real escape from the desert environment of Pueblo. Also next to the zoo and a small water park!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.