Pueblo, CO 
Pueblo City Park Share
Uploaded By: LeewayeDiscGolf Hole #3 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 270ft.   3 / --   3 / 340ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Pro Tee ( The 2 big white trees are now gone )



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great City Park Course

2-4    7/4/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very well-manicured, quality city park with pro and amateur tees on every hole. The grass here is immaculate, and the large amount of trees gives you a much needed break from the hot Pueblo sun. The course is basically two loops around separate parts of the park, both of which lead back to the parking area. This is nice because you can leave some stuff in your car, and pick it up after hole 9. Note: To get to hole 10, do a 180 degree turn from the #9 basket, walk about 100 feet and cross the road on your left, tee 10 is there.

Surprisingly, you will find yourself throwing most of the discs in your bag on this course. While there are a fair amount of straight shots, the course does a good job of mixing in some technical lines. The pro and amateur tees certainly make the course much better. As I usually tee exclusively from pro tees, this is not the case at this course. I highly advise scouting both tees on most holes, as 5 or so amateur tees have shots that I consider better, harder, and more technical than the pro tees. They are never longer, but some are certainly harder and more fun. This is certainly one of the best standard-park courses I have played in Colorado.

The abundance of trees in this park, as well as the long and short distances of holes make for the technicality and toughness on most holes. There are a few very tight mandatory gaps, and a few drops that will find your disc lost in some thick brush/trees. There are an abundance of trees in 80% of the fairways, always creating some sort of obstacle. The course also does a good job of mixing up the technical and non-technical shots. Many courses have a technical front 9, and an open back 9, while PCP seems to mix it up fairly well for a park course. The roads are considered out of bounds here, which adds a little extra difficulty as many holes border the roads.
Cons: Bring a map!! (or a local, or course). This course is very confusing for a first-timer. No holes actually cross, but there are certain points you must walk across other holes to reach another tee box. Without a map, or locals, it would be very hard to understand where to go. To further the lack of help, EVERY SIGN in this park is completely covered in graffiti. They look as if they used to be very nice and helpful signs, but now it is impossible to read where the pin is, what distance it is at, and what par is supposed to be. To add, I have on played here twice, but both times there has been trash all over the park. It was often a problem when looking for a disc, because there would be so many other bright colors in the trash.

This course is right in the middle of a city park, and next to many picnic benches. You will find yourself playing through groups of oblivious people. Many people come to this park to sit and hang out, so be aware, and be prepared to wait for a bit. This is also the best course in the area, so it can get semi-crowded on a nice day. That being said, the course layout is done well enough to the point that it flows and reduces congestion.
Other Thoughts: A very fun and entertaining park course that will take up a good amount of time. Pro and amateur tees are different enough that a round of 36 is plausible and not boring (although some holes are repeatable, and 5 or so holes use the same tee for am/pro). Definitely worth checking out if you are nearby… a real pleasure for a park course, and real escape from the desert environment of Pueblo. Also next to the zoo and a small water park!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great city park course.

2-4    5/22/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was introduced to me from my room mate who is from Pueblo. It's a great overall course that requires a lot of skill and accuracy. The tee pads are perfect sized concrete slabs and Am pads for inexperienced players as well. The course has nicely manicured grass through the layout with a few holes playing around a large gulley. Several holes require a good placement shot around trees to allow for a good second look at the target. There is an adequate amount of trees protecting the target on several holes to make par shots more rewarding. Multiple pin placements allow for many variations on each hole. Mandos on a few holes make things more interesting. The course played long when I was there, allowing for a lot of good blasts. Hole #5 stands out for me because of it's technicality and how many trees you have to miss to have a great shot. Some of the back nine holes take advantage of a large retaining wall that creates risks when going for the target. I see why this is a great course for tournaments!
Cons: Signage was there on many holes, but it was pointless when they are damaged with writing all over most of them. Many of the signs read, "if you read this, you suck." Watch out for the road on the first few holes or you might deal with some traffic. This isn't a con, it's just something to be aware of since young drivers like to run over discs. Playing the course for the first time, it's tricky to locate some targets from the tee pad. A few tee pads are close to the fairway of the previous hole so make sure to watch for other players. Since this is the only course in the area, it does see a fair amount of players daily, so be ready to wait to throw on a nice day.
Other Thoughts: I was expecting a typical park course with a few trees and a lot of flat open space. What I got was the best city park course I have played yet. I haven't played much outside of Colorado so it's not saying much, but it is an above average park course with a lot of fun and challenging shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/23/2010   10/24/2010
Review By: tyocky
Played: 51  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
Pros: Beautiful well maintained park with good mix of trees, distance, technical. Much of the course is a classic "by the book" city park disc course type feel. Other than differences in tree species it felt like many of the good Texas courses in major cities. But the final 6 or 7 holes are beautiful and really unique. Picturesque tee shots. Challenging yet a little room for error. Nice layout with not much walking from one hole to the next.
Cons: The tee signs are heavily vandalized and hard to make out where the basket is because most signs are unreadable now.

 So Close To Being So Much Better

2-4    6/19/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 95  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course sits in a nice city park that is well maintained. The course plays mostly through parts of the park that do not get much use otherwise. There are many other activities in the park for the non disc playing people including a nice playground and even a zoo amongst other sports fields and activity areas. Cement teepads were nice and consistent with both a pro and am tee pad on just about every hole. The design of the course is well thught out from the standpoint of interesting and challenging holes. There is a very good mix of length from super short to at least one hole (#9) that gets to be a par 4 in its long position. Each hole has a good selection of pin locations that creates a good mix of challenges that are unique. The course is set up as two sets of nine holes making it easy to get a quick nine in if you want. Each nine starts and finishes near the parking lot. The course takes advantages of some really nice features in the park including a couple of retaining walls. There are plenty of trees to create super tight shots for a traditional park course. The baskets all have hole numbers on the top of them. There seems to be a good local community that enjoys this course but at the same time they do not seem super organized at the present time to make some needed improvements.
Cons: The front nine has a couple of holes that may be difficult to find as the loop crosses over itself. Generally this would not be a problem but the tee signs are in such a bad condition that they may not always be helpful. Some of the baskets are starting to show their age. There are streets that run all along the course creating nice natural OBs but they also produce a lot of traffic with drivers that like to run over discs and honk their horns in the middle of throws (this is more a result of the specifics of the population that uses this park, namely youth that like to be annoying. There is an old footpath that also runs through a few holes on the back nine and will have the occasional walker to slow down your round. Holes 13 and 17 cross paths with very limited visibility so there is a strong potential of throwing into other groups in these holes, remember that the higher hole always has the right of way. Crowds could be a problem, especially when newer players come out to play this course which seems to be a majority of the crowd at this course.
Other Thoughts: There is still a part of me that would like to give this course a much higher rating than what I have given it simply because this course, although it proved super challenging, was just crazy amounts of fun for me. Because of its length and technical elements, it really isn't the greatest course to learn on. The course was super easy to find with the directions here on DGCR. It does get super hot in Pueblo so remember to bring water and lots of it. This course used to be home to the Colroado State Championships until they started to move that tournament around the state. They just recently as in this past weekend began an annual tournament at this course, whcih had a huge turnout and should grow bigger every year. This course is really worth playing, but it gets a lower rating because of poor tee signs, a few places where the layout crosses over itself, and some of the other park traffic in this particular park and the disturbance that it can be.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Gem in Pueblo

2-4    5/29/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays through mature trees and green grass that is well maintained. The course features some long tight holes, short technical shots and a few long bomb shots. There is something for everyone at the course.

Some cool features: Multiple tees, mature trees, mix of shot types (left, right, straight), open holes, tight holes.

Basically this course makes you think about every shot and where you want to put it. Some holes you must fight for your 3 and others are an easier shot. Do not let the short holes fool you though, you can get hurt easy if you don't play smart. With a few holes over 400 feet if you are not an accurate distance player you need to think about where to land to safely take a 4 in some cases. I enjoyed to shady grass and the wind buffer that many trees created. Driving in to Pueblo seems kinda of dry, arid and treeless so you maybe be thinking, "How the heck is there a super mature treed course here?" Well the Arkansas River takes care of that.

Hole 13 over the ravine and the stone wall is a favorite hole as well as 6 (I think) the tight one with OB on the left.

The older Discatcher baskets are still in good shape.
Cons: The tee signs are useless. They either are full of graffiti, water/sun damage, or missing information altogether.

Some tee pads are a little small on the longer holes.

There is no easy way to get from hole 16 to 17 except for jumping down the wall which seems unsafe and is damaging to the wall. The creek thing on Holes 13, 17 & 18 is a olfactory nightmare and is a kin to the lake at Expo in Aurora. (If you play Expo you know what I am taking about.)

As much as this course beat me up I really have few negative things to say about this course.
Other Thoughts: Now in my top 10 of Colorado courses. This course feature technicality plus length to give every type of player a real test. I had a lot of fun playing here and wish it were a lot closer than 2 and half hours away from Denver. I guess if you came down here with some non-disc golfers they might enjoy the zoo that is at the same park complex, although I did not go to the zoo, but I could smell/hear the animals. This course does not have any sidewalks coursing though the park so if that is something that normally trips you up as OB well then don't worry here, although there are roads running alongside a few holes that can take off some strokes on poorly placed drives.

I enjoyed myself here and I think it is a gem of a course. I had heard good things about it and now I am glad I was able to experience it for myself.

BRING WATER, SUNSCREEN, AND MORE WATER.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Stop

2-4    7/27/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a solid park course which is normally not my cup of tea. My personal philosophy is that I can play on park grass almost anywhere in the country. This course however is worth the trip. There are shots, layouts and looks here that are unique to Pueblo City Park and make it stand out in my mind from the cookie cutter park courses that are from this late 70's era of courses.

So I'll start with what makes this course better than many of those other park courses. The back nine is fabulous. Elevation changes, tight looks, garden walls, ace runs, drop offs and a basket on the face of a steep drop off make the back nine and adventure. All without being crazy hard make for a round of disc golf that has a pretty high fun factor. The design makes two loops around out and back from the parking lot so you can play just nine if you wanted.

The normal positives that go along with parks courses are here plus and then some, for example, my wife and daughter were able to check out a zoo while I played. There's enough parking, there are restrooms at the park, and the other park uses are given their own portions of the park far away from the course. I do not think I would have needed the map that I printed out other than to get from nine to ten. There are multiple paved teepdas on almost all of the holes.

For me the positives all boil down to the three tiered wall totaling more than fifteen feet in the back nine. Its fun and offers something you don't get at most courses. Holes ten eleven and twelve are also highlight for me because you need some finesse in that you cannot just relay on distance and the pin and tee pad placement are interesting. This is a very well manicured park course and a player here could almost go barefoot.
Cons: It's a park course and as a tourist I feel that you will not get a good feel for the land or the community playing the park courses. But there really isn't much bad to say about this particular park course that I wouldn't just say about all park courses. There is a main street in the middle of the course that runs near eight or nine of the fairways.

There are a number of mostly open holes that only have a few trees and bushes to contend with. Number 15 has a large fence and Pueblo Boulevard to deal with if you are not the most accurate player. The transitions of nine to ten and the parking area make you cross a street, so look out for your doggies and little ones. Pueblo is for whatever reason pretty hot in the summertime. Many of the holes are flat and boring.

I once ran a half marathon that ran through this park and then along the Arkansas River which is only about a quarter mile from the northern parts of the course. I always imagined that the course dipped its toe into that slice of Colorado oasis for a portion. Sadly for the course stays in the park. In spite of not venturing into the river areas, this course is still pretty fun.
Other Thoughts: Long story short, this old park stands the test of time with a very high fun factor.

I played this course on a gorgeous late summer day with threatening afternoon thunderstorms that cooled me off perfectly. I was also near the end of a trip and my game usually jobs up a couple of notches when I am on the back end of my trips so I'm sure I played this course under optimal conditions. It was just a perfect day.

I would recommend this course for any skill level and any type of play. I had a perfect day and I was playing right alongside a few guys who had just bought a couple DX discs to huck around, who also seemed to be enjoying themselves quite a bit. I've been daydreaming about playing this course again lately. I know I won't pass through the area without playing this course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun to play

2-4    9/7/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: shortstack
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Every hole is different. Multiple pin location options and concrete pads. There are plenty of trees to hinder your throws requiring more skills to master. Often long drives required and puts are often made harder by surrounding trees.
Cons: Surrounded by roads. Constant sounds of cars passing. If play with landing on road as penalty multiple holes are problematic on approach. Had nice signs before graffiti into obliteration.
Other Thoughts: Typically takes 2 hours to play with 3 people.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 City Park says Play Me

5+    10/22/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: LeewayeDiscGolf
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2010
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Seperate Pro and Am Tees. Tired of the Pro course? Switch to Am Tees for a change of pace. All holes have at least 3 hole placements, some have as many as 5. This means a totally different course every month or two. Almost all the holes have some tree cover, making City Park a great course for those of you who can't stop just cuz it's raining. Numerous pine trees fill the course as well, meaning it stays challenging even in the winter. There are restrooms on the end of hole(s) 2/7. First nine are excellent for a quick round if time is short. All grass means not too much mud to deal with. If it's windy, the crazy amount of trees keeps the course playable. Bring a fairly good variety of discs with you, this course has plenty of different shots for you. This is my home course. And I do play here almost everyday, year round. Which is why I gave it a 4. Because it is playable year round even though it needs a facelift.
Cons: The main con would be the fact that this is a public park. The course seems to fall apart little by little each year. Some baskets are missing inner chains. Graffiti is poppin' up on signs and baskets. Trees are being removed or broken. Football practice has taken over #15's Am tee. If you're playing Am Tees, just know #15 may be buried under coolers and gear and surrounded by spectators. And pedestrians are oblivious. Some holes are signless. Many people choose to park as close to the course as possible, which makes newer players very nervous about throwing near vehicles. Not many follow the groups of 4 rule, so some groups get huge. And someone always throws over me off of #13 when I'm on #17. However, these are the cons of someone who plays this course daily, year round. Still an amazing course.
Other Thoughts: Please remember on #13 that hole #17 has the right of way. Beginners watch vehicles and trees. If you are slower, please allow play-throughs. A good mix of open and tight holes and the signature #13 make this course fun for everyone.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Power in Pueblo

1    3/14/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: ChainMan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/19/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some long wide open holes that just beg for your 100% power shot and will punish you for lack of control. Most of the course features old growth trees that require distance while keeping your disc under the canopy. A couple of holes on the back nine are heavily wooded enough to require laser like accuracy and more than one type of throw in your arsenal. There weren't many people out on the bluebird sky day that I played. I just really enjoyed this course even though for an intermediate to advanced amateur there is scant chance of getting a 3 on a couple holes because of their monster distance. There are 3 holes on the back 9 that are along the terraces which is an unusal and challenging feature.
Cons: The park has a one-way road going through it that can make it difficult if you miss the parking lot which is directly on your right as you come in. Some OB areas are blacktop which can eat some perfectly good plastic.
Other Thoughts: Don't pass up a chance to play this course if you're in the area. It's really fun. Take plenty of water! <edit: now that I've had the chance to play a couple epic courses like Conifer, CO Beaver Ranch and KC, MO Waterworks Park I'm increasing it's score to a 4.0. Mainly because of it's great challenge. Do not pass this one by. end edit>

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worthy course

5+    3/5/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Solid course all around. Perfect mix of short/long holes. A few really tight fairways especially on 5 and 11, throw it straight or pay. Mix of left and right shots. No real elevation changes on the front half but get to the back half and some good elevation changes are to be had. Last three holes will challenge you. Get a par 3 on 18 and that's pretty darn good. Enough trees to create a few holes with tight shots. Some holes are wide open allowing you to throw long such as hole 3. Mainly grass so no weeds to worry about. Hole 13 is just plain fun. Baskets are moved to new pin locations on a regular basis. A course you can play again and again. Each hole definately has a unique feel to it and none of the holes feel repetitive. You just can't get bored here. Cement teepads are in great shape and the baskets too.
Cons: This is on a city park that is heavily used. Watch of for pedestrians, especially on holes 9, 11 and 12. Watch out for goose poop, mainly on 7. Don't let the small creek on 17 fool you it eats a lot of discs. ths water is smelly and deceptive. I put my foot on the edge and slipped and went into the water past my knees. Graffiti is a problem on this course. The baskets and teesigns are constantly tagged. Takes away from the overall good experience. Lots of new players come here and due so in large groups that hold others back.
Other Thoughts: I had to come back and update this review and increase my rating. This is truly and all around classic course and deserves an extra disc once I compare it to other courses I play. I definately miss all the rounds that I played on this course. I have easily played over 100 rounds on this course and just keep coming back here. I aleays have a good time. Well designed and thought out. Great for beginners and pros alike.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.