Leavenworth, KS
University of St. Mary Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #2 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 165ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Disappointing even without many expectations

1    8/13/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 45  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There was almost no chance of losing a disc. Pretty much the only way you could is if you're stuck in a tree. 10/10

Once you do manage to find the tees the holes are easy to navigate for the most part. The baskets for 6 and 9 and for 7 and 8 are relatively close together so having no hole maps. 8/10

There is an okay variety in openness on the holes. The are several that are mostly wide open with maybe an overhang and a tree or two, while holes 6, 8, and 9 are relatively technical. 6/10

This course does a good job using obstacles on the second half of the holes. However, it appeared that some of the land back behind the hole 8 tee could've been used for some nice holes. I'm not sure if the University wouldn't allow the course to use this area. 6/10 anyway
Cons: No alternate hole positions 0/10

One of the hardest courses to navigate I have ever played, and I even had a map. Without one, you would just have to wander around near the previous baskets until you stepped on the next tee. All there is at the tee is a wooden board lying flat in the ground. Adding just a stick in the ground at the tee would help a lot. 1/10

Tees are not in good shape, and some branches are hanging almost directly over them. I'm fine with overhangs affecting the shot, bur branches hanging in my face while I'm trying to throw from a tee are a bit annoying. Baskets are portable and have only a single row of chains. 2/10

Most holes are pretty straightforward, and don't have multiple ways to play them. Holes 8 and 9 are the exceptions here. 2/10

Well mowed, but no benches or water. There is some shade on the second half of the course. Some branches could use a trim, and tee signs are badly needed. No trash can's on the course. comfort level 3/10, course maintenance 3/10

There is some elevation present, but it is mostly there as a hazard. For example, holes 1 and 7 both have sharp dropoffs to the left. There are a couple of holes that are uphill (1, 7 and 8) and a couple downhill (4 and 9), but none of them are very severe at all. Considering the surrounding terrain I'm giving a 3/10 for amount/use of elevation.

This course is a good beginner course, but will offer little challenge to experienced players except the last hole. There are alternate tee pads, but they don't really change the difficulty of the course, it would be nice to have some longer tees for more experienced players. 3/10

There is some variety of shot paths here, but it could use more. 3 and 4 favor a hyzer shot. A few other holes are not completely straight, but there are only slight curves in the lines. 4/10
Other Thoughts: Overall challenge - 3/10

Some easy minor touch ups could really improve this course. but it still wouldn't be great even with them unless the layout was redesigned to incorporate additional land. I did not have too high of expectations for this course, but I expected it to be better than it was.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not bad

5+    6/16/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: oshavy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Variety of holes -- some require distance drives, some require low drives to miss branches, etc.
-No crowd (especially in summer when the university is not in session)
-Quick to play.
-9 hole course with two tee boxes for each hole gives an 18 hole course experience.
Cons: -No real tee boxes or signage -- sometimes the indicator is little more than a piece of wood in the ground.
-Can be tough to locate tee boxes if you don't know where to look.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beginner Course

5+    6/24/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: bkern85
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Usually pretty well kept, being as it is on a college campus. It has a variety of holes, some being wide open and others having several trees as obstacles. The short distances make if very good for beginners or to practice on. There are 2 tee pads per hole, but only 1 pin location, turning this course into and 18 hole course instead of 9. There are opportunities to use several types of shots on this course. Only once have I ever encountered another group playing when I was, so it goes pretty quickly and you can play at your own pace.
Cons: No maps. Tee boxes are just plank of wood and some are even spray painted on the grass (a tee box on hole 1 and hole 6). No signs for distance to pin. My first time through we had to walk the course first to try and find where all the holes were.
Other Thoughts: Decent and fun course for a nice casual playthrough. I play it quite often, but only because it is so close to my house. If you're coming to the KC area to hit up disc golf courses, you wouldn't miss much by skipping this one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

This course works

1    2/8/2013   2/8/2013
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 105  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout was pretty easy to follow, I used the map and made my way pretty easily. The holes where pretty cool nothing too long but good opportunities to use different shots.
Cons: Baskets are DB5s reasonable at best. The tee pads are natural with a yellow tie at the front
Other Thoughts: Quick stop on the K-7 corridor.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Improving

2-4    9/10/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: Rob Martin
Played: 96  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I thought this little course was actually pretty fun. Low ceiling on many holes made it fun. Forced to mix up your drives using RHFH, roller, anhyzer, etc. Played in sporadic rain and found all 18 tees relatively easily because they have been recently marked. All were spray painted bright orange with orange mini-flags, like the kind they use to mark buried utility lines. (Actually some were utility markers, some were Discraft Ace Race markers.) While some tees do not significantly change the hole (#2), other tees make it a significantly different hole requiring a different driver and/or throw.

The thing that I enjoyed the most was how neat this small campus was. While I'm not Catholic, I found the various statues, small gardens, cemetery, brick road with stone curbs and water fountain pretty neat. Some of the buildings are gorgeous.

A few garbage cans, one port-a-potty on hole 6.
Cons: If the grass wasn't recently mowed, or the tees recently painted, finding the tees could be very frustrating.
At first, when teeing off at Hole 1, I wasn't expecting much. Hole 2 isn't a whole lot better, but each subsequent hole became much more interesting.
Other Thoughts: For me, this is a 45 minute drive. I plan on driving back again to play this course and probably will take some newer players with me, then hit up the local brewpub, High Noon Saloon.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 USM

1    6/28/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: AaronHieb
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short course great for begginers, Low trees to work on keeping the disc low, Good baskets.
Cons: Very hard to find tees. Could not find any tees on hole #8. Took over 20 min. to find a few tees and had a map.
Other Thoughts: Small course and built around a small college campus.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great potential.

1    10/20/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: seymourdiscgolf
Played: 118  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12 Years
Pros: Good baskets. Little elevation changes makes it nice. Two placements per hole. Lots of trees. It is located on a small college campus. Landscaping timbers are put in the ground to mark the pads but the course doesn't appear to be played very much so the timbers are nearly covered by grass.
Cons: Tees for hole #1 are a little tricky to find, they are located by a dumpster next to a football field, 2 parking lots and a building. It is located on a college campus so it might be unplayable at times. Grass tees marked by timbers are difficult to locate.
Other Thoughts: I never found either of the tees for #8 either (I even looked for almost a half an hour), please let me know if you find them or know where they are. Hit up the Atchison course if you are in the area. It looked like there is plenty of room to put in another 9 and there could be some sweet shots if they wanted to stretch it out.

  Beast50

5+    10/15/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: Beast50
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Very nice course, short course but good for first time players, Some holes can test the better big arm players. Well kept up course.
Cons: Not very well marked, usually have to play with someone that knows the course
Other Thoughts: Overall I think its a pretty nice course thats on a college campus, have some nice views of the town

 USM Disc Golf

1    10/2/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: WillCW
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short course for beginners. Lots of low hanging trees to test the better players.
Cons: Tee boxes not well marked. I never did find a tee box for 8A or 8B.
Other Thoughts: Fun course and relaxing course. Good tune up for keeping disc flying low.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.