Rush City, MN 
Dennis Frandsen Park Share
Uploaded By: TheLumberjack Hole #9 (Taken 4/2011)
4 / 654ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Nice Quiet Course

1    10/10/2015   10/12/2015
Review By: bukosknr
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 0.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
-Easy to follow.
-Great signs and they aren't vandalized.
-Well maintained and groomed.
-Great variety of shots, some long and short and technical.
-Baskets are nice and in great shape. Also labeled.
-Layout of the course is really nice.
-Location is very nice and has good bathrooms.
-We had a lot of newer players (some first time throwing) and they had trouble with the narrowed fairways. And the brush and thorns got to a couple of people real good.
-Teepads were just a piece of wood in the ground
-Wet in a couple of spots, especially if you are off course.
- I never like throwing across a road or playing where your disc can land on the road if I can be avoided.
Other Thoughts:
Fun little 9 hole course out in the country. The park is also very nice we ended up hanging out there for a few hours.

I found this course to be pretty fun, with a variety of shots. I thought it was kept well and I really liked that it was quiet. We had a larger group (17 people) and we had the entire course to ourselves.

Being late season we only lost one disc and that was from a more experienced player that just had a real bad toss off 8 and it was gone. We had a ton of people and were always able to have someone spot or we would have lost more discs.

It would be really fun to put a putting basket somewhere around. Could be fun to sit around after playing and putt and just hang out.

If you have a large group and are looking for a place that you can have all to yourselves I would certainly recommend coming out here. I wouldn't say its worth the drive from the cities to come out and play alone, but over all the experience we had was a good one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Seems fun, but prepare to lose a disc

1    8/30/2014   8/30/2014
Review By: Krome
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: Good fairway, it was well cut. The tee off signs are excellent, matches up there with the best designed. Tee baskets are numbered. Location is nice, especially when walking anywhere near the rough will spark a frog frenzy.
Cons: I lost a disc. And then another. Which is an indication that this course is not meant for new players or players working on their shot. The rough, as it were, is 3 feet tall grass, brush, and weeds, so botching a shot will cost you. Big time. So if you have a lot of faith in your shot, give this course a whirl. If not, be very, very cautious in trying this course, it's unforgiving. Also, tee offs are only a small log, which are sometimes hard to identify.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately, since I had a bad experience here, I won't be visiting again. However, that's not to say its a bad course. It's actually well put together, and there's hardly any traffic (I ran into precisely zero people, on a Saturday. Love.)

 Almost There

1    6/24/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: Joel Keating
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good friend and I designed this course I love it. It was originally laid out for 27 holes, but due to fundage we only got 9. Fairways have been widened as of sunday with a brush hog. Now you can sufficiantly play and not worry about a lost disc.
Cons: Next step is to fix T signs and pads, which I plan to do this week. After that should be good to go.
Other Thoughts: At some point soon I will be starting a doubles league, most likely on Sundays. In the early fall I also plan to have tournament with more holes as temp baskets. All cash payouts look fort the flyer at the end of summer. Please keep posting your thoughts, for they will be taken into consideration.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Home town course

5+    6/5/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: hoobajube
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: good length to were you dont have to worry about over shooting the basket on the tee, has a real golf course feel to it when the grass is mowed. also give the town something to do growing up around this area there is litterally not much to do for activities
Cons: weeds on the side of the fairway are easy to loose discs in I have done it as well as the people that were playing in front of me today so be careful. when it rains a lot the lower terrain floods out but it is on a lake so you cant fight mother nature. Middle of Nowhere (I live 5 minutes from there so not a problem for me)
Other Thoughts: I think this is a decent course to give a disc golfer a workout in all aspects of there game if it werent for the tall grass and trees surrounding the course I would say this is a good free course to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Post-tee sign review

1    8/28/2011   9/2/2011
Review By: Steve West
Played: 212  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 41.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good length variety. The mowed parts are well-maintained. Clear and informative tee signs. Alternate tees available. Good flow and navigation. Interesting flight paths. Welcoming staff who are proud of the course. Permanent outhouses. Great views of the lake with eagles soaring over.
Cons: Tee signs are in the hand-whacking position. Easy to lose a disc in the long grass and weed patches next to the fairways. Two throws across a road. No signs on the alternative tees.
Other Thoughts: On a day that I visited several small-town so-called "courses" that were just baskets planted in muddy patches of weeds, it was refreshing to find this course. This course allowed me to forget about design flaws and just play disc golf. Not that it doesn't have flaws, but they were few enough, and the play was interesting enough, to shift my focus to just playing.

With the light play this course gets, the natural tees are holding up fine.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Needs a mow

1    7/3/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: deadbody
Played: 125  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 11.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very long and challenging. A good test for a good player.
Cons: 10 foot wide fairways bordered by 4 foot tall grass is bad. On a course that is in a small town where the majority of people haven't played disc golf? Much worse. This is the wrong course for the area, and it gets a poor rating because of it. The next closest course is 10 miles down the highway, which means this is the only course local kids get to play. If their exposure to disc golf is a frustrating game where they lose discs all the time they won't continue to play.
Other Thoughts: In an urban setting where there are other nearby courses this would be a gem. In a rural setting where there are not other nearby courses this is a poorly designed and planned boondoggle. It won't get locals interested in disc golf, and it is too far from the population hub of the twin cities (and too short in being only 9 holes) to draw out of towners. Play wise this course is like a 3.5 design wise and what it means to the sport it is a -2. So the rating is 1.5 If you are in the area it's not a bad play, but plan to look for your disc for a while.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    6/4/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: timj5304
Played: 120  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Good mix of technical shots and bombs.
*GREAT to have a course out that way
*No traffic
Cons: *Thorn Bushes
*Fairways not cut
*long cattails as well as very wet if you get off of the fairways, bring extra socks.
Other Thoughts: A decent course for being out in the sticks which is what this literally is. Very wet as it is built in a park near a lake which means wetness generally. Not worth the drive from the cities but if your driving up north on 35, give it a try if you have time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  short but "sweet"

1    4/11/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: TheLumberjack
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
Pros: The fairways are well maintained and manicured as of 4/11/11. There is some good distance on a holes 1, 7, 9. There is not much traffic, so virtually no waiting. Baskets are new and labled with orange numbers. Nice scenery, overlooks Rush Lake.
Cons: The tees are marked with a green post with white PVC on them, but no numbers, this makes it hard to know what tee you are at. The setup is a little hard to follow, they mowed paths to keep you on track but hole 5 is down the walking path 30 yards on the left, through a cut path in the brush, down a hill. Then hole 6 is across the road from the tee and out of sight to the right. once you get those two figured out it is an easy course to follow.

Holes 5 and 9 are a little wet and muddy right now, but should dry out.
Other Thoughts: Overall nice course for the area. Everything is brand new. Small park area attached with fishing pier and bathrooms. Only 9 holes but worth a try.

 Challenging 9

1    3/27/2011   4/1/2011
Review By: Fat Samson
Played: 93  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging for Only 9 holes.

Good layout for a municipal course.

Good mix of elevation and obstacles.

Bring your big arm- 1 and 9 are bombers!
Cons: Played while snow was on the ground- looks like it might get swampy in summer.

LOTS of thornbush- stay in the fairways!

When the snow melts I'm hoping the tee pads are pretty visible. As it stands the only thing marking the holes are fence posts with a piece of PVC pipe. And since most of the baskets are too far away to read you might end up playing the wrong hole a time or two.
Other Thoughts: Looks like a fun multi-use area.

Located on the north end of Rush Lake.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.