Spring City, PA 
Camp Sankanac DGC Share
Uploaded By: Theos Hole #2
4 / 550ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee: Plays over water



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Awesome course!

1    4/13/2014   4/17/2014
Review By: revans1009
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course has it all - sprawling layout, wide open holes, tight wooded holes, water and out of bounds "hazards" that are challenging yet manageable..and it is all in a beautiful area.

Cons: Wish there were clearer markings for both hole layout and next tee box. I was fortunate to have been playing with a group, otherwise I would not have known where to go on several occasions. This is significantly overshadowed by the play of the course itself.

I heard it closes all summer long.....
Other Thoughts: This became an instant favorite. There is so much good about this course it's hard to summarize. Fantastic.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sank your Battleship

1    5/26/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Private 18 hole course of impeccable variety and aesthetically pleasing natural scenery. Phenomenal use of the land features, creek, and available elevation. Excellent risk vs reward on most holes and some tricky basket placements. Decent signage, single tees and baskets.
Cons: Some nit picking that shouldn't really keep anyone from playing. Poison ivy is fairly bad in some places off the fairways. A little tricky to navigate in places. Decent chance of losing a disc. The white baskets can be hard to see. Limited availability of playtime.
Other Thoughts: Camp Sank is the most varied and unique course I have played and the fun factor is off the charts! Somehow there are more downhill shots than uphill shots/walking or it just seems that way. There are ace runs, deuce runs, and some hard birdie 3s. Some tight shots through the woods, some wide open, and others meander in or out of the woods and open. Uphill, flat, downhill, and rolling elevation. Right, left, and straight shots. The suspension bridge on hole 6 was quite thrilling to walk across and I had to walk in rhythm with the bouncing of the bridge, and by the time I got off the bridge I couldn't walk right for a bit. The next hole 7 is a fun downhill bomber, then hole 8 par 4 is one of the more unique holes I've played which starts out flat and through a tight gap to a more open landing area for the next shot to the right and it goes uphill quite a bit. The following hole 9 was almost complete deja vu of Morraine hole 7, but a difficult par 4 this time around, and I was pumped to hit a 40' putt for a birdie 3. Hole 12's hallway shot is reminiscent of Blue Ribbon Pines infamous hole 4, but shorter. Hole 13 reminds me of Tyler with the wood bunkers and tight gaps. So many awesome and unique holes here, I have this as my personal #2 course in PA behind only Nocky and not by much. I highly recommend to any player and hope to make the trek back soon!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Definitely would recomend

5+    5/12/2013   5/21/2013
Review By: kafbucks
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, this course has just about every challenge a disc golf course could have from water (about knee deep) to woods, from open fairways to narrow, from flat lands to hills that goes straight up. Signs to the next hole are easy to find so navigation shouldn't be a problem.
The Course is very well maintained.
Cons: The only complaints I have is that its at a camp so its limited on when you can go, it's closed every Saturday and between Memorial Day and Labor Day, and closed a few days in October for hunting season. If I really wanted to nit pick I could point out that some of the rough is totally unaccessable so if you're disc gets in there your probably not getting it back, but that's at maybe 1 or two parts of the course so I didn't fault the course for that. Though there is a strong possibility of losing discs at this course so if you play here I suggest putting your contact info on the back of your discs in case someone finds it.
Other Thoughts: Over all this course is fantastic. A few very minor complaints but nothing that wont stop me from coming again and again. I encourage anyone who can throw a disc to try this course, but if your new to the game, you may want to tee off from across the water unless you want to get wet for your disc.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Metal Bridge

2-4    4/7/2012   5/20/2013
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has everything. Some holes go over a decent size river, some throw down a big decline, some through across huge fields, some throw up tight hills, some are technical, and some are roller friendly.
Cons: This is a private course and is often closed
Other Thoughts: Each year I try to make it to the KenCrest Cares Classic held each spring.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Camp Sankanac

1    12/28/2012   1/1/2013
Review By: raynger27
Played: 29  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 2.9 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Camp Sankanac was one of the most beautiful and interesting courses I have ever played. The scenery, hole layouts, and overall appeal of the course are unbelievable. A combination scorecard/map is available at the first tee and is very useful for navigation. The course starts off with a beautiful shot over a creek and just never slows down after that. Water (nothing too deep to lose a disc on most holes), elevation up and down, open fields, woods, and interesting basket placements. This course has it all. I have only played the course once, but I can honestly remember each and every hole, even now, one week after I played. Each hole has its own unique appeal, and not one of them is vanilla. The available map and next tee signs made navigation a snap. Outhouses were available, and rubber tee pads are large and in great shape.
Cons: As a private course, the hours you can play are severely limited. No Saturdays, and closed pretty much all summer (Memorial Day to Labor Day) and for part of hunting season. On a positive note, the informational email address listed on their website was quick to respond when I inquired about operational hours. Definitely reach out to them the day before you go (at a minimum) and you should be all set. The minor hassle is definitely worth it. One minor thing I noticed is the catch area of the baskets (the chains) seemed shorter top to bottom than all others I have played on. This made for a smaller area to aim for, and I definitely dinked some off the top ring as a result. Still, not bad at all for homemade baskets (and if this was my home course, it would make me an extremely good putter at other courses). Also, the tee signs were very descriptive, but some were hard to read since they have been out in the elements for awhile. They could use some sprucing up. These are the few minor things that kept this course from being a 5 to me.
Other Thoughts: $3 to play, but a great investment. I hear the money is being used to purchase new baskets and maintain the course. So, where the money is going is evident. There are a few longer walks, but these aren't an issue at all to me because they allow the most interesting parts of the land to be used on the course. No walk is that long, and if you are out for a day of disc golf, additional walking should be the least of your complaints. I played with a buddy who also had never been here before and it took the two of us ~ 2 hours to get through 18. Some days the course is only open for 4 hours, so it's the perfect chance to get in 2 rounds, if you have the time and endurance for the walk.

My home area is the Lehigh Valley, and I drove about an hour to get to Sankanac. I would have to place this course up there with Nockamixon (and maybe Jordan) as the best I have seen. So many of the holes here are unique and interesting in so many different ways, it's fantastic. I don't want to give a hole by hole account because others have done that very well already. Don't let the hassle of the hours here dissuade you from coming. Figure out a way to get here when they allow you to play, you won't regret it.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

DG Heaven

5+    9/16/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 38  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2013
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Sanktuary is like the perfect "suburb" course, hanging in the dead middle of the scale--heavy woods on one end of the spectrum and open rolling hills on the other side, this pup having an even amount of both. I love the hybrid nature of it. There are big hills all over and plenty of water obstacles from French Creek and its tributaries snaking through the land. Tighter shots on wooded holes can beat you up, and most holes with open shots have the basket tucked away to add difficulty. Also, it seems this course could get windy in the fields, adding some difficulty, but it was calm today. Large tee pads with wooden painted signs showing you par/distance/OB/water were great. THERE WERE SCORCARDS! Courses in the area rarely seem to have these, so A+ there! I can't comment on navigation because I played with someone who'd been here before, but it seems pretty self intuitive getting hole to hole. Find 2 and 14 might get tricky. The bible camp aspect of the "campus" dotted and bordered certain holes with cool buildings, cabins, churches and other pretty scenery. The course was very easy to find. There are only par 3's and 4's and it is tough to shoot par here. Be happy with anything under 70 for this par 60 or under 65 if you're a seasoned player. There was an AMAZING bridge that bounces and has wire guides across the water on hole 6 I think. That was awesome and unique. This course is up there with Nocky and Tyler, it is that good! GET TO THIS COURSE!
Cons: There's a lot of poison ivy, a lot...wear pants and be careful off the fairways. The hours for the course are a con. I understand since it is a bible camp that the course is closed during the summer and on Saturdays through the year. Sunday 11-5 and weekdays before 3pm are the open times in fall, winter and spring. Some shots mix in a bit of luck when there's trees everywhere but most shots are fair. That's all I can criticize this course for and it didn't hurt my experience at all, just trying to be objective.
Other Thoughts: The course starts out with an immediately intriguing shot off the tee of hole 1 across a large creek, beyond which your ideal throw continues across a small road stopped by a wall of a hill  with the basket 15 feet up or so. Hole 2 is bordered on the left by first tee's said creek with brush and woods on the right, leaving a narrow fairway, encouraging a long slight anny for RHBH dodging some small trees dotting the fairway. Hole 3 tightly wooded--skill shot for your initial gap but mix in some luck for later in the flight path to get it to the basket. Hole 4 is a great birdie opportunity through tree gap right in front of tee pad downhill and out into a field with basket tucked away on the right out of view. I'm LHFH/RHBH (due to a lefty baseball swing earlier in life) so this was a big anny for me, but a nice RHFH playing the fade would work well to set up a birdie. Hole 5 is a wide open 500+ ft. par 3, but it's wide open, so you should be able to park your 2nd shot under the trees that the basket lives near (if you hit these, you'll most likely still save par). Hole 6 is a tough gap over a creek through a semi-narrow tree gap. If you make it through, your second shot is slightly uphill, but easy from there. Hole 7 is similar to 4, initial tree gap, open field downhill and long for a 3. Hole 8 is a narrow tree tunnel...tough one. Hole 9 is visual art--a highlight hole. It has lots of narrow tree obstacles but they are small little guys in a grassy knoll--a unique blended open/woods feel for this 500+ par 4.

For the back 9, hole 10 is a big birdie opportunity. A lonely big tree in the center of the hole and a creek on the left are the only work-arounds. Hole 11 is tough because you must make it beyond the "wall" as everything but the drop zone pad is OB before the wooden 6" tall boards that block discs from rolling back down into the creek. Hole 12 is a neat and tidy 263 ft tree tunnel with a 10 foot wide fairway. Middy or fairway driver all the way (maybe putter for some).  Hole 13 demands a big high anhyzer for RHBH, since there seems to be more empty space higher up through this obstacle rich tee shot. The basket is out of sight due to a right bootleg. Hole 14 is wide open from the tee, have fun! You can reach basket on 2nd shot tucked into a nook on the left after the shed. Hole 15 is another wide open 600 ft. par 4 with a big bush about 400' down the fairway. 2nd shot should reach the basket for a birdie opportunity here! TAKE THE TIME TO NOTICE THE PIN POSITION OF 16 ON YOUR WALK  FROM 15, because it can be deceiving from the tee. A big anhyzer meant to break right after 275' should direct you near the tucked in basket on the right 330' out. Hole 17 is initially open and slightly downhill, but the tree gap protects the basket from what otherwise could be an easier birdie for this course's standards. Hole 18 is a monster 675 ft. par 4, and to boot, all the TG to the right of the tee is OB, leaving you a narrow fairway to avoid the penalty stroke. Play an over stable disc that fades hard and throw it flat and slightly over the OB to get a nice fade back in play to set up shot 2. The basket is reachable on 2nd shot since you have some elevation to play with, however, it is out of sight tucked into a nook on the left. If you avoid OB from tee, par is fair and birdie possible. 

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The New King in Chester County

1    7/31/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: mseeke
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is challenging, beautiful and fun. The holes use a perfect mix of elevation, woods and open shots. There are places to rip and places to thread. The scenery is off the charts and makes for a great round. Even the little touches are cool (suspension bridge, rope swing). The place is clean and friendly with great parking and the course winds around and brings you right back to the car. It is easy to navigate too.
Cons: The ONLY con is that you can't play it whenever you want. It is very generous for the camp to open their doors to huckers like us, and I appreciate every minute they give us on the course, but this is the kinda place you catch yourself thinking about in the middle of a work day. I now look forward to the fall for Sankanac as much as football season.
Other Thoughts: There is a lot of elevation changes on this course. Be prepared to walk up and down a lot of hills. if you aren't ready, this course can make you feel it afterward.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Kinda cool

1    4/19/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full 18 hole course tucked into a private camp. Smooth, flat rubber pads that worked well. Hand painted signs at tees showing hole layout and distance. Baskets were all in good shape.

Plenty of next tee signs to help with navigation. Paths were well kept and easy to spot. For a private course everything was extremely well cared for, and clean.

Beautiful piece of land for a course. This course did a great job of showcasing the variety of terrain on the property. There were tee pads on hills, baskets on hills, open grass fairways, wooded fairways with tight pines, and wooded fairways with scattered large mature trees. Plus the creek or creeks that run throughout the property are used often. Instead of playing through one kind of hole or terrain repeatedly this course offers you many different looks and feels. That felt fairly unique from many of the courses I've played.

Hole length variety was decent. There are quite a few long holes that will test your arm, but some shorter Ace possibilities are mixed in often enough to keep you from getting worn out.

Basket positions seemed to be well place on almost every hole. Hillsides are used several times, and the open holes usually tuck the basket near some mature trees or back into the woods.
Cons: Tee pads were fine, but rubber mats can get slick in bad weather. Concrete would be a nice upgrade. Not a major issue, but could be if it gets wet.

By my count there were 9 shots of the tee that required a straight shot. Some were shots that were down tunnels, or between trees and gaps, but straight none the less. Not a course that requires a ton of line shaping or precision shot making. There is some here, but straight length of the tee is more helpful here.

Silver baskets were hard to spot in some places.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course. My cons definitely are probably a personal preference. There are probably enough technical shots here to keep most players honest, but the focus seems to be long and straight. Still, you do need to thread a disc through some trees at times, so you can't just play with no control.

With the creeks and woods this course is set in the best description I can give of my round here was simply pleasant. There are a few long walks between holes, and you could complain about that, but even then this seemed to be a stress-free course with lots of nicely designed holes to keep you entertained. Along with Tyler State Park I would consider this a must play if you are in the Philadelphia area. And if you like courses that offer a little bit of everything then you may even rate this course a little higher than I did. Lots of good stuff here, but to me it lacked the one WOW hole I look for in top notch courses.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/7/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: urwatuh8
Played: 176  Reviewed: 16
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set on a religious camp/retreat with a tranquil, serene atmosphere to match. Quiet woods and hills, with a stream running through. Course is well maintained -- the baskets are in tip top shape and the bridge over the stream on hole 6 is sweet.

The hole design is great. There's a wide range of shots, with lots of decisions to be made. And the holes don't feel cookie cutter at all. Some favorites: Hole 1 plays across the stream, then into the woods on the side of a hill. Hole 4 is a steep downhill out of the woods followed by a hard right. Hole 9 starts on a hill and makes you choose between going over the trees and dropping a long way, or trying to sneak underneath. Hole 11 is short, but goes over a creek through some tight windows to a steep green. Hole 18 is a long drive along a gentle hillside, followed by a tight turn into the woods.
Cons: The biggest negative is access -- this great course is not open over the summer or on Saturdays. The rubber teepads can be slick from rain or snow. Several holes overlap, which could be a safety concern if the course was crowded (only at tournaments). The course flows pretty well, but could be confusing going from 2 to 3, 13 to 14, and 16 to 17. I would recommend a map your first time.
Other Thoughts: Because the course has stayed clean and DGers have been respectful, the camp approved adding three more holes in the fall. Please keep up the good work - pick up any trash and pursue your vices elsewhere.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Who Would've Thought?

1    4/8/2012   4/8/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 61  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 scenic holes spread around a bible camp/retreat in Spring City. A welcome board and scorecard box greet you by hole 1. Good variety of both technical and open shots in which elevation and distance make for challenging golf. At least 5 of the holes require throwing over water- a huge plus on any course- and a walking suspension bridge spans the tee box and basket to hole 6! OB areas keep you honest without being too intrusive. Homemade baskets are of good quality and rubber tee pads are of adequate size and in good shape. Illustrated signage with the hole number, par and distance are beside each tee box.
Cons: Tee shots off holes 1 and 4 and approaches from 6 can get way too close to the next tee box. Shallow basket catches can lead to spit outs. More "next tee" arrows would be helpful, as walks between several holes are a bit lengthy. Only one permanent tee pad and basket location for each hole. Benches/bag poles would be welcomed at each tee box. Beware of fishermen and pedestrians at several holes. Course is by invitation only and is closed for the summer months.
Other Thoughts: When told a disc golf course existed at a bible camp, I was skeptical. My fears were unfounded- this is an excellent course on a magnificent piece of property. Camp Sankanac offers a unique and peaceful playing experience and a number of both memorable and enjoyable holes starting with throwing over the water to an elevated basket at hole #1. A combination of uphill, downhill and tunnel shots with both right and left dog legs create great variety and maintain player interest. Kudos to Pastor Jeff for his design and vision. Call and obtain permission to play before driving here

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.