Fairfield, IA 
Chautauqua City Park Share
Uploaded By: CwAlbino Hole #3 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 186ft.   3 / 186ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 One of my favorites of all time

5+    9/6/2010   8/25/2011
Review By: RockStarValkyrie
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice tee pads, layout, the baskets are some of the nicest of any course I've played, nice mix of shot types, shady, very fun overall and now that it has expanded to 18 it is one of my favorite courses to play
Cons: Sometimes the signs are missing but that only really matter if you want to know the distance b/c the layout is pretty easy to follow, tends to be a lot of litter and beer cans a long the way despite numerous trash cans
Other Thoughts: I grew up on this course and have probably played it a couple hundred times, still one of my favorites, it wasn't until I got out and played other courses did I realize how well we had it, I continue to play this any chance I get if I'm "back home" for any reason

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Good Course

5+    4/29/2011   4/29/2011
Review By: ClarkFTW
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice new signs
-Pretty long concrete tees
-Lots of trees. (makes it a fun course)
-Couple long holes so you can let loose.
-Well maintained.
Cons: -Most holes are under 275'
-Mainly Right Hand Forehand for throwing. (good for me but not for everyone)
-Couple of holes pretty easy to loose a disc if thrown into the woods.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is nice. Even though the holes are short they play longer cause of how many trees there are. Plus hole 12 is always a challenge.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Forehand's Dream

1    4/2/2011   4/2/2011
Review By: Keokuk Discer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course may be short, but it plays longer than the signs say. The trees seem to laugh at you as you throw down the fairways and some almost seem to jump out in front of you as you throw. The tee signs are beautiful and informative. The teepads are large, even for the shorter holes. The use of elevation makes some of the holes look easy but looks can be deceiving.
Cons: The course is indeed a forehand dominate's dream. I recently played a tournament here and on all but a handful of hole, I threw a forehand short off the tees. Some may like this but for me it is a con. The fairways for 7 and 8 cross each other, which cause some delays and a little confusion on whose discs were whose.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course that forces you to learn a different throwing style. It may have it's faults, but it is still a fun course to play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Chautauqua City Park

1    3/31/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: Berryiowa
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Nice new course sighn at begining of course to show the layout of the course.
* All tees have new sighns (Very Nice)
* some of the Sighs have Bag holders (Nice)
* Concrete tee pads flat and level.
* Course flows nicely end near start.
* Bathrooms and shelter houses are avilibale for use.
* Great use of whole park.
* Multi use park means fun for whole family.
* Great use of elavation
* most holes use trees to make for tougher angels on your shots.
* Not a lot of danger of lost disc( lot of fall folage left could hid a disc)
* Hole 13 listed as a water shot is mainly a large ditch may have water after a rain.
* hole 9 is a great up hill shot.
* 3 Golfers can play the course in under 90 min. not rushing (took us 75min)
Cons: * Course crosses walking and bike paths
* Hole 3 pases a shelter and playground so becarful of non players.
* hole 7 and 8 criss cross wich can cause a delay
Other Thoughts: I realy like the new course it is a fun course, maybe not the most challanging course but plays very fun. It flows very nice with the next tee pad right by the basket you finish at. This is a course that i will defintly return to play at.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

a little R & R

1    3/13/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multi-use park. Restrooms available during warm months. Picnic tables throughout. Benches around park. Two or three pavilions for cover throughout course. Many playgrounds through the course for the little kids: big plus for me, as I have youngsters. Seemed like on almost every hole of the course, there was a small playground within sight of where I was throwing. Paved trails - roads throughout park for walkers - runners - bikers.

Good sized, level concrete tee pads, nice surface texture on them for a good footing. Elevation was used quite creatively within layout, nothing extreme, but there are some small rolling hills and ravines that make the course interesting. Enough trees on almost every hole, to force you to pick your lines, rather than just gripping and ripping. A few blind pins - a couple just around corner just out of sight, a couple due to trees blocking the view from the tee pad.

Beginner friendly course due to most of the holes being short. Course can be played with only 1 - 4 discs easily (great for newbies just learning or not many discs). This course would be a great course for a One & Done or One Disc Challenge tourney. Fantastic layout to really focus on your technical short game. Not a lot of areas to lose a disc. Course layout was pretty much intuitive and easy to follow, as most tees were located closely to the previous basket (also a con, see below).
Cons: A kiosk would be helpful for those not familiar to the course, or newbies, especially to point them towards hole # 1, which is between the parking lot and the street.

Tee signs not up yet (I know they are coming as the new poles are up). What I didn't pay attention too, is if they are also redoing older signs and their respective locations. My previous review of the 9 hole layout at this course, noted that the signs were in locations that could be hit by your follow through off the tee.

Shorter course (if you're looking to air it out, this isn't where to do it). Only two holes longer than 300ft.

I could see the closeness of the baskets and tee boxes becoming an issue on a busy day, as an errand throw or an overthrow could get close to others on the next tee.

Holes 7 and 8 crisscross each other. Some holes have you throwing across a path so beware of other non-disc golfers. Neither of these are a big deal, but worth noting, but they both have potential to become problems during busy times.
Other Thoughts: A couple of holes to note. I liked the new hole # 4, left to right shot, sloping down from the tee to the basket; too far to the right you're in the ditch next to the road, too far left you're on or across the path. Still like hole # 12 (old # 3), nice long slight downhill hole, with drop offs and rough behind and on each side of the pin and lots of fully grown trees to deal with on the way. I normally can't throw that far, but because this hole is downhill, your disc can really fly far, each time I have played this hole, I have driven it but landed just short and to the left (near edge of rough) just outside of my current putting range.

I really like the new addition to the existing course. I was really impressed with the course the first time I played it with the other layout, and the addition just adds to the fun level. So many holes that are ace-able, I think that's why the course is so fun to play. On a couple holes, I basically just emptied all my putters and mids from my bag, in an attempt to hit chains, but I'm not that good (don't worry, nobody was behind me).

Multiple lines to the hole, maybe this time I throw a hyzer, next it will probably be an anny. Great short course to really focus on control; learning, and developing your short game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 9 hole addition!

2-4    10/16/2010   10/21/2010
Review By: DGman
Played: 42  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 26.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great mix of shots, lots of trees without feeling like you are on the way to grandma's house. The addition takes off after existing hole 2 and returns obviously to the original 3rd hole. It flows very well and plays rather quickly as all the holes are relatively short. It is fairly technical with lots of mature trees throughout and a steep uphill at hole 9. The only confusion (as signs on the new part are not up yet) was going from hole 6 to 7. Cross the road! The closest tee is for 9 (look behind up the hill). The tee just across the road is for 7 and the basket is northeast from it. The rest of the course was pretty easy to navigate. There is some good use of available elevation, but no real mondo downhills or any chance to really let one rip for that matter (hole 12 is it) but overall a great new 18 hole course for SE Iowa. Fun with very little disc loss potential and some fairly challenging holes. Good for beginners, but still fun for more advanced players.
Cons: Lots of leaves in the fall could make it tough to find your disc.
Holes 7 & 8 criss cross, can be quite busy at times causing a bottleneck here.
Short course.
Needs signs on the new 9 which I'm sure are coming.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    10/9/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: uncleryan13
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety , there are a lot of different shots throughout this course ,long,short, open,Technical, uphill,downhill,around a corner,and it flows well considering they just added 9 hole in the middle of a course (between 2 &3) that has been there for a long time with no change
Cons: a couple hole are a little too close to some play ground equipment but not so bad that you have too hard a time avoiding them

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.