Fresno, CA 
Woodward Legacy DGC Share
Uploaded By: Daffron24  



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fres-YES disc golf

1    5/19/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: The_Warwolf
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7
Pros: I played early AM so there was only 3 other people out there. I thought the course was well laid out and provided a variety of shots ranging from somewhat challenging lines, to straight forward shot, to BOMBS.

I really enjoyed the last 5 holes which all had a uniqueness and different approach. I definitely recommend this course.
Cons: Like most courses, the map I found here wasn't the most accurate, and I think they might've rearranged the layout for holes 9-13, but who knows, first time at a new course without any local knowledge tends to yield some orienteering issues so I wasn't surprised.
Other Thoughts: There are definitely gopher holes, but not nearly as many as the other reviewers seemed to think. Maybe that's because I didn't roll and ankle, I didn't think it was as bad as some other courses.

I can see that you'd really need to bring your own water on a hot days. It's a dusty area and if the winds pick up or the sun is just beating down it could make for a less enjoyable experience. I played from about 630am-8am so there was none of these issues.

Woodward Park overall is a beautiful place.

Nice quiet and LARGE

1    7/16/2008   3/13/2014
Review By: Numbnuts
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Very large
*Multiple pin positions
*Some 500+ft holes
*Some elevation change
*Established area with large trees, natural obstacles
*Some of the longer holes have elevation changes, adding to the challenge
Cons: *HOT in summer (not related to course itself, but there is not a ton of shade)
*Facilities are far away when you get midway through the course
Other Thoughts: It has been some time since I've been here, but I have fond memories of the tourney I played. This course is fairly wide open, with some grass, some fast grass and some rocky terrain. For newbies, the distance on some holes can be a bit discouraging. All in all, quality course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/2/2011   12/4/2011
Review By: KC559
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice cement tee pads
-Good variety of hole distances and multiple basket locations for several holes.
-Easy course to find your way around.
-Several sitting areas throughout the course if you need a break
-Nice practice area to warm up with two baskets
-All holes have good tee signs

Cons: -Course is entirely dirt no grass what so ever.
-Only one water fountain located in between the 2nd and 3rd holes and is not the easiest to locate.
-Course can be very crowded at times
Other Thoughts: If you are going during the winter months they only charge for parking on Thursday, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday ($5)... Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday parking is FREE...


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 fresno ca woodward park

5+    7/30/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: giantsfan4life1
Played: 44  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 18 holes
- cement tee boxes
- all tee signes are there
- innova baskets
- great chance to use lots of different throws
- great people
- 3 different pins locations and are always changed every month
- weekly dubs and singles matches
Cons: - pay to get into the park
- some disc snatchers out there wont call if they find discs
- lookout for red ants
Other Thoughts: Love this course. Great shots varying in length. great people out there are always willing to help you out. Its very easy to navigate and play. not usually much traffic unless an event is going on.Tthe course is a seperate part of the park and all of it is beautiful. good for beginners and open players.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fresburg Fun

5+    11/14/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice tee boxes
-Lots of Benches
-Lots of pin locations
-Good blend of long and short holes
-Great views of the Sierras
-Disc Golf exclusive area (assuming the bikers stay where they're suppposed to)
-Decent tee signs

It's a fun course with enough trees to keep you honest and enough terrain to keep it fun and make you think to avoid the big skip and roll-aways.
Cons: I've only played here once when it wasn't a tournament and was very disappointed. The tournament course is one of my favorites, but the standard course is not nearly as fun.
Other Thoughts: I like this course and the locals, but from what I hear it's generally set-up super short to please the beginners and not generally set-up to maximize fun for all. All in all this is still a personal favorite and worth a stop is your in the area

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Woodward Legacy DGC

5+    8/15/2008   8/18/2008
Review By: cracker
Played: 63  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: challenging, multiple pin locations, short and long holes, concrete tees, nice baskets
Cons: numbers of holes are messed up because they moved hole #8 and every hole after is off by one, hot as hell in the summer, not enough trees

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.