Fresno, CA 
Woodward Legacy DGC Share
Uploaded By: weum107 Hole #15
3 / 399ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee (side view)



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Fres-YES disc golf

1    5/19/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: The_Warwolf
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played early AM so there was only 3 other people out there. I thought the course was well laid out and provided a variety of shots ranging from somewhat challenging lines, to straight forward shot, to BOMBS.

I really enjoyed the last 5 holes which all had a uniqueness and different approach. I definitely recommend this course.
Cons: Like most courses, the map I found here wasn't the most accurate, and I think they might've rearranged the layout for holes 9-13, but who knows, first time at a new course without any local knowledge tends to yield some orienteering issues so I wasn't surprised.
Other Thoughts: There are definitely gopher holes, but not nearly as many as the other reviewers seemed to think. Maybe that's because I didn't roll and ankle, I didn't think it was as bad as some other courses.

I can see that you'd really need to bring your own water on a hot days. It's a dusty area and if the winds pick up or the sun is just beating down it could make for a less enjoyable experience. I played from about 630am-8am so there was none of these issues.

Woodward Park overall is a beautiful place.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/12/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: Qns2papi
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Innova baskets
-Concrete tee's
-multiple basket locations for most holes
-Course is separate from the rest of the park
-Good upkeep
Cons: -Only one water fountain that I can remember.
-This is the only 18-hole course in fresno so can be crowded at times.
-Lots of squirrel holes so watch your step
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a good course with a pretty good flow to it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice quiet and LARGE

1    7/16/2008   3/13/2014
Review By: Numbnuts
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Very large
*Multiple pin positions
*Some 500+ft holes
*Some elevation change
*Established area with large trees, natural obstacles
*Some of the longer holes have elevation changes, adding to the challenge
Cons: *HOT in summer (not related to course itself, but there is not a ton of shade)
*Facilities are far away when you get midway through the course
Other Thoughts: It has been some time since I've been here, but I have fond memories of the tourney I played. This course is fairly wide open, with some grass, some fast grass and some rocky terrain. For newbies, the distance on some holes can be a bit discouraging. All in all, quality course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Less than enjoyable conditions

1    9/21/2012   11/9/2013
Review By: SDtoSB
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good hole variation
-Would probably have enjoyed this course more if not in Fresno
Cons: -Poor terrain (all sand/dirt)
-Poor terrain variation (see above)
-Poor air quality in Fresno
-Rolled ankle on one of the many many depressions in the ground
-Was hotter than blazes!
Other Thoughts: If this course was moved to a more temperate area with better air quality, the score would be bumped up maybe a whole point.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Convenient

5+    8/1/2013   8/1/2013
Review By: ooochkchkooo
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - close to home
- plays fast
- always a nice breeze from the river bluff
- multiple pin locations
- 2 new optional pads
- weekly doubles
Cons: - you typically wont get lost discs back (people dont call)
- some people will throw on you (newbs)
- squirrel holes everywhere
Other Thoughts: I really like this course, my cons are not a big deal... I just had to put something there to post!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

very nice course

5+    7/31/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: mrcrazyscott
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes, 3 locations for every hole that are changed randomly every month so the course isn't always the same, well maintained, beautiful location.
Cons: wish there was grass throughout the course
Other Thoughts: I love it,I play it whenever I can, its really helped me grow to love this sport, exspecially with a legit course right here in fresno

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun 18 With Great Scenery

1    12/11/2012   12/12/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun easy layout that is fairly simply to navigate. Very low chance of losing a disc. Fairly secluded with fantastic 360 views. Moderately to lightly wooded. Some decent elevation change throughout course, although most hole play pretty flat. Some memorable holes. Seasonal ponds and drainage ditches (although when I played they were completely dry) in play on 3-4 holes. 2 practice baskets, ample parking, and facilities on site. Concrete tees (1) and signs with hole layout, pin locations, and distances on every hole. Multiple pin locations on most holes (only 3 or 4 only have 1 I believe).
Cons: Fairly open with little shade. Only one tee on each hole. Fairly easy course with many wide open shots and no really long holes. The only water on the course is seasonal. Most holes play very flat despite numerous hills throughout the course. Pay to play ($5 per car). There are many holes in the fairways and throughout the course due to ground squirrels, which can make it easy to roll an ankle if you're not careful, and can make it hard to spot your disc if it lands in one (one of my shots landed deep in one and it took me a couple minutes to find it). The deep right pin placement on hole 6 brings hole 7's tee into play.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course to play for the first time, but due to its simplicity and low difficulty it is not one I personally would want to play regularly. That said, there are great views and scenery throughout the course and it would be a great course for beginner/intermediate disc golfers. I would like to play this course when the ponds and ditches are full as it would make some holes significantly more challenging.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ground Squirrel Heaven!

1    4/5/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set up in it's own area of a large sprawling park so it's disc golf exclusive. There are nice views of Fresno from the upper reaches. The concrete pads, baskets and signs are all in good shape making it relatively easy to navigate. The temps were great in early spring. With only two holes over 400' and only two others over 300', it's definitely an intermediate course at best.
The pole hole (#16? or # 17?) is pretty cool. Was is orginally built as something else? I don't think disc course designers/builders built up that massive structure, did they?
Two practice baskets are good and a nice staging area would be ideal for tournies. Plenty of parking.
Cons: It's a fairly straight forwarded course. Most of the holes are pretty bland, flat and not overly imaginative. I'm sure it would get really hot and dusty out there in the swelteriing Fresno summer days. Not much shade or water.
You really need to watch where your walking to keep from stepping in the ground squirrel holes. They're everywhere!

$5 entry each time would get old.
Other Thoughts: This would be a decent little home course for a older rec player like me. The challenge is isn't there for advanced players and beyond. I could play it many times and enjoy what it offers. The weather from Septermber to May would be perfect disc throwing weather.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/2/2011   12/4/2011
Review By: KC559
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice cement tee pads
-Good variety of hole distances and multiple basket locations for several holes.
-Easy course to find your way around.
-Several sitting areas throughout the course if you need a break
-Nice practice area to warm up with two baskets
-All holes have good tee signs

Cons: -Course is entirely dirt no grass what so ever.
-Only one water fountain located in between the 2nd and 3rd holes and is not the easiest to locate.
-Course can be very crowded at times
Other Thoughts: If you are going during the winter months they only charge for parking on Thursday, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday ($5)... Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday parking is FREE...


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 fresno ca woodward park

5+    7/30/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: giantsfan4life1
Played: 44  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 18 holes
- cement tee boxes
- all tee signes are there
- innova baskets
- great chance to use lots of different throws
- great people
- 3 different pins locations and are always changed every month
- weekly dubs and singles matches
Cons: - pay to get into the park
- some disc snatchers out there wont call if they find discs
- lookout for red ants
Other Thoughts: Love this course. Great shots varying in length. great people out there are always willing to help you out. Its very easy to navigate and play. not usually much traffic unless an event is going on.Tthe course is a seperate part of the park and all of it is beautiful. good for beginners and open players.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.