Fresno, CA 
Woodward Legacy DGC Share
Uploaded By: KC559 Hole #12 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / 278ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun, yet challenging course

2-4    11/22/2016   2/22/2017
Review By: WikiWags
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Design is fun, yet challenging. Folks always seem to be very friendly and willing to lend advice to my novice girlfriend and my myself. Course is dog-friendly and there are some cute characters out there tagging along with their owners while they play.
Cons: I'd say this is a fair weather course... not the best to play in the rainy seasons as all of the fairways are dirt. Also, better marked/colored baskets would greatly improve the playability of this course.
Other Thoughts: Brooms at each tee would be nice. The concrete tees get pretty dusty when the winds pick up. Also an occasional water fountain would be handy.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

January Gem

1    1/28/2017   2/2/2017
Review By: geodude
Played: 30  Reviewed: 28
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Mother of all Disc Golf Pyramids. Almost every hole has at least a few trees in the way. Good long tees. Excellent views on a clear winter day. Very nice park, Dedicated disc golf only section although there are a few walkers and a few bike riders. Wide variety of people out playing, a feel good course. Good benches, ok map, ample parking. A doable course even on the long settings.
Cons: Needs water fountains for summer play I am sure. I played a day when everything was on it's longest setting, after a tournament, so the course map did not quite match the layout. Could use some more trees, that would help in heat I am sure and make the course even better. Baskets could use a marker or an arrow to the next tee. Fresno has only one course.
Other Thoughts: A fun course worth a visit and revisit. $5 to enter park, not a con.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    11/8/2016   11/14/2016
Review By: my3fischersons
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: + Easy navigation, with some great alternative tee boxes
+ Tee pads are in good condition
+ A mix of holes, some challenging and some straight forward
+ Great place for players of all levels, but probably on the easier side
Cons: - DRY... needs water badly and would have some more challenging holes with that water
- no grass and not many trees
Other Thoughts: Makes for a great place for me and my 3 sons to practice, never too busy.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable course if you don't mind a little dust

1    8/8/2015   8/13/2015
Review By: cdamon
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 36.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Enjoyable layout
* Good flow; fairly easy to navigate first time through
* Beautiful tee signs, nice tees
* Good variety which will appeal to players at all levels
* Some elevation change in the form of rolling hills
* The huge mound for basket 16 is kinda cool
Cons: * Hot and dusty. Might be nicer in the winter.
* No water available on or close to the course. There's a water fountain near a bathroom a couple hundred yards away.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. A lot of the holes are fun to throw without being too easy or too hard. It's the kind of course where you'll have at least a few good holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hot even in early April

1    4/12/2015   4/13/2015
Review By: sro801
Played: 49  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The cement tee pads are some of nicest I have played on, very long and wide. The sign post are great, they show an actual picture with dots where the pins are located. Makes easy to find the pin location from three tee pads. The only thing missing from the signs is some way to tell which placement the pin is in. But you can see most the pis front the tee pads. The locals are very friendly here.
Cons: Hot and dusty. This course needs to be played early in the morning to beat the heat. The holes are fairly short and straightforward.
Other Thoughts: I had fun playing this course but not sure I would come back to play it again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challenges everyone

5+    1/4/2015   2/22/2015
Review By: ProgFrog
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I learned to play here just under 2 years ago, and have played at least 150+ rounds here since. Pin locations are rotated routinely (around every 30 or so days), only hole that doesn't move pin position is #7, although #16 is always some place on top of the mound.

I really like this course, it's challenging enough for an old guy like me who can't throw 500' to make those "easy pars". Not a lot of tree challenges, but enough to enable you to hit them anyway. I've met and played with a lot of good people out here, as relaxed or competitive as you want it to be. Good thing there is a water fountain above #3 tee pad, if you need H20, make sure you stop here to get it. Nice large concrete pads! Hole markers at every pad, so if you're new you shouldn't get lost - but some of the pin positions may be a challenge to sight locate if you are new. I recently moved away, but I will come back at least once/month to play, because I will miss this course otherwise.
Cons: Summer heat = dry ground. You'll be dusty at the end of the round. You'll be begging for water on a hot day, unless you get it at #3 or pack it in.

Hole 1 has a pin position straight ahead and slightly to your right. To the right of that pin location, 30' or so, there is a "swamp" of sorts when there is water, over a short fence. You could lose your disc there, so throw with caution (or not).

There are some trees that LOVE to eat discs, so be prepared to throw objects (baseballs are good) at them - watch out for "widow makers".
Other Thoughts: If you live in the area, buy a parking pass (ACE parking) for $50/yr, and save yourself mucho money on entrance fee ($5). Always ample parking in dirt lot by tee #1, if limited street spots are full.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fres-YES disc golf

1    5/19/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: The_Warwolf
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played early AM so there was only 3 other people out there. I thought the course was well laid out and provided a variety of shots ranging from somewhat challenging lines, to straight forward shot, to BOMBS.

I really enjoyed the last 5 holes which all had a uniqueness and different approach. I definitely recommend this course.
Cons: Like most courses, the map I found here wasn't the most accurate, and I think they might've rearranged the layout for holes 9-13, but who knows, first time at a new course without any local knowledge tends to yield some orienteering issues so I wasn't surprised.
Other Thoughts: There are definitely gopher holes, but not nearly as many as the other reviewers seemed to think. Maybe that's because I didn't roll and ankle, I didn't think it was as bad as some other courses.

I can see that you'd really need to bring your own water on a hot days. It's a dusty area and if the winds pick up or the sun is just beating down it could make for a less enjoyable experience. I played from about 630am-8am so there was none of these issues.

Woodward Park overall is a beautiful place.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/12/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: Qns2papi
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Innova baskets
-Concrete tee's
-multiple basket locations for most holes
-Course is separate from the rest of the park
-Good upkeep
Cons: -Only one water fountain that I can remember.
-This is the only 18-hole course in fresno so can be crowded at times.
-Lots of squirrel holes so watch your step
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a good course with a pretty good flow to it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice quiet and LARGE

1    7/16/2008   3/13/2014
Review By: Numbnuts
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Very large
*Multiple pin positions
*Some 500+ft holes
*Some elevation change
*Established area with large trees, natural obstacles
*Some of the longer holes have elevation changes, adding to the challenge
Cons: *HOT in summer (not related to course itself, but there is not a ton of shade)
*Facilities are far away when you get midway through the course
Other Thoughts: It has been some time since I've been here, but I have fond memories of the tourney I played. This course is fairly wide open, with some grass, some fast grass and some rocky terrain. For newbies, the distance on some holes can be a bit discouraging. All in all, quality course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Less than enjoyable conditions

1    9/21/2012   11/9/2013
Review By: SDtoSB
Played: 23  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good hole variation
-Would probably have enjoyed this course more if not in Fresno
Cons: -Poor terrain (all sand/dirt)
-Poor terrain variation (see above)
-Poor air quality in Fresno
-Rolled ankle on one of the many many depressions in the ground
-Was hotter than blazes!
Other Thoughts: If this course was moved to a more temperate area with better air quality, the score would be bumped up maybe a whole point.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.