Fresno, CA 
Woodward Legacy DGC Share
Uploaded By: KC559 Hole #7 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / 263ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Fresburg Fun

5+    11/14/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 11.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice tee boxes
-Lots of Benches
-Lots of pin locations
-Good blend of long and short holes
-Great views of the Sierras
-Disc Golf exclusive area (assuming the bikers stay where they're suppposed to)
-Decent tee signs

It's a fun course with enough trees to keep you honest and enough terrain to keep it fun and make you think to avoid the big skip and roll-aways.
Cons: I've only played here once when it wasn't a tournament and was very disappointed. The tournament course is one of my favorites, but the standard course is not nearly as fun.
Other Thoughts: I like this course and the locals, but from what I hear it's generally set-up super short to please the beginners and not generally set-up to maximize fun for all. All in all this is still a personal favorite and worth a stop is your in the area

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My First Cali Course

2-4    12/12/2008   6/10/2009
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 155  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 11.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being my first course played in California I didn't really know what to expect. Very picturesque views throughout the course which enhanced my experience being from Illinois. Overall this course is mostly flat with few trees and bushes as obstacles. Three simple things that really can make a course not enjoyable: Weather, tee boxes, and signage. I played this course in December so the weather was perfect for me, but I've heard from locals that the weather can be overwhelming if water is not brought (so I guess it could be a con if you are playing during the summer months). Concrete tee pads were a major plus for me as well as the signage which makes navigation of the course easy.
Cons: Apparently it costs money to enter the park which I did not have to pay since it was the winter, but I could see people not wanting to play. The course it self was was fun, but it was missing many things for it to qualify for a superb course. Most of the shots are straight ahead without a lot of elevation. There are also a lot of hole throughout, so watch out unless you want a sprained ankle.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed my first course in Cali. Mound hole was pretty cool (still being finished when I went). I would definitely recommend going to this course if you are in the Fresno area. .

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, but not too much variety

1    11/25/2008   6/9/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 827  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a mostly flat park, with a few small hills. There are some scattered low trees and bushes, but the course is mostly open. The course makes pretty good use of the space, with a nice mix of short and long holes, and a few holes that offer a little more challenge.

The tees are nice concrete boxes that all seemed to be in decent shape. There are signs that made the course easy to follow, with no navigational issues even for our first time around the course. A few of the holes made good use of the available foliage to protect the pin in otherwise open areas.
Cons: The course gets a little repetitive, as there is virtually no elevation change throughout the course. Nearly all the holes are straight shots, without enough trees to force any other kind of shot or line.

The course can get very dusty, which makes for slippery discs. Make sure you bring something to wipe them in between shots. This can also lead to a lot of dust in the air on windy days. There is really no shade, so make sure you bring sunscreen and lots of water on warm days, you'll definitely need them.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course, but there wasn't anything about it that really stood out to me. definitely play this one if you're passing through the Fresno area , but don't go too far out of your way to play this one.

This course is very beginner friendly, and there are very few places to lose discs. There are some longer holes to challenge your distance, but more experienced players will likely feel that there is not enough variety to present a real challenge.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rated too high!

2-4    6/5/2008   5/21/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 415  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 15.6 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Hope this doesn't offend any of the locals - some of which are my friends - but, this course is not a 5, not a 4 1/2, not even a 4... Let's just get that out of the way now! I've played 25 better courses than this course - and it's a 3.

Pros -
- It's a good golf course.
- Relatively easy to find your way around.
- Good tee-pads.
- Good mix of long and short holes.
- Good placement of baskets considering the lack of vegetation.
- The mound hole was pretty cool.
Cons:
- There aren't too many cons... just not enough highlights. The holes are boring! No elevation, almost all straight, lack of vegetation, etc... it's just regular.
Other Thoughts:
- One of the best microbreweries in CA is nearby. Sequoia Brewing Company has some of the best ales I have ever had - and I've been to as many breweries as I have DG courses.

Like tenWatts said: It's a fun course, not for the summertime, and don't go too far out of your way to play it.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Big Arms!

5+    1/17/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: Big Bob
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Course offers a little of everything.
Technical and long
Year round golf
Play early during the summer
Central Valley Series Tourney
Awesome Crowd
Nice tee pads!
Cons: Hot during the summer
Da it's the Valley!
The logs on the mount!
Other Thoughts: Home of the Guido
Tourney Director
and The Zimmerman's Becky and Greg
Rock on!

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 kevin wiens

5+    3/4/2009   3/4/2009
Review By: Kevin wiens
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2009
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: It's a good course played it every day now that im back in fresno. The holes are nice the tees are level. The people are friendly.
Cons: They need to weed whack around the trees.
Other Thoughts: If you ever in fresno play this course.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 worth the money!

1    10/8/2008   10/8/2008
Review By: benpalm
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.8 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: fantastic signs and marked baskets make it easy to get around. it is also all wide open, so it is next to impossible to lose a disc
Cons: it costs $3 to get in the park ($5 if you don't live in fresno), and it doesn't say on the tee map which spot the basket is in.
Other Thoughts: great fun if you're in the fresno area! worth the time and money!

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Woodward Legacy DGC

5+    8/15/2008   8/18/2008
Review By: cracker
Played: 63  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: challenging, multiple pin locations, short and long holes, concrete tees, nice baskets
Cons: numbers of holes are messed up because they moved hole #8 and every hole after is off by one, hot as hell in the summer, not enough trees

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in Fresno!

3/20/2008   3/30/2008
Review By: weum107
Played: 110  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 20.9 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes with well marked tee boxes and good baskets. has a 9-hole putting course around one of 2 practice baskets just outside of the main course.
Cons: Lots of ground squirrel burrows to contend with so watch the ankles! Park sometimes charges $3 to get in, which is rather bogus. Worth the cost for the fun course though.
Other Thoughts: Had a very nice time playing this course with family on the first day of spring this year. Lots of ground squirrels on the first few holes so watch out! Some of those burrows could hurt an ankle! Neat angles and a good challenge. Went into 18 with an even par score but got the 2 on 18 for an overall -1. A fun day. Check out the bottle cap mosaic on hole 15's tee box. Very cool.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 HOT HOT HEAT!

1    2/29/2008   2/29/2008
Review By: tenWatts
Played: 53  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mixture of long and short holes. Beautiful desert setting. I can throw 75 feet further in Cali than I can in Kentucky. :)
Cons: There is NO shade on this course and on a 100 degree day in the Deserts of California you may not even realize how hot you're getting. My black Aviars didn't stand a chance. Most shots are just straight out in front of you with maybe some rolling hills or a few bushs or tree in the way. There really isn't a lot of variation on left to right OR up and down. Elevation wasn't really utilized. It seems that you're mostly throw straight and flat. There ARE some rolling hills on the course but it seems that walking them is the only way they come into effect.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course but I wouldn't recomend it in the summertime and I wouldn't drive from to far out of my way to play it.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.