Disc Golf Store
Riverdale, UT 
Riverpark DGC Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #3 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 175ft.   3 / 233ft.   3 / 261ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course

1    6/28/2013   6/29/2013
Review By: Busdriverfred
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
Pros: This course is huge!! There are hazards which make this a challenge. Lots of tall weeds so watch where your disc lands. LOTS of wildlife around while we were there we saw an owl and a jack rabbit.
Cons: GRAVEL!!! Yuck makes it a huge pain in the ass to walk. Holes after the 11th tee aren't well marked and NEEDS TO BE MAPPED ON THIS WEBSITE!!
Other Thoughts: While this course is huge, there are many places to sit down and rest. Unfortuately there are no restrooms along the course but there is thick brush so if the need arises you can go.

Park By The River

2-4    6/1/2013   6/7/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 56  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What can be said about this course that hasn't already been said? Well, given that nearly all of the reviews so far have been smacked down with negative votes I'd say plenty! So let's get started.

There are many things about this course that truly make it outstanding. To begin with it is HUGE! 27 holes (36 for a short time) of disc golfing goodness! Although 9 of the holes are a bit rough when compared to the numbered 18, it is still very will laid out and offers a great variety by sheer volume of holes.

The numbered holes all have great signage, garbage cans, benches and alternate tee pads. This helps to keep the course clean and playable for all skill sets. My wife and sister-in-law had a great time on the blues while the guys threw from the pro pads, (of course).

The course layout offers a good mix of long and short, technical and open holes. This really does offer something for everyone. Someone mentioned that the signs don't reflect the actual holes, and although there is some merit to that comment one must recognize that they do move the pin placement on occasion to keep the course changed up. I see that as a big plus in my book. The signage was always close enough to find the basket.

Finally, it is a beautiful course tucked away on it's own dedicated land, (well, save the path that runs through it that gets some minor traffic on it). Great view of the mountains and river. It even has restrooms by the parking lot!
Cons: Although I love the course it is not without it's glaring flaws. To begin with the layout is a bit jumbled. You go from hole 7 back by the river to hole 8, and from hole 15 back across to 16 over by 7. Add to that the letter holes which are reached after hole 10 and join you back up to the course on 11 and it makes for a confusing round of disc golf for someone who has never been there before.

The course map needs to be updated on here to reflect the letter holes.

Although I am a fan of the rubber tee pads I did notice a big con to them when I played the course in the rain: They are extremely uneven which allows for puddles. I understand that the city won't allow for concrete pads, and the rubber ones are a great alternative. I think that if done properly the pads can be put on a road-base layer which has a tiny crown effect to it, much like roads are crowned to allow the water to run off to the sides. This would improve the pads but would be a lot of work, so I take this as an acceptable "con" as it is.

Some of the tee pads are really short. I know they are constantly upgrading the course and adding more pads, so this is a very mild con, and one which will be eliminated with time.

The weeds, particularly around the front of the course, can get pretty high, making finding your disc a bit of a challenge. They knock them down when they get too bad, so again, this isn't huge, but worth mentioning.

Finally, because this is an awesome course it does draw a crowd. Tons of people use the course daily so you can find yourself waiting for others quite a bit.
Other Thoughts: I see why this is one of the top rated courses in Utah. The pros to the course far outweigh the minor drawbacks The dedicated volunteer work has made this a great place to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Design

2-4    4/12/2013   4/16/2013
Review By: SuperBorg
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was pleasantly surprised by the hole designs at Riverpark. The location is fairly secluded, but parking is convenient, and has restrooms. Other than the first hole, which is frankly boring but gets you where you need to be, the holes each had a nice design. Different shots are required, some require shaping, other accuracy, others simple distance. I don't mind the rubber mats. They were flat and secure. The highlight, for me, of this course, is fortunately also the most important thing, for me, in a course. The hole design. The Disc Catcher baskets are also fantastic.

Three separate tee locations are a nice touch, leading to fun play regardless of skill level.

The Course has been very clean when I have played.
Cons: Crowded. Some people don't mind waiting on a tee for their turn to drive, I do. If you show up during prime hours, you will wait.

Signage is poor. The signs on the holes are almost random, and give no true indication of the hole. Finding your way from hole to hole can be hard, especially going from the front holes to the back holes, and again from the back to the front. If it is your first time playing this course, you will get lost, which is frustrating. This is where the crowds are helpful, which I guess is a silver lining. My experience has been that the locals are friendly, and more than willing to show you the way, or to let a solo player play through.
Other Thoughts: Good course design. Lots of fun holes. But to crowded during prime hours.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/25/2012   10/26/2012
Review By: hoppypop
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I think the holes are not too far or not too close just perfect!! It is usually easy to find your disc.
Cons: The course is very popular and can be very busy.
Other Thoughts: It is a good course for amateurs. I am 9 and I love it.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Glad it's near(ish)

1    9/11/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: CodeMonkey
Played: 93  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent flow through most of the course. Good use of the space. Goes on and on and on...
Cons: No tee markers. HATE the rubber mats, would almost rather have just dirt. Please pour some concrete or put in some other sort of permanent, unmovable tees. Expansion tees are not marked (course/pins were put in, how much harder is it for them to mark them?!) Overall and tee maps desperately needed.
Other Thoughts: Be careful throwing off course, burs and travelers can be brutal. The last steps of finishing marking all the tees and pins, installing tee maps and an overall map could make this a awesome course. Great and balanced technical shots but not so impossible that it's overly frustrating.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a nice course

1    1/20/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: mostly open with some mature trees that come into play right in front of some baskets. some tall grass with some areas of blind shooting to make the holes a challenge
Cons: hard to navigate through the course with no signs showing you the course details
Other Thoughts: good course all around and easy to keep pace going with 27 holes

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Remote park course

2-4    10/13/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: baylor90505
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful remote area down by the river. Usually not busy and don't have to worry about non-DG's in the area. Great landscape, varying hole lengths and difficulties. Lots of trees and tall grass in certain areas.
Cons: Can be a little difficult to find your way from hole to hole. But I have found that other disc golfers are very helpful in helping you find the next hole when you get lost.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in Utah.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Riverpark

1    7/9/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: mawman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a fun, challenging course. It's usually fairly easy to find your disc. I liked the variety of technical shots required. Luckily the locals in front of us were nice enough to guide us several times.
Cons: Like previous posters said the signs were faded. Not only that but the position of the hole on the sign was not representative of the actual hole. ie; Hole #2 you needed to through a turn but the sign showed it straight out. The worst part of this course is no direction to the next tee. There are trails ambling in several directions & it took us several minutes to find the next tee a few times.
Other Thoughts: Not one mosquito! Bonus.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 riverpark, ogden utah

5+    10/10/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: martinb
Played: 151  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bathrooms, High participation from locals to maintain course. 27 holes.

Cons: Homemade basket spitouts on some of the baskets.
Other Thoughts: 10-10-10: update on the course, it is now 27 holes. from hole 10, the course now stretches out southward to include 9 more holes before hooking back up to the original 18 hole course at hole 11, now hole 20. the extra holes are a bit on the short side but a very good addition to the original 18. the extra holes do not have rubber tee pads like the rest of the course but do have three marked tee pad areas per hole, marked with stakes colored yellow, blue and red.
This course plays near and along the Weber river, without the river coming into play on any of the holes. The terrain is fairly flat, with half the course playing in a relatively open area, the other half playing in semi-dense foliage. Some of the fairways are riverbottom, with sandy and rocky loose conditions. Most other fairways are dirt, hard pack which will give you the opportunity to skip shots a long ways. The average hole length is 300 feet. The technical factor is good on this course. You need to place your drives down the fairway for birdie opportunities. Both beginner and pro players will like this course as the course has multiple teepads on just about every hole. You can effectively play three different courses by playing three sets of teepads, although the shorter teepads will be a birdiefest for the pro players.
There is a walk from the parking lot to the first teepad, about 100 yards. Teesigns are on every hole except for the new baskets that were added to make it a 27 hole course. some of the teesigns are missing information like hole length. 18 of the baskets are homemade, and the sweetspots are small so allow for a higher frustration factor when playing this course. Teepads are rubber, a thinner variation from flypads, but definitely improve the course playability. There is obvious excellent course maintenance from the local club members. No trash to speak of, and every bit of the course was installed and paid for by the locals. There has been a few course re-designs over the years, and each re-design has improved the course technically, and helped the playability especially for beginners. It is not crowded, maybe on a Saturday afternoon there will be big groups, but for the most part at any given time, you will have the course to yourself. The course is centrally located near all kinds of shopping, so taking a break for lunch is quick and easy. This is the best course in the Ogden area, a pretty fun course easily accessible from the freeway so should be a stop for anyone travelling through the area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.