American Falls, ID 
Massacre Rocks - Long Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 208ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Hillsides Course

1    9/13/2014   9/13/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 73  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is built on a great area of rolling, rocky hillsides and juniper/sagebrush vegetation. Many holes have a view down in the Snake River, and several holes drive across small canyons.

Notable holes on the front nine were 5 which is an uphill dogleg left, and 9 which plays to a small peninsula which will leave you with big problems if you overshoot it.

The back nine is even better, with a big downhill drive on 11 followed by an uphill drive on 12. Hole 13 drives across a small canyon with Hole 14 also driving across a canyon to a basket on a raised ridge. Don't miss the ridge!

The final hole is a nice downhill which brings you right back to the parking lot.

There is a good variety of hole lengths from 172 feet to 422 feet. Most holes include an elevation change which impacts your driving distance quite a bit.

While the trees are not tall, they are thick with branches all the way to the ground. You won't get any breaks if you hit a tree as these will knock your disc down immediately and you'll often find yourself in among the lower branches trying to escape.

Large paved parking lot, restrooms and water available at the first/tenth tee area. Separate course maps for front nine and back nine with a great "It Ain't your Mamma's DiscGolf Course" Logo. Maps available here as well.

Flat, level rubber teepads are in great shape (these seem new since the 2011 reviews). Painted tee signs with Hole number, distance, par, and a decent hole map. Whoever painted these has a good eye.

Very near each basket is a large sign pointing to the next tee box, and on some holes an additional sign along the way. In addition to the signs there is a clear mowed path between holes.

Given how rough the terrain is here, I found this the easiest course of navigate of any that I've played. I didn't look at my map even once.
Cons: Many of the drives are to blind baskets, so you'll either need to walk up the first time or have a spotter along. In some cases locating your drive can be a challenge as the juniper and sagebrush can get thick. Again, a spotter helps a lot.

This course is a long ways from anywhere, and is pretty isolated. Gas up before you head out and bring a snack. I didn't see any other golfers on a beautiful Saturday morning.
Other Thoughts: I found this to be a really well designed course. While it doesn't have the lush green grass and tall trees of some park courses it offers a fantastic assortment of uphill, downhill, and crosshill shots in an interesting area.

This course reminded me of Diamond X in Billings, Montana with less challenging terrain but much better tee pads and navigation.

There is a Pitch&Putt 9-hole course installed at the Visitor Center which is a nice warm-up for this course.

Visitor Center has a small assortment of discs, mini's, and tee shirts. Also cold drinks and snacks.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I got massacred!

1    5/31/2013   12/16/2013
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 29  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Beautiful scenery and nice campsites.
*Elevation change on almost all holes.
*Has some really cool over the canyon throws that are unique.
*Great workout.
*There is a nice short 9 hole beginner course (all holes <200') near the gift shop that also has some impressive high-desert scenery.
Cons: *Heavy brush, so you should take turns spotting if you're playing with others. You will probably spend alot of time hunting discs if you are alone.
*Several blind tee shots.
*The wind can be strong here, so check the weather forecast first.
Other Thoughts: This is a very unique and challenging course. I shot +6 and felt pretty good about it. If you can shoot under par here, you've got some skills! Players who are used to well manicured park settings will be quite surprised when they drive up to tee 1. Definitely plan on stopping by if you're passing through.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Massacre Rocks

2-4    8/26/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: Valktastic
Played: 66  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Easy to Navigate
- Course map and scorecard at #1
- Here is a link to the course map
- Lots of elevation changes and obstacles
- Great design
- Good mix of technical and distance
- Mowed fairways to direct you to the baskets
- Picnic area in between front and back 9
- Good signs and directions at every tee and basket
- Restrooms, water, river access, and camping
- The blind drives are challenging but easy to figure out
Cons:
- Can be VERY WINDY check before you make the drive as this course is death in the wind
- Loose gravel for tee pads??? This is my biggest con. Hard dirt, road base, or most other surfaces are better then tee boxes filled with loose gravel. On some holes we just threw from the side. I will give this course a higher rating when this is improved.
Other Thoughts:
This is not a beginner friendly course. The layout is links style and a good mix of technical and distance holes. It plays longer than the numbers on the sign due to elevation and obstacles. The large tree/bushes can eat discs so bring whatever you like to throw to retrieve discs. My baseball worked great. There is not a "park" like Walcott. This course is more similar in terrain to Bengal Ridge or the back 9 at Sister. Wear good shoes and earlier in the year when the weeds and grass are high you might want pants.

Here is a link to the course website

It is exit 28 and then turn right at the booth after paying $5 then go the parking lot and you can't miss the first tee box and sign.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Massacre

1    3/26/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: Crash207
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 9 is well laid out and easy to follow. New back 9 has some of the coolest shots I have thrown. Hilltop to hilltop over a canyon, uphill and a few downhill bombers. Easy parking and restrooms. Discs are surprisingly easy to find. Highly technical due to landscape and foliage. You will never throw the same game twice here.
Cons: Several blind tee shots. Wouldn't be near as much an issue 2nd round. Discs can be a bit tough to find but we only lost 1. Wind was up and this course would be quite hard to par even without the wind.
Other Thoughts: Totally worth the Drive from Twin Falls. 5 mins off I84. Stop and play it if you are driving by. Definitely not your mamas disc golf course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.