Fogelsville, PA 
Upper Macungie Park Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #9 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good to work on your game here.

5+    7/12/2013   7/12/2013
Review By: jbetz45453
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of wooded and open holes. The disc golf course is in a park but separate from the rest of the park which is not always the case with other courses which are in parks.
Cons: Tee boxes are in terrible shape. No yardage markers at the tees. The yardages listed here on the site are different than another set given in the files section. Some are almost the same but some are way off. The site says hole 4 is 430 feet but another one posted in the files section has hole 4 as 575 feet. That is a really big difference. Would be nice to know what the actual yardage is. The second hole is easy to miss your first time there.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad 9 hole course that is good for new players or players wanting to work on their game. Nice that the course is away from the rest of the park so you don't have to worry about hitting someone or something. Nice that there are holes with woods but also a few that are very open so you can use your longer distance discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good when you're short on time

2-4    7/4/2013   7/4/2013
Review By: jcarvin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2013
Pros: The course itself is fine. It makes good use of the space available. There's a good mix of open(1,4,5,6,7,8,9), wooded (2,3,4), straight (2,5,6,7,8,9), doglegs right (3) & left (1,4) and up/down a hill.
Cons: The tee pads are terrible and I was afraid I'd trip in a few of them as the rubber padding is either gone or badly torn up at every hole. There is no water and there's a drop off that I'd rather not put my disc near along holes 6 & 7 and somewhat along 3 & 4.
Other Thoughts: All in all it's a decent enough course except for the tee pads. It's only nine so this is particularly good when you are short on time or want a warm up for a larger course. It's relatively close by for me.

 Nice beginner course.

2-4    11/21/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: Philsey
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As previously stated, this is a good course for beginners and also to get in a quick round on a lunch break. Most of the holes are open grass which is good for players, like me, who are trying to improve their throwing technique. The course is secluded and doesn't seem to ever be busy. Again, these are bonuses for newbies practicing their game.
Cons: Tees are in bad condition. I presume that when new they were wood chips laid over black, geotextile. Most are down to the torn, geotextile. Some are down to bare earth. Tees are simple marked with the number and a simple arrow. Finding tee #2 for the first time is a challenge.
Other Thoughts: I have created an aerial photo, course map/score card for this course. I will upload it once I trim down the resolution a bit to bring it in under the 2MB limit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

5+    5/20/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 72  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great little 9 Hole course! The course has every challenge a beginner would face. Course has nice big hyzer shots, long straight, and sweet flick shots. Plays to the use of land. Starts in open then works its way into a few wooded holes with elevation coming into play. Very easy to navigate and well maintained course. Great for a quick round.
Cons: Tee pads in extremely rough shape, also tee signs needed. Not really many cons with this course. It's a very quick, beautiful, and playable 9 hole course. Excellent for the newbie o get accustomed to throwing and use of discs.
Other Thoughts: This course is great to bring the family out to play. Area is very beautiful and course is secluded from the rest of the park. Course could be challenging to the newly introduced disc golfer but for seasoned players this is not something i would recommend playing. Overall was a great learning experience and who says playing a short 9 hole course can't help your game? Just get out and play on fellow golfers!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 An average course, with some improvement being needed

1    3/8/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: beast
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course for beginning players. Most holes aren't too long, and they are fairly out in the open. A new player will benefit from the wide open layout. The holes are not crammed in. There are a few holes in slightly wooded areas.
Cons: The tee mats are run down and are in need of repair/replacement. At some points in my round I was unsure where the hole locations were so I had to scout that out before playing the hole. However, after one time through it is not confusing at all.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Upper Macungie Park

1    3/9/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: ClovvnDust
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Navigating this course without a map is fairly simple. Aside from the transition from hole 1 to 2. It's kinda of out of the way.
Another big plus for the course is that it is off by itself, away from the rest of the park. Non-disc golf patrons stay away allowing for peaceful game play.
The condition of the baskets is great, and they are labeled very well. Each tee is also labeled fairly well with a easy to read number. Another plus is that it is on higher elevation that limits the sogginess of the fairways.
Cons: First off the condition of the tees is terrible. They are the cloth type and are almost all torn.
Secondly, nothing at the course really stood out for me. There were 2 holes that went through a wooded area, they were the highlight.
Lastly, the potential for over crowding is high.
Other Thoughts: Overall its an okay course. It definately is the type of course that locals can swing by to get in a quick 9 after work.
I definately would not recommend players drive out of their way just to play this course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Walk in the Park

1    1/24/2010   1/25/2010
Review By: Kwick
Played: 50  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 holes that offer decent variety for a 9 hole park course.
plays in the woods and open, and makes a real good use of elevation
Pretty good flow to the course.
Cons: Tee pads are in bad shape.
signage was poor (signs did not indicate distance or "next tee" signs) which is especially hurtful playing to blind baskets occasionally.
there is a design flaw that has you walk past the tee of 3 to play #2, than you walk down the fairway of #2 (dangerous and a flaw in design) to play #3.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun little course that has some good use. Bring the family, bring a GF, bring a friend new to the game, practice some shots/discs, and has some holes that you can really let it rip. This course is pretty good for only having 9 holes, are those are uphill, downhill, wooded, open.
Hole 1 is a very short righty hyzer.
2 and 3 play are moderatley wooded, and 3 plays long in the woods. Hole 4 is the signature hole.
Hole 4 plays in the woods but you drive out to the open. Second shot is a bomb towards the basket that is nestled through some trees uphill. Holes 5-9 are all open, although there is a decent job of pin placement and elevation to make the shots interesting. None of the shots are short either (there are no posted distances, but I'd imagine they are in the 325 range) We were the only people playing and I doubt the course sees much action. This isn't a "must play" course, but it is enjoyable if you are in the area, don't have much time, want to practice your game etc. I think a course like this is great for helping the game grow, as local newbies would be less likely to jump into the world class courses of nearby Jordan, Little Lehigh, and Knockamixon.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Mix

1    11/4/2009   12/17/2009
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for beginners, families, or anyone that wants a mix of different holes to test their all around DG game. Course includes both short and long holes, tightly wooded and wide open fairways, basic drive-to-mid-to-putt holes and tricky & challenging holes, and a bunch of elevation changes including one serious uphill fairway.

The course is maintained fairly well and is easy to access from PA-100 and close to the PA Turnpike, I-78, and US-22.
Cons: The course layout is a bit confusing and could be dangerous.

A few of the holes are a bit too short and easy...great for patting yourself on the back when you easily birdie but not so much for a challenge.

Tee pads are some kind of mesh (looks like weed barrier) and are in rough shape. Might as well just tear them off and tamp the gravel.
Other Thoughts: I doubt that this course is going to be on anyone's "must play" list, but for anyone that is local to Foglesville, Macungie, or close to Route 100, it's bound to be a convenient and fun way to get nine practice holes in before playing one of the bigger (and better) Lehigh Valley courses in.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/8/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: monkeybone75
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice use of elevation, holes 2,3 are wooded; 4-9 are extremley open and are hilly ( meaning on top of and at the base of hills )
Cons: Pretty small course, hole 1 is pretty short-- dont cut too far left or you will throw into the parking lot. the sign between 2-3 is way confusing and tough to navigate, 4-9 are pretty colse together and it is easy to walk into the disc path of someone else or get hit. The tee pads are crappy vinyl mesh that is no better than loose dirt!
Other Thoughts: can be a nice course, hole 9 is pretty fun ( a big downhill shot that you can air out nicely). Nice to go there when you need practice

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Better than a pitch n put 18

1    3/24/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 232  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's in a nice, moderately large community park, tucked away in the back, away from most park patrons. There are three wooded and six open holes, all playing longer than most nine courses I've played on before. It's good to see a well laid out nine, then a pitch n putt 18.

Good use of elevation. Tee signs at ever hole, but, unfortunately, no distance information. Fairly easy to navigate, even without a map. Can play a quick nine in about half an hour. Park and course are well maintained.
Cons: Not much to dislike here. The six open holes could be more challenging, they are just basically very open and long. Holes 2 and 3 were a little confusing, if there weren't any tee signs, I probably would have played 3 and missed 2 altoghether.
Other Thoughts: The majority of this course is out in the open on a big hill. A few tweaks on pin placements (fast greens for example) could make the open holes harder. Hole four is longer than you realize, just drive it as far as you can. The neighborhood on the back holes is very nice.

The directions say to park in the far parking lot. When I went, there was a gate blocking the road up to that parking lot, stating the area was closed for construction. Just park in the lot before the gate and walk up.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.