Fogelsville, PA 
Upper Macungie Park Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #4 (Taken 7/2011)
5 / 430ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Good 9-holer with elevation for a relaxed round

1    3/18/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Upper Macungie Park is located in the rear of a community park so the area is dedicated entirely to disc golf. The course offers some variety and a good amount of elevation change along with moderate distance.
Hole 1 is a short open deuce run. Hole 2 and 3 are technical shots through the woods, with hole three being a tough sharp right dogleg. Hole 4 is by far the toughest and best hole on the course. It requires a good, long drive out of the woods to allow for a good approach shot uphill to a fast green. Holes 5 - 9 are all open shots up and down a hill offering some decent elevation changes and fast greens. Holes 6 and 7 skirt a sharp drop-off to the left, so it is beneficial to stay right. Overall the course is a very nice nine-holer. It leaves you feeling like you've played a decently good course, but it doesn't really have the grab that the other local courses have.
Cons: The course layout of holes 2 and 3 is very weird. You walk past the tee for 3 which is right next to the basket for hole 1 and to the left for tee 2. Then you have to walk back to the tee for 3. It is just really weird and especially confusing for those who have never played the course before.
There signs are just posts with numbers on them some type of map or indication of direction to the next tee would have been nice. The course is navigable without them, but it would have made it easier to get around.
I personally think it would have been neat if some more of the holes utilized the woods, six out of the nine holes are wide open shots.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great course if you just want a relaxed round to practice some new stuff on. There is not much to hit and it is not overly difficult. Its also a great course to take a beginner to, if they want a bit more challenging of a course. If you are in the Allentown/Bethlehem area and want to play a few course Jordan Creek and Little Lehigh are the must plays, but if you need a short course to fill in time, or just want to practice, Upper Macungie is the course to hit.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Big Open Pleasant Surprise

1    1/3/2009   1/3/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun nine hole course once you get to hole #3. #3 and #4 are really nice holes partially wooded challenges .After them there are some really cool open big arm holes up, down, over, and off of big rolling open hills. Disc Golf only territory at rear of park with ample parking. Its fun to really crank up and watch your disc soar in all its glory up and down. Fun fast greens. Well maintained. A great place to work on your big arm, learn your discs, and practice your wind game. It's a fun little hilly open course. You won't lose or beat up many discs here.
Cons: Hole #1 is just too damn short..seems you couldve put it another 150-200 ft. back. Hole #2 was the Bermuda Triangle/ Twilight Zone...where is it...I never found it but they swear it exists! Many of the other holes were fun but could have been really cool if the pin placements were a bit more extreme. There are plenty of steep hillsides into the woods nearby. Why not put some adventure into the play. It could be done easily and safely. A tad more length on the open holes. It's not a huge challenging course.
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised even after I was irritated by the first 2 holes but my mood was suddenly transformed. There seems to be plenty of really cool steep old growth forrest terrain around the open hill that the course plays around. I wonder if anyone is considering building a very cool fun additional nine to make this course a must play destination. Hmmmmm.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad for locals

1    8/16/2008   8/16/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Mix of wide open, woods, wind, elevation... all in 9 holes. Carpeted teepads are about as good as carpeted teepads can get. Well mowed and thinned out.
Cons: Poorly marked. Teepad 2 is a particular problem, but so is hole 4 which is hard to find at first. Many blind shots, which are dangerous for newbies. No alternate tees or pins (I can envision some nasty positions for #2, #3 and #6 in particular). Course is missing a certain something that I can't put my finger on... perhaps it just pales in comparison to the other local courses.
Other Thoughts: FYI tee #2 is to the left of tee #3. Hole 4 is on the left, actually behind the treeline (sort of a boomerang dogleg).

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/16/2008   6/16/2008
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of places to just let 'er rip.

Not too many chances for a lost disc.

Most tees are easy to find.

#4 was a highlight with the drive out of the woods; to get to the basket you can go around or over trees to a hill top basket.

There is also a good variety of elevation use.

One final "pro": other people were playing the course. It sounds weird as a pro, but I was glad to see people out there. People playing a course is always a pro in my book.
Cons: This course is on and around one giant grassy hill. 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9 all felt similar in that you threw from a wide open tee box to a wide open basket. The elevation helped, especially on #7 where I had to throw downhill a good distance after by initial drive.

On a different note, I completely missed #2 my first time around. After the #1 basket I saw a wooden post with a "3" on it.... looked around and could not find 2. Played 3 and in the process of playing 3 I see 2... so, just to make sure I played the whole course I played #2 after #9. Bad location for #2... you basically walk PAST #3 tee, play #2, then walk back past #2 tee to get to #3 tee. Odd.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I had a good time playing, but it wasn't anything special in my book. It is a great course to work on drive accuracy or to try out a new disc. There is nothing to hit!

Lack of distance to pin on the tee signs was initially a negative, but it wouldn't have helped that much since the elevation was so drastic on many holes. Also, it made me rely on experience which was kind of a nice touch, I guess.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Upper Mac

5+    11/23/2012   6/5/2007
Review By: adlacro
Played: 67  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nine holes with baskets in very good shape. Good mix of lefty and righty holes with a few wooden holes. Tees are mostly natural, but some still have rubber. One ace run and a few open holes will help those who can bomb drives. The fourth hole is the best here. It is a wooden tee area with a narrow 15' wide fairway to a much more open area and a hillside green that is very steep and very unapologetic should you miss the putt. A few trees planted on the hill may come into play at some point, but as of this review they don't affect anything just yet. Close to the highway and there is a playground and baseball field at the bottom of the hill. Fair usage of the land.
Cons: Although there isn't much growth this time of year, holes 2 and especially 3 if you miss the fairway will probably give you nothing but a chipout back to the fairway. No room for error on 7, keep right. If you can't bomb it, be prepared to not score well. There are still tees with rubber on them, and most of those are in poor shape. This course starts near the upper lot, and there is a gate that provides access to this. If this is closed, you will have a 5-8 minute walk up the hill to access the first tee.
Other Thoughts: Not exactly the premier destination course in the Valley, but it is not your average nine hole pitch n putt. If you're driving on I-78 and approach this area, and you have thirty or so minutes to spare, come over and give this course a play. There's enough here to satisfy.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good practice course

6/30/2006   5/31/2007
Review By: Qwikstreet
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Wide open 9 hole course except for hole 2 and 3 which is semi wooded. The course has some distance to it and is great for practicing your drives.

Lots of grassy hill elevations.
Cons: A lot of walking up and down hill elevations

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.