Disc Golf Store
Albuquerque (Rio Rancho), NM 
Vista Hills Park Share
Uploaded By: AlexBradford Hole #9 (Taken 1/2012)
4 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice little course

1    7/1/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: 1TallTXn
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: Nice baskets with nicely groomed grass.
Layout is as good as you'll get with the limited space.
Cons: Par numbers are very generous. 414ft Par 5. Great way to make an Eagle, but beyond an ego booster, not very realistic.
If the wind is wrong, throwing into traffic is a real possibility on a couple of the holes.
No tee pads. I'm used to playing off of dirt, but only hole #1 has any kind of a wear mark. Make your guess and throw.
If it's busy, you'll have to watch that you aren't throwing right at other players.
Other Thoughts: I rather enjoyed playing this one. Par numbers make it very easy to get a negative score for a nice ego boost.
Signage is intact on each hole, though a course layout at the beginning would have been nice.

Not my fav

1    3/22/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open park completely covered in grass. Baskets are in good condition. A few trees and playground/picnic area create decent, but few, obstacles.
Cons: Very easy to hit a house, car or little kid. Not technical or wooded, only 9 holes, many signs broken.
Other Thoughts: Didn't finish, got frustrated with the course

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent little course

1    7/30/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: KDFrosty
Played: 27  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open park completely covered in grass. Baskets are in good condition. A few trees and playground/picnic area create decent, but few, obstacles.
Cons: Some of the signs are missing. Not a lot of obstacles. Played in a public park, and there could be a couple making-out in the fairway of one of the holes. :)
Other Thoughts: Decent course for the area. Nice to see grass rather than desert and tumbleweeds/sagebrush. I played the 9 holes then just created my own holes since nobody else was playing. This allowed for longer tee shots and setup for better obstructions.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch & Putt In A Small But Lovely Hilly Park!

1    4/2/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 613  Exp: 36.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Although this park's small size isn't ideal for a course, it's rolling hills and green grass makes for a more than adequate little pitch and putt course. There are some fun little throws to work on here because of the up and down terrain. It's fairly well marked. The baskets are decent. The pads are natural. There are signs although some are misssing and the pars listed on them are completely out of touch like # 3 being a 414' Par 5.
Cons: The course is set in tight with it's surrounding, especially some of the neigboring homes. # 4 is a 273 slight downhill throw with neighbor's homes on your right side all the way down the fairway. It would be so easy to park your drive over their fences or be tempted to hyser your drive out over their yards and let it settle back to the basket. I'm sure many discs find their way into their backyards. # 9 is another problem hole where your drive could end up flying into the on-coming traffic of a busy street. Another issue to factor in is the compact size of the park and the fact that the course utilizes every part of the park. Confrontations with other park users must arise frequently.
It's a nice little course for beginners, families, teens. It's not designed for tournies, pros, big arms or serious players.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed throwing here. It's a really nice piece of rolling land in which to have a course. I think if I lived closed I would probably have to adapt and play at odd hours to avoid the crowds.
I always enjoy these little courses where the listed pars are out of whack. I like getting an occasional eagle. If I played here often, I'd be going for the double eagle on # 3. How many of you have a double eagle to your credit?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/25/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: avitus
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: theres grass which is something thats not in the desert there are some varied hills to contend with that was fun
Cons: its in a park theres children playing on the slides and swings houses 20 feet behind baskets and a dog took off with one of my disks

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not much to it

1    4/11/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: iceparrot
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Off the Tee: There are some up/down shots, and some OB to avoid that require control of the disc.

Approach and Putting: Putting is straight forward, with some challenge added with baskets on the side of hills

Environment: Playing on grass is a nice feature in Albuquerque, and the course being in a residential neighborhood is good for bringing new people into the sport. Setting the course up for 9 holes is the correct choice for a small park such as this.
Cons: This course feels like it was just dropped in the park and then not maintained. Several of the baskets are in bad shape, and the tees signs are broken/missing.

There is little variety required in shot selection, other than to make sure to avoid throwing in the street or over a wall into a backyard. The holes are all short.
Other Thoughts: If I lived in the neighborhood, I'd probably play several times a week, but it's not worth driving to.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 beginner course in small park

1    8/30/2008   8/30/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well designed, with a variety of optional shots and a few long holes. Green grass fairways and nice views.
Cons: Very easy to hit a house, car or little kid. Not technical or wooded, only 9 holes, many signs broken.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.