Farmville , VA 
Lancer Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #2 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Newly Renovated!

1    3/27/2014   3/31/2014
Review By: DebitsOnTheLeft
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Fairly short 9 hole course perfect for beginners, yet fun enough for more advanced players.

-Big welcome board next to parking that shows an aerial view of the course which makes it easier to navigate.

-Newly installed drainage ditch to help prevent much of the flooding problems.

-Easy to spot baskets from tee locations.
Cons: -No official tee boxes

-No advanced tee placements
Other Thoughts: Just played in a little tournament here after the course was re opened after major renovations. The course was unplayable before because of the new dorms being installed in Lancer Park. Longwood University had to remove two holes during the construction of the dorms and shortly after the course became overgrown.

After I played my round in the tournament I was able to speak with the designer and creator of the course. He told me that he has a new lawn maintenance guy, and they worked well together in clearing out the overgrown land and slightly redesigning the course. He also said he has plans to add another nine holes, but the area surrounding is a protected marsh land so he has to be careful but believes he can still add another nine holes in the future after clearing his plans through Longwood University.

I would expect great things from this course in the upcoming future. It's a great play right now. I recommend playing the course here and the course at Hampden-Sydney College and making a day out of it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

:(

1    11/1/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: blackmamba5490
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -None except for the NICE baskets they have that are sitting there unusable
Cons: -overgrown
-9 nice baskets just sitting there going to waste
-construction going on at the dorms make it unplayable
-only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: SHOULD BE REMOVED FROM LIST OF ACTIVE COURSES UNTIL ABOVE ISSUES ARE FIXED!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Farmville has a course

1    6/23/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: Old Swampy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easily accessible course for the Farmville area. Ample parking.
Cons: Some distances on signs hard to read or missing, and layout a bit unclear in places. No course map provided. High weeds with ample poison ivy just off the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course. With a little work it could be significantly better than it is. The signs need some attention; the tee area for every hole is marked, but the distances and par values are missing on many signs. Although there's plenty of parking, when you first arrive it's not immediately obvious where the first tee is (facing the course, it's to your right, and the hole goes downhill and a bit right). The first basket you see is marked "18" but there are only nine holes; I suppose you can use "18" for practice. And here's hoping it's a sign that they plan to expand the course in the future to a full 18 holes; there's room.

There is plenty of poison ivy, as others have noted, but to be fair, it is off the fairways. If you end up in the poison ivy it's because you missed the fairway. Though it's summer and the students are mostly gone, the course had been mowed recently. And although it's near one of the main streets through town, the course is in a quiet little corner of Farmville.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth it

1    10/15/2010   10/21/2010
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 58  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has such potential. It is a pretty much open course with short distances for each hole ranging from just under 200 to 300 feet max, and you can see the basket from each tee, which is nice. The course is new, which means that the signs are in great shape as well as brand new baskets (the ones with the yellow band around top too). If you just want to play a quick course, this course might be for you...if you can overcome the cons...
Cons: While the holes are short and you can see the baskets from the tees, there are some formidable obstacles...namely, large bramble patches that are so thick that you will see exactly where the disc goes in them, and yet not go after it. Also, the entire course is overtop a drainage field, which means that if there is even a slight rain, the course turns into a marsh...so wear some high water rubber boots. Also, the course is not kept up regularly, which means that the fairways at time can look just as bad as the rough. Also, all the other cons aside, the course is definitely not challenging for people who have been playing for any amount of time. Unless you call avoiding briar patches a challenge!
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course is not really worth playing, not worth the risk of losing a disc at. I spent my round here throwing my junk discs for the most part because I didn't want to risk losing a nice one. IT also limits your throw options because you are less likely to take a risk on a hard, long throw when you could easily lose your disc. Again, it has potential, but just not worth it in my opinion.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Longwood University

5+    10/15/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: Bamm
Played: 58  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good parking, a nice short course that would be great for beginners if not for some of the briars (more on that later). It looks like Longwood spent some money on new discatchers, and they do at least have signs at each hole. No crowds. (I wonder why?) It does have a nice ace shot on 2, my son hit the pole just under the basket there last week.

Updating. This course has gone from bad to worse. They have removed 2 of the 9 holes for construction of new buildings. The grass is yet again almost waist high on a regular basis. This course was built in what looks to be a run off basin and when it gets even remotely wet down there they will not mow. This course is the epitome of someone or organization (Longwood University in this case) doing the least it can to say it has a course. This is a complete waste of nice innova baskets.
Cons: A few holes have nasty briars and very tall (read: unnecessary) weeds. This course should be a pleasant pitch and putt course. A nice recreational course. Instead it is a kinda poorly maintained course with waist high weeds on some holes and thick nasty "I'm not going in there" briars on others. If it rains, it stays wet down there.

Update: Same things....
Other Thoughts: I didn't even mention the poison oak that is everywhere on a few holes. I'm gonna pass until they take some time to make this course nice. It could and hopefully will, be something fun to play.

Update: Poison Ivy, still there and prospering nicely I may add..... For those of you that gave this a thumbs down, please, go play it. I hope you play it on a regular basis, then maybe you can stomp down a path through those waist high weeds and give me a lane to throw through. I have a better 9 hole disc golf course at my house. I work 2 miles away from this and I can't stand to even think about playing there. Thumbs down all you like, this course is a waste of time/resources/space........

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.