Disc Golf Store
Houston, TX 
Rice University DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #6 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 202ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket: Broken tee marker under it



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Burrs, Stickers, & Weeds

1    5/23/2014   5/23/2014
Review By: OKC444
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: None. ; xxxxxxxccccccccccxxxx I'm sorry but I don't have anything else to say about this course: giving a more descriptive review of a piece of s*** course is not relevant.
Cons: Everything about it sucks.
Other Thoughts: Don't waste your time.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 a diamond in the rough

5+    4/18/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: al.hil
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good spacing
-good for beginners
-Well placed in a city environment
Cons: -needs gardening
-missing a few permanent holes
-few holes are tilted instead of strait up
Other Thoughts: -Makes the best use of the location but needs to be a little better taken care of.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not Yet Playable

5+    4/14/2013   4/19/2013
Review By: Frasier
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -The course is conveniently located in the center of Houston next to the med center. It is one of the only courses inside the 610 loop so it is especially convenient for people who live near downtown.

-The course is the perfect difficulty for a beginner. The holes are relatively open but have some trees that must be accounted for, and none of the holes are too long.

-The course can be scenic when the conditions are good.
Cons: -If you want to get a hole in one this is the course to do it on. Just about every hole can be reached with one throw so an experienced player can probably get a hole in one from playing no more than ten or twenty times. There is not much reason however to want to play the course repeatedly.

-The primary issues with the course stem from the fact that it is in poor repair from years of neglect. There are no tee boxes anywhere so it is impossible for anyone to navigate the course unless they are with someone who has played there before. Several of the baskets are damaged and one is missing altogether which technically makes this a 8 hole course. Also the grounds are not regularly maintained, so when I played most recently I had to walk through more than a foot of brush even in the middle of the fairways.

-The next biggest issue after the general disrepair is that the course is very rarely is playable condition due to standing water. The course is located in what is clearly a water retention basin, so it will continue to be muddy even after the surrounding areas have dried completely. If it has rained any time in the last week the course will likely be too muddy to play on.

-The third major issue is that a pedestrian walkway passes through the center of the course. None of the holes cross this path so if you have accurate throws you are not in danger of hitting anyone, but several of the holes do closely parallel the path so an inexperienced player might hit someone. On average I have to pause once or twice each time I play the course to let a pedestrian get out of the way.

-Some of the specific holes are poorly designed; the basket on hole 2 is in the middle of a small thicket so it is not visible from more than 20 yards away, the basket on hole 7 is next to a road so a disk might get run over, the basket on hole 4 is bent making the put from one direction much easier than the other, the best approach path on hole 5 goes over the pedestrian walkway for 40 meters so if anyone is there you cannot throw, and hole 9 is on the edge of an intramural field so I once could not throw because some runners were stretching next to the basket.

-Finally, while one of the pros of this course is that it is good for beginners, a major con is that it presents no challenge for an experienced player. I played this course many times for a rice physical fitness class and never scored over par on any hole.
Other Thoughts: -While this course is still not playable, the people at Rice have recently remembered that it exists and they are beginning to take some steps to improve it. Many of the baskets have been fixed and made more visible and the grounds are now occasionally mowed to make playing easier. I believe there are even plans in place to replace the hole 1 basket, move some of the other problematic baskets, and replace the tee boxes. Right now the course is frankly bad but if these changes are made it has the potential to be an entirely competent pitch and putt style course. The course will never be championship quality, but it does have potential.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/13/2013   4/16/2013
Review By: spacekat
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very convenient for Rice students.
Cons: -When I last played this course, parts of it were underwater.
-Some areas of the course are overgrown. Reaching the first basket requires climbing through the brush.
-Slight danger to pedestrians and bikers traveling back and forth from the medical center.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    1/27/2013   1/27/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 124  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a short little 8 hole course on a flood plain at Rice University. The course can be played easily in 20-30 minutes and that may be taking it slow.

Unlike other small nine hole courses, this course actually has trees and obstacles to contend with that are around most holes.

The baskets are all in great shape, probably due to the lack of play because it seems as if no one is ever here.

This is a great place to practice your approaches and putting and a good place to bring a person that has never played before.
Cons: The first hole is on it's side in a big pile of trash to make this nine hole course only eight holes.

Most of the wooden tees are gone, so my buddy and I just played near the previous basket and it seemed to work fairly well.

Apparently the course is usually overgrown and it was severely overgrown by hole #3. I can see the course being flooded or soggy after a decent rain.

There is a bike trail that goes around the course and most biker/walkers probably have no idea that the course exists so be careful where you throw.
Other Thoughts: Maybe i caught the course on a good day but I see no reason to give this course any less then a "passable" rating. Sure it is not the next host of the world championships but it is a good short course that actually has obstacles to contend with.

The main thing I see that would make this course even better then just passable is having someone "adopt" the course and put in work with tee signs and keep the area well groomed. If someone takes action this could be a good 9 holer and not just another course that is overlooked.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Ought to be Removed from DGCR

5+    11/20/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: jimjohnmarks
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This USED TO BE a great "chip and putt" set of 9 links where one could forget about driving, and focus on long up shots and putts.

In many ways, these links were tighter and more demanding than many courses around Houston because anything above two strokes meant you got something wrong.
Cons: At this point, this is no longer really a course. The University Facilities group has been radically over-hauling the flood easement into which the course was built, and they have done this at the expense of, and without regard for, the course.

Basket 1 is missing.
Basket 8 is missing.

Many tee posts have been knocked over by mowers.

Plants have been grounded smack in the middle of the #2 tee box.

The under-growth is often left so long that even when you know where your throw went, you can lose a disc.

#5 is a blind throw to the basket which means you're almost certain to lose a disc unless you have someone watching for you.
Other Thoughts: If anyone has any sway with either the university Facilities staff or with the univeristy DG club, it would be nice if they could make it known if they intend to maintain the course, replace the course, remove the course entirely, relocate the course to elsewhere on campus.

As it stands, this is not a course. There were only nine links to begin with and at this point only four or five are playable.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not much of a course, really...

1    6/14/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: nomex
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly close to the Medical Center, this course would be perfect for those utilizing bicycle or public transportation. The baskets, when you can get to them, are in decent condition. If this course were mowed, it would be a fun little course that could draw in people to disc golf as there is a decent amount of foot traffic and bicycle traffic that passes by while I'm practicing my putts on hole 7. I've actually caused some people to "curb check" their vehicles while they were trying to figure out what I was doing.

Hole 9 is good for practice, and the field next to it is good for driving range use. I usually bike through and practice putting on hole 7 and then skip to hole 9 and then work my way over to the field for some practice.
Cons: Sadly, this course is heavinly overgrown. As one reviewer stated, bring pants (and allergy medication). I had so many little burrs stuck to me at the end of the round that I had a nice "tenth" hole activity at my local bar. There were some holes where there were no tee markers (4,5&6).
Other Thoughts: It is a shame that this course isn't maintained. I actually considered taking out some of those grass scythes and do some cutting myself. I wish there were a course in Hermann park, but since this one is in such bad shape, I guess I'll stick to MacGregor or TC Jester. I'd play this course on my lunch breaks if it were better maintained.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  over grown

1    1/15/2012   1/16/2012
Review By: markeymark
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: No one was there, small course that is convient to the Med Center
Cons: Overgrown , wear pants if you go . It looks like they have done some work there and there was a large mud field in the middle.
Other Thoughts: I work near by and would use it if it was mowed .

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hard to find

2-4    11/7/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Secluded little course nestled on the Rice University campus flood control area. Baskets are double chain DGA's in good condition with number plates on top. Tees are marked with two wooden posts that have hole number and distance posted. This is a good beginner / REC player course with holes averaging ~220'. Good use of trees and anny lines to keep this from being too much of a pitch-and-putt course.
Cons:
When I played (Nov 7 2010) the tee posts for hole #4 had been pulled up and were resting against a tree. The tee marker distance said 255', but the tree where they were was 270' from the basket. Initially, I couldn't find any tee markers for hole #6 so I made up my own tee box. However, when walking to the basket I stumbled upon one of the broken 4x4's about 50' from the basket. The distance read 202' so it was clearly in the wrong spot and I moved the broken marker up under the basket in hopes that maybe someone who knows where it should be will re-plant it.

No convenient parking; all of the adjacent lots are University permit parking only. Tees are natural and have no consistency or maintenance. The course will most likely range from very muddy to under water after any reasonable rain. It looks like there is minimal landscaping done as the grass was pretty high. Spotter will help on hole #5.
Other Thoughts:
The course was completely redesigned in the last several years due to some construction projects. The old posted maps were 100% incorrect, so I've made a new map (posted on DGCR now) that should help first timers navigate.

It's hard to tell after my first time here if the course was more fun than I expected or the fun I had came from exploring the course trying to figure it out without a map. This is not a horrible course in dry weather and should be convenient for students wanting to learn the game or get in a quick round. But there are far better courses in the nearby vicinity for serious players.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Leave the big dog home

5+    10/4/2010   11/4/2010
Review By: scuddyp4
Played: 32  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not crowded at all. Never seen another dger when I've played there (that might be a con to some). Baskets in decent shape. No much foot traffic from non-dgers despite being located on Rice U campus. 9's basket is located under a huge live oak tree and is a great place for putting practice as no one uses the course that much. There's also a practice field located by 9 that is great for throwing practice
Cons: No parking. I usually bike there since I live close. Course upkeep is non-existent. not a lot of variety on holes. It really is just a mid and putter course. Hard to find the course if you aren't familiar with the campus. Some tees are missing or posts down.
Other Thoughts: Wouldn't drive in to play this course but if you live close and just want some mid/approach and putting practice you should try it once. If you can't find the tees the course in never crowded and you can just pick a basket and go. Not the worst course I've play but not as good as most in H-town.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center