Omaha, NE 
The Links at Lake Cunningham Share
Uploaded By: mgcarney Hole #2 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Potential Here

1    12/1/2014   5/13/2015
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 356  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Nice terrain and nice park at Lake Cunningham. It has more hills and trees than most places in Eastern NE.
+The remaining baskets are nice.
+Some elevation
+What is left is a decent course design. It has variety and decent fun factor.
Cons: -The course isn't maintained and feels neglected.
-No actual tees and the ones that are there are kind of hard to find.
-Only 8 baskets left
-Long grass eats discs even with good throws
-Ticks, mosquitoes, noxious weeds
Other Thoughts: +I played on a nice day in early December. If there was a time to play, I would recommend this late fall date. The growth wasn't bad but you could see the residual effects of the summer's growth and I wouldn't play here in the summer at all.
+Even in December, this course isn't really worth playing. Hummel and Seymour Smith are much better courses.
+This course has potential and it would be nice to relieve SS of some pressure. It took way too long to get through the course there.
+It is hard to rate a course accurately when in such disrepair. A simple monthly mowing would make a world of difference. You can't just drop some baskets in a grassy area and call it a disc golf course. There is a little bit of maintenance involved.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cunningham DGC review

2-4    5/14/2011   4/5/2013
Review By: Burd
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course has some fun throws through trees and elevation changes but is best to play early spring or late fall when growth is minimal.
Cons: Not a maintained disc golf course for the most part. A lot of long grass that is home to many ticks. Very easy to lose a disc in the longer grass. This course lately has been picked apart and some of the baskets are missing. Most people play this course once and don't go back. The hard-working folks in the OMDGA have been trying lately to maintain the park a little better to draw attention from the more popular Seymour Smith course about 10 miles away.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very disappointing

1    11/27/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of terrain.
Next tee box markers present to help guide play.
Cons: ONLY 8 HOLES!!
Nothing is kept up. The 8 playable holes have little to no fairway with underbrush ready to grab every throw. Even trying to throw and play the arch you will get to hunt for your disk in the brush and a hunt it is. Tee box locations are marked with a 24 inch post, but that is it. No actual tee box is present to throw from. Out of the 8 present holes there is one trash can. You can tell by the trash in the weeds that they need more locations to place your trash, or place signs to remind players, "Carry in, Carry out".
Other Thoughts: I cannot believe that anyone would rate this a 4 disk course. It seems as though since the course was constructed it has been left go and returning back to nature. I took the course map from this site and hoped that all 18 holes where playable. Did I say it has ONLY 8 HOLES! I walked all 18 holes from the map and the remaining holes have all returned to their original wild state like they never existed.
I wanted this course to be good after others referenced other local courses (Seymour Smith) and saying it has potential to be better than them. Everything has potential to be better, but WOW this is a huge dream to get this course even close. Unless 18 holes show up and get some tender loving care, I will not be seen on this course again.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/8/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: dselimovic
Played: 70  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great scenic views from around the park (of the Lake, forest, sunset).
-Great elevation changes.
-Each hole has a unique challenge.
-With some work, it could easily eclipse Seymour Smith.
Cons: -Due to the lack of up-keeping the grass and weeds surrounding the holes is easy to lose your disc in.
-The tees are not permanent, mainly covered in mud if it's not dry.
-The markings aren't clear on all the holes, first timers are usually confused.
-The back 9 has been deemed unplayable
Other Thoughts: I play this course regularly. I highly recommend it to folks who live in Omaha and want to play quicker games, or just play an awesome course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Course is a mess.....

5+    9/14/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: BalataGrande
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging, each shot needs precision or you may well lose a disc. Good use of elevation changes.
Cons: Very overgrown grass, weeds, brush make a huge penalty for slightly off line shots. Only 8 holes playable. You'll spend alot of time looking for your disc, even if its a good shot. Dirt tee boxes and lack of marking the boxes make it difficult to know where to tee off from.
Other Thoughts: I've heard that the remaining 10 holes will be put in by next year and I look forward to that. If they'd do some maintenance on this course, it would be very solid. As it stands right now, the only reason I will come back is because it's 3 minutes from my house, but I'll still drive to any of the other courses in the area first.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 TREES

1    7/9/2010   7/6/2011
Review By: Sl33pwalkn187
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Another course to play in Nebraska. located north off 72nd and hwy 680, lake Cunningham could be a lot better.
Cons: TREES TREES TREES TREES
GRASS GRASS GRASS
Other Thoughts: screw disc golf at this course.... bring a pole and go fishing.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not well kept...

1    6/20/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: c0ntagion
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not very busy, in a beautiful area.
Cons: Not well kept, in a very wooded area, not good for beginners, muddy, easy to lose discs. Hard to find the next tee or hole. Beware because the tees are made of dirt, not concrete, so you'll get dirty if it's rained at all recently.
Other Thoughts: This course is a mess. Someone needs to take a giant lawnmower to it more than once a year. We weren't even able to play the back 9 because it was so muddy here. Still, I managed to have fun because it was more of a scavenger hunt than anything.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Who Laid This Out?

2-4    4/3/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: StephenMehling
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's real close to my home so I'd love to help design this with somebody that's actually played the game.
Cons: I've played in Mpls. for 20 years and I've never seen tees so far from the baskets, the baskets right behind trees and markers non-existant or poorly marked. What's the A, B, C thing about anyway?
Other Thoughts: How do we get the attention of the city to fix this course? 18 PCV pipes to plant the baskets, 18 posts for the tees and a post-hole digger and I'm in!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tough but good

5+    7/15/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: Uncle Tox
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you want to be challenged this is a course for you. Lots of trees with very good elevation changes. The scenery is awesome too. Some of the holes look over the lake and at sunset its really cool.
Cons: It has dirt tees so footing can be an issue. If your not at least a novice player this course is not for you. The fairways can get very small with very very tall grass and LOTS of trees. Theres a lot of blind shots so a spoter is a good idea. If you have not played here before it can be very difficult to find the back 10 holes they stretch for about 2 and half miles( or it seems).
Other Thoughts: Be prepared to lose a disc if you dont have an accurate throw but just pay attention and you'll be fine.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your machete

5+    7/13/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 137  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a lot of ways, this course is the anti-Seymour Smith (another course in Omaha). It's empty and feels secluded, so you get a peaceful game of disc golf. It has some pretty big elevation changes. And it can be very challenging. The A tees are not very long when the pins are in the short position, but supposedly the B-to-long configuration can be over 10,000 feet. That is crazy. The views here can be really nice, especially from 2, 9, and 10. And the back 9 give you a nature-y feel you won't find on many other courses. I typically see deer here around sunset.
Cons: Where to start? There are no tee pads, just dirt where the grass has worn away. On most holes there is a post indicating where to tee off from, but I can't find it for 7A and 13A. Some of the B tees are overgrown and no longer playable, especially on the back 9. I believe this place is mowed by volunteers, so the fairways can be hit or miss in the summer. Playing without a spotter can be risky. The grass is 2-3 feet tall. Several holes (like #4) had absurdly small windows to throw through with all the trees, and you probably need a tomahawk/thumber to play some holes (although I like throwing those). Oh, and there are bugs. I've found ticks, so bring bug spray and wash carefully afterward.
Other Thoughts: The holes that are mowed are fun to play, and finding your disc isn't too much of an issue. On the other ones, it can be a lesson in frustration. And if you throw into the heavy growth off the beaten path, good luck. I only learned to navigate this place by coming with someone else who knew their way around. The flow of the course is not obvious, so don't come without a map. In spite of all the negatives, I should emphasize that it is great to have a course in Omaha where you don't have to play through a group of 8 people (or any groups at all). This course re-opened a few months ago, so we'll see if it gets busier. I'm hoping it is more playable in the fall/winter when the vegetation dies, because this course has some real potential.

UPDATE 2011: Only the first 8 holes are in. The others were removed for a re-design that won't be complete until next summer. The course is playable (I make a 9th hole out of playing from #8 back to the basket for #3), but the rough is very rough. Until the re-design is complete, I can't give this more than 1.5 stars.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.