Disc Golf Store
Crawfordsville, IN
Milligan Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #3 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 212ft.   3 / 212ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Solid Course Layout

1    11/10/2010   11/10/2010
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent signs, decent tee pads, plenty of obs in the form of access roads, creeks, parking lots, and mando's. Course has plenty of variety and uses all of the park's natural terrain to its betterment. Expect to play over and down hills, creeks, obs, and mandos. Very friendly for newer players and a course to rip and run on for more experienced players. Thank you for the trashcans.
Cons: Very few complaints here: maybe a few more directional signs for some of the holes, pads are plenty long, but I can understand how some may not have enough room, although I had plenty of space and thats usually my first gripe with any course. Some of the fairways run pretty close with, but this course really maximizes the use of the land, so thats not really a con, more like a little bit of nit picking. Keep it on the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, played it today with a buddy, we are both intermediate players and we had a great time. Didn't shoot as well as we can, but we had fun - which is the main concern. This is a great course to really workout your midrange game. All of these holes are very deuceable, although if you throw an errant tee shot you can hit a variety of obs that can rack up your score with penalty strokes. Have fun, run those chains.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 More of the same

1    11/8/2010   11/10/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 169  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 20 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •Practice basket,with markers for a putting game •Nice Tee signs and Concrete tees with 5 Gal. Buckets at each hole •Well placed poles for getting your disc out of the water •No Underbrush •Really nice layout using all park features; Creek,Rollng terrain,low canopy shots....off the tee OR your Approach/Putt •A few Roll-a-way greens •Nice having "Caution flying discs" signs in the areas where the course was expanded •New footbridge from #7 to #8 •Signature hole is the same one has the old layout #7...a 228' down hill shot with the basket in the creeks peninsula
Cons: •Most holes are 225-250' with 3 holes over 300' (309',323',328') this is only a "con" if you are a more experienced player •No underbrush for a punishment for an errant throw •A couple directional signs from #6 to #7 and #20 to #21 would be good,but not that big of a deal.
Other Thoughts: Still a short beginner course that will boost the ego of any experienced player,unless they play a safari round. Adding 12 holes,to any course, is usually a plus. But since it's more of the same it's an opportunity missed. Could have been a better course with just 18 baskets and two tees per hole. I bumped my rating to a 3 disc (good) vs. 2.5 (decent) because after "sleeping on it" the terrain AND creek does NOT make this a typical course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good stuff

2-4    11/9/2010   11/9/2010
Review By: murf1087
Played: 89  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: RShott's "Another Solid Course in Indiana" says it very well. Not heavily wooded but still moderately challenging long and short shots. Lots of fun to play.
As of recently the park has added numbers to some of the pins to sort out some confusion.
Cons: Nitpicking - Hole 6 (with a "mandatory" sign) requires you to play around a tree to the left when I would have liked to play to the right.
I had trouble finding the first hole.
Some holes were a bit difficult to figure out which pin to aim at, but checking with the hole map will help you.
Other Thoughts: I suggest entering from Mill St. and Joe Allen Parkway. The first hole is located near the brick entrance and a statue at this intersection where a practice hole is as well.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Another Solid Course in Indiana

1    11/2/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: RShott
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a really fun course to play. It is a 22 hole course that plays through a large multi-use park with lots of large mature trees, elevation, and a creek. The variety of holes is really great; there are uphill shots, downhill shots, blind approaches, drop off greens, doglegs to the right and left, and low ceiling shots. I never felt bored playing this course, all of the holes are different and interesting and required a variety of different shots to score well. The teepads are concrete and are nice and large. Also, the signs at each hole do a very good job of showing the layout of the hole and the distance.
Cons: There are no numbers on the baskets, and as a result there are spots where it is confusing as to which basket to throw at. There is one hole on the back half of the course (I forget which one) that plays blind and pretty close to the road; it would be wise to use a spotter to make sure no cars are coming before you throw.
Other Thoughts: Overall I thought this was a really great course, there are a ton of really well thought out and interesting holes. It is a challenging course, but at the same time a really fun course to play. It should be noted there are a lot of leaves on the ground in the fall, so make sure you watch where you disc lands or you could lose it very quickly in some places. Definitely stop by and play this course if you are in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.