Thomasville, GA
MacIntyre Park DGC - Adv. 12 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 246ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Donít Judge a Book by Its Cover!

2-4    7/28/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: MacIntyre Park DGC is a really well designed course that makes awesome use of the landscape. The course is deceptively challenging and will force you to shape shots in order to score. The course is on a beautiful little city park in the middle of an old southern town. The majestic live oaks, big longleaf pines and park setting really create a beautiful place to play. MacIntyre Park DGC also is designed with lots of water holes and OB to punish bad throws. The good thing is that the water comes in the form of little streams. So, even though you will be punished, you have little chance of actually losing a $15 piece of plastic or a beloved broken-in disc. The distances are far enough to force a good drive in order to score. As an 875 player who throws 265-285' on most drives, I really had very few birdie holes available. The course was just long enough to challenge me just to make par and get a couple birdies. A person who can drive a controlled, 330-350' will have birdie try's on 75% of the holes.
Cons: I always hate to give negatives on a course; especially on one that is close to home. However, in a perfect world, there are negatives or it would be a five star, world-class course. The biggest complaint is that the course is only twelve holes. Given the limited space the designers had to work with, the course can also seem a little crowded when the course is full. The teepads are also a little short. Taller people or players with a long approach may feel they have to shorten up their strike to stay on the pad. This wasn't a problem for me, but it is worth pointing out. Finally, there are no bathroom facilities or places to fill a water bottle.
Other Thoughts: When I first saw MacIntyre Park DGC, I thought "pretty park, this should be easy;" I was wrong. While beautiful, the course is very well thought out and will force you to throw good shots. Most of the greens are guarded by sweeping live oak lives, azaleas, shrubs or OB streams. MacIntyre Park DGC also plays longer than you would think. You really can't just bomb and putt. You either hit your groove or you will get a par or worse. During a recent tournament, I went OB 2 out of 3 times on hole seven. It is not that the hole was that long or complicated, but the shot looked just easy enough to "go for it". Then, you hit a limb or fail to keep it low enough and "bloop" you are in the stream/OB. To me this hole sums up MacIntyre Park DGC. Deceptive! MacIntyre Park DGC is a really nice little course. In fact if it had 18 holes, I would give it 4.0 stars.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Easy like Sunday Mornin'

1    3/11/2012   3/20/2012
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 64  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 3.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the prettiest little courses you will ever play, live oaks all over the city park with SO MANY FLOWERS in full bloom right now. Seriously, the scenery alone has to be worth a disc or two, I can't wait to get back and see it again!

For 12 holes, there is solid shot variety here, there is a small stream running through the entire course that comes into play very often for some very cool shot shapes, i got to throw some huge spikes around some of the trees that would just land left of the stream due to the pin positions being pretty fun out here!

So yeah, the design for this thing is Grade A badass, I really have no complaints about any of the holes.

Also some of the best Tee signs i've ever seen along with some very nice teepads, I wish my local course had these signs.

Drew some metal on hole #5, a very cool mando hole with the pin up against some bushes with danger left and long.

The greens on this course are amazing, hole number three is beautiful. It has the live oak branches hanging down in multiple tiers with the pin maybe 40 feet or so behind the first one, you have to keep your drive low, but you can't go long, you'll hop OB into the stream, very risk/reward type play and I love it.
Cons: 12 Freaking holes.

Out in the middle of nowhere(Thomasville)

Other Thoughts: Those are the only two real cons, I wish this was a full 18 but I understand why it's 12, I feel like they truly used the land to the best of their abilities. This course is so unique and cool that if you're within 45 minutes on a drive, stop by and play, you will not regret it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Big Mac (Intyre)

1    1/31/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice map at the first tee with the map of the park along with the distances of each hole.

2) Benches in a few places during the round. Not always associated with the disc golf course but close enough to have a seat from time to time.

3) Unique property with the creek that runs right through the middle of the park. The design incorporated the creek into many holes and it creates some interesting and unique shots and basket locations.

4) Concrete tees framed by 2x4's . . . although a little small this course is not overly long so you do not need a long runup usually.

5) Slight elevation change on half of the holes . . . early on your are heading downhill then, you play a few flatter holes and then finally at the end you go back up the hill to the corner of the park. Nothing is drastic but it makes you adjust your shot just slightly.

6) Beginner friendly course because it is not overly long and there is very little chance of losing a disc.

7) While the overall length of the course I not terribly long (300' average) there is still a constant challenge on each hole, whether it be the creek, the basket location, the low hanging trees. There is always something to consider when throwing your drive and upshots. Many times you have to think about your putts too because if you miss it might go down the hill into a creek.

8) Nice newer discatchers are welcomed in this park because the yellow band really helps locate your basket.

9) Nice teesigns at each tee help with navigation too (because you can look for the signs from each basket), especially with some smaller concrete teepads in the middle of the course (which are used for the 18 hole recreational object course).

10) Lots of shot making required on this course because of the creeks and the proximity to the basket. It also forces you to throw multiple shots because of the low ceiling on a couple holes. There are also plenty of obstacles that force certain throws or at least eliminate some throw possibilities.
Cons: 1) Overlapping layouts may confuse people. Hopefully it doesn't become a safety issue having people throwing all over the place out here. I am not sure how many people use the park for disc golf, but the park users could be even more confused about our game with some people throwing to posts and some people throwing to baskets.

2) The teepads seem to get a little sandy which makes them slippery. With the sandy soil around here I understand why it happens, it would be nice if there was a broom or the tees were blown off.

3) The teepads are also just a little bit short. I can manage but I am a short person 5'6" so I don't need more room for a full runup.

4) Routing on the course is not always intuitive and it can get confusing every so often.

5) No bathrooms available on the course or in the park.


Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course and I actually drove out of the way to play it because it allowed me to play 2 courses really quickly in the morning before heading to Florida. I didn't realize the other course was going to be an object course, but that was just fine truthfully.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well thought out course...

2-4    5/1/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. Course map / overview on large board by tee #1
2. Solid tee boxes (not concrete, but still pretty good)
3. Good course signage with accurate distances
4. Great use of distance and existing obstacles including OB (Road) and the trees and creek which are constantly in play
5. Quality DISCatcher baskets
6. Adequate seating and trash receptacles
Cons:
1. Old "Rec 18" signs are still in the ground around the park making things confusing for first-timers
2. Only 12 holes (which is all that would fit...but still a slight drawback)
3. Tee boxes are a little bit short (If you like a run-up, you'll have to be careful)
4. No restrooms on site
5. Playground and pavilions in play for less accurate players (If you have to ask, it's probably you...)
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is well thought out and well placed. It's a fun course that requires a number of different shots (though may not require every disc in your bag) and uses the natural obstacles to their fullest. The small creek is almost constantly in play, and the mild elevation changes make for subtle challenges. Most intermediate players will find this course challenging, but not frustrating. Pros may find it slightly lacking in technical difficulty, while beginners may find it a bit too challenging... If you're in the general area and want to play a fun course, you can't go wrong playing MacIntyre!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course for Amature Players!

5+    11/7/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: robasse
Played: 83  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The hole layout in regards to the creek adds an really neat challenge on many of the holes. Conservative upshots are nessasary in many cases due to how close the baskets are to the creek. The course is layed out for backhanders and forehanders alike and there are also some holes where a tomahawk is a great choice off the tee. Skip shots and low skidders are also very useful on a few of the holes. All Am players should be moderately challenged by this course. Pro players may find that many of the holes are not too challenging due to lack of distance and obstacles. However, the 444' finishing hole, where a pinpoint backhand tee shot is needed with big time "D" in order to have a chance at birdie, should be a challenge even for pros Also, the 363' tunnel shot off the tee on #7 should present a good Pro challenge with the creek laying 15' behind the basket and not much room in the fairway to flex out a backhand.
Cons: Needs either more pin locations or more tees on certain holes to change things up. Needs signs asap for new players!! Tee's are probably not going to hold up over time, but for now they working so so.
Other Thoughts: If you like excercise, the course walk through is right at 1 mile so, 24 holes would be a nice 2 mile workout!! I hope that the interest level will increase among local players so that we will can aproach the city about puting in a full course in the future. I think that when we decide to do a tourney, we can use the entire creek canal as o.b. versus just the water and add a huge degree of difficulty to the course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Highly recommend this course!!

5+    11/2/2010   11/3/2010
Review By: allent
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Given the area the designers had to work with, I think this is a fantastic course! Though only moderately wooded, almost every hole has a "throwing lane" or sometimes a few different choices depending on how you prefer to shape your shots. However, there are definitely holes that will get nearly any player out of his or her comfort zone and require a shot that goes the opposite of your preference. There are a few shorter holes that aren't terribly difficult to give the kids and shorter throwers a chance at a birdie here and there, but a few tight and/or longer holes to challenge even the most seasoned player. This is an extremely well-rounded, not too easy, but not too hard course that should provide enjoyment for any level player. The park itself is beautiful and the creek wondering through gives you just one more thing to think about on 8 of the holes. This course is only a week and a half old as of the writing of this review, but it seems to me that it is only going to improve over time. Give this course a try if you live in the area or find yourself nearby. If you're like me, you'll find yourself wanting to go around a 2nd time (maybe even a 3rd) because the course seems like it should be easier than it actually plays. Hope to see you out there soon!
Cons: Being a new course, there are a number of improvements that can be made to this course, but I understand that most are in the works. There are a few places where "Next Tee" signs need to be put up and I'll give some help with navigating the course down in the "Other Thoughts" portion of the review. The baskets are labeled with numbers, but it would also be helpful if the tees were numbered as well to help insure that you're playing the correct hole. I also would like to see a few benches scattered around at a few tees and signs that have the hole number, distance, par, and a visual of the hole layout at each tee box (maybe even with hooks to hang your bag). There is a bridge that appears to be being built to help cross the creek on #7, so that will help as well, especially with those of you with pull carts or who might occasionally have the little one along for the round in a stroller (like me). The tee boxes are not my favorite, I'm still partial to good old concrete myself, but I hear that the designers were looking for something a little more eco-friendly and used a tee box design that Innova has started using on some of their courses. I think these will get better with some use (and maybe some rain) to pack them down a little better.
Other Thoughts: This course is new and some of the park-goers aren't really aware that the course is there or what it's all about, so you may need to politely explain what's going on and ask them to move out of range. Everyone I've talked to at this course has been very nice and understanding and I think this will get better as time goes by and more people play the course. Follow the directions on the profile to the first tee and here is some help navigating the course until the 'Next Tee" signs are put up: After you finish #1, walk downhill toward the creek and a little away from the 1st tee box to the 2nd tee. After finishing 2, walk up hill toward the street and to the left a little to the 3rd tee box. After finishing 3, turn the corner around the tree cluster to the #4 tee box on the other side. This one is tough to see the pin, so you may want to walk up a bit to see it, or take notice of it when you finish at 2. It's not quite to the bridge and about 15 yds or so past the trees that are straight away from the tee box. There's a fairly tight forehand lane out over the creek and around or you'll need your backhand to come in from the right under the branches to get close to the pin. From there, cross the bridge and you should see the #5 tee box straight away on the other side. This pin is not visible at all from the tee box, but it is around to the left over the creek straight away and on the edge of the creek behind it. If you walk off the tee box to the right and up a little you can see it. From there walk away from the creek and toward the road and you'll see the 6 tee. You'll see the basket on this one, but the transition from this one to the 7 tee box is about the trickiest on the course. Just walk toward the playground and around the right side to the tee. The pin is straight away through the narrow opening in the trees by the creek and sits with the other part of the creek right behind the basket. From there turn around and walk away from the creek behind the basket and toward the other branch that you just came over (the tee box for 7 will be back to your left at this point) and you'll see the other bridge off to your right. The 8 tee is right on the bank of the creek and your throwing toward the bridge with the #8 basket on the other side of the same creek past the bridge. After you finish 8, walk toward the road and use the sidewalk to cross over the creek and you'll see the #9 tee right by the sidewalk. After finishing 9, walk toward the creek behind it that cuts the park in half and you'll see the #10 tee. 10 parallels the creek and you'll see the basket straight away. Go on beyond that 10 basket when you're done to see the 11 tee box. You'll be throwing up the hill to a basket right in front of a bed of azaleas. Go to your right once you finish 11 and back down hill a little to the tee box for 12. The #12 basket is up the hill on the other side of the creek and about 450 ft. away. I can't wait to see somebody drive that bad boy, but it won't be me any time soon. I'm just happy if I can clear the creek and have an open 100 ft. approach shot for my 2nd. I know that's a bunch of info., but I hope is helps someone out. Definitely give this course a try...it's a great time!!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.