Thomasville, GA 
MacIntyre Park DGC - Adv. 12 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 246ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    12/20/2015   12/21/2015
Review By: HelloPoodles
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * For all but advanced players, this course has just the right amount of distance. The average is 309 ft., meaning intermediate players can strive for birdies on most everything, and rec players get encouraged by picking up the occasional birdie on the short holes too.
* To me, this course has the perfect amount of trees. Every basket has a line that a good throw can get results on; nowhere do you have to just blindly throw and hope your discs makes it miraculously through (too much of that here in Georgia!). Yet there are enough trees to make it challenging - I had my first "moss rejected" approach shot playing here!
* The creek is used to good advantage by adding interest to the greens; the "death putts" really aren't that intimidating because the creek is at most only ankle deep (with one exception noted in Cons). I nearly made it three rounds before dropping it in the creek and I could still get to it without getting my feet wet.
* Good variety of throws required - you've got a tunnel shot, decently long RHFH and RHBH throws on 1 & 12 respectively, an elevated basket on 2, a few handful of shorter BH & FH throws, plus the death putts. I'm terrible at flicks beyond 250 feet and that comes in very handy here; but as a good course should, MacIntyre punishes your weaknesses and rewards your skills.
* Nice signs showing location of next basket. I printed off a map but forgot it at home. Yes, I got a little confused first time through, but of the 25 courses I've played this is definitely one of the easiest to navigate.
* Excellent use of the land available. You can pretty much see the entire course standing from anywhere in the park, yet the course doesn't feel cramped and the distances are as long as courses with four times the land to work with. The designers are to be commended.
* Very scenic in a classic South Georgia kind of way. You cannot beat live oaks on a disc golf course.
* Only 12 holes - yes, that's right, I'm calling that a PRO because that means nobody felt the need to add a handful of crummy holes just to reach 18. These 12 holes feel like just the right number within the limits of the park.
Cons: * I only saw one true disc stealin' part of the creek and that's where it enters from the left on the final hole. Be careful not to let your disc fade too far to the left or you might not get it back.
* The course would be pretty difficult to play if other park goers were present. I had it more or less to myself on what was a (relatively) cold day in Thomasville but I can imagine a nice day rendering this one unplayable.
* #6 is a little close to the road, so if some idiot with a weak-ass forehand has a "WTF Richard" moment, he could very well send it skidding into the road. Not that I would have done that, of course, and I resemble that implication...Errr, I mean resent that implication...
Other Thoughts: #12 is a really great way to end the course. You can throw a safe shot short of the creek and have a decent shot at par still, or you can go all out from the tee pad and try to land it near the basket, but it's going to take excellent accuracy. Love a hole that requires some strategic thinking (#1 also has elements of this,too).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Donít Judge a Book by Its Cover!

2-4    7/28/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: MacIntyre Park DGC is a really well designed course that makes awesome use of the landscape. The course is deceptively challenging and will force you to shape shots in order to score. The course is on a beautiful little city park in the middle of an old southern town. The majestic live oaks, big longleaf pines and park setting really create a beautiful place to play. MacIntyre Park DGC also is designed with lots of water holes and OB to punish bad throws. The good thing is that the water comes in the form of little streams. So, even though you will be punished, you have little chance of actually losing a $15 piece of plastic or a beloved broken-in disc. The distances are far enough to force a good drive in order to score. As an 875 player who throws 265-285' on most drives, I really had very few birdie holes available. The course was just long enough to challenge me just to make par and get a couple birdies. A person who can drive a controlled, 330-350' will have birdie try's on 75% of the holes.
Cons: I always hate to give negatives on a course; especially on one that is close to home. However, in a perfect world, there are negatives or it would be a five star, world-class course. The biggest complaint is that the course is only twelve holes. Given the limited space the designers had to work with, the course can also seem a little crowded when the course is full. The teepads are also a little short. Taller people or players with a long approach may feel they have to shorten up their strike to stay on the pad. This wasn't a problem for me, but it is worth pointing out. Finally, there are no bathroom facilities or places to fill a water bottle.
Other Thoughts: When I first saw MacIntyre Park DGC, I thought "pretty park, this should be easy;" I was wrong. While beautiful, the course is very well thought out and will force you to throw good shots. Most of the greens are guarded by sweeping live oak lives, azaleas, shrubs or OB streams. MacIntyre Park DGC also plays longer than you would think. You really can't just bomb and putt. You either hit your groove or you will get a par or worse. During a recent tournament, I went OB 2 out of 3 times on hole seven. It is not that the hole was that long or complicated, but the shot looked just easy enough to "go for it". Then, you hit a limb or fail to keep it low enough and "bloop" you are in the stream/OB. To me this hole sums up MacIntyre Park DGC. Deceptive! MacIntyre Park DGC is a really nice little course. In fact if it had 18 holes, I would give it 4.0 stars.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Easy like Sunday Mornin'

1    3/11/2012   3/20/2012
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the prettiest little courses you will ever play, live oaks all over the city park with SO MANY FLOWERS in full bloom right now. Seriously, the scenery alone has to be worth a disc or two, I can't wait to get back and see it again!

For 12 holes, there is solid shot variety here, there is a small stream running through the entire course that comes into play very often for some very cool shot shapes, i got to throw some huge spikes around some of the trees that would just land left of the stream due to the pin positions being pretty fun out here!

So yeah, the design for this thing is Grade A badass, I really have no complaints about any of the holes.

Also some of the best Tee signs i've ever seen along with some very nice teepads, I wish my local course had these signs.

Drew some metal on hole #5, a very cool mando hole with the pin up against some bushes with danger left and long.

The greens on this course are amazing, hole number three is beautiful. It has the live oak branches hanging down in multiple tiers with the pin maybe 40 feet or so behind the first one, you have to keep your drive low, but you can't go long, you'll hop OB into the stream, very risk/reward type play and I love it.
Cons: 12 Freaking holes.

Out in the middle of nowhere(Thomasville)

Other Thoughts: Those are the only two real cons, I wish this was a full 18 but I understand why it's 12, I feel like they truly used the land to the best of their abilities. This course is so unique and cool that if you're within 45 minutes on a drive, stop by and play, you will not regret it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Big Mac (Intyre)

1    1/31/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 894  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice map at the first tee with the map of the park along with the distances of each hole.

2) Benches in a few places during the round. Not always associated with the disc golf course but close enough to have a seat from time to time.

3) Unique property with the creek that runs right through the middle of the park. The design incorporated the creek into many holes and it creates some interesting and unique shots and basket locations.

4) Concrete tees framed by 2x4's . . . although a little small this course is not overly long so you do not need a long runup usually.

5) Slight elevation change on half of the holes . . . early on your are heading downhill then, you play a few flatter holes and then finally at the end you go back up the hill to the corner of the park. Nothing is drastic but it makes you adjust your shot just slightly.

6) Beginner friendly course because it is not overly long and there is very little chance of losing a disc.

7) While the overall length of the course I not terribly long (300' average) there is still a constant challenge on each hole, whether it be the creek, the basket location, the low hanging trees. There is always something to consider when throwing your drive and upshots. Many times you have to think about your putts too because if you miss it might go down the hill into a creek.

8) Nice newer discatchers are welcomed in this park because the yellow band really helps locate your basket.

9) Nice teesigns at each tee help with navigation too (because you can look for the signs from each basket), especially with some smaller concrete teepads in the middle of the course (which are used for the 18 hole recreational object course).

10) Lots of shot making required on this course because of the creeks and the proximity to the basket. It also forces you to throw multiple shots because of the low ceiling on a couple holes. There are also plenty of obstacles that force certain throws or at least eliminate some throw possibilities.
Cons: 1) Overlapping layouts may confuse people. Hopefully it doesn't become a safety issue having people throwing all over the place out here. I am not sure how many people use the park for disc golf, but the park users could be even more confused about our game with some people throwing to posts and some people throwing to baskets.

2) The teepads seem to get a little sandy which makes them slippery. With the sandy soil around here I understand why it happens, it would be nice if there was a broom or the tees were blown off.

3) The teepads are also just a little bit short. I can manage but I am a short person 5'6" so I don't need more room for a full runup.

4) Routing on the course is not always intuitive and it can get confusing every so often.

5) No bathrooms available on the course or in the park.


Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course and I actually drove out of the way to play it because it allowed me to play 2 courses really quickly in the morning before heading to Florida. I didn't realize the other course was going to be an object course, but that was just fine truthfully.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.