Course Extinct
Randolph, ME 
LaVallee Links Disc Golf - Streamside Share
Uploaded By: timg  
Course Sign



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice challenge

1    8/26/2011   10/24/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 762  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is the most challenging of the three on this property, and has the best mix of different types of tests for your skills. There are some open bombs that mostly reward long shots with decent placement, technical wooded holes from ace runs to a 700'+ wooded tunnel, and some great water shots along the river. I really enjoyed the risk reward shots that offered a line over the water vs. a tighter but safer line over land, and the island hole was a nice touch.

You'll need all kinds of different shots here, with a good mix of left and right turning holes, and a nice variety of hole lengths. The concrete pads are nice and textured, with plenty of room on the long holes. The tee signs here are top notch, with hole maps and distances. The color coded baskets are a nice touch to distinguish the different courses.
Cons: There are some steep muddy hills on this course like on the other courses here, and some are already showing some erosion problems. A few areas around the creek were pretty muddy, and there was some long grass on some of the open fairways. This course felt the least broken in of the three, a little more work and some more traffic will make it feel more complete.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this one pretty tough, with length, tight shots, and several water shots. The other two courses are available for newer players who might not have as much fun on this one. More experienced players will find a lot of variety and challenge here, and will need to bring their full bag of shots to score well.

This complex is definitely worth a stop, especially since it seems like it will only continue to improve. With three great courses in the ground and a family friendly loop coming soon, there's something for everyone here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Water-Tight - Yea or Nay?

1    6/24/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
On same site as two other 18=hole courses, all sharing a common tee-1 and tee-18 area. Colour-coded baskets and natural flow made the course easy to navigate. Tee areas containing all the essentials - flat, concrete teepads, signs, benches, trash receptacles. The first few holes are very nicely presented, surrounded by red-tinted mulch and an outer rim of large stones.
Cons:
Baskets and/or fairways of holes 9-13 play extremely close/over a clear, but wide, deep, and fast-moving stream. Holes at the bottom of the ridge leading to the stream extremely wet.
Other Thoughts:
Fairly open and long at the start, then 1100', open-practically-the-entire-way #5 takes you to the edge of the trees/ridge, while gently-descending 777' #7 leads you down the ridge along a tree-defined path to the stream. After enjoying/suffering the water holes, there are a couple of holes that play through the trees at the bottom of the ridge, then #16 takes you straight up, regaining most of the elevation, with sharp left-turning start-in-woods-end-in-open #17 gaining the remainder.

Favourite hole: #6. A sweeping right-turner, staring open, entering an initially broad but then narrowing arc into the woods, with a small left needed to reach the basket guarded by scattered trees in front.

Least favourite hole: #12. Basket sits on the edge of the bank of the stream, with shule directly behind it.

The complex is still a work in progress - trees were being cut-n-cleared the day I was playing. While mulch and wood chips have been laid down in many areas, much more needs to be placed on the damp areas near/at the bottom of the ridge. Certainly worth a visit, and $10 to play the three courses all day seems reasonable.

Your attitude towards water and potential disc loss will greatly affect your opinion of this course, as it potentially comes into play on nearly 1/3rd of the holes.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Better than Sabattus

1    6/7/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: MDeezy
Played: 82  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful one of a kind, highly visible, Kingpin baskets! Probably the best 18 hole course I have played. Beautiful creeks and streams are picturesque, with nice wooden bridges. Great signs at every hole, benches and brooms at most. Great greens, great fairways, and huge cement tee pads. Offers a wide variety of shots using woods, elevation, and water. Multi-use tee pads, and circle tee pads. Hole 5 doubles as a driving range with signs every 50' up to 400' .
Cons: Bugs were hungry when I played, don't forget the bug spray. I encountered mosquitos, flies, and ticks. Fairways on holes 3, 4, and 5 were a little wet in spots (found out from Dr. LaVallee that soil had been removed here). Good chance of losing discs.
Other Thoughts: Best 18 hole course I have played to date. Streamside makes LaVallee Links what it is. When visiting Maine I played Sabattus and LaValle Links. Sabattus had a nicer pro shop, but LaValle was a better course overall. I would finish an amazing hole, and the next would be even better. The greens on holes 1, 3, and 6 were one of a kind with stone lining and red bark. Hole 5 was huge at 1101' and doubled as a driving range. Holes 11 and 13 were amazing, as they played over and around the stream/river (hole 13 has a pin placement on an island). Even a short hole, like hole 8, was made difficult by placing the basket on a knife like ridge. I also got a chance to meet and talk to Dr. LaVallee and hear what went into making this course a success. His dedication, despite the ups and downs he's had, made me appreciate LaVallee Links much more. This course is fairly new, and is only going to get better!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What Dreams are Made of

1    6/8/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: Star Destraayer
Played: 87  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Utterly fantastic! Like the rest of LaValle Links, Excellent Tee pads,landscaping, signs, benches, and baskets that flow through a mix of beautiful forests and unique open meadows. Lots of care and creativity went into this course making any opportunity of what would otherwise be ordinary into extraordinary. The 'stream' holes are breath taking and a blast to play (I lost two discs on them, but couldn't care less.) Many challenges are found here with signature holes that will test your accuracy and distance. Extreme elevation changes make for a memorable experience that is hard to top. It's hard to think that this course has only been open for 10 months!
Cons: The only con is that this course is a thousand miles from my home.
Other Thoughts: This 18 hole course is the best I have ever played; and if you check my profile, I have played some awesome courses. Some of the holes were so beautiful that they didn't even need to be disc golf holes for me to enjoy their splendor. It plays much longer and timelier than either "Ridgeline" or "Riverview". My friend and I took about 2:45 mins to play it with no completing traffic. Truly the best that LaValle links has to offer; and probably the state of Maine. Bring bug spray and a CAMERA!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  a gem tucked away in maine

5+    12/22/2010   2/23/2011
Review By: beatz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: there are many pro's. From the long bomb holes to the go big or go home drives, or the fact you get to play along side a running stream. or the much needed touch shots. The course demands all your shots and it will challenge you every round and demand you to grow your game.
Cons: not many, no pro shop is my only con. However its still new and with plans of a pro shop in the next year.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  LaVallee Links shooting to the top

5+    11/17/2010   2/17/2011
Review By: aquaholic
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course quickly became my favorite course in maine due to many reasons. its shear size is impressive however it is largest course in New England with 3 18 hole courses none of which share baskets. Barring the fact they built all three courses in under six months so it is most definately not "polished" yet I was very impressed with what they had accomplished in such a short time. Everything is to top notch here. The Tee Signs are the most elaborate I have ever seen on any course in New England and the Tee Pads are also magnificent looking and very grippy. The tee pads range in length from 8', 10, 12, and are grow larger with a larger par. They even have new england's largest Tee pad at 16 feet in length. They incorporated a great deal of hardscaping with boulders to create mulched greens which I have never had a chance to play before.

You will need every shot in your bag to play the streamside course and plan on close to two hours to play it. The holes along the stream are amazing in aesthetics as well as challenge. They even have a natural island hole in the middle of the stream with a 40 foot aluminum bridge built to it. I found this to be the only course in Maine that utilizes a great deal elevation changes which gives the game a whole new dynamic. On one of their courses they have a 98 log staircase going down for a great bomb shot.
-benches, trash cans and brooms on every Tee pad.
-Beauty of a course with tons of tasteful landscaping and hardscaping and is well maintained.
-every time I play even on a Sunday their are always workers chipping brush or working on a project.
-great signage throughout the course, It would be pretty hard to get lost.
- color coded baskets for the three courses so you can not accidently shoot to the wrong one.
-great flow, no long hikes between basket and Tees. good mix of long and short holes.
-Fantastic use of elevation on holes.
-most courses may have one signature hole, This place has atleast 5 or six.-
-
Cons: Really not any cons, its new so it is not finished so it still needs some work. its a dollar or two more then the other courses but well worth it.
Other Thoughts: Bring a camera the stream areas are gorgeous

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 LaValle Emerging as a Top Spot

5+    11/20/2010   11/24/2010
Review By: Mr. Blue
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With 3 courses at this facility, There is a course to meet every skill level. There's also every shot in the bag out there as well.
Cons: Before getting into the valley itself, there are a few holes with some safety concerns designwise. While I've not run into problems there before, I would like to see more guardian trees to limit the possiblitiy of being bombed by wayward drives, and the terrain can be a bit rough in areas, but this will get better as it gets beaten in.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you leave plenty of room in your bag for a good camera. This place is photo ready. My son and I have both played all 3 courses. The Pro Course is top notch with more D than I've seen anywhere else in the state thus far. The intermediate course is an excellent blend of distance and tightness. The beginners course is a total birdie fest, but the elevation changes provide plenty of challenge even for the pros. Give this course a year, and it is going to be spectacular. If you are up this way, I believe this course is a MUST PLAY! The owners are class people, and the locals are knowledgable and always willing to join you for a round!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.