Randolph, ME 
LaVallee Links Disc Golf - Ridgeline Share
Uploaded By: MDeezy Hole #14 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 147ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Not what I was expecting

1    7/19/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: Jlatter
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The tee pads were very good and the signs were easy to understand in the woods. There were benches, ash trays, and recycle containers at every hole
Cons: While Ridge Line may say it is a beginner course that could not be further from the truth, It was a tough course with very tough terrain. Everything really seemed over grown and it was difficult to find discs in an open field let alone the woods. If you miss the fairway is some spots you will have to scratch the heck out of your legs on thorns and thistles just to have a chance to recover a disc. . I can understand why, the course is huge for one man to take care of. The signs off tee pad one were very confusing due to the stolen baskets and changed pin locations.
Other Thoughts: The owner said he was changing some of the courses around because people have complained they are too hard. This course is in transition and needs a lot of work. I only travel to Maine once a year and with all the our courses to choose from we will not be back to this one for a while. We were lured in by a great website with amazing pictures and showed up to something totally different. All in all I think the guy has a good idea, but the course has not lived up to it yet.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of fun

1    8/26/2011   10/18/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course begins and ends with a couple open holes, but spends the majority of the time in thick woods. Nearly every hole plays up, down or across steep slopes with roll away potential along the fairway and on most greens. The ridges and ravines make for some very cool terrain, and it's used well to make most of the shots interesting and challenging. I like terrain around baskets that really makes you plan your approach to avoid long rolls.

There is a nice variety of left, right and straight holes, and a great mix of uphill and downhill shots along with some cool cross valley shots. The signage is excellent, with color coded tees and signs that distinguish the three courses and detailed hole maps with distance. The course is easy to follow with nice flow. This is a very fun complex, with three nice courses and great scenery and terrain.
Cons: The open holes are a bit lame on this course. They're mostly fillers to get to and from the woods, but that makes the beginning and end of the round a little disappointing. The other two courses use some water hazards to keep them more interesting, but I understand not wanting to do that on the beginner course. I love the little tricky ace runs in the woods, but I could see it getting repetitive if you played this course much, all the distances are pretty similar. If you have mobility problems, this course and the complex as a whole could be a bit dangerous with steep slopes that could get muddy.
Other Thoughts: I had a blast at this complex, there are three courses with different feels and different difficulty levels. This one is the most beginner friendly, it's technical but short and fun so anyone who can handle steep hills will have a good time here. More experienced players will have a great time shooting for aces with putters or superclass lids here, it's not all that challenging but it is a lot of fun.

The owner is planning a more "stroller friendly" layout using only the holes up in the meadows, this will offer a place to play for people with mobility issues or with young kids. I would definitely make a stop here if you're in the area!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing

1    6/24/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
On same site as two other 18=hole courses, all sharing a common tee-1 and tee-18 area. Colour-coded baskets and natural flow made the course easy to navigate. Tee areas containing all the essentials - flat, concrete teepads, signs, benches, trash receptacles.
Cons:
Fairways 6-9 quite near each other. Lots of walking up-n-down a steep, slippery ridge - walking stick advised.
Other Thoughts:
With 13 of the 18 holes under 200', and only the first and last open holes having any significant length, the distances on this course say "beginner", and the first five holes, initially open, then entering the broad paths leading to the trees at the top of a ridge confirm this impression. Holes 6-9 are short touch shots back-n-forth across a tree-filled ridge, the type where beginners would likely end up in one another's fairways. The next several holes are where the course becomes much tougher - longer shots with alternating elevation changes, requiring sharper turns to reach extremely fast greens. By the time you climb back out into the open, you'll have endured quite a workout - it took me longer to play this 3600' course than the co-located 5000' or 7000' courses!

The complex is still a work in progress - trees were being cut-n-cleared the day I was playing. While mulch and wood chips have been laid down in many areas, much more needs to be placed on the damp areas near/at the bottom of the ridge. Certainly worth a visit, and $10 to play the three courses all day seems reasonable.

If you like the challenge of throwing touch shots towards fast greens, and simultaneously having an aerobic workout, with all the up-n-down scrambling, the middle section of this course is designed for specifically for you.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not just for beginners

1    6/7/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: MDeezy
Played: 82  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful one of a kind matching baskets! Great signs at every hole, benches at most, and "next tee" signs so you wont get lost. Elevation plays on almost every hole, and fairways are well kept. Many stone lined creeks and streams traverse through Ridgeline and come in and out of play. Quickest and shortest at LaVallee, which makes it great for beginners or a great warm up.
Cons: Bugs were hungry, don't forget your bug spray. I encountered mosquitos, flies, and ticks. Some holes run close to each other, could be a problem when the course is busy. Elevation can be steep, might not be for everyone. If your putting is not accurate, you might get frustrated with some of the dangerous pin placements.
Other Thoughts: This course is marked "beginner" but I would say it is far from that. Although it is the easiest and shortest (most holes less than 200'), it still can be a challenge for experienced players. The unique pin placements and elevation require accurate putting and placement. A missed putt can easily turn a birdie into a bogey, and "roll-aways" are common. Even open holes aren't open, they are dotted with trees, water, and elevation (1,2,18). I thought Ridgeline was a great way to start a round at LaVallee.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Introduction

1    6/8/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: Star Destraayer
Played: 87  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mix of open holes that meander into picturesque forests shots. Lots of elevation changes that cause tempting ace runs and birdie putts to become trouble par and boogie putts. Very well marked out course with outstanding signs, tee pads, and baskets. The terrain is well taken advantage of with many shots over small rocky streams and excellent basket placements. A fantastic introduction to the rest of LaValle Links.
Cons: Not many to be sad here. Wood chipping is still in process, but it doesn't interfere with the play of the course. James wanted to apologize for not having the chipping not finished yet, but I didn't see any reason to apologize. Others would say that some holes play to close, but it is a 'beginner' course and so the proximity works well.
Other Thoughts: This course has all the characteristics that the rest of what LaValle Links has to offer, matching colored KingPins, great signs, tee pads, and benches. The play of the course moves fast (about 1:45 mins) and gives you gleamers of what's to come. Make sure to bring bug spray. I'm from MI and LaValle Links was one of two course complexes I came out here to play. Totally worth! Don't sleep on LaValle Links!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Still a baby...

1    5/22/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: Everett Evans
Played: 63  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 21.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great workout
Many, many ace runs
Fun elevation changes (like a more heavily wooded Devens)
Most holes short enough for most players (130' - 180')
Part of the LaVallee Links complex, with two other courses on site.
Cons: Although the holes are designed for beginners, the topography and lack of steps at this stage really limit the course to those with a good endurance/fitness level. Unlike the Owl at Sabattus, which is geared towards kids and families, Ridgeline is NOT kid/elderly friendly (at this point, it is still very new). Most holes require some amount of clambering up or down extremely steep slopes, with no stairs, etc. Due to the recent rain, it was actually pretty dangerous at times to traverse many of the holes.

Many of the holes, although short, had a huge element of danger due to the extreme drop-offs near the baskets. A guy playing behind us missed a short putt on one hole (#13, I think) and must have rolled 100' down a steep wooded hill into a ravine (much to the delight of his friends).

Several of the holes required little skill and a lot of luck. A very simple 150' shot with a wide fairway, basically right in front of you, but the basket is hanging on the edge of the ravine, so out of 10 shots right at the basket, 3 might stay put for drop-ins, 3 might slide down 10-15' for a tough putt over your head, and the other 4 might roll 50' back down the hill. That gets a little tired after a while.

New, new, new. Still tons of brush piles, logs, much work to come before it is a finished course (but great potential).
Other Thoughts: So, still very new, and after many hours of chipping, cleanup and carving steps/ladders/ropes into the sides of the hills it will be great. I look forward to checking it out in years to come. Met Dr. LaVallee, who seems very dedicated to making LaVallee links the best in the area. Good luck!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.