Spartanburg, SC 
Wofford College DGC Share
Uploaded By: atay87 Hole #7 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Surprisingly Sweet

1    5/23/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 64  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I can only image that when daylights savings hits and the temperatures climb that this course is unplayable due to all the students lounging around. The place was quite beautiful! Lush grass, rolling hills, huge cedars and fir trees (I think they are fir). Plus a scenic little brook running through it.

There's also some nice grip-and-rip (for us short armed dudes) and some tricky uphill/downhill shots. Not anything we were expecting.

Now, hole 1 and it's lenght of 85' was what I expected. hole 2 is a tricky hzyer shot or 'take the short gap and hope to poke throught the trees.

Hole 3 was a short down hill putter//midrang, but with a sidewalk behind it. We never found the #4 tee markers, think they had been pulled up, but found where folks were playing from. starting with #4, it's basically up hill/ downhill (it's not a big piece of land) with hole 9 being probably 400+, so finally a true grip and rip.
Cons: For what this is, none really. Was a tad confusing to navigate with all the baskets within sight.
Other Thoughts: Might want to bring a picnic basket and blanket. The fairways were just that lush.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Solid course at Wofford College

1    4/18/2015   4/19/2015
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wofford College's nine-hole course is very solid. Take a pleasant walk through some scenic parts of the campus, throw in some baskets, and you have this enjoyable course.
- For what is offered here, and what the designers had to work with, Wofford's course is as close to perfect as you can expect. This is a thoroughly enjoyable course.
- Perhaps the best selling point here is the ascetics. You start out with some classic collegiate buildings, throw in the football stadium/Panthers training camp site across the street and the garden-like feel of holes #3 - 6, and you've got plenty to admire throughout. I actually felt like the baskets for #3 & 4 take away from the scenery in this part of campus.
- There are some enjoyable holes. Let's make it perfectly clear: there is nothing special or over-the-top difficult with any of these holes. Rather, you get nine decent holes in a row. And for any beginner-friendly course, that's the intended goal every time.
- Good flow to the course. You start and finish at the parking lot, with the first hole being a short warm-up hole and #9 being the longest, most difficult one on the course. Throw in a little elevation on holes #4 - 6, doglegs (#2 & 7), birdie/ace runs (#1 & 3), and challenge (#8 & 9), and this course will appeal to first timers up to the average player. Pros will have a field day here. For everyone else, you could do much worse with 30 minutes of your time.
- Great course for beginners. If you want to make a positive impression on somebody playing disc golf for the first time, this is the type of course I would use as an introduction. There isn't much overlap with other campus activities - unless students use the grassy fields to relax - and there's virtually no chance of losing a disc. Other than a horrible shot on #9 or some other fluke throw, very little chance of ending up in the road or hitting something that will require explaining. Throw in the scenery, and you should be able to make that positive impression!
Cons: Just a couple nitpicking things. Otherwise, this course is very close to reaching its apex.
- Hole distances listed on this website (and Wofford's as well) are incorrect on several holes. #2 was by far the worst offenders. Hole is listed at 244 feet, and that's off by maybe 100 feet, if not more. #1 & 4 also seem to be off somewhat, with the first hole wrong by maybe 40 - 60 feet.
- Basket for #5 is bent. They've got a bunch of ropes and pulleys being used to keep the basket somewhat upright. They're basically holding out until they need to purchase a new basket. Also, the tee markers for #5 are gone, but it's very easy to see the worn tee area close to #4's basket.
- The tee marker for #9 was a pain to locate. It almost seems like the tee markers were moved/tossed aside and forgotten about. The one found marker was in the pine needles of a small tree right at the corner of Cummings and McDowell. Based on the location of the one marker, I doubt that's the correct location.
- A couple holes could be made more difficult. I'd like to see #5 lengthened by pushing the basket further back. Move the baskets or tee pads on other holes would add a little more difficulty.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed Wofford's course. It's a pleasant, quick round. Holes #1 - 8 are all easy 3s. At least you have to work to get a 3 on the closing hole.
- I'm all about growing the sport and seeing more courses/baskets. That said, due to the beauty of the area, I would redesign the hole for #4. Throwing over the walking path, and being so close to a garden/flowering area seems like a correctable situation. I loved teeing off on that hole, don't get me wrong. It just seemed like having a disc golf basket and a worn spot in the grass (from the tee area) could eventually lead to complaints.
- This is a very easy course to navigate. After finding the first hole, it was easy spotting every tee and basket until the slight hiccup on #9.
- This course is not elite level. It's very solid for being a beginner-level course. Having played so many poor nine-holers that are supposed to be beginner-friendly, this course gets things right. Throw in having so many great 18-holers close by (Pipeline, Va-Du-Mar, Tyger), this course is a great stepping stone for college students.
- This course is a solid 1.5 in my book, which is my average rating for nine-holers. I was thinking about giving it a 2.0, but due to the lack of difficulty, it falls just short of that criteria. That said, I would be happy to play this course again were I in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wofford College DGC

1    7/1/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Beautifully landscaped college campus setting
- The manicured grass will make you want to play barefoot
- Fairly open but lots of trees to make you shape your shots
- Excellent use of the available space
- Nice rolling elevation on every hole
- Simple PVC pipes denoting the tee pads make the course layout easy to follow
- Shiny new Discatcher baskets
Cons:
- No amenities such as benches, baskets, tee pads or tee signs
- #7 and #8 fairways cross over one another
- Looks like there would be lots of conflicts with pedestrians and limited parking when school is in session
- Numerous cedar trees that will eat your discs (I actually like this hazard even though I lost my favorite driver)
Other Thoughts: Many on-campus disc golf courses are hastily thrown together and present little challenge or enjoyment. This is not the case at Wofford College. First off, the course plays through a beautifully landscaped setting that feels more like a botanical garden than a disc golf course. I can't explain how it is to play on a lush green carpet of manicured grass. The tee pads are natural and are denoted by a pair of PVC pipes (one with the hole number, one with the par). There is no rough to speak of, although several well positioned trees--including disc-eating cedars--will make you think before you throw. The posted pars seem way high, but that aside, there is enough challenge here to make for an enjoyable quick round. I would love to have a course like this in my local area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Potential Gem

2-4    6/30/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: JBryant
Played: 89  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wofford College DGC is a potential masterpiece. The setting is a tranquil park with trees and shade.

Course has it all, lush grass, mature trees, and great elevation.

Can be a challenge on windy days. Some holes require finesse shots.

Entire game required here: Long/Short Holes and evenly split between RHBH and LHBH.

Not crowded at all. I saw no other DGers. If Wofford College promotes it this has the potential to be a disc golf "must play"
Cons: Cons: Well there are a lot! First, the college and/or the students of the college have moved tee boxes. The original layout was different than when I played. This is due to the college not allowing permanent tee boxes. This poses dangerous consequences to disc golfers as many holes overlap. There can be a simple remedy to the problem but if tee box markers are too easy to pull up it won't make much of a difference.

No bathrooms or trashcans. I saw trash on this beautiful park when I was there. I would of picked it up but again no trashcans. Bring your own water as there are no water fountains.

No signage at the tees. I don't mind the natural tee box if it is not wet but you need signs. If they were permanent and unmovable this would eliminate the college or students rearranging the course. No footage marked. As it stands right now there are pipes staked in the ground. All pipes, despite being heavy, could easily be moved which means anyone could take the tees or edit holes at will (which has been done)

The park is much bigger and as you walk it you can see how holes could be rearranged to make it a FREAK of a disc golf course. Sadly I don't see it happening.
Other Thoughts: Here are my suggestions in order of hole. Hole 1 is fine the way it is. From hole 1 basket go left towards parking lot across walking path to place hole 2 tee. Move hole 2 basket out to the right and back some. This would remedy the guys house being in the way. Hole 3 is fine. Hole 4 is a awesome hole. Move hole 5 tee to the left, forcing an anhyzer shot down to the basket. This would eliminate the crossing of fairways and still let 5 be a great hole (still signature hole in my opinion). Hole 6 could then remain where it is. Hole 7 basket needs to be moved left to group of three trees. Hole 8 tee box moved left forcing another sweet anyhyzer shot otherwise move hole 8 basket slightly left. Then hole 9 tee box moved up and and keep basket where it is.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Park

2-4    1/8/2011   1/9/2011
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 115  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wofford College DGC is a fun course in the middle of a college campus in downtown Spartanburg. The course itself plays on a combination of overflow college football parking and a beautiful park.

Well maintained area with manicured grass, tall evergreen trees, large rocks, and a flowing stream. Great elevation!

One of the more challenging 9-hole courses I've played. Good mix of tighter, more technical holes and longer, open sloping fairways.

Great scenery at the park and also a good view of the Spartanburg cityscape in the background.

There are a variety of shots required to do well. Holes evenly split between RHBH and LHBH.

Not crowded at all. I saw no other DGers on a Saturday afternoon. This may not hold true when the weather is better and the wind isn't so strong.

There are a couple of unforgettable holes on this course (#3 and #4), but Hole #5 is now in the top 3 favorite holes I've played. This is definitely the signature hole of the course and makes it worth the stop.
Cons: This course is DANGEROUS! If other groups were playing nearby you would definitely have to wait to throw due to the close proximity of tees and baskets. Many fairways are parallel to one another, but fairways #6 and #7 actually cross one another. Hole #2 has someone's house on the side of the fairway <25' from the basket.

The amenities are definitely lacking at this course. There are no bathrooms, trash cans, nor running water available to DGers.

No signage anywhere on the course. Instead of signs, there are thick PBC pipes filled with concrete with a metal stake that mark the tees. These list the hole #'s and "Pars" which were generous. None of the pipe tees included the distance and some of the pipes were fallen over while I was there. All pipes, despite being heavy, could easily be moved which means anyone could take the tees or edit holes at will.

The course does not use a significant portion of the park and the stream only comes into play on one hole.
Other Thoughts: My course reviews are done in a bulleted format to allow others to quickly scan and know the main points of a course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.