Rome, GA 
Ridge Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: WAS1  
Park Sign



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Almost dead

2-4    2/8/2014   2/8/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice open layout along the river very pretty course.
Cons: The course intersects the other areas for too much. Also few tee pads and most of the baskets are not year round.

They can make it an 18 bit it is usually a 9. Last time I was there, could only locate 7 playable baskets. Theft of them is common.

Tons of potential, but no serious DG players play there much so it has no real advocate.
Other Thoughts: So much untapped potential, save yourself some frustration and go play either Berry College course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Gone?

1    8/19/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Looks like it used to be a nice course.
Cons: Looks like this course has been removed.
Other Thoughts: I am not sure what is happening with this course; it may even belong on the dead courses list. I pulled up and only found a few baskets still installed. For example, on the side of the tracks where the back nine is located, there is only one basket remaining. You can see where the remaining baskets used to be, but they are now gone. Too bad because it looks like this was a decent course at one time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Don't waste your time

1    2/20/2010   2/20/2010
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is probably the most convenient to get to if you're just passing through Rome, which is why I chose to play it. Ridge Ferry Park is actually a very well kept park overall. All of the facilities looked new and there was no visible vandalism. There is a large river that runs around the park adding to the overall scenery. The local (notice it's not plural) that I met at the course was extremely friendly and a great guide.
The course itself is fairly open with some trees shaping the fairways and preventing pure ace runs. This course was long enough for me to use some drivers, but had a few shorter holes for your midrange and putter game. Water is in play on a few holes, but the risks of losing a disc are slim to none.
Cons: I don't mean to be pessimistic, but this course is full of them. When I spoke with the only local on the course I showed him the map that I had printed out from the link on this site. He explained that it would do no good because approximately six baskets had been stolen over the past year or so. Apparently, the park is trying to get rid of the course so they aren't replacing the missing holes. On top of this, the holes that are left are pretty old and they don't catch like they used to. Also, they all lack tee signs and there were probably three visible tee pads on the whole course. Another problem is that lots of people use this park and they walk and lay out in the middle of the fairways. Because the park is trying to get rid of the course, all non-golfers have the right of way. That means if they don't want to move for your drive, they don't have to... and they won't.
To top things off I didn't even get to play three of the remaining holes because a third of the course is flooded from autumn to spring.
Other Thoughts: Please do yourself a favor and skip this course until major improvements have been made. Go the extra few miles to Berry's campus and play the two 18 hole courses there. It's better scenery anyways.
Without a local you will be utterly lost, even if you have a map with you. My suggestion to the golfer I met was to speak with the parks and recreation department to see if they would let him re-organize the course for a twelve hole format. However, I doubt this will happen soon, since the owners of the park are apprently trying to remove it completely. I weep for courses like this one. So much potential, but no locals to love them.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 WOW

2-4    9/24/2007   6/24/2009
Review By: Revrawlins2158
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The park is pretty thats about it.
Cons: There arent any teepads, its poorly marked, the placement are roundabout and odd.
Other Thoughts: I was really excited about playing it after i started college in rome, but after a few tries at the course i found it quite sad, its aggravating and your better off practicing putting.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ridge Ferry

1    5/20/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice park close to downtown Rome. The park is very pretty being built right on the bank or a river and seems to be very popular. The amenities here are in good shape, bathrooms are clean and open. The course is pretty long and mainly open with large trees being the main obsticle. The baskets there were all in good shape the park was clean and very safe.
Cons: Unfortunately drainage is a large issue here. I attempted to play this course a few times and was not able to due to the amount of standing water all over the place. There was still water but most of the course was playable. Another unfortunate reality here is that some of the baskets have been taken down and the maintance guys I talked to did not know if or when they would be put back up. I could not find tees or markers so basically made up my own.
Other Thoughts: This is a popular park and the course winds around the playground and other equipment, so you will need to watch for people. disc golf is pretty much an after thought here not it's main reason for being. With that said if the course is dry and all the baskets in place you can have fun here.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  a little disappointing

1    2/20/2009   2/23/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is flat and wide open except for a few trees here and there. The park is built right to the banks of the large Oostanaula River. A couple of the holes play near enough to see the river but no real danger of losing your disc in the water. Number eight plays beside a tributary of the river and a shank to the right could send you down a steep bank and in to the water. There is a good mix of medium to fairly long holes. The baskets were in good shape. The park is convenient to Downtown Rome Ga. It also is near two other eighteen hole courses in the area. (WynShape and Log Cabin).
Cons: There is little or no hint of a tee pad on any of this course. No signs, no concrete or anything. Luckily I met a local who was happy to let me join him on his round. He showed me where the pads were located. If not for him there is no way at all I could have found them. The corner of the course opposite of the river was flooded and looked to me that flooding would not be uncommon in this area. You could see where they had built a land bridge to a built up mound area for benches to avoid the water. Number One's basket was right at the edge of the six inch deep stagnant water. The basket for number five was removed. According to the guy I played with the city removed it due to it interfering with the amphitheater and other park activities. Eleven's basket was also at the edge of the flood. Like number one it made you take a little off your drive to avoid getting wet. Number twelve's tee pad was underwater altogether and you had to throw from the edge and across the water. Besides dealing with the flood, the holes became very repetitive. Number thirteen-eighteen are on the other side of the railroad tracks. The local who helped me around said that they had removed all but one basket on that side due to the city not wanting to interfere with other park users. I did not even bother going to look. I had had enough.
Other Thoughts: Control the flooding, reinstall the missing baskets, add some tee pads, signs, etc, and you would have a nice average course. Sorry, I was just a little disappointed.

I do recommend the other courses in the area (WinShape and Log Cabin). They are only about ten minutes away. You might as well try to hit all three while you are in the area. It is just my opinion that the other two are much better in light of what I have mentioned in this review.


10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 biggest course in rome

5+    9/19/2008   9/19/2008
Review By: jamiemetts
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: you can get some great practice throwing long distances
Cons: markers are hard to find. on the first 9 holes the last ones are easiler but number 13 is across the railroad tracks.
Other Thoughts: great place to just relax in a beautiful park and get in some good walking exercise

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Skip it

5/25/2008   5/25/2008
Review By: blang
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good opportunity to test your driving in an open course.
-Nice Innova Pro baskets.
Cons: -Almost no obstacles.
-Tee placement is hard to find even with a map and impossible to find without a map
-Very flat with no elevation change.
-The course meanders through kids, playgrounds, and picnickers that have no idea they are on a disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: The first time I tried this course I could not find the first tee even after asking another player. After being completely frustrated and walking by a family with their dogs tied to the number two basket, I decided to play another 18 at WinShape about 5 miles away. The second time I came prepared with a map to find the tees. Even with the map you will feel as if you are on a scavenger hunt. Finding the unmarked tees will be the most challenging part of this course. One you find the tees you will be rewarded with some of the most monotonous holes in Georgia. Other than the occasional easily avoidable tree you will have a virtually non obstructed 300 foot plus shot. Do not worry about what is par, because unless you are in a tournament you will have no way of knowing. I do not think that this course is enjoyable for any level player. If you throw over 300, you will probably be putting on your second shot and if you are a technique player, your disk selection will never be needed. This course could basically be replicated throwing back and forth across any flat 300 foot field. I understand that the course play may be different in a tournament, but unless you are practicing for an event, I see no reason to ever play this course with WinShape 5.5 miles away. I appreciate Ridge Ferry retrofitting disk golf into their park but frankly they just do not have the terrain for it.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good tourney layout; otherwise wouldn't recommend

5/18/2008   5/19/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Beautiful park; flat setting adjacent to river with sporadic large pine & oak trees
*Very open holes, fun for big arms
*Close to downtown rome
*For tourney's only -- marked OB on every hole makes the course very challenging
*The available land is well used
Cons: *Grass/dirt teepads
*No signage or marking except during tournaments; you would not be able to figure out the course unless you played it during a tourney - no maps, signs, etc.
*OB is only marked during tournaments
*Caters to a big arm player (i.e. 370+) -- if you can throw 400, this should be an easy course with 2 opportunities on every hole. If you can throw 350, this course is ok and you can score well by playing smart.
*Only 3 or 4 holes under 300', many identical holes at ~365'
*Only one set of teepads, even during tourney setup
Other Thoughts: I would rate the tournament layout a 3.5, with the main differences being added signage and painted OB lines. The course looks like it rarely gets used, perhaps only during tournaments as the grass teepads showed no signs of wear. This course definitely caters to a big arm and would be very shreddable if you were on your game.

Course looks like it would be overtaken by families on picnics during the weekend.

This would be a fun course to practice on if you were in the area, but wouldn't be worth driving to if you didn't have a guide. Based on lack of teepad wear & tear, you probably wouldn't be able to find anyone playing at the park on any given day.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.