Disc Golf Store
Fairborn, OH 
Handyman Ace Hardware DGC Share
Uploaded By: hendersondayton Hole #16 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 235ft.   3 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
HAH - An excellent challenge

5+    9/20/2013   9/22/2013
Review By: AnimeJ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is very well designed, with most holes having multiple tee pads and multiple pin locations. The course itself plays primarily through the woods of the park, with hole 5 offering one of the better ace runs on the course, and hole 12 offering players the chance to really air discs out.

The course overall is very technical, forcing players to spend a moment or two on the teepad evaluating the lines available to them. Hole two is a signature of this on the course, with a well defined fairway that will greatly reward players who are able to shape their shots. This theme is repeated throughout the course, as nearly all holes will reward players who take care in shaping their shots.
Cons: The only real downside to this course are the three holes which play along the so-called "scum creek", 7-9. Hole 7 plays parallel, with one position being on the opposite side of the bank, forcing players to take care in how they approach the hole when it's played to the B-pin. Hole 8 offers extreme risk/reward for players who successfully run it, however it is very easy to misjudge and lose a disc here. Hole 9 is not quite as bad, with heavy rough guarding the creek from the fairway, however it's still possible to lose a disc past it.
Other Thoughts: While HAH offers a great deal of challenge even for experienced players, newer players shouldn't be quick to discount the course. This is absolutely a championship caliber course with a great deal of challenge, and that means that it can teach a great deal to newer players, encouraging them to develop shots they might not work on otherwise. Additionally, the course will practically force you into learning how to properly shape your throws, and as you take these lessons to heart, you'll become a much, much more skilled disc golfer.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great difficult course

5+    9/7/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: Donthavefun3
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: White and blue tee pads makes this course playable for a wide variety of players. This well maintained course is always beautiful. Better bring your A game here.
Cons: There is some nasty water in the the woods, that discs rarely come out of.
Other Thoughts: Great course !!! Have a good round.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

must play

1    5/24/2013   5/25/2013
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 85  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 22.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Professional layout, requires strategic placement, balance of right and left, clean with great signage. I played this course for the first time and can not wait to go back. Shall i go on....opportunities to bomb, elevation, straight up strategy holes, ace runs....the finish through the woods is fantastic and fun
Cons: I cant decide whether to give cons or other thoughts...how about a few suggestions...and some of these are just preferences...even with all the signage the 1st time through sans guide will be a little frustrating. Maybe i did not understand the a b setup and had to walk ahead to find the basket and cipher and a line. Number 6 is train wreck....
Some of the smaller trees are a detriment...they are not risk reward just hope you miss them
Other Thoughts: Awesome job....y'all should be very proud of your creation....and the blue tees...well...they are for 950 plus players in my opinion....

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of Ohio's Finest

1    4/21/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2013
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + A Challenging but Fair Course
+ Whether a pro from the longs or an am from the shorts you'll find the distances very respectable.
+Healthy amount of Shot Variety
+Changing Elevation
+Beautiful Woods/Park
+Clean/Well Maintained
+Excellent Signage Makes Navigation Easy
+Quality Scorecards and Pencils for Free
+ Short/Long Tees and 2 Pin Placements on All Holes but a Few
Cons: - A Couple "are we there yet" long walks
- A few trees could be trimmed or removed to improve the fairways, if I'm being nit-pickey.
Other Thoughts: A truly beautiful, fun, and challenging course. 3 holes in I was thinking it was well worth the hour+ drive, by the midway point any doubt was removed. Set in the far back of a very clean and attractive community park, HAH (much love to anyone willing to sponsor a DG course, but it is a cheesy name if I'm being honest) starts you off on right foot with a prominent message board where you can survey the map and grab your complimentary scorecard and pencil. The first tee pad is clearly visible from the parking lot, and while there are couple times where you might question if you're on the long or short pad it should be fairly obvious on all holes. The signage is amongst the best I've personally seen on a DG course, in terms of easy to read/understand and visually appealing. Never did I have any question as to the layout of the each hole or where to start walking to find the next. I was never left wanting a bench as there were plenty, or a trash can. These factors that aren't course design related, go a LONG way towards improving a players experience. So for these "small things" alone those responsible deserve a high five and a hug.
On to the course design ...
The rhythm of the course was superb, I can't even say I really minded the extra long pauses between a few of the holes. So much of this course weaves through the woods, that it was appreciated that the first handful of holes were relatively open to allow one to warm up and get their crosshairs dialed in. Really starting with hole 6 the layout starts to make most of us to think in terms of landing zones, even from short tees. And thats something that I can't say I've seen much in my homestate. Holes 7 and 11 were excellent examples of this I thought. Where 7's basket is reachable if you want to take the risk of a semi blind through across a wide creek, its certainly much smarter to throw straight down the fairway and find yourself a nice clearing to throw across the creek to the right to reach the basket. On 11 trying to reach the basket is just out of the question and you've got a tricky proposition in front of you to snake through a tight alley of trees to reach the first landing zone, or go the longer but more open left to right route to find the landing zone. Even from there you've got a legit shot to make to start thinking about putting. There are certainly other examples but these were the two that really stuck out to me.
Find yourself complaining about courses favoring one type of player? Not here as you'll need to be able to go left, right, and straight. One aspect of this course I really loved is the options you'd have from the tee. Few holes were ever "wide" open for the players choice of shot, but most had at least 2 legit lines to take if not more.
In summation this is a course absolutely worth your gas money... really thats probably


**I would sincerely like to hear from the person who thought my review was not helpful. How could I improve this to the point you would have found it helpful.**

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Date: 4/23/2013 Designer Response by: hendersondayton
There is a practice basket behind the Long Tee for #1. By the softball fields.

 Local Favorite

5+    11/4/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: Hoagie14
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 11/12/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is an amazing course situated in a beautiful park. Since I'm a local, I'm fortunate and proud to be able to call this my home course. Always well maintained. Lines getting better every time I go. Perfect tees, signs, and pins. Having played many other courses in the area, I'm always eager to get back to handyman for the perfect mix of risk and reward. Great elevations. Amazing use of the park acreage. One of my favorite things is some of the walks between holes. I could go on all day about handyman. It just doesn't get any better than this one!
Cons: the bog of eternal stench doesnt smell so good sometimes but it really doesnt bother me enough to consider it a true "con".
Other Thoughts: since im in the local area, i would love to find out how i can help out around the course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/11/2012 Designer Response by: hendersondayton
$1million Dollars.

That is the estimate the city got to restore the creek. Hefty price! I am not sure if/when this can be achieved.

Thanks for your review!

 Dayton Area's Finest

1    11/26/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 122  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.4 Years
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: While Handyman Ace Hardware is conveniently located off I-675 near Dayton, OH, the course is tucked away in the back of a fairly large and well maintained community park which creates a relaxed feel so the player can focus on the business at hand - tackling a technical, heavily wooded course that will challenge even the best of players.

Three main pieces of land are utilized:

• A heavily wooded hillside where most of the course elevation is found.
• The adjacent field where the wooded hillside, available trees, OOB, water and mandos all provide some challenge but still allow opportunities to air it out
• Mainly flat woods; they are extremely tight, technical, have an OOB creek on 4 holes & to top it all off, contain three long, compound woods holes that will really test a player's resolve.

I was particularly impressed with how these three pieces of land were married in such an efficient design.

The course starts with an uphill drive from the open field into the wooded hillside. A really fun starter hole as it lets you air it out for a few hundred feet and then you get to the woods, add in an increased elevation grade leading to a pin on a slope & the party has started! #2 actually gave me flashbacks, reminiscent of densely wooded East Coast courses in the fall with leaves covering the fairway, vivid colors, rolling elevation, defined lines to hit, challenging length...I was starting to feel at home.

The next two holes tee off from the wooded hillside into the open field with #3's basket being tucked into the woods on the left and #4s out in the open with an OOB walking path in the vicinity. Five's blue tee's tree lined mando - which eliminates the right side hyzer option - is surrounded by OOB: on the left with a creek, the right with a walking path & a pond behind the fast-greened pin. It's an obvious transition, which all courses have going from one piece of land to another, but these elements add interesting dynamics and effortlessness to the changeover.

Then things start turning serious as the flat technical woods are entered. Six is manageable enough with obvious lines to hit with a neighboring OOB creek on the right that isn't a significant factor. Then there's 7, an S fairway off the blue tee with an incredibly disgusting creek bordering the entire right side of the fairway. As a local put it, it's only several inches of water but feet of mud. You do not want your disc in here so conservative play is mandated & placement is crucial. Add in a 'B' position pin placed at the end of the fairway just on the other side of the scum creek & let's just say the sphincter tightens up a bit. Eight is actually a little ace/deuce run back across the water adding in a pin on a quick green at the edge of the 'scum creek' which keeps the pucker factor tight.

Holes 9-11 are some of the most daunting compound technical woods holes I've ever played. At 690 ft., nine starts with a short, simple right turning drive over a small OOB creek...and then you enter the mass of trees. There are many lines to choose from, none of them obvious but they are there....and if you're wrong - Thwak! 10 continues the heavy woods barrage and adds the OOB creek at the latter end of the hole & plays longer than 576ft. The dual flight paths on eleven are an enigma for the first time player off the tee....being unfamiliar, I considered my decision much longer than normal - the feeling was similar to determining a course of action when 'in serious trouble' off the fairway...looking around at the lay of the land and weighing all of my options. Include 702ft. of thick woods with OOB behind the pin & these three holes were without a doubt the most complicated & difficult - accounting for nearly a quarter of the course's total length to boot!

The field to hillside transition hole #12 is much needed relief after the woods beat down yielding an air out opportunity but masks the basket - it's nestled in/near the end of the tree line.

13-17 return to the wooded hillside & while none are stand-outs, they flow naturally, have reasonable length with defined fairways, incorporate elevation & place pins carefully. The downhill finishing hole from the open blue tee bordering the parking lot into the woods was a nice treat - beautiful terrain traversing substantial woods then finishing with a pin out in the open. It's the longest hole on this hillside at 502ft. & was a fitting conclusion to well conceived sequence of holes.

Added touches such as two concrete tees for each hole (white/blue), detailed tee signs at each tee, multiple pin placements & easy navigation totally enhance the experience. There were some benches and trash cans as well as bridges, wood planks, etc to aide when crossing water or wet/marshy areas.
Cons: The lesser experienced may find the white/short tees intimidating at over 6,000ft & the woods holes too technical. A time investment is also needed so it's not a quick/easy play. The overall amount of walking (with some longer walks between holes) may seem taxing or excessive for some.

A pin position indicator would be beneficial as scouting for A or B location was necessary on some holes.

The creek on holes 7 & 8 is repulsive. My first thought was ' this creek needs to be dredged'. Until HAH, I had yet to encounter a water hole more foul that Jordan Creek's 'scum pond' hole #7 & now I have found two of them back to back!

There's the possibility of minor conflicts with pedestrian traffic near walking paths and with cars on 18 which borders the road into the back section of the park. Additionally some of the holes on the outskirts are adjacent to the adjoining neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: HAH is unique in comparison to other DGC's in the area which are moderately wooded with more open holes and generally don't have the length/intense forest combo in such excess. I found it more evocative of Pro Caliber courses I've played in the past which undoubtedly makes it stand out as the premiere regional course in my mind. It's one of those places where after completing the round, I immediately wanted to play it again. However I was on my way out of town so next time I'm back, this one will be a priority. Nevertheless it's a rating 'tweener. Be that as it may, I'm rounding up from 4 stars largely due to the fun factor I experienced. This is a must play/can't miss destination if nearby.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 WOW!

1    7/25/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
[Baskets]: Innova DisCatcher, Excellent condition, well maintained. Every basket was bright, clean and looked brand new.

[Tee Signs/Maps/Markers]: Excellent online map of the course. Amazing detail! Signs at each tee box (blue and white) are very detailed and by far the nicest signs I have seen anywhere. Course has several next tee signs throughout to lead you in the right direction. There appeared to be a few missing, but you could tell where they were supposed to be. All in all, this made navigation a breeze. Signs even led you to the white tee or blue tee when necessary. They have very nice scorecards (just like ball golf) available which includes a course map on one side.

[General Course Design]: Course flows well from hole to hole. Course starts and ends close to the parking lot. There is a great combination of length, left, right, up, down. Excellent use of mature trees and water hazards. Although most of the holes are wooded, there are enough open holes to ease the pain of the heavily wooded course.

[Foliage Maintenance]: Areas around the baskets were clear. There was a lot of downed trees and debris throughout the wooded areas, but with the elevation and sheer size of the course, it would be difficult to keep it completely clear. New composite material bridges aide in crossing low lying areas. When wet, this course can be treacherous.

[Elevation]: Great use of mature trees and elevation changes. The course uses the open and wooded areas of the park to the fullest extent. Water even comes into play on a few holes, making you trust in your abilities and exercise good shot selection.

[Signature Holes]: Several potential signature holes. A variety of distances requiring many different shot selections. The course offers a good mix of tight, technical shots and one or two opportunities for open bombs.

[Tee Pads]: Concrete tees for both blue and white tees, excellent condition, with plenty of room for run up.

[Benches & Trash bins]: Very nice benches at most tee pads and several trash cans or barrels placed throughout the course. Failure to find a trash can is just lazy. There were plenty available all through the course.
Cons:
[Foliage Maintenance]: Be careful after a rain. The wooded areas of the course can be very slick and muddy. Due to the elevation, it would be hard to eliminate the hazardous muddy areas as the rain would constantly wash out the mulch, gravel, etc. There are a lot of downed trees and debris to cause tripping hazard. Watch your step.

[General Course Design]: There is a very long walk between a few of the holes. Be ready for a long hike. The course is long as it is. Adding in a hike or two between holes makes it that much longer. TREES! There are trees everywhere! On several holes, it was difficult to find a defined line. The lines on the tee signs were not always visible when trying to decide where to throw. On several occasions, I had to walk 100 feet into the hole to figure out which direction to throw.
Other Thoughts:
This course was challenging and very frustrating at times. Although the constant sound of plastic and wood clunking against one another, the occasional shot that made it through made it all worthwhile.
There is plenty of parking available with a short walk the first tee. There is a beautiful sign at the beginning of the course with a nice bulletin board and scorecards. The map on the bulletin board was generic, but it was better than no map at all. The scorecards have a map also, and honestly, if you keep your eyes open when playing, the signs on course will steer you in the right direction every time.
The designers of this course have done an excellent job. It is obvious there is a lot of care and attention given to this course on a continuous basis.
This is by far the nicest course I have been to. With a little maturity and some more defined throwing lanes on a few holes, this will be a 5-star course with no question.
If you are beginner, be prepared for a potentially frustrating round of disc golf pinball as the lanes through the woods are very narrow, and sometimes non-existent.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Sleeping Giant!!!

5+    3/28/2011   4/1/2011
Review By: Darth Anovin
Played: 44  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.6 Years
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Ahhh, where to start? Well, first of all, the designers of this course did an excellent job. They definitely used the elevation changes to the course's advantage here. Here you have uphill shots, downhill shots, and even a drive out of the woods followed by an approach back into the woods. And with the individual hole designs, you WILL use every shot in your bag. During a round here, you may even find yourself saying, "I wish I could throw a forehand, tomahawk, etc…" You get the idea. The course has concrete pads, which is a plus considering all but 2 holes have both a long and short pad. And 11 holes have two different basket placements as well, all of which are Innova baskets. But this course is no pitch and putt. It IS challenging. Therefore, if you like a challenge, you will not be disappointed with HAH. Maybe it's due to the challenge, but every time I've played at HAH, it's never been crowded. On a final note, the designers and people that take care of it treat it as though it's one of their children. It is very well taken care of. And if by chance something needs attention at this course, it gets taken care of very quickly!
Cons: There are only a couple beefs I have with this course and, while in no way do I feel that this course is too long, they have to do with the length of the course. First, it needs more trash cans. The longer people are on a course, the more trash they will produce that will more than likely end up on the ground if adequate recepticles aren't available. And second, since it is a very long course, I'd like to see a few picnic tables or places to rest for a moment placed throughout the course. Other than stagnant water in a few spots, I can't really complain about my home course.
Other Thoughts: For those that have read the negative reviews about this course, don't be deterred. This is an A-level course. A common complaint I've noticed is regarding the trees. Well, those trees are a part of the course. If you don't like trees, play somewhere that's wide open. THIS COURSE IS NOT FOR BEGINNERS. If you can't hit your lines and shape your shots, why would you play a par-65 course anyway? Unless, that is, you are serious about getting better and want to learn these shots. If so, I only ask that you don't get discouraged. This course will eat you up if you let it. Par is 65 from the short pads. My worst round here is a 73 +8, but I have shot a 58 -7 here also. Hit your lines and keep the plastic flyin' my friends

*This course scored a 38 out of 45 on my rating system.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.


2-4    11/10/2012   3/22/2011
Review By: chipstar
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/13/2012
6 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: The length of the holes allows you to open up and throw full strength
There are multiple tee pads for every hole except two holes
The baskets are really nice, each basket has the hole number it corresponds to on it.
The tee signs are great, good color, distances marked.
The tee pads are nice and long to allow for ample run up.
The course is set in a really nice park
Cons: If you throw into the water it is really nasty looking
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice course, one of the nicest I've played
The updates made to the course since the first time I played warranted a better review.

6 of 23 people found this review helpful.

  Great Challenge

5+    3/10/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: Hyzerman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: This course will have you using every shot in your bag, regardless of skill level. Not many can claim this beast, consecutively. Might shoot a -6 one day and even the next round, just demanding.
Cons: Its so demanding at times you may start to lose morale! Ground seems to hold moisture and flooding occurs, better topography would be nice, but mulch and such could def. improve this course
Other Thoughts: My personal favorite course!

3 of 17 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.