Fairborn, OH 
Handyman Ace Hardware DGC Share
Uploaded By: hendersondayton Hole #10 (Taken 11/2010)
4 / 402ft.   4 / 576ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Short Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  All around great course!

5+    7/24/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: bbutch
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ok, so I am a local, and this is only my second year playing this wonderful sport, but I have got a chance to play a few of the top rated courses including Flip City, and Idlewild, so I feel I have a good understanding of what a top tier course should be. This course is a perfect example of that.

- The course has 2 nice concrete tee pads for almost every hole, which playing from the shorts, and playing from the longs make it seem like you are at 2 completely different courses!

-Alternate pin placements makes for a fresh change, and on most holes completely changes the lay out.

-Very very well maintained course, seriously it gets nicer every time you show up

- Amazing full color tee signs on every hole

-Very good use of elevation

-Excellent use of the available land

-The design of this course will make you use every shot you have in your bag, and some that you didn't know you had!

-There are benches at a lot of the holes, and trash cans on almost all of them.

-There are restroom facilities

-The course is technical, and challenging, but not absurd, it forces you to better your game. Though sometimes it punishes you for your errant shots, it does it in a way that makes you just want to play it over and over again until you get it right.

-The location of the course being within 8 seconds of the highway exit makes it simple to find, and very accessible.

With all that being said, I love the way that everyday I wake up I am fiending to play this course again, and feel blessed to be able to call HAH my home course.
Cons: I will list this in cons, because that's what it is, but since there is not much that can be done about it by the course manager, or the designers at this time, I will not count it against the course.

That is there is a creek that comes in to play along 2 holes ( 7&8 ) That us locals have deemed "stink creek" It has mostly dried up right now, but when it gets up a little bit, you'll know where it gets its name from.
Other Thoughts: The course designer and course managers, do a great job maintaining this course, and did a miraculous job designing it!

If you get a chance to play this course DO NOT miss it!

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 NEW COURSE!

5+    3/27/2011   3/27/2011
Review By: Dizz
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.7 Years
9 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: HAHFairborn is a one of a kind Championship course located in Fairborn, OH. This course when completed will be among the top courses in the country. The people who designed this course took a massive piece of land and shaped and carved a great course into it. The layout has a great flow to it and no two holes are the same, each has its unique feel.
I play this course just about every weekend and its by far my top local course and Top 10 all time. The course is very well marked with Professional Tee signs, Next Tee Signs, colored score cards, pencils, information board and more. Also with two tee pads for Pro and Am it gives you two different views of the course.
Hole 1 | Uphill shot into the woods, Tee shot is in the open throwing uphill to a tree line that is the start of the woods. There are multiple lines from the AM tees. The Pro Tees take a really good forehand or nice RHBH Anhyzer.
Hole 2 | Takes some finesse to get to where you want to be. This holes is one of my favorite on the course, both tee pads have plenty of lanes to choose from. This hole can eat you up if your not careful, walk away with Par or better and be happy.
Hole 3| Make a good tee shot! Throwing through a 8ft-10ft wide gap into an open field, this is a RHBH hyzer shot because the pin placement is set back into the woods. So your throwing out and then coming back in, 357' for AM Tee and 423' for Pro.
Hole 4 | Another gap tee shot, elevated, shooting into an open field with walking path 15-20ft to the right of the hole is OB. Straight shot 269' AM / 336' Pro.
Hole 5| This is a really fun hole. The basket sits about 260+' from AM tee and 300 for Pro. Takes a well placed shot to walk away with a birdie on this hole, there is a pond about 25' behind the hole
This is just a small preview of the first few holes. Starting from 6-11 you enter long technical tight wooded shots, demanding placement shots to connecting fairways. Hole 7-8 you are running along and crossing the "river of stink" but looking past the smell it's a very scenic two holes. Moving on to hole 12 you get another open shot with a mando gap off the tee to a basket that it set inside a row of pine trees. Holes 13-18 are all technical wooded shots with LOTS of elevation. Hole 14 is a straight uphill tunnel shot that is 350+ from AM tees and 440 for Pro's. Takes a few well placed shots to walk away with Par. As for the rest of the course, every hole has it's own style and appeal. I would highly recommend playing this course if you are in the area. It is very well maintained and one of the best in the area. Please keep in mind that the course is new and is still being worked on every weekend, when completed it will be one of the best in the state.

Other Thoughts: I personally play here every weekend, by far my favorite local course.

Go play this course 2-3 times then go back to your regular course, I guarantee you will take at least 3-4 strokes off your score. This course will greatly improve your game.

9 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 better than before

2-4    3/30/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: moshjosh368
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2011
8 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: Great distance and variety of distance.
beautiful park, challenging, great signs and tee pads and baskets. they opened it up a little more when they cut down some trees, but still is challenging which is good. There are lines you just have to look for them somethimes they are not were you think the should be or usually are but thats ok it makes it more challenging.
Cons: Not to much to complain about now since they cut down 40 trees but I would say that some tables or something in the back part to rest would be nice. They still need to clean up some falling trees and limbs that are on the ground to hard to throw any rollers. Maybe on a couple of holes that there is a creek or water maybe a little bridge or something better than a bunch of twigs and branches to walk across.
Other Thoughts: Going to be even more challenging when the leaves come in but its a fun long course would like to see maybe someday them adding 6 more holes they have the space I think. It is a fun course but it will punish you for a bad shot. I would like to play with all these people that say they shot low numbers cause I dont believe them. I have played 7 times now and everyone I have gone with which one was my cuz that just finished 2 at a texas tourney shot high 70 to low 90. Does take a long time to play but I like that as long as there are places to rest. Maybe a little more trash cans would be nice if people actually would use them but we all know there are a..holes that play too. STOP STEALING BASKETS YOU FING IDIOTS

8 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 Goodness Gracious,

5+    11/13/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: cali
Played: 62  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Where to start! This course has so much to really test your limits as a player whether you are new to the sport or a seasoned professional. I mean seriously, I've never played a course where I have had to just analyze every single shot so meticulously, edging myself mentally and physically to go for that extra few feet off the drive or finding that perfect sweet spot on the fairway with a placement shot to open up a hole to the target. I can honestly say that getting some of my 2's out there from the SHORT tees have been some of the most satisfying moments of my 8 years playing disc golf. This course URGES you to make those critical putts and get those tricky upshots just a few feet closer to the pin. Most holes, your drive off the box has to be pretty spot on to stay out of trouble, but if you do end up in a trouble area, recovery is not too difficult like with some of the honeysuckle infested courses in the area. I'm going to add more to this section so stay turned.
Cons: Some spots on the fairway are like prison bars with trees! Matt has assured us that they will be lightly thinning out some of the trouble areas. I vote they leave them! Just adds to the challenge!
Other Thoughts: Play it and you'll love it. Come prepared for a 3 hour round though because she is huge.

6 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Finally A SWEET Course

5+    11/7/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: kily
Played: 329  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 37.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2010
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This is one of the most chalanging courses that I've played. As a new course the minor issues with signs will be corrected and the idiots will clear far more trees then anyone really thinks should be cut. That being said, playing HAH will make any player better by forcing them to play a wide variety of shots and many that they will need to learn to play this course under par.
Cons: No tee signs on the white tee (being correct). I didn't see the problem with trees with the exception of hole 2 (being corrected this weekend).
Other Thoughts: As I read the other reviews and comments online, I wonder how many actualy took the time to look at the tee signs. Yes the white tees need signs and a few of them are hard to locate at first, but all can be found after looking at the tee signs on the blue tees. All of the holes have a significantly defined fairway where the tee sign says it is. I think the problem for most is they cleared so much honeysuckle away from the fairways that people either don't see the intended fairway or think the entire areas cleared of honeysuckle is the fairway. The best way to play this and any new course would be to walk the intended lines. Then go back and throw a few and don't forget to keep track of what you throw and the landmarks you use to play your line. If you think this is the same old disc golf course and walk up thinking you will be able to see every thing and rip it without thinking you will be lost and not like this course.

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great New Course

5+    12/11/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: OldTaz
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/2/2011
9 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: -Makes you play, or encourages you to learn new shots
- Easy to navigate around course
- Should be a challenge for the good players, can't just grip and rip, trees can knock the best throws down
- Par 4's and 5's appear to be legitimate par 4's and 5's
- Equalizer, short arms take a couple of long throws before putting, where the long arms need at least a layout before putting

Cons: - some tee signs need to be re-located (understand this is in the works)
- tee signs on short pads (also understand this is in the works)
Other Thoughts: As time goes on, this course should improve. Some of the dead limbs that catch you now will be gone.
Great course now, like wine, should improve with age
The more I play, the more I like it. Once you become familiar with the lines, it becomes a matter of being able to put the disc on line. Lines ARE there, just takes repetition.

9 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 HaH Fairborn Design Team

5+    10/25/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: hendersondayton
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2010
11 Helpful / 10 Not
Other Thoughts: Hole 1
There is a good use of elevation change on Hole 1. From the both Tee Pads the elevation is only slightly uphill but there is a dramtic up-slope in the last 100' or so heading up into the woods. This will be a good par tester.

Hole 2
Another good use of elevation on Hole 2. With both the Drive and Fairway Approach being relatively blind, throwers are tasked with demanding shot placement in the hopes of a birdie 3. Hole 2 plays dramtically different from the easier Short Tee .

Hole 3
The drive is critical on Hole 3. Making it out of the tunnel from the Tee is the highest priority. A long second shot to a well protected basket will be required to set up for birdie.

Hole 4
Another tunnel shot is required to navigate this Par 3. The hole is on a nice downslope from tee pad which, if thrown correctly, will make it out into the open and set you up with a nice birdie or short approach for Par.

Hole 5
Large Pine Trees form the tunnel for the first hole where water comes into play. The basket is reachable from the Tee Pad but throwing long will find water as the Pin is perched on the edge of the slope down to the pond. O.B. Cuts sharply into the fairway making a large hyzer a very risky throw.

Hole 6
The fairway is hidden on this Par 4. Blocked by large bushes, the drive will have to be well placed to make the fairway. Doing so will make for an open approach made difficult by the Pin being installed on the edge of the creek.

Hole 7
The Fairway is flanked by a larger watershed pond on the left and Beaver Creek running the full length of the right side. This leavesa 30-40' wide landing area from the Tee. Sitting on the Tee Side of the creek, the A-Pin is much more easily accessible making this a Par 3. If placed in the B location, this hole becomes a Par 4 as a second shot over the creek is near impossible from anything short of a 350' wooded drive.

Hole 8
A short Ace chance at 222'. The fairway however, is all water. Throwing over 222' of Beaver Creek to a pin set up on the downslope into the water. A bail out spot LEFT of the Creek and SHORT of the pin will give players wanting a sure 3 a place to land.

Hole 9 - The Carl Chiles Hole
9 is a Pro Players Nightmare. From the Long Tee, throwers will be faced with a challenging, 70-90' drive to a landing area just in front of the Short Tee. If made cleanly, the remaining 450' fairway takes a nice RIGHT to LEFT line. The Pin is up on a mound roughly 15' off the ground, easily above the players head.

Hole 10
The fairway starts out as a narrow chute but ends up widening out at the end. A drainage channel is located at the end of the fairway and seperates the player from the Pin. The Protected pin can be reached by either a low shot under the trees that guard the channel, or a High Arching Tomahawk.

Hole 11 - The Mike Ray Hole
The thrower must go around An Island of thick trees before getting to the Long and Wide open fairway. The player is presented with a challenging decision as the two distinctly different fairways offer a lot of Risk/Reward potential. The LEFT Fairway is a WIDE, LEFT to RIGHT line. The RIGHT Fairway is a straight and narrow line. Taking the LEFT is much safer but will require two shots to get around. The RIGHT line is much narrower but successfully making it thru will give the player a 1 stroke advantage coming up to the long, wide open fairway leading up to the unprotected pin.

Hole 12
After making the long walk from #11 to #12's Tee Pad, a player gets a welcomed look at this relatively simple Par 3. The Long line of Pine Tree's marks an OB Line to the RIGHT but with plenty of room LEFT, OB should not be an issue. The only complicating factor about #12 will be the wind. Being out in the open, the wind gets going pretty good and can make the 435' feel more like 535'.

Hole 13
A Long, sloping, and RIGHT to LEFT Fairway is made difficult by the numerous trees that litter the wide fairway. There are a few distinct lines through the trees but once off the Tee Pad the fairway begins its LEFT and slightly downhill turn.

Hole 14
Requiring a well placed drive around a bend immediately in front of the long Tee the player will then be faced with a long and narrow fairway that runs up-hill to a well placed pin.

Hole 15
A Relatively easy hole that slopes downhill to two open Pin Locations. The Drive plays a key role to how complicated this hole becomes. Missing the fairway LEFT will make seeing the A-Pin difficult as it is tucked away LEFT of the fairway and on a downslope.

Hole 16
The only uncomplicated ACE chance comes on #16. The Pin is blocked and hidden by the fallen tree and impressive root system. The Short Tee presents an open look at an unprotected Pin. Ace Funds will be earned on this Short Par 3.

Hole 17
The fairway has a couple double hills in it that make the drive landing blind. A RIGHT finishing drive is required to have any shot at a par. The fairway takes a left turn and missing the fairway LEFT will leave the player with a blocked Dog-Leg and a difficult shot at Par.

Hole 18
An amazing finishing hole putting the player at the top of a severe downslope to a well protected Pin. The Tee Pad is placed out of the Trees and picking a spot into the trees will be the players first decision. Once in, the fairway drops off very sharply into a valley. The Pin is up on the other side of the valley. OB runs the full length of the RIGHT side of the hole. The Hole plays easier from the Short Tee but is a near 90 degree Dog-Leg Left.


11 of 21 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.