Fairborn, OH 
Handyman Ace Hardware DGC Share
Uploaded By: hendersondayton Hole #14 (Taken 11/2010)
4 / 327ft.   4 / 402ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Approach



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 

1    11/7/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: jimcramer24
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2012
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Tough challenging holes. I loved the change in terrain. The holes are well-designed. This course is really coming into it's own. The fairways are in great shape and the course is just getting better with time.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Play This Course.

1    11/6/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: Jay Dub
Played: 81  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 34.5 Years
18 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Disc-laimer: All comments in this review are my personal opinion. I have not talked to the course designer or the Dayton club about the installation of this course.

We played long (blue) tees to pin A placements, according to the course designer that's where the baskets will stay all winter. I throw RHBH.

This course is Dayton, Ohio's answer to Idlewild. It's located on good land and as tough as Idlewild. The tees are the best they can be, the tee signs are great. (See cons).
The course is new but while walking the round it looks as though it's been installed for years. (See cons). Nice bridges and pathways. Great signage to make sure you know where to go for your next hole. The paths are worn well. You can tell a lot of work has been done to this area to get it ready for the golf course.

#1 is challenging but fair,
#2 needs the fairway opened from the long tee, too much luck involved at this point but a great design if cleared.

3 & 4 are fair as is.
5 is no problem.

#6 is a very nice turn over shot with the basket next to the creek that runs along side the fairway. More clearing is needed here.
#7 I'll pass on, must have been a bad hole for me, I can't recall the fairway.

#8 has a bridge to the tee, leave your bag at the entrance to the bridge and take something that will turn over 220' for you. The tricky part about this great hole is you throw diagonally across the water. Most of the 220' is over water with limbs on your right, turn over too soon and it will be wet.

#9 has a great 1st layup shot, but make sure you get it across the creek that you don't see unless you walk up the fairway first. Your second (third and forth ;) ) shot are long, thru the trees luck shots with the basket on top a thin mound. I think the pin placement on this hole is unfair. If you miss your putt it will roll down the 6'+ hill, and maybe into OB. I would hope after snaking your way thru all the trees to get close for a putt, a player would not have to deal with more luck. Great hole but put the basket some where else or give the top of the mound more flat surface.

#10. Again the hidden creek comes into play at about 225'. I walked up to this tee and said, I'll just throw two 250' shots. That's what I did and got a 3.

#11 gives you 2-3 options, which is great but all the options need cleared out more.

#12...long walk from 11, something Dayton seems to do with their courses. This is a double mando which is something I prefer not to see. But in this case it makes perfect sense and is the shot you should throw anyway.

#13, long walk again. This long tee is shared with #4's long tee. Good design imo, but the drive off the tee is a luck shot. Big hyzer shot that needs cleared out. The design is good though.

#14, 15,16 & 17...now I'm getting tired and played these holes badly. Like most holes they have good designs but more clearing would make it a 5 rating.

#18. A great downhill shot but again too much luck. Clear out some of the trees to make this fair and it's a great finishing hole.

This is definitely a course to add to your calender.
Cons: The tee signs are all located at the long tees. If playing the short tees you will have to walk a good distance, on some holes, just to read the sign and see the maps. Also the orientation of the tee signs could be improved. Currently some get you confused, after a minute or two of studying the sign and looking 360, you can understand where you need to go.

There are a lot of the fairways that are not quite fair yet, from what I have read and heard about this course, more work is to be done. I saw a lot of trees with ribbons around them, if they are there to have them cut down, that will be a good start. Too much luck on too many holes at this point, but the design looks solid beyond that.
Other Thoughts: Play this course, you will be glad you did if you're in the area or have a trip planned there.
I gave it a 3.50 star rating only because a 3.75 wasn't available. In the future I'm sure this will be a 5 star course, but only after more work is done.

More Idlewild comparisons:
I shot an 80 yesterday at Fairborn. Long tees at Idlewild I shot an 83 with a bad front 9 and a decent back 9. I got 2 deuces at Idlewild and only 2 threes at Fairborn. I got 8s at Idlewild but never shot over a 6 at Fairborn, but got quite a few of them.

18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Great New Course

5+    12/11/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: OldTaz
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/2/2011
9 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: -Makes you play, or encourages you to learn new shots
- Easy to navigate around course
- Should be a challenge for the good players, can't just grip and rip, trees can knock the best throws down
- Par 4's and 5's appear to be legitimate par 4's and 5's
- Equalizer, short arms take a couple of long throws before putting, where the long arms need at least a layout before putting

Cons: - some tee signs need to be re-located (understand this is in the works)
- tee signs on short pads (also understand this is in the works)
Other Thoughts: As time goes on, this course should improve. Some of the dead limbs that catch you now will be gone.
Great course now, like wine, should improve with age
The more I play, the more I like it. Once you become familiar with the lines, it becomes a matter of being able to put the disc on line. Lines ARE there, just takes repetition.

9 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Was better than expected

1    10/30/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: pugsrul2001
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Great layout, Good signs, Allows u to use multiple kinds of throws
Cons: Short tees r and little hard to find. Would like to see signs on the short tees.
Other Thoughts: I am so glad that there is a course in the area that make u shape all kinds of shots. FUN

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Could be great

2-4    10/28/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: tatonka
Played: 60  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.5 Years
19 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Easy to find your way around the 1st time

-2 pads on most holes

-2 interchangeable pins on most holes

-great variety of shots from tee to green

-distance is useful but accuracy is key

-solid use of land, and creeks

-The course tells you where to go next, great signs

-perfect course if you need to beat in a new sidewinder

The city of Dayton seems to take a certain pride in course design and use of land and Fairborn is no exception. First i must start off by saying that, like most new wooded courses, this one is a little rough around the edges and even rougher around others... this course has the potential to be a 5 "disc" course, but what it comes down to is lack of fairways and on some holes a lack of anything besides luck.

It seems that the sport of disc golf is migrating towards harder and longer holes, which i think is great. Its nice when "golf" actually comes into play: planning out holes, risk reward, recovery shots, laying up... or not. You will deal with all of these when playing this course.

All the pins have been in for less than a week at this point so ive only been able to play each pad a couple times but there quite a few memorable holes. I think the true nature of the course comes out in holes 6 through 11. These are the funnest and most distinct holes in my head b/c they were long and wooded, but a little fairer than the other wooded holes.

6 is great, it starts in the open with a big left to right shot into the woods, from there its a careful up shot through the trees to the pin about 15 feet from a creek that runs the length of the right side of the hole.

7's most crucial shot is the drive. anything not in the fairway, generally (on this entire course) there's not much from the rough. your up shot has to stop fast on one of the more open greens, anything long and its in a bigger creek that runs the length of this hole as well. The long pin on this hole is on the other side of said creek adding at least one more stroke to the hole.

8 is probable the easiest hole on the course but still a good one. its a straight putter shot over the bigger creek. your facing the creek at a 45 degree angle so 90% of your shot is over water. There are a couple of guardian trees on the other side that can knock you into the water and a mildly protected green, so i wouldn't be surprised if there are quite a few 4's here as well as 2's.
One of the coolest parts of this hole is a tree near the basket that hangs right out over the big creek. Its big enough for you to climb on and hang out about 5 feet above to water out in the middle of the creek.

9 in a great multi-shot hole where i think a 3 is amazing and a 6 isn't that bad. The drive is more about staying out of trouble than anything. You really just need about a 250' forehand to more or less lay up to the fairway. A lot can go wrong though as you have to hit about a 10' gap w/ that forehand in order to stay out of thick woods or the little creek. About the first 75' of the right to left second shot is open, after that you have to navigate a couple hundred feet of moderate woods in order to get to the base of a small mound on which the basket sits.

10's drive can be somewhat difficult as this is one of the holes that seems like it could use one or two less trees. After the first couple hundred feet the next couple hundred aren't as bad, The little creek once again comes into play, and i think is a great touch throughout this course. A well protected green makes a 4 not too bad here.

11 stands out in my mind as much as any other hole at this course. This hole offers the player their choice of two distinctly different fairways. after about a hundred feet the player has a choice to add about 100' to the hole by playing to an open fairway to the left that loops around like a half circle or make a slight right and go straight ahead. The fairway to the right is a pretty typical Fairborn fairway so there's not much there besides pain and suffering, but that is the risk you take.


Cons: Just too many trees...

As i was driving into the park for the first time i was just looking for a pad or a basket b/c i didn't know exactly where the course was. The first pad i saw was the longs on 18. I got out of my car and looked everywhere for the basket. I couldn't even tell which way the pad was facing. After i found the basket i thought it was some kind of joke. Once i started playing the course i realized it wasn't a joke and that some of the holes here are so wooded that there really just isn't a fairway.

There are few things more frustrating than ripping a perfect drive in the woods, right where you want it just to have it hit some random tree that you either didn't see or has no reason being in the middle of what some call a fairway.
The problem here is that great shots don't get rewarded as much a luck. The end of the course is especially daunting, at that point your almost just ready for it to be over. 15 is a perfect example b/c it could be such a sweet hole. Its a med length downhill into a beautiful forest, but barring a perfect shot its going to hit a something somewhere. Im not whining either...its a little much at the end. I live near Idlewild and play it one or twice a month. When i read reviews about that course on here people often talk about the loss of fun they experience as they progress though that course just because of the difficulty level. Where as i love Idlewild and can get very frustrated there, i have yet to feel this "lack of fun" until playing Fairborn. By the end it was just one to many trees.


Other Thoughts: As I was touching on in the beginning, Ive noticed a standard of quality in the courses in the Dayton area. While there aren't as many courses as some other cities, it seems like they just keep getting better as they get put in. This is a new course, a few years from now it might be thinned out a little and a truly top level course. The design is there, the difficulty is there and i love the length through the woods, but in the mean time ill stick w/ sycamore

19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 HaH Fairborn Design Team

5+    10/25/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: hendersondayton
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2010
11 Helpful / 10 Not
Other Thoughts: Hole 1
There is a good use of elevation change on Hole 1. From the both Tee Pads the elevation is only slightly uphill but there is a dramtic up-slope in the last 100' or so heading up into the woods. This will be a good par tester.

Hole 2
Another good use of elevation on Hole 2. With both the Drive and Fairway Approach being relatively blind, throwers are tasked with demanding shot placement in the hopes of a birdie 3. Hole 2 plays dramtically different from the easier Short Tee .

Hole 3
The drive is critical on Hole 3. Making it out of the tunnel from the Tee is the highest priority. A long second shot to a well protected basket will be required to set up for birdie.

Hole 4
Another tunnel shot is required to navigate this Par 3. The hole is on a nice downslope from tee pad which, if thrown correctly, will make it out into the open and set you up with a nice birdie or short approach for Par.

Hole 5
Large Pine Trees form the tunnel for the first hole where water comes into play. The basket is reachable from the Tee Pad but throwing long will find water as the Pin is perched on the edge of the slope down to the pond. O.B. Cuts sharply into the fairway making a large hyzer a very risky throw.

Hole 6
The fairway is hidden on this Par 4. Blocked by large bushes, the drive will have to be well placed to make the fairway. Doing so will make for an open approach made difficult by the Pin being installed on the edge of the creek.

Hole 7
The Fairway is flanked by a larger watershed pond on the left and Beaver Creek running the full length of the right side. This leavesa 30-40' wide landing area from the Tee. Sitting on the Tee Side of the creek, the A-Pin is much more easily accessible making this a Par 3. If placed in the B location, this hole becomes a Par 4 as a second shot over the creek is near impossible from anything short of a 350' wooded drive.

Hole 8
A short Ace chance at 222'. The fairway however, is all water. Throwing over 222' of Beaver Creek to a pin set up on the downslope into the water. A bail out spot LEFT of the Creek and SHORT of the pin will give players wanting a sure 3 a place to land.

Hole 9 - The Carl Chiles Hole
9 is a Pro Players Nightmare. From the Long Tee, throwers will be faced with a challenging, 70-90' drive to a landing area just in front of the Short Tee. If made cleanly, the remaining 450' fairway takes a nice RIGHT to LEFT line. The Pin is up on a mound roughly 15' off the ground, easily above the players head.

Hole 10
The fairway starts out as a narrow chute but ends up widening out at the end. A drainage channel is located at the end of the fairway and seperates the player from the Pin. The Protected pin can be reached by either a low shot under the trees that guard the channel, or a High Arching Tomahawk.

Hole 11 - The Mike Ray Hole
The thrower must go around An Island of thick trees before getting to the Long and Wide open fairway. The player is presented with a challenging decision as the two distinctly different fairways offer a lot of Risk/Reward potential. The LEFT Fairway is a WIDE, LEFT to RIGHT line. The RIGHT Fairway is a straight and narrow line. Taking the LEFT is much safer but will require two shots to get around. The RIGHT line is much narrower but successfully making it thru will give the player a 1 stroke advantage coming up to the long, wide open fairway leading up to the unprotected pin.

Hole 12
After making the long walk from #11 to #12's Tee Pad, a player gets a welcomed look at this relatively simple Par 3. The Long line of Pine Tree's marks an OB Line to the RIGHT but with plenty of room LEFT, OB should not be an issue. The only complicating factor about #12 will be the wind. Being out in the open, the wind gets going pretty good and can make the 435' feel more like 535'.

Hole 13
A Long, sloping, and RIGHT to LEFT Fairway is made difficult by the numerous trees that litter the wide fairway. There are a few distinct lines through the trees but once off the Tee Pad the fairway begins its LEFT and slightly downhill turn.

Hole 14
Requiring a well placed drive around a bend immediately in front of the long Tee the player will then be faced with a long and narrow fairway that runs up-hill to a well placed pin.

Hole 15
A Relatively easy hole that slopes downhill to two open Pin Locations. The Drive plays a key role to how complicated this hole becomes. Missing the fairway LEFT will make seeing the A-Pin difficult as it is tucked away LEFT of the fairway and on a downslope.

Hole 16
The only uncomplicated ACE chance comes on #16. The Pin is blocked and hidden by the fallen tree and impressive root system. The Short Tee presents an open look at an unprotected Pin. Ace Funds will be earned on this Short Par 3.

Hole 17
The fairway has a couple double hills in it that make the drive landing blind. A RIGHT finishing drive is required to have any shot at a par. The fairway takes a left turn and missing the fairway LEFT will leave the player with a blocked Dog-Leg and a difficult shot at Par.

Hole 18
An amazing finishing hole putting the player at the top of a severe downslope to a well protected Pin. The Tee Pad is placed out of the Trees and picking a spot into the trees will be the players first decision. Once in, the fairway drops off very sharply into a valley. The Pin is up on the other side of the valley. OB runs the full length of the RIGHT side of the hole. The Hole plays easier from the Short Tee but is a near 90 degree Dog-Leg Left.


11 of 21 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.