Browns Valley, CA 
Splat Hill DGC - Front Share
Uploaded By: InnocentCrook Hole #12 (Taken 4/2011)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short 18 in Beautiful Setting

1    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees on every hole. Nice variety of hole layouts. Water in play on several holes in the form of large ponds and creeks. Some well placed baskets around the water which made me rethink some shots and "play it safe" on a few occasions. Some holes require tight technical shots through heavily wooded areas. A few porta-potties on the course (although there was no TP in one). A lot of ace runs. Most of the baskets have hole numbers on them. Nice benches next to most tees. Beautifully landscaped and well maintained property (they have a lot of weddings here). There is a second and more challenging 18 hole course on the property. Camping on site available. The owners are very friendly and provide a map.
Cons: Most holes are pretty wide open and not very difficult. Mach 1 baskets (only one set of chains) on 17 of the holes (one hole was out of service due to wedding tents being in the way so 2 different holes were added with mach 5 baskets). Relatively flat with only slight elevation change throughout the course. Tee pads are only 6' long. No signs. Only one tee and pin position per hole (besides one hole which had two tees). Some of the holes play pretty close to one another and to the parking area. Only one garbage can on the course. Some of the basket numbers are illegible and even with the map on a few holes it took a minute to figure out where to throw to. The course layout is a little tough to navigate in a few spots (even with the map - a few next tee signs would really help). $15 per person charge to play. It's a little tough to find even with GPS (no sign out front). The course is only open to the public 20-30 days out of the year.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice warm-up course for the back 18 which is much more challenging. The cost to play is pretty steep, even considering the other course. Make sure you have the address and follow directions closely; even with a GPS my group drove around for about 15 minutes looking for it. There is basically no cellular reception in the area so don't rely on your phone maps to navigate - print directions. The owner said they are in the process on upgrading all the baskets on this front course to mach 5's. I liked that they put in two additional holes when they had to temporarily take one hole out of commission due to upcoming wedding events. The course is very beautiful and tranquil. Even with it only being open a limited amount of days per year there wasn't a whole lot of traffic on the course, although I'm sure the $15 charge plays a big role in that. Overall I really enjoyed the course and together with the back course it made for a great round of golf. I will be back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The beginners course on the property

1    2/17/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: humchris85
Played: 114  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/6/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A nice mixture of open and wooded holes, though this front course defiantly leans more to the open side.
- Nicely landscaped feels very park like with ponds, streams, bridges, flowers, trees, and shrubs
- The only places that you could loose your disc would be in one of the ponds
- Second course on the property
- Camping available on site
- Map available
- Concrete tee pads
- Most holes are ace-able
Cons: - Only open on certain weekends
- Baskets are all old Mach 1's
- High cost to play at 15$
- Short easy holes
- Nothing exciting
- Very little elevation change
- No tee signs
- Navigation is a bit difficult, but they do provide a map
Other Thoughts: This is the smaller and easier of the 2 courses on this property. It's a nice beautiful piece of property with excellent landscaping around the front course. Very park like with nice green grass, bunches of planted trees and shrubs and beautiful flowers during the right times of year. There are nice bridges that they have made for places where you have to cross creeks. The front course is really nothing very special. Most of the shots are short and easy, not requiring a whole lot of technique or distance. The cost of entry is very steep at 15$ a head the back course defiantly helps make up for the cost, but it still seems high to me. The owners were very friendly to me and helped me out as much as they could, considering the time crunch I was on. Navigation is an issue that needs to be delt with, they have a map they give you, but some next tee signs would be great. There was no sign out front when I went there, I'm not sure if they were having it replaced or something, but I ended up driving way past it looking for a sign for it. They have probably fixed this problem by now, but if not I would suggest making note of your millage and following the directions exactly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable Foothill Course.

2-4    4/17/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: InnocentCrook
Played: 83  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of two very different 18 hole private courses set in the foothills of Northern California.

The "Front" course is a mostly open, beautifully landscaped park type setting that plays around and over several fishing ponds and small streams. Well built bridges cross the streams, doing a decent job of directing the flow of traffic. Thousands of trees, plants, bushes and flowers decorate the course. Excellent use of available elevation, with several throws both uphill and down. Pin/tee placements do a great job of accentuating all of the land's good attributes both natural and landscaped. Excellent shot variety.

Cons: No tee signs or course maps at the time I played. This caused me to miss a couple holes (14 and 15) the first time I played the front course as well as throw from the wrong tee on at least one occasion. Navigation can be a bit confusing through several parts of the course and a lack any directional signage does nothing to help.

Fee is $15 per day and I feel is a little on the steep side considering places like Horning's Hideout (3 courses, better quality) is only $5.

The baskets are in decent shape but are pretty old compared to current baskets available. I believe the front course is using Mach 1's. Single chains and showing their age. Although not a problem for many players, myself and several of the taller players in my group did seem to have a little trouble with small teepads.

Shared space around a house and parking area on the front course require several throws that come closer to people and property than I would prefer.
Other Thoughts: Little brother to the "Back Course". These two private courses are only playable on select "Open" weekends and during a few tournaments, so join the mailing list to find out a week or two in advance when they will be. I arrived at about 10:30 AM and was able to get three rounds of 18 in at a very leisurely pace before the 5 PM closing time. When I paid the owner upon arrival, she said there was something around 30 players on the two courses combined which made for mostly traffic free rounds.

I joined a group of friendly locals for my round through the back course and an additional round through the front course which helped with navigation as I would have had a hard time finding my way through the courses. Both courses were essentially traffic free.

Neither course is overly long with almost all holes reachable for most intermediate level players. Considering most people will probably be playing multiple round days here, this is probably a good aspect of the courses. I can however picture some big arm types feeling a bit "restrained" by the two courses.

There are a couple Port-O-Lets on site at various locations across the grounds. There are also very few garbage cans, so pack it in, pack it out. I don't hold this against the course since it is on private property and is used for other activities when not open for disc golf.

Overall the two distinct courses, despite their flaws, made for a beautiful and very enjoyable day of disc golf. I will definitely be playing the open weekends here whenever my schedule allows.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Two Gem's in Browns Valley!

5+    5/10/2010   1/7/2011
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 82  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 Courses on a great piece of land in Browns Valley!
The "Front" Course is mostly wide open with a few technical shots. 3 ponds come into play on the "Front" course with some pin placements right next to the ponds! :)
The "Back" Course is amazing! Very technical with a few signature shots. One that has a creek parallel to the fairway, the Tee is elevated and your drive shoots over a creek with a green right next to the water, very intimidating off the tee.
Overall a very enjoyable time if you take the whole day to play both courses! The course is very well renowned in the NorCal golf scene. If you have the time and the money.. give the courses a shot! Close to Penn Valley & Grass Valley!
Cons: $15 to play the course only on select weekends.
Mach 1 Baskets on the Front Course
Other Thoughts: Obviously whomever posted the first review hasn't played the course yet. But I assure you all.. it's a lot better than a 3 star! The front course is great for beginners and the back course gives the Pro's all they could ask for! A ton of elevation changes and long bomb holes!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.