Helotes, TX 
Helotes Family DGC Share
Uploaded By: JerryChesterson  



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    10/16/2014   10/16/2014
Review By: dsmithsalgado
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained with benches and trashcans scattered throughout the field. Owners made great use of a very small space. Great for working on your short game. I was using my putter for pretty much the whole round. Overall good course for beginners and also good place for the whole family to come out and play and maybe even have a picnic
Cons: Not all that challenging. As an experienced amateur I like variety and this course does not have that. Most of the holes are between 100-200ft. Also one thing that was weird was that the baskets were set lower to the ground, maybe for smaller kids, it is a 'family' course so maybe thats why.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course, bring your family out and theyll have a good time! I liked it because I could work more on my putts, thats about it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Helotes Family DSC

1    3/13/2014   3/13/2014
Review By: xseption
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great beginner course. There are a few holes that have woods such that you have to throw straight or throw such that the disc curves from left to right around the trees. Great course to practice using your mid-range disc.
Cons: The course is fairly easy. I birdied 7 of 9 holes and I am a relatively new player.
Other Thoughts: The course is very good for beginners and for practicing your approach shots. There are few tree hazards which are good for beginners.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Short Game Course

5+    1/23/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: DPGRAY1962
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun short course with some challenging tree lined fairways. Ample parking although the course is rarely busy. There are benches by some of the holes allowing for a quick break or a place to sit while letting someone play through.
Cons: Short course with no true opportunity for working on those power drives. Players need to watch their step as there are countless holes in the ground that are easy to trip on.
Other Thoughts: Nice course for a quick round.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Fine Little 9 Holer

2-4    9/24/2013   9/24/2013
Review By: markmcc
Played: 82  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This short 9 hole course is a perfect fit for the plot of land that was available.

There is an excellent kiosk next to the parking lot with a good map and printed scorecard/map. Good Innova Discatcher baskets.

Large gravel parking, and the cleanest Porta-Pottie that I've ever seen. From the sticker inside it is serviced twice a week. Nice!

Dirt tee pads outlined with landscape timbers are adequate, given that you likely won't need to use a run-up on any of these holes.

No tee signs, but with typical hole lengths of 150' it is not difficult to see the basket. The scorecard/map provided hole distances.

This is a perfect course to work on approaches and putting. Some may not care for the lack of driving opportunities, but play a few putter only rounds and work on that aspect of your game. There are enough trees to provide some opportunities for line shaping.

Hole 8 is a 259' Par 4, so gives a great Eagle opportunity (?!?).
Cons: It is a short course. Period. No reason to come out here if you want to practice long drives. No elevation change.
Other Thoughts: This is the perfect Pitch-n-Putt course. Not particularly challenging but a perfect place to practice a short game.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    3/16/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a fun short course. I realize a 3 may be rated to high but I am rating on the design of the course and other features as well. They have scorecards, benches and trashcans. A big welcome sign. They have nice DISCatchers. This course makes great use of all the available trees. I also don't remember a hole where you are throwing across another holes fairway, which is nice considering how small the space for the course is. I like the tunnel shot on 3(?). I also like the challenge that hole 7 presented being so tight.
Cons: This is definitely an easy course but the designers meant for it to be a family course. I would of liked to seen some tee pads because some of the pads were a little rough such as hole 8. Hole 8 had a steep dip in the tee pad.
Other Thoughts: This is a great ace run course which adds excitement to every shot. Even if this course doesn't give you any challenge it never hurts to practice your upshots and putting.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Be Open Minded

1    1/14/2011   3/2/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) New gravel parking lot and park sign greet you upon arrival at this course.

2) Scorecards and map inside of the glass case on the sign. It isn't totally necessary because you can see every hole from every hole but at least they put forth some effort on this up front.

3) Picnic table is available and a bench by the kiosk. Benches are also available on the course, although rarely should you ever need to rest from slow play or anything. Perhaps if your elderly granmother walked along with you as you play she can have a seat, but again its the thought that counts. They are there if you need them. Garbage cans are also available in a couple spots.

4) New discatchers in good shape, nice bright yellow band with the number on the band.

5) Very nice use of a small space and really good use of the trees they had available on this property.

6) I believe the tees were marked with 4x4 posts in the ground.

7) Beginner friendly, in fact, it is beginner encouraged. It is called the family disc golf course. It is a grea place to bring beginners but even you experienced players could learn a couple shots or practice some different approaches out here so don't shoot this down until you have played it and shot -9!

8) 9 ace runs is always fun! There are a couple with some pretty tough shots or tight gaps to hit, but wouldn't it be fun to hit an ace! while you were actually trying to hit the ace! That suckered me into a second round where all I did was go for aces and I actually shot 1 better than the round where I was trying to park all the hole and make birdies!
Cons: 1) Grass/dirt tees always leave a bad taste in my mouth, but for beginners and those with any power you really do not need to do a runup. This is a perfect place to practice your controlled stand still throws.

2) A few of the baskets seemed to be installed a little low. This is a pet peeve of mine because there are instructions on how to get the basket at the right height.

3) The turf in this little piece of property is a little thin. I have a feelng they didn't do much to the turf to try and make this area nice, or perhaps it was simply cleared and let go after that. There are some spots that will be muddy and even more spots that will retain water because this is almost completely flat and the road and the parking lot on 3 sides of the park are higher than all of the rest of the park.

4) It is very short so it definitely limits who will use the park, but maybe that is a good thing.

5) Only 1 hole where a driver is really needed and I do typically like a little variety. Distance variation is so small except the one hole over 250'
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course, my wife and I played it twice because the first round I tried to play smart and get as many birdies as possible, then the second round I tried to go for aces because its hard to resist that opporunity when the average hole distance is under 200'. It is a great course designed for beginners and as a putter/midrange course for all others so take it as it is. Do not downgrade the course because you are rated 1000. It can be enjoyed by most people if they are in the right mindset going into it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for working on upshots

1    1/12/2011   1/12/2011
Review By: Guru10
Played: 39  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Easy to find
-Easy to navigate
-Challenge is low, especially if you've been playing for a while. But before you dismiss this tiny course, use it to work on your long putts, shaping upshots and tight approaches. I only brought out a Roc and a Wizard.
-New baskets, benches and trash cans a plenty
-No brush to lose a disc but plenty of trees to throw into!
Cons: I finished each round wishing there were more holes...
Other Thoughts: Like I said, experienced players, use this course as a training ground for upshots to the basket. Approach each tee as a second shot. Added challenge: don't take a run up. Tee off from a standstill.

Also a great park to take a beginner/girlfriend/family. Not too long to get winded, not too too short to be boring.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Blue Level Course

1    12/20/2010   12/20/2010
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 154  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 20.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great design for a Blue Level course. All teh baskets are new, there are benches on every hole, there are trash cans on every hole, there is a nice kiosk, & good signage. Although the course is short, it forces different shots (hyzers, anhyzers, flicks, etc.)
Cons: This course is very short. VERY SHORT.
Other Thoughts: Even though this course is short, it is, IMO, better than Nani Falcone which has a lot of longer holes. Just take a mid range and a putter and have fun on this course. It does a great job of meeting its intended goal, being a blue level course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Petite Precision

2-4    10/27/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well tended public park space in Helotes. It is clearly intended for families with small kids.

This course is petite. It's tiny. It's very small. Es muy pocquito. It is miniature, it is little.

The baskets are close together. It is a very short course. I'd be shocked if the one big hole is even 150'. Most of them are under 75'.

I say all this so you big armed guys don't go whining and putting up bad reviews. It is the very definition of pitch and putt.

So now that we all know that...

This is a well built, well though out putting challenge. I played through it with a buddy 4 times in just over an hour. I only played with a Rhyno P&A. He played the whole thing with a shark.

The course is brand new. The baskets are in great shape. The grounds are clearly well cared for. There are cedar and scrub oak here and there to add interest to the throws. The parking is easy and at hole #1.

There are 5 or 6 benches there, and 3 trash cans. Plenty of shade.

Also a pro: you have to drive past Bobby J's Hamburgers. If you've never been, elevate yourself.
http://bobbyjsburgers.com /

It's easy to find your way from hole to hole. Just park at the end of the drive, and the #1 tee is painted on the ground with a little blue flag. The baskets are numbered.

Hole 2 is a very narrow tree tunnel, probably the best hole out there. #7 is good too, with no straight line available so you have to find a creative shot.
Cons: No water fountains, no bathrooms, but hey, it's an outdoor park.

The teepads are spray painted squares on the ground with hole number and an arrow. I take this as a sign they're still planning some future improvements.
Other Thoughts: Once I got over the shock of how small the place was, I saw a lot of promise in playing this.

First, if you have kids, this is the best palce to bring them to play and let the dog run around.

For your own game, this course solves a unique problem in San Antonio. Where do you REALLY practice putting? You can go to Nani, but everything's so open it won't improve your putting at McClain.

Think of this little spot as just the greens off a real course, without the driving and long walks. If you've played for very long, set par at 18 and go for it!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.