Platteville, WI 
UW Campus-Platteville Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
5 / 395ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    8/21/1994   8/21/2014
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 57  Reviewed: 3
Pros: It has a number of great holes and is a very good challenge that rates slightly better than a beginner course, and not quite a competitive course (which is not to say that it wouldn't be fun for leagues or tournaments).
Cons: The tees used to be horrible and there were many awkward uphill driving holes that reduce your distance significantly. That has improved a bit. There are a few poorly designed holes and some fairways are too close to one another. The longest hole is boring and could have been two shorter more challenging holes that could have reduced crossing fairways.

Decent course on beautiful campus

1    7/23/2013   7/24/2013
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well designed course in a pristine setting. This was my first course in Wisconsin, and all I can say is that I hope all the land is a gorgeous as it is in the southwestern part of the state.

The course plays behind a couple dormitories through some fairly hilly and sprawling grassland. There is a deep rut worn through the middle that is heavily wooded, but unfortunately the course plays around it rather than in it. Overall, the course design really uses the land it was given, and while it is a bit cramped in spots, I have a feeling it was more because of the campus restrictions than designer error. There is more than enough room to spread the course out a bit, but it would infringe on land laid out for other activities.

One of the biggest pros here is the use of elevation - nearly every hole uses it to some extent, with many downhill shots off the tee and even a few uphill drives mixed in. There is great variety in length here as well, with some of the longer holes over 400' and one or two ace runs of just over 150'.

Great care has been taken into the course, which is evident by the well manicured fairways and controlled rough. There are signs on every tee but one (looks like it was cut down), and not only do they show the path to the basket, but when needed, they show the course map so you know where to go next. Very cool. While I didn't see any trash cans, there were a couple of homemade benches held up by chain swings, adding some charm to the place. In short, I was expecting a lot worse for a course that is over 20 years old. Honestly, the only thing that gave away its age were the baskets. The majority of them are in good shape, with double hung chains providing plenty of grab. And each has a big circle on top with the hole number outline welded into it, easily distinguishing one from another when you're on the tee. On about half the actual basket catcher itself is dented or rusted, or the welds have just plain given way, and there were one or two where one of the chains had rusted through and hung out of the bottom. But nothing a few minor repairs couldn't fix.

The first three holes play in front of a dorm out by the road and have you shooting out under a canopy of aged trees. It can be a bit windy for these, but that is your biggest obstacle, as there is no underbrush in sight. These holes serve as a nice warm up before you head behind the building and into the hilly area.

Once back, you basically travel up one side of a valley and down the other, cutting across once or twice to break up the walk. Most shots have medium to tight fairways but offer plenty of forgiveness if you go astray of the fairway. One of my favorites was #5, which is a decent downhill shot with a tight landing area to set up your approach. #11 & #12 play at the farthest point from your car, along a tiny stream/river that offers more scenery than any actual threat to your drive. The last six holes give you a view on one of the oddest things I've ever seen: a fenced in cemetery smack in the middle of campus. I'm sure there's a story here, but damned if I know how a college sprung up around that.
Cons: CONS
Really not a lot of cons here, but I'll list some things that are keeping it from being rated higher:
I mentioned above that the land itself could've been utilized more. Have one or two holes cut into the ravine and woods, instead of playing around them. There really isn't a "wooded" hole on this course...maybe #13? Even that one is a pretty wide open dog leg through to a big clearing and the pin.
Again, I felt the course could've been spread out a bit more; there is plenty of room to expand, especially at the back, like after #12, or shoot over the creek river before turning around. Because of this, the whole place feels cramped, and while I played on a summer day when campus was deserted, I could easily see issues when multiple groups are out playing. The first and last three holes zig-zag back and forth and the fairways overlap, making a hazard and kind of a dull way to begin and end your round. In addition, some of the shorter holes definitely could (and should) have been lengthened; there are too many lazy birdies to be had.
While I loved the use of elevation, I did not enjoy the fact that the tee pads sloped along with the hill. So if you're shooting downhill, you're stepping downhill, which is not only dangerous, but alters the angle of your shot as well. Several of my drives went into the dirt or, when I tried to correct for the angle, shot sky high because I overcompensated.
I don't know if this is a con or not, but the course wasn't very challenging. Sure, there were some tricky moments, but I wouldn't put this course on the level of some of the 4+ star rated courses I've played. Maybe this is due to the layout restrictions or the age of the course, but this isn't somewhere I would go out of the way to play.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice, quaint course for a fun round. The atmosphere is great, and I think is probably heightened when class is in session. Hell, I wish my college had a course when I went there. Overall, UW-Platteville is a three-star course with an extra .5 tossed in for creativity and vision. I just wish they could have/would have taken it one step farther than they did. I will probably play this one again next time I'm out that way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    5/14/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: Smallz0r
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of good variety of shots, hyzers, anhyzers, wooded, open.

Distances of the holes vary.

Tee signs, and maps on most holes make it easy to navigate.
Cons: Holes overlap and have to throw over.

Homemade baskets are getting to the end of their lifetime.

Some tees are very sloped with dropoffs after.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course but the baskets are pretty much shot on a few holes. I played it on a pretty empty day which was good, can't imagine playing on a busy day with the holes you have to throw over tee pads.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 UW Platteville

1    8/17/2010   10/21/2010
Review By: DGman
Played: 42  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 26.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed this course.A beautiful campus with lots of mature trees of many varieties. Great use of elevation. It was well marked with course signs posted periodically and the course flowed well finishing up by hole 4. The first 3 holes aren't anything spectacular, but once you get to the back part of the campus (behind Glenview Dining Hall) things improve drastically. Lots of variation in hole lengths with elevation changes, dog legs L & R (some blind). I think I threw every shot I have resulting in using about every disc in my bag. Holes 11 & 12 are along a beautiful creek, but no risk of losing a disc here or anywhere on the course really. Overall a pretty challenging course and very fun to play. It was really windy the day I played this course, but it wasn't a factor on the back part of the course with all the tress and hills. I would toss this one again in a heartbeat!
Cons: First three holes are kind of fillers.
Old baskets.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  uwp course

5+    9/15/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: discordie
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a few very interesting doglegs that are unique in comparison to all the other courses I've played. Hole number 5 being the most extreme, is almost a 90 degree dogleg first throwing down into a dip to try to get around the corner, then another throw 150 more feet up a steep hill. This hole is very hard to get a 3 on, making it one of the hardest holes I've ever played. There is a nice variation in hole length, and very very few of the holes seem repetitious. I like this course because it allows me to use every single shot type I have in my arsenal. A lot of hole require a well placed anheiser shot to achive a 3. The signs are well made, although the directionals on the tee and basket placement could be a little more accurate.
Cons: Many of the tee pads are angled up or downhill making for some dangerous footing if you're a power thrower. Some of the holes have baskets placed in the fairway of another hole, which makes being observant key to not getting drilled with a disc. Also, the baskets are very old, custom made by the school sometime between 1979 and 1983. Because of this, some of the chains are old, and don't catch as well as newer baskets do. I have also seen some disc fall out of the bottome of the basket after a shot made. I played yesterday, and on hole five the actual basket itself fell down the pole and rested on the ground. Hopefully, this will be fixed soon. The only other con I can think of is that because the course is on campus( a great, great thing), there are many times large groups of young discers ( 8 to 10 in a group) who don't understand the ethics of letting smaller groups or single players play through. If you've ever been playing alone and been behind a group of 8, with half of them throwing tomahawks on EVERY single throw...you know the aggravating slow pace that can hold up your game.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is very enjoyable, with many options on throws on a lot of the holes. Play them all as 3's and you've got one challenging course. There is an intramural sport disc golf league for students. Awesome.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 You Bet'cha

5+    7/18/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: pvilleDiscgolfer
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first three holes are on a plot of land surrounded by dorms and a large commons area. Hole one is a straight bomb hidden behind a tree, along the road. Number two shoots between two pines to the left, they force you to keep it low and it is short but still a tough birdie. #3 is a bomb going back up towards one. Make par here and you have made an awsome second shot. Leave the first three hole at even and your doing just fine. The rest of the course is a combo of long and short, four is a bomb across a giant ravine followed by a large up hill s shaped hole then more curves and long drives and short down hills. This course has it all. It is possible to hit the water on hole 11 while trying to wrap it around the tree line to the right without letting it going left toward the river. 13 is a up hill tunnel shot through the woods. 16, 17, and 18 play back and forth across this valley where you have a chance to throw over a towering tree on 16, a good shot at an ace on 17, and a tough par coming back on 18. You will leave this course hungry and wondering how you couldn't par number 3, 8, and 16. This is not a beginner course as mentioned by another reviewer it will challenge a skilled player.
Cons: The course has had a make over in the last year. Improving the signs and course maps and tee pads. They messed up on the 18th tee pad and put it at a horrible angle. It can be difficult to park during school but there is plenty of options to park. Baskets were made by the university but they are quite nice
Other Thoughts: I am not just trying to ramp up the course I play almost everyday, this course will surprise anyone that chooses to come. It plays into a beautiful park that has a large rugby field to test your driving distance.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/16/2006   4/30/2009
Review By: Phinneas55
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole is different! Throwing straight is not good enough for this course, you need a larger bag of tricks if you want to par the longer holes. The course plays around a ravine so there are some major elevation changes. The homemade baskets are better than many of the purchased varieties. The hole number is cut out and can be read from any angle around the pin so is easy to navigate. There are actually two putting baskets, one next to hole 1 and another across the street in front of a dorm.
Cons: The course is on the university campus so it can be difficult to play when classes are in session. Parking can be especially difficult during the semester.
Other Thoughts: It's in the middle of nowhere but well worth a drive. There are pavilions and grills near the back nine so feel free to tailgate. Platteville offers some nice vistas. Make sure to check out the biggest M in the world!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/13/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: DunbarTrout
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 7/13/2009
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Forgiving par and good variety of elevation, different types of fairways, and difficulty. Great signs and excellent warm up putting pin. Goes from wide open shots to hilly shots to some technical tree shots.
Cons: Par may be set too forgiving for some players and the tee boxes seem a bit short and drop off a bit, difficult to get a good run up. Prairie comes into play on a few holes, pretty tough to find discs in.
Other Thoughts: WATCH OUT FOR WILD PARSNIP, signs warn about it, but be careful. May want to wear jeans. Good course, fun to play and really can boost your confidence! Putting pin has cement spots around it, getting further and further away from the pin called "around the world" goal of the game is to sink a putt from each station.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.